User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 111 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 91 out of 111
  2. Negative: 14 out of 111

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    This is a great game, definitely a sleeper hit. It lots of the characters from sega's past, which is great if you grew up with those games. If you didn't, it might be harder to relate to the characters but it's a racing game so it shouldn't matter too much.

    The tracks are very well designed and play extremely well. There are three parts to this game: Cart, Airplane, and boat. The
    cart plays the best in my opinion, it is completely flawless. The airplane and boat can sometimes be hard to control but that may just be me.

    There IS a gamepad only mode. You just need to swipe down on the gamepad when the game starts up and then you can play it on there. It was extremely simple to do and I had no problems.

    The only beef I have with the game is Danicka Patrick, not sure why she is there when they could have had someone like Vectorman in there but to each his own, maybe some people will like her.

    Overall, I give this game a 10 because it is truly a great game, one that is overlooked and this should not be the case. This is not a port either because the game was developed equally for xbox 360 and ps3 and even came out the same day. The game also has a few wii u specific modes that I have yet to try. Overall, there are very little flaws and the game is miles ahead of the last game, which I personally thought was fun to begin with. All in all, this game is HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.
    Expand
  2. Nov 25, 2012
    10
    I'm absolutely loving this game. I'm surprised at the price point for this one honestly. It is a steal at US $40. My other Wii U games have been being a bit neglected thanks to Sonic Racing Transformed. Unlike the impression a fellow reviewer tries to give below the game is indeed supported for gamepad only play. Besides that though the game doesn't really need any other touch screen enhancements and stands on its own as a great addition to the Wii U library. Collapse
  3. Feb 11, 2013
    10
    As a long time Nintendo fan I downloaded the demo that's available on the Wii U e-shop just to see if Sega's games are still as good as they used to be. I can honestly say I was blown away by this game. You could buy it just for the boost challlenges, tricky traffic sequences and all other great modes the game offers and the races are just the top of the game in what is, sorry Nintendo, the best mascot-racing compilation to date. As this is not exactly like Mariokart (it's between a Mariokart and an F- Zero game) you probably want to download the demo before actually purchasing the game, although, it's almost sure that will get addicted in just the two tracks the demo offers for display. Well done Sega for bringing a whole new perspective in what has been a not-so-innovative genre for the past 10 years. Kudos and I hope you have even more great ideas (submarines, spaceships?) for the next one. m// Expand
  4. Feb 28, 2013
    9
    If your a Sega fan, you probably already own this game, but even if you don't have a clue what Burning Rangers or Panzer Dragoon is you should still own this game if only for the fact that its a wonderful racing game. Don't worry if the cast of racers is strange to you, you'll love the high quality put into the courses. The games "gimick" transforming vehicles and alternating courses works perfectly. You might question it at first but when the track gets broken apart by a dragon and you're racing through an underwater building constantly flooding you'll be convinced. If you love racing games give it a try! Expand
  5. Jun 21, 2013
    9
    A massive improvement on the previous sonic racing game. I think Mario Kart 8 will give this game a run for it's money, but until that's released this is the best kart racer ths far. Single player is massive, aside from the usual cups, the world tour made offers alot of replay value trying to get all the stars to do unlock all the characters and it can be infuriatingly difficult at times, but very rewarding. Off TV play makes it great for local multiplayer. Only downside is it's hard to get a game online with anyone. Expand
  6. Aug 24, 2013
    9
    As far as kart racers go, this game is up there with Mario Kart. In fact, personally I prefer it to Mario Kart! The main mode is not Grand Prix but instead "World Tour" (which is basically like a mission mode, but done heaps better) with Grand Prix as a side mode which is still as long as Mario Kart's Grand Prix. The amount of content packed into this is just incredible, it would take you longer to do everything in this than it would to do everything in "Batman: Arkham City". The transformations aren't terrible like many people may presume and really add variety to the gameplay without feeling like a cheap gimmick. As for the Wii U exclusive features, they really make the Wii U version the ideal version to get. Although the map and rear view mirror on the Gamepad aren't a massive help, the option to play the entire game on the Gamepad alone is great. Add to that the huge choice of controllers compatible with the game (You can even use another controller while playing on the Gamepad screen!) and it really makes the Wii U version the best. So far, I find this one of if not THE best game on Wii U at the moment. Expand
  7. Jan 24, 2013
    9
    Easily the best launch title for the Wii U. This sequel to Sega's Superstars series and All-Stars Racing series goes above and beyond anything the previous titles have done. The actual gameplay is superb with solid controls which take on subtle changes with each vehicle form. The items and attacks are very balanced, allowing losing players a fair shot at a comeback while not punishing the first place racer with a constant barrage of attacks. The game is also loaded with tons and tons of fanservice for anyone whose a fan of any Sega series, whether its a popular one like Sonic the Hedgehog, NiGHTS or Super Monkey Ball, to lesser know and rarely used franchises like Skies of Arcadia or Burning Rangers. With incredible gameplay, a wonderful soundtrack, beautiful tracks, and a wide variety of customizable vehicles, this game is a must buy for racing fans, Sega fans, and WiiU owners. Expand
  8. Dec 16, 2012
    9
    Sonic & All-Stars Racing Transformed is a fantastic launch title for the Wii U. It features great iconic SEGA characters just like another mascot racer(Mario Kart). Only the difference between Nintendo's racing game and SEGA's is the level of difficulty. Anyone can play Mario Kart right from the get go, but it takes some time and getting used to in S&A-SRT. I myself found it took quite a bit of time to get used to the controls and to learn all of the little secrets the game has to offer. Like in the start of the race you charge up your "beginning race boost" by pressing on the gas each time the screen goes black respectively to "3..2..1.." or that to gain boosts from waves in the boating parts of levels you simply tilt your right analogue stick in the direction of "preferred flipping." The game itself can easily be played through on an easy setting, the "C-Class", but if you are looking for a good challenge than "A-Class"(the game's hard mode) is perfect. It will surely get you angry enough at the game to smash and throw your controller, but the satisfaction of beating the level you were stuck on for hours before is Oh! So great! The game provides long level designs and to me the are even more intricate than those from the Mario Kart franchise. So overall the game is fantastic and it just takes some time getting used to, don't be so quick to call this one a "no-go" if you were like me and found it hard to race the first couple of times you tried. I'd say Mario Kart has a great new competitor and Sonic's racing sequel is a definite buy on the Wii U. Expand
  9. Jan 30, 2013
    10
    Not a massive fan of Sonic the hedgehog, though there is no doubting that Sonic & All-Stars Racing Transformed is the best kart-racer type game that has ever been released. It has everything which is wanted in this specific kind of game. There are many modes, heaps of challenges and tonnes of replay value along with many playable characters. The tracks and challenges are probably the best aspects of this game. The tracks constantly change causing for a transformation of vehicle, meaning laps are rarely the same. The challenges allow you to test your abilities and obtain new skills for races. Modifications are obtainable and allow for those to have any racer race how they wish. The online is great and never lags. If you enjoyed Mario Kart Wii, you will LOVE this game. Expand
  10. Apr 28, 2013
    10
    When it first came out there were game killing bugs in it. Terrible!!! However, they've patched it and now it's a very fun game. You can play single player on just the GamePad. You can play 2 player main game and it does one person on the tv and one person on the GamePad so 2 player is NOT split screen. and you can play online. Plus you can have 5 players in the same room playing. (4 player split screen and 1 on the gamepad)
    One thing I like better about this than Mario Kart is when you get hit by items it slows you down, but it doesn't completely bring you to a stop so it helps out the players that are trying to catch up but it's not devastating to the guy that gets hit which makes it much less frustrating.
    Expand
  11. May 5, 2013
    9
    This game is one of the best genre racing games I have played, below the Mario Kart series. Many people might think that Sega is ripping this game off Mario Kart 7 because of the land, sky and water sections, but this is a masterpiece. on the down side, unlocking the characters can be a hassle, playing World Tour mode on easy or normal mode will barely get you anywhere to unlocking all the characters. Still worth playing though! Expand
  12. Nov 18, 2013
    9
    This game in my opinion was better than the latest Mario Kart entries great Race Track Designs an awesome soundtrack which threw me right back to old Dreamcast days and a very good Character Roster. That game hit the sweet spot! Online is fun too and the "Career" mode can be played cooperatively completely as any game mode you can choose from I believe. This game is also more about racing than using your bonus items, which I find fantastic! Way less frustration that way no blue shell kicking you to the fifth spot after having had the lead for several rounds. There 3 ways you race in this game. With the ability to transform into a flying vehicle or a boat at certain spots the experience masters to feel fresh all the time. I spent countless hours on this title and am very happy to have had such a great Kart Racer at the launch of the Wii U console although I hope Mario Kart 8 will be even better, which I think it will be. I´m a positive guy and better seems always better than not better see? Expand
  13. Dec 4, 2012
    9
    specialmias

    is wrong on his review you can play it on the pad as well so don't listen, great game with loads of things to do, there are some complaining of glitches but Sega have finished a patch that will be out soon so no worries there. loads of sega nostalgia plays kinda like a new diddy kong racing which is no bad thing,
  14. Nov 29, 2012
    9
    This is the definitive console version of the game. It's a faithful port of the other versions with a boatload of Wii U exclusive content auch as off-tv play, 5 player local multiplayer and exclusive multiplayer modes revolving around asymmetric multiplayer. The critic reviews don't reflect the current quality of the game since it had a pretty severe bug that has since been fixed. It's beyond me how review sites can slap a permanent score to an obviously not permanent mishap in good conscience.

    I'm not giving the game a full 10 because I am not too fond of the SEGA characters and the game will get brutally hard if you want to 100% it. If you want a Kart game to hold you over until the next mario kart, this is it. And it's a damn good challenge at Nintendo to best this game.
    Expand
  15. Aug 29, 2013
    9
    It beats Mario Kart in variety and weaponry design and overall nuances of the gameplay. It's nice that the courses change from water to air so you're not just doing 3 laps of the same thing all the time. The point I'm taking off is for how impossibly hard it is on higher difficulty settings. This wouldn't normally be an issue, but even as a seasoned expert gamer who's conquered the legendarily difficult F-Zero GX, I found it insanely hard to unlock all the characters. I feel really bad for people who will literally never unlock some of the characters which require you to beat many missions on S class rating. Expand
  16. Mar 14, 2013
    9
    It may have a few issues here and there, But this is easily one of the best Kart racers ever made with genius track design, a great character roster for SEGA fans and game design that easily rivals and in some places beats Mario Kart, It's biggest downside is that the online play is pretty empty at the moment, you can find games with 3-4 people but you will rarely get a full lobby racing, But don't let that turn you off this game because it is fantastic and any Sonic, SEGA or Kart Racing fan should pick this up right now! Especially if you like playing with family and friends as this game supports FIVE player split-screen with one on the GamePad and 4 on the TV and you can take people you are playing locally with online for some great racing fun, The Wii U version also has some exclusives modes. Definitely worth a buy, One of the best Wii U titles for launch. Expand
  17. Jan 21, 2014
    9
    This game absolutely reeks of F-Zero GX and that's the most praise I can give it. Also reminds me of Diddy Kong Racing. Overall an excellent kart racer well worth playing!
  18. Aug 4, 2013
    9
    To sum up in non-words...... :)
    If you enjoy arcade racing with speed and local multiplayer this is a must-get. Wii U trumps other consoles with the use of the game pad allowing for more screen when playing with 2-4 players and gives a 5th player the option to join in. Also, when playing single player, just a quick swipe downward on your game pad will bring the game down off the tv and
    into your hands.

    How often have you wished the single player modes could be played with your friends? Well Sonic Racing allows for nearly every mode we have tried to be played with others locally. Fantastic. Also, each character can be leveled up regardless of what mode you play which keeps players invested in their preferred character and keeps you racing for progress.

    Controls are sharp, graphics and music are great, and gameplay is fun with carring, planing, and boating all done well. In addition the difficulty modes offer a good range of easy, medium, and hard that provides easy entry and punishing challenge. The variety and story mode of Sonic is most reminiscent of Diddy Kong Racing which was one of our favorite games for the N64. There are classic races, time trials, cups, boost challenges, traffic challenges, battle races, elimination races, drift challenges, and more. Online multiplayer is infused intelligently and provides players the opportunity to come in and out of races to try and improve their a rating and E-peen which ALSO allows your local friends to jump into your online races as guests.

    Courses are varied and littered with shortcuts and optimal routes for players to discover, and you should discover them as they are often the keys to victory. Items keep races exciting, but are not quite as impactful as MarioKart's which is welcome. There are exceptions, but if you race poorly you will be in the rear, if you race well near the front.

    Our only major gripe is at times you are left at a stand still during the boating sections and transition periods. If you hit them at the wrong angle or are struck by a pesky ice ball or firework just at a transition you are going to lose large amounts of track to your competition and will struggle to regain it. Also, there is not quite the amount of charm with Sega's characters as with Nintendo's. A challenge race when unlocking new characters would have also been a great addition rather than unlocking them with stars you earn from other competitions.

    Overall, Sonic & All Stars Racing is a fantastic game full of polish and all sorts of excellent ideas, particularly for those racing locally with friends. Mario Kart 8 have had the stakes raised ahead of them and I pray Nintendo implements many of these wonderful additions to allow us to continue the fun we have had with Sega and their fastest blueberry on earth within this sublime entry in the arcade racing genre.
    Expand
  19. Oct 30, 2013
    10
    This game is great! great variety of single to multiplayer both local or online. tracks are constantly changing and your kart does so with it. that's what i found most interesting. you complete a lap and start your second and it's completely different. hopefully, Mario Kart 8 took some pointers here. So, I was never a big Sonic fan. So, my best review is: This game is outstanding and will do good to hold you up for Mario Kart 8! you won't regret buying it!

    instagram: Game_Row
    Expand
  20. Aug 16, 2014
    9
    This is a very fun and challenging racer that was a great distraction as I waited for Mario Kart. All of the characters have their own unique vehicle, and while the transforming gimmick was borrowed from MK7, I do think it was executed better, as you will now actually fly in a plane, rather than just glide as in MK. The tracks are all very cool, and there are a lot of challenges to go through in world tour mode. Very fun and enjoyable. Expand
  21. Nov 25, 2012
    0
    I'm absolutely loving this game. I'm surprised at the price point for this one honestly. It is a steal at US $40. My other Wii U games have been being a bit neglected thanks to Sonic Racing Transformed. Unlike the impression a fellow reviewer tries to give below the game is indeed supported for gamepad only play. Besides that though the game doesn't really need any other touch screen enhancements and stands on its own as a great addition to the Wii U library. Collapse
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Jan 23, 2013
    85
    You are, for sure, waiting for a Mario Kart on the Wii U, but until that happens, Sonic & All-Stars Racing Transformed can satisfy your "hunger".
  2. Jan 20, 2013
    80
    A pleasant surprise for every gamer with any platform that wishes to try out entertaining arcade gameplay in Mario Kart fashion. There's nothing to criticize, just the framerate drops in multiplayer. Although this is an arcade classic, it is excellently worked out. All thumbs up.
  3. Jan 4, 2013
    90
    Sonic & All-Stars Racing Transformed is a fantastic racer. The tracks and racers are great, and the controls – small jet niggles aside – are excellent.