Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 113 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Sonic and the All-Stars cast battle for supremacy across land, water and air in transforming vehicles that change from cars to boats to planes mid-race.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Jan 4, 2013
    90
    Sonic & All-Stars Racing Transformed is a fantastic racer. The tracks and racers are great, and the controls – small jet niggles aside – are excellent.
  2. Dec 3, 2012
    90
    Sonic's second foray into the motoring world is his best yet, with a game that headlines the defining advantages of the Wii U format whilst providing more than enough to see and do for SEGA fans both young and old. Sonic & All-Stars Racing Transformed retains trademark aspects of the karting genre, but also provides enough variation on it to be able to stand side-by-side with Nintendo's eventual Mario equivalent.
  3. Nov 30, 2012
    88
    Amid a sea of sloppy ports, the Wii U version Sonic and All-Stars Racing Transformed shines like a veritable beacon: with the possible exception of Tekken Tag Tournament 2 it's the best multiplatform title on the console, and might just have the edge over the PS3 and 360 versions of the game, not least because offline play is now available for five players instead of four.
  4. Nov 21, 2012
    80
    The GamePad introduces a fifth player, career map, rear-view mirror ... This edition of Sonic & All-Stars Racing: Transformed is the most complete and with possibilities for a fun title that stands out this year and it assembles all of Sega's stars.
  5. Dec 5, 2012
    80
    I'll go on record and say that this is the best kart racer in some time (yes, even better than Mario Kart 7) – now that's saying something.
  6. 80
    If you're looking for a solitary campaign and online experience, then Sonic & All-Stars Racing Transformed is the game for you. If you want chaotic multiplayer party fun, wait until Mario Kart on Wii U.
  7. Nov 20, 2012
    60
    Broken modes, both online and off, bring the otherwise enjoyable Sonic & All-Stars Racing Transformed to a screeching halt.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 28
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 28
  3. Negative: 1 out of 28
  1. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    This is a great game, definitely a sleeper hit. It lots of the characters from sega's past, which is great if you grew up with those games. If you didn't, it might be harder to relate to the characters but it's a racing game so it shouldn't matter too much.

    The tracks are very well designed and play extremely well. There are three parts to this game: Cart, Airplane, and boat. The cart plays the best in my opinion, it is completely flawless. The airplane and boat can sometimes be hard to control but that may just be me.

    There IS a gamepad only mode. You just need to swipe down on the gamepad when the game starts up and then you can play it on there. It was extremely simple to do and I had no problems.

    The only beef I have with the game is Danicka Patrick, not sure why she is there when they could have had someone like Vectorman in there but to each his own, maybe some people will like her.

    Overall, I give this game a 10 because it is truly a great game, one that is overlooked and this should not be the case. This is not a port either because the game was developed equally for xbox 360 and ps3 and even came out the same day. The game also has a few wii u specific modes that I have yet to try. Overall, there are very little flaws and the game is miles ahead of the last game, which I personally thought was fun to begin with. All in all, this game is HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.
    Expand
  2. Apr 28, 2013
    10
    When it first came out there were game killing bugs in it. Terrible!!! However, they've patched it and now it's a very fun game. You can play single player on just the GamePad. You can play 2 player main game and it does one person on the tv and one person on the GamePad so 2 player is NOT split screen. and you can play online. Plus you can have 5 players in the same room playing. (4 player split screen and 1 on the gamepad)
    One thing I like better about this than Mario Kart is when you get hit by items it slows you down, but it doesn't completely bring you to a stop so it helps out the players that are trying to catch up but it's not devastating to the guy that gets hit which makes it much less frustrating.
    Expand
  3. Aug 4, 2013
    9
    To sum up in non-words...... :)
    If you enjoy arcade racing with speed and local multiplayer this is a must-get. Wii U trumps other consoles
    with the use of the game pad allowing for more screen when playing with 2-4 players and gives a 5th player the option to join in. Also, when playing single player, just a quick swipe downward on your game pad will bring the game down off the tv and into your hands.

    How often have you wished the single player modes could be played with your friends? Well Sonic Racing allows for nearly every mode we have tried to be played with others locally. Fantastic. Also, each character can be leveled up regardless of what mode you play which keeps players invested in their preferred character and keeps you racing for progress.

    Controls are sharp, graphics and music are great, and gameplay is fun with carring, planing, and boating all done well. In addition the difficulty modes offer a good range of easy, medium, and hard that provides easy entry and punishing challenge. The variety and story mode of Sonic is most reminiscent of Diddy Kong Racing which was one of our favorite games for the N64. There are classic races, time trials, cups, boost challenges, traffic challenges, battle races, elimination races, drift challenges, and more. Online multiplayer is infused intelligently and provides players the opportunity to come in and out of races to try and improve their a rating and E-peen which ALSO allows your local friends to jump into your online races as guests.

    Courses are varied and littered with shortcuts and optimal routes for players to discover, and you should discover them as they are often the keys to victory. Items keep races exciting, but are not quite as impactful as MarioKart's which is welcome. There are exceptions, but if you race poorly you will be in the rear, if you race well near the front.

    Our only major gripe is at times you are left at a stand still during the boating sections and transition periods. If you hit them at the wrong angle or are struck by a pesky ice ball or firework just at a transition you are going to lose large amounts of track to your competition and will struggle to regain it. Also, there is not quite the amount of charm with Sega's characters as with Nintendo's. A challenge race when unlocking new characters would have also been a great addition rather than unlocking them with stars you earn from other competitions.

    Overall, Sonic & All Stars Racing is a fantastic game full of polish and all sorts of excellent ideas, particularly for those racing locally with friends. Mario Kart 8 have had the stakes raised ahead of them and I pray Nintendo implements many of these wonderful additions to allow us to continue the fun we have had with Sega and their fastest blueberry on earth within this sublime entry in the arcade racing genre.
    Expand
  4. Nov 29, 2012
    9
    This is the definitive console version of the game. It's a faithful port of the other versions with a boatload of Wii U exclusive content auch as off-tv play, 5 player local multiplayer and exclusive multiplayer modes revolving around asymmetric multiplayer. The critic reviews don't reflect the current quality of the game since it had a pretty severe bug that has since been fixed. It's beyond me how review sites can slap a permanent score to an obviously not permanent mishap in good conscience.

    I'm not giving the game a full 10 because I am not too fond of the SEGA characters and the game will get brutally hard if you want to 100% it. If you want a Kart game to hold you over until the next mario kart, this is it. And it's a damn good challenge at Nintendo to best this game.
    Expand
  5. Aug 16, 2014
    9
    This is a very fun and challenging racer that was a great distraction as I waited for Mario Kart. All of the characters have their own unique vehicle, and while the transforming gimmick was borrowed from MK7, I do think it was executed better, as you will now actually fly in a plane, rather than just glide as in MK. The tracks are all very cool, and there are a lot of challenges to go through in world tour mode. Very fun and enjoyable. Expand
  6. Nov 18, 2013
    9
    This game in my opinion was better than the latest Mario Kart entries great Race Track Designs an awesome soundtrack which threw me right back to old Dreamcast days and a very good Character Roster. That game hit the sweet spot! Online is fun too and the "Career" mode can be played cooperatively completely as any game mode you can choose from I believe. This game is also more about racing than using your bonus items, which I find fantastic! Way less frustration that way no blue shell kicking you to the fifth spot after having had the lead for several rounds. There 3 ways you race in this game. With the ability to transform into a flying vehicle or a boat at certain spots the experience masters to feel fresh all the time. I spent countless hours on this title and am very happy to have had such a great Kart Racer at the launch of the Wii U console although I hope Mario Kart 8 will be even better, which I think it will be. I´m a positive guy and better seems always better than not better see? Expand
  7. Mar 8, 2013
    7
    7.5 actually. Don't believe all the perfect 10 reviews, but don't believe the 5 one's either. This game is good, no doubt about it. The racing is fun. especially with friends. There are many characters to choose from, vehicles, upgrades etc. This is a proper racing game no doubt about it. The transformation gimick gives it more kick, but it's not a game changer imo. So why just 7.5? because that's what it's worth. Its a good game, but not great. I play mario kart 7 and mk7 is better than this, the gameplay is just more accurate and more challenging. So should you play it? yes! just don't think it's the racing game of the century. I'm sure that anyone can find joy in this game. If you're goinf to choose between Mario kart, or Sonic racing, go with mario. Collapse

See all 28 User Reviews