Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 102 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Sonic and the All-Stars cast battle for supremacy across land, water and air in transforming vehicles that change from cars to boats to planes mid-race.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Jan 4, 2013
    90
    Sonic & All-Stars Racing Transformed is a fantastic racer. The tracks and racers are great, and the controls – small jet niggles aside – are excellent.
  2. Dec 3, 2012
    90
    Sonic's second foray into the motoring world is his best yet, with a game that headlines the defining advantages of the Wii U format whilst providing more than enough to see and do for SEGA fans both young and old. Sonic & All-Stars Racing Transformed retains trademark aspects of the karting genre, but also provides enough variation on it to be able to stand side-by-side with Nintendo's eventual Mario equivalent.
  3. Nov 30, 2012
    88
    Amid a sea of sloppy ports, the Wii U version Sonic and All-Stars Racing Transformed shines like a veritable beacon: with the possible exception of Tekken Tag Tournament 2 it's the best multiplatform title on the console, and might just have the edge over the PS3 and 360 versions of the game, not least because offline play is now available for five players instead of four.
  4. Nov 21, 2012
    80
    The GamePad introduces a fifth player, career map, rear-view mirror ... This edition of Sonic & All-Stars Racing: Transformed is the most complete and with possibilities for a fun title that stands out this year and it assembles all of Sega's stars.
  5. Dec 5, 2012
    80
    I'll go on record and say that this is the best kart racer in some time (yes, even better than Mario Kart 7) – now that's saying something.
  6. 80
    If you're looking for a solitary campaign and online experience, then Sonic & All-Stars Racing Transformed is the game for you. If you want chaotic multiplayer party fun, wait until Mario Kart on Wii U.
  7. Nov 20, 2012
    60
    Broken modes, both online and off, bring the otherwise enjoyable Sonic & All-Stars Racing Transformed to a screeching halt.

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 27
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 27
  3. Negative: 1 out of 27
  1. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    This is a great game, definitely a sleeper hit. It lots of the characters from sega's past, which is great if you grew up with those games. If you didn't, it might be harder to relate to the characters but it's a racing game so it shouldn't matter too much.

    The tracks are very well designed and play extremely well. There are three parts to this game: Cart, Airplane, and boat. The cart plays the best in my opinion, it is completely flawless. The airplane and boat can sometimes be hard to control but that may just be me.

    There IS a gamepad only mode. You just need to swipe down on the gamepad when the game starts up and then you can play it on there. It was extremely simple to do and I had no problems.

    The only beef I have with the game is Danicka Patrick, not sure why she is there when they could have had someone like Vectorman in there but to each his own, maybe some people will like her.

    Overall, I give this game a 10 because it is truly a great game, one that is overlooked and this should not be the case. This is not a port either because the game was developed equally for xbox 360 and ps3 and even came out the same day. The game also has a few wii u specific modes that I have yet to try. Overall, there are very little flaws and the game is miles ahead of the last game, which I personally thought was fun to begin with. All in all, this game is HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.
    Expand
  2. Apr 28, 2013
    10
    When it first came out there were game killing bugs in it. Terrible!!! However, they've patched it and now it's a very fun game. You can play single player on just the GamePad. You can play 2 player main game and it does one person on the tv and one person on the GamePad so 2 player is NOT split screen. and you can play online. Plus you can have 5 players in the same room playing. (4 player split screen and 1 on the gamepad)
    One thing I like better about this than Mario Kart is when you get hit by items it slows you down, but it doesn't completely bring you to a stop so it helps out the players that are trying to catch up but it's not devastating to the guy that gets hit which makes it much less frustrating.
    Expand
  3. Mar 14, 2013
    9
    It may have a few issues here and there, But this is easily one of the best Kart racers ever made with genius track design, a great character roster for SEGA fans and game design that easily rivals and in some places beats Mario Kart, It's biggest downside is that the online play is pretty empty at the moment, you can find games with 3-4 people but you will rarely get a full lobby racing, But don't let that turn you off this game because it is fantastic and any Sonic, SEGA or Kart Racing fan should pick this up right now! Especially if you like playing with family and friends as this game supports FIVE player split-screen with one on the GamePad and 4 on the TV and you can take people you are playing locally with online for some great racing fun, The Wii U version also has some exclusives modes. Definitely worth a buy, One of the best Wii U titles for launch. Collapse
  4. Jan 21, 2014
    9
    This game absolutely reeks of F-Zero GX and that's the most praise I can give it. Also reminds me of Diddy Kong Racing. Overall an excellent kart racer well worth playing! Expand
  5. Nov 18, 2013
    9
    This game in my opinion was better than the latest Mario Kart entries great Race Track Designs an awesome soundtrack which threw me right back to old Dreamcast days and a very good Character Roster. That game hit the sweet spot! Online is fun too and the "Career" mode can be played cooperatively completely as any game mode you can choose from I believe. This game is also more about racing than using your bonus items, which I find fantastic! Way less frustration that way no blue shell kicking you to the fifth spot after having had the lead for several rounds. There 3 ways you race in this game. With the ability to transform into a flying vehicle or a boat at certain spots the experience masters to feel fresh all the time. I spent countless hours on this title and am very happy to have had such a great Kart Racer at the launch of the Wii U console although I hope Mario Kart 8 will be even better, which I think it will be. I´m a positive guy and better seems always better than not better see? Expand
  6. Nov 25, 2012
    8
    Let me start off by correcting some things mentioned in an earlier review by @specialmias. This game is far from a straight port. There are bonus tracks, ability to play as your Mii's, up to 5 person local multiplayer, and the addition of stickers for your license (I was told this sticker portion was new, but I may have been misinformed, so it may be present on other consoles). When Playing alone the gamepad serves two main functions, a minimap and a rear view camera. Although to be honest you won't be looking down too often. Gamepad only mode is supported, and is incredibly easy, just swipe on the screen from top to bottom, and bottom to top to play on the TV again. Pretty much the only thing stated that was correct is that the game looks gorgeous, and there is absolutely no frame rate drop. As for gameplay, this game certainly impresses. I was skeptical that this would be a cheap Mario Kart rip-off, but i couldn't be farther from the truth. The game is addictive, beautifully paced, and offers many different modes to choose from. Not only can you race, but there are also fun battle stages, elimination races, and many more to choose from. The controls handle very well, the steering is fluid and very responsive. The music in this game is decent, some is even addictive. I wouldn't give it any awards though. The game's gimmick, transforming, is incredibly fun. It does it so much better than Mario Kart 7. They keep the race fair, and in many courses you can choose if you want to drive or fly/boat at certain points. For example my brother prefers to drive the car rather than the boat. So while I dive into the water, he steers off to the right and keeps on the road. This isn't always an option, but it is nice when present.

    This game even comes with an affordable price tag, at a modest 39.99 at most stores. I honestly would recommend this over any Mario Kart game, ever (and yes I have played them all).
    Expand
  7. Mar 8, 2013
    7
    7.5 actually. Don't believe all the perfect 10 reviews, but don't believe the 5 one's either. This game is good, no doubt about it. The racing is fun. especially with friends. There are many characters to choose from, vehicles, upgrades etc. This is a proper racing game no doubt about it. The transformation gimick gives it more kick, but it's not a game changer imo. So why just 7.5? because that's what it's worth. Its a good game, but not great. I play mario kart 7 and mk7 is better than this, the gameplay is just more accurate and more challenging. So should you play it? yes! just don't think it's the racing game of the century. I'm sure that anyone can find joy in this game. If you're goinf to choose between Mario kart, or Sonic racing, go with mario. Expand

See all 27 User Reviews