• Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Oct 29, 2013
  • Also On: 3DS
Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 64 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 64
  2. Negative: 9 out of 64
  1. Oct 30, 2013
    44
    Sonic Team, I’m just going to spell this out for you. This is not what we want from a Sonic game. Don’t go back to the drawing board. Don’t try to re-invent Sonic’s image again. Just give us the stuff that works from your last few successful titles and call it a day.
  2. Oct 29, 2013
    40
    Occasional moments of brilliance do very little to elevate what is otherwise a terrible, poorly designed game. It's an unfortunate mash of ill-fitting, ill-conceived ideas, leaving us with yet another poor Sonic game.
  3. Oct 23, 2013
    40
    Striking visuals and catchy music aside, there's not much fun to be had with Sonic Lost World. The clunky controls leave much to be desired, and the game seems to work much better overall when everything is allowed to run its course automatically. Sonic Lost World proves that Sega's blue hedgehog, in spite of his speed, has trouble keeping pace with the better, more modern platforms out there.
  4. Oct 18, 2013
    40
    It’s depressing that the one modern game that shows the most effort is also the least satisfying to play, but if Sonic is ever to work in three-dimensions Lost World gives no clue as to how it might work.
  5. Oct 18, 2013
    40
    Sonic games, and platformers in general, have always been about memorising the lay of the land, but rarely have mistakes been so costly or heavily punished, and it says much that one retailer’s preorder bonus consists solely of 25 additional lives.
  6. Oct 18, 2013
    40
    The most heartbreaking thing about all this is that Sonic Team is clearly trying; the developer throws everything it can at the game in the hope that something will stick. Yet the result is a disastrous lack of focus.
  7. Nov 18, 2013
    35
    Sonic is no longer a good or even passable video game character.
  8. Oct 28, 2013
    20
    It doesn't take long, however, to realize that Sonic Team was inspired by Galaxy on a cosmetic level only. Lost World fails to execute on the gameplay afforded by circular worlds. In fact, in nearly every aspect of its design, it's evident that Sonic Team has never asked the crucial question: "why?"
  9. Oct 18, 2013
    20
    If you love him as I once did, you’ll agree that it’s time to take Sonic out back and put him out of everyone’s misery.
User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 292 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 93
  2. Negative: 14 out of 93
  1. Oct 30, 2013
    7
    Sonic Lost World, in a way, is almost like having a bipolar disorder; at one moment, the game almost perfectly captures the essence of a good Sonic game, while at others, becomes an incredibly infuriating and frustrating platformer that tries to put Sonic in situations where he does not excel in. For what Sonic Lost World does right, it really hits home, reflecting on the multiple archetypes Sonic's initial outings in terms of its level structure. However, for its wrongdoings, one can only question why SEGA did not overlook these wrongdoings, as they become apparent so easily. Specifically, Sonic Lost World is a balance between levels whose philosophy in design reflects his initial outings, and levels whose philosophy in design is questionable at best.

    In terms of this balance, the levels are associated with two different categories. One category places an emphasis on speed, and balances it out with plentiful of platforming and many alternate hidden paths and exits. This emergence of depth in level design was shown to an extent with Sonic Colors and Sonic Generations, but has not been shown with as much depth since Sonic's initial outings. Sonic Lost World rekindles this fire incredibly strong in these sorts of levels. Grinding Levels are also welcome to this edition, as their depth has risen drastically. Multiple routes to grind and tons of ingeniously tricky spots make these levels almost, if not as enjoyable, as the sorts of levels listed above. The second category, however, withdraws almost all of these aspects in place of gimmicky and linear level design that lacks the depth of the multi-route levels. Whether this may be rolling around in a snowball, having to remain hidden from an owl, scale up a linear set of platforms, etc., it withdraws from the essence of Sonic's initial outings in place of something mediocre at best.

    To be even more precise, let me list every level that's fun, okay-ish, and not fun:

    Fun:
    Windy Hill: Act 1, 2, 3, 4
    Desert Ruins: Act 1, 2, 3, 4
    Tropical Coast: Act 1, 3, 4
    Frozen Factory: Act 3
    Silent Forest: Act 1
    Lava Mountain: Act 2

    Okay-ish:
    Tropical Coast: Act 2
    Frozen Factory: Act: 1, 4
    Silent Forest: Act 3
    Sky Road: Act 1
    Lava Mountain: Act 4

    Not Fun:
    Frozen Factory: Act 2
    Silent Forest: Act 2, 4
    Sky Road: Act 2, 3, 4
    Lava Mountain: Act 1, 3
    Hidden World: Act 1, 2, 3, 4

    There are 32 zones in total (Not counting the Hidden Stages in each world, the Carnival Stages, or the Nights DLC), and 14 of them are fun, 6 of them are okay, and 12 of them are not fun. This means 44% of the stages are fun, 19% of the stages are okay, and 37% of the stages are not fun. Add either the fun stages and the okay stages, the okay stages and the not fun stages, or none as you will, but only 44% of the game is truly and undoubtedly fun. Luckily, that 44% of the game nails the gameplay down just fine. Also, if you think about it, 14 acts is roughly 7 zones in Sonic 2, and more acts than Sonic 3 (not & Knuckles) has to offer. Adding the okay acts with the fun acts, and you have almost as much acts as Sonic 3 & Knuckles (and that's not even counting the omission of Sandopolis and Lava Reef Zone -due to their mediocrity- from the list). If you think about it, that 44% isn't really that bad in retrospect.

    Sonic Lost World fumbles a lot, which is definitely a huge disappointment to an otherwise fantastic game. However, the parts that Sonic Lost World doesn't fumble on are truly fantastic and unforgettable parts. Take Sonic Lost World how you will, but it's a game in which its good aspects are engaging and creative enough to become incredibly replayable. Sonic Lost World is a game that may stumble quite a lot, but it comes through in the end on its feet.
    Full Review »
  2. Oct 31, 2013
    7
    Well i have made it to the 5th world... and i must say that i was both impressed and let down. At first, the levels were fun and exciting, but as the game progressed, the difficulty level increased so much and there were millions of death traps at every turn by the time i reached the frozen zone. At this point i became extremely frustrated and cut the game off. The first few worlds were amazing and fun for me. The game does a lot of things right, but it also does a lot of things wrong... i do see the resemblance between mario galaxy and this game, and i must say, im a 100% fan of the mario galaxy franchise, and this doesnt come close. but i am an extreme fan of sonic, having every sonic game from the genesis days, to the dreamcast day games, and the newer ones when sonic went to gamecube, xbox 360 and now wii u, and anything in between. I have every game... and this is ok to me. To me this game is like Sonic Colors, its ok. I have never been a fan of the color powers myself... im more into sonic generations gameplay style myself.... and evne sonic adventure 2 gamestyle. but its worth picking up at least. Full Review »
  3. Oct 29, 2013
    10
    This is a great game! I have been playing for a week now and it is amazing.Of course it's not perfect but besides the boss fights this is a game that is worth your time and money if you are a sonic or platformer fan Full Review »