• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
  • Also On: 3DS
Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 64 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 337 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: When the Deadly Six threaten to annihilate his world, Sonic's new moves and power-ups are the only way to defeat them before it is too late. In his latest plan to defeat Sonic and rule the world, Dr. Eggman has harnessed the power of 6 menacing creatures known as the Deadly Six. However,When the Deadly Six threaten to annihilate his world, Sonic's new moves and power-ups are the only way to defeat them before it is too late. In his latest plan to defeat Sonic and rule the world, Dr. Eggman has harnessed the power of 6 menacing creatures known as the Deadly Six. However, when the Deadly Six rise up against their new master, Sonic must unite with his arch nemesis Eggman and explore the mystical Lost Hex in order to take them on head-to-head. Use Sonic's unique new moves and incredible Color Powers to speed across a variety of unique terrains, racing inside, outside and upside down in every level. [Sega] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 64
  2. Negative: 9 out of 64
  1. Oct 18, 2013
    90
    Sonic Lost World is a great platform game. SEGA did a great job creating a brilliant level design and mashing up the best elements from Colors and Generations. This is a solid Wii U exclusive which, along with Rayman Legends, can easily sell the Nintendo console to platformers lovers.
  2. Oct 18, 2013
    80
    Even though the hedgehog’s deceleration is a resounding success, that precision in gameplay is hindered by a temperamental homing attack and subsequent cheap deaths. That aside, though, Sonic Lost World is unquestionably a return to form and a reason to care again – thankfully without the rose-tinted specs.
  3. Oct 22, 2013
    80
    Sonic Lost World is the ideal title for those seeking an immediate and funny platform meanwhile waiting for a new Mario.
  4. Oct 25, 2013
    65
    Sonic: Lost world introduces a few very strong new elements, but clings to old formulas that can’t be combined with the new 3D-style. That makes Sonic: Lost World great from time to time, but an awkward failure at others.
  5. Oct 18, 2013
    60
    Lost World could have been a great Sonic game, but agitating cutscenes, an overly complicated control scheme and a really unclear general direction puts a stop to that. I have a hard time imagining this will satisfy anyone to a full extent.
  6. Oct 28, 2013
    50
    It's more clear than ever that Sega doesn't know where to go with Sonic. The game tries to do a lot of things and end up failing at most of them. Those of you who want a great platformer for the Wii U should just pick up Rayman Legends or wait for Super Mario 3D World.
  7. Oct 18, 2013
    20
    If you love him as I once did, you’ll agree that it’s time to take Sonic out back and put him out of everyone’s misery.

See all 64 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 106
  2. Negative: 16 out of 106
  1. Oct 29, 2013
    10
    This is a great game! I have been playing for a week now and it is amazing.Of course it's not perfect but besides the boss fights this is aThis is a great game! I have been playing for a week now and it is amazing.Of course it's not perfect but besides the boss fights this is a game that is worth your time and money if you are a sonic or platformer fan Expand
  2. Nov 6, 2013
    10
    I think this game is worthy of an 8, but gave it a 10 in my score because I think the current user aggregate of 7.5 is too low for the game.I think this game is worthy of an 8, but gave it a 10 in my score because I think the current user aggregate of 7.5 is too low for the game.

    As a lifetime fan of Sonic, I've seen him at his best and worst. Sonic Lost World is definitely one of Sonic's better 3-D offerings. The plot and storytelling are enjoyable. The game is stupendous from a visual and audio standpoint. The soundtrack is wholly fantastic, ranging from super rad to breathtakingly beautiful. The gameplay in SLW feels more faithful to Sonic's Genesis classics, both in concept and execution, than any 3-D Sonic offering to date. Rather than being the ridiculously fast "boost to win" Sonic of recent years, Lost World focuses on acceleration and maintaining momentum through skillful platforming, just like the old days. The level design compliments the control mechanics really well, with a subtle brilliance even. The game isn't perfect. The Wii-U exclusive features like wisps feel totally shoehorned in an unnecessary. As Sonic Team is often wont to do, the focus on creativity over refinement can really be frustrating at times. Difficulty spikes toward the end are infuriating. Some ideas just don't work and can take away the grin the good 80% of the game gives you. Boss battles are terrible in this game. Overall though, I think Sonic Lost World deserves a much better reception than what it has received from the press. It's easily as good as Sonic Colors and should not be missed if you're a Sonic fan.
    Expand
  3. Oct 30, 2013
    9
    I just don't understand the negative reviews this game has been receiving. I'm going to go ahead and say its the best Sonic game sinceI just don't understand the negative reviews this game has been receiving. I'm going to go ahead and say its the best Sonic game since Adventure 2 on the Dreamcast. The controls are spot on, and holding the Z button to instantly run is perfect. To me, this game more closely resembles the 16 Bit Sonic games than any of the other 3D attempts. People forget but Sonic games on the Genesis had plenty of sections where You had to slow down and be very precise to make it through the levels. Playing this game just makes me think Sonic games are going to get bashed no matter what. In the past reviewers complained that Sonic had too many scripted 'go fast' events, now they complain that its too slow and methodical. Personally I feel that this game has a refreshing mixture of both. Maybe its just me, but I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this game to Sonic fans or anyone looking for a quality platformer. Expand
  4. Mar 6, 2014
    8
    Sonic lost world for the Wii u is a blast to play. I have never had any issues with the controls, the new layout for them feels very naturalSonic lost world for the Wii u is a blast to play. I have never had any issues with the controls, the new layout for them feels very natural the game is a lot of fun to play, the graphics are amazing and music is great. Sonic lost world for Wii u is a great purchase and i recommend it for every wii u owners and fans of platformers just, be prepared for the difficulty 8.5/10 Expand
  5. Mar 28, 2014
    7
    If only the DLC of Zelda and Yoshi could of been the main theme worlds of the whole game. Serious I would buy this again if this was how theyIf only the DLC of Zelda and Yoshi could of been the main theme worlds of the whole game. Serious I would buy this again if this was how they made a Sonic game. As the main game stands... its okay/bad. Game play is everything I don't like and come to expect. Buy this if you wanted to see a Zelda and Sonic game level or love Sonic colors that much.

    So yea... Conflicted gets a 7 game overall but people will be happy once they get to the DLC levels ....
    Expand
  6. Apr 23, 2014
    6
    The problem with Sonic Lost World is that it doesn't know what it wants to be. It mixes in many different gameplay styles, some that don'tThe problem with Sonic Lost World is that it doesn't know what it wants to be. It mixes in many different gameplay styles, some that don't work at all. Sadly the wisp power-ups, one of the great features in Sonic Colors, are one of the biggest pase brakers. The characters interactions are charming enough, and the game is very colorful. Over all this is not the worst Sonic game, but it's not one of the better ones either. Over all I'd put Sonic Lost World a step below Sonic Unleashed. They have the same set back, in that they show new ways to play a Sonic game. However Sonic Unleashed was more sure of what it wanted to do, where Lost World feels like it can't make up it's mind. Expand
  7. Jun 9, 2014
    0
    So this usless peice of **** video game i dont know where to get started. Matter of fact ill only say one thing. If you want to be sent to aSo this usless peice of **** video game i dont know where to get started. Matter of fact ill only say one thing. If you want to be sent to a mental hospital this game is for you. Just in case you was wondering what that would be like play outlast in real life Expand

See all 106 User Reviews