Sonic: Lost World Wii U

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
  • Also On: 3DS, PC
Sonic: Lost World Image
Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 64 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 429 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: When the Deadly Six threaten to annihilate his world, Sonic's new moves and power-ups are the only way to defeat them before it is too late. In his latest plan to defeat Sonic and rule the world, Dr. Eggman has harnessed the power of 6 menacing creatures known as the Deadly Six. However,When the Deadly Six threaten to annihilate his world, Sonic's new moves and power-ups are the only way to defeat them before it is too late. In his latest plan to defeat Sonic and rule the world, Dr. Eggman has harnessed the power of 6 menacing creatures known as the Deadly Six. However, when the Deadly Six rise up against their new master, Sonic must unite with his arch nemesis Eggman and explore the mystical Lost Hex in order to take them on head-to-head. Use Sonic's unique new moves and incredible Color Powers to speed across a variety of unique terrains, racing inside, outside and upside down in every level. [Sega] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 64
  2. Negative: 9 out of 64
  1. Oct 18, 2013
    90
    Sonic Lost World is a great platform game. SEGA did a great job creating a brilliant level design and mashing up the best elements from Colors and Generations. This is a solid Wii U exclusive which, along with Rayman Legends, can easily sell the Nintendo console to platformers lovers.
  2. Oct 18, 2013
    80
    Even though the hedgehog’s deceleration is a resounding success, that precision in gameplay is hindered by a temperamental homing attack and subsequent cheap deaths. That aside, though, Sonic Lost World is unquestionably a return to form and a reason to care again – thankfully without the rose-tinted specs.
  3. Oct 22, 2013
    80
    Sonic Lost World is the ideal title for those seeking an immediate and funny platform meanwhile waiting for a new Mario.
  4. Oct 25, 2013
    65
    Sonic: Lost world introduces a few very strong new elements, but clings to old formulas that can’t be combined with the new 3D-style. That makes Sonic: Lost World great from time to time, but an awkward failure at others.
  5. Oct 18, 2013
    60
    Lost World could have been a great Sonic game, but agitating cutscenes, an overly complicated control scheme and a really unclear general direction puts a stop to that. I have a hard time imagining this will satisfy anyone to a full extent.
  6. Oct 28, 2013
    50
    It's more clear than ever that Sega doesn't know where to go with Sonic. The game tries to do a lot of things and end up failing at most of them. Those of you who want a great platformer for the Wii U should just pick up Rayman Legends or wait for Super Mario 3D World.
  7. Oct 18, 2013
    20
    If you love him as I once did, you’ll agree that it’s time to take Sonic out back and put him out of everyone’s misery.

See all 64 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 73 out of 136
  2. Negative: 18 out of 136
  1. Oct 29, 2013
    10
    This is a great game! I have been playing for a week now and it is amazing.Of course it's not perfect but besides the boss fights this is aThis is a great game! I have been playing for a week now and it is amazing.Of course it's not perfect but besides the boss fights this is a game that is worth your time and money if you are a sonic or platformer fan Expand
  2. Apr 26, 2014
    10
    che cosa solo un voto nella media a questa sonic che devasta letteralmente gli altri prequel in 3d che era tra l'anonimi ( sonic adventure dxche cosa solo un voto nella media a questa sonic che devasta letteralmente gli altri prequel in 3d che era tra l'anonimi ( sonic adventure dx , sonic unleashed) oppure giochi buoni ( sonic heroes , sonic colors) questo titolo stramerita i vostri soldi Expand
  3. Feb 12, 2015
    9
    Game is actually quite good, sometimes a bit hard but a very good Sonic game. Arguably the best one in the last 10-15 years. Classic SonicGame is actually quite good, sometimes a bit hard but a very good Sonic game. Arguably the best one in the last 10-15 years. Classic Sonic turned into a 3D style title.

    Some consider this a "Mario Galaxy" game, but it isn't really the case. The gameplay feels like if old Sonic went into the new modern Sonic games but focused more on accuracy and mixed speeds.

    Heard alot consider it better then Colors, but it depends on whether you played it.
    Expand
  4. Nov 28, 2013
    8
    I'm someone who had previously written Sonic games off as just plain crap thanks to some bad
    experiences with previous games starring SEGA's
    I'm someone who had previously written Sonic games off as just plain crap thanks to some bad
    experiences with previous games starring SEGA's blue hedgehog. Out of all the Sonic games I had played, only one of them I enjoyed, and it was deviation from Sonic's platforming roots into the realm of an RPG. Something about Lost World just stuck out to me when I was hearing about it, so I decided to try it despite my reservations with the series. I'm glad I did try it, because this is a great game and the best Sonic platformer I've ever played. It has made me change my opinions about what to expect with a Sonic game.

    The presentation is excellent. Graphics are charming, bright, and colorful. The voice acting is great, making the Saturday morning carton style story enjoyable. It's the first time I've not been irritated by the story and characters in a Sonic game since Sonic Chronicles. The soundtrack is nice, but I never really noticed it while I was playing the levels. So Lost World nails it with the presentation, but none of that matters if the gameplay is crap. Thankfully this is the tightest gameplay I've experienced with a Sonic title yet.

    It plays out with both 2D and 3D platforming sections. Both present a fun gameplay and a nice challenge. The controls are tight and responsive, but wall running in the later levels is irritatingly off. One of the first things that stuck out to me is that Sonic isn't tearing through levels at high speeds, but instead seems to casually jog through levels in a way that's more traditional with 3D platformers. This isn't a bad thing at all, it's just at odds with what I've come to expect from a Sonic game. If anything it's actually an improvement over past games. With this slower sense of speed I feel like I had more control over Sonic's movements and could pull off more precise platforming. Overall the level design is mostly excellent, except for a few cheap hits that the game will throw at you from time to time. So as a single-player experience everything is great, where the game stumbles is with it's co-operative and competitive multiplayer.

    Everything still works out well for the person who's playing as Sonic, but it's the co-op buddy who ends up feeling left out throughout the majority of the game. Player 2 is stuck playing as some kind of lame aircraft that is a pain to control and is basically useless. The second player can only attack a few types of enemies with an awful targeting system, they can't do any sort of platforming, and they are constantly losing themselves off screen thanks to the fact that Sonic moves faster than them. The only thing they can do is collect the occasional ring or shoot the occasional enemy. For the most part co-op was a useless addition that will just leave whoever gets stuck playing as the second player bored. Unfortunately competitive multiplayer isn't much better. Sure both players get to play as a different colored Sonic, but these levels are boring and just plain don't work. The "Ring Race" has each character competing to collect the most amount of rings before time runs out. This mode just goes on for way to long and the enemies here just aren't any sort of threat to your stash of rings. The other two modes just has each player racing through levels to get to the goal first. This mode suffers because before either player can reach the goal the time limit will run out and the whole thing will just be considered a draw. I don't understand why they made these race levels so big and not give players enough time on the clock to get through them. It really is just a waste.

    Still as a single-player experience everything works out great, and single-player is how the game is meant to be played. Tight level-design, nice challenge, and just all around great gameplay save the package. Sure it's not exactly perfect but it's a heck of a lot of fun to play. Lost World has successfully restored my faith in Sonic games and I am more than willing to give the blue blur another chance. Sonic Team really did a great job with this one.
    Expand
  5. Jan 11, 2014
    7
    Sonic lost worlds has its very strong points and allot of negative. People didn't expect this type of a sonic game coming out because its aSonic lost worlds has its very strong points and allot of negative. People didn't expect this type of a sonic game coming out because its a lot like Mario galaxy but that's were people get mad because its not as good as super Mario galaxy. the concept is the same but once u feel the controls its nothing like Mario galaxy. the positives are: this is as tight and the best sonic has ever controlled. you have more control into sonic's turning and controls compared to ever before. sure hes slower but that's the beauty of it. I'm a sonic adventure 2 guy so i like super speed but this game is like its own play style. nothing like anybody has ever seen from sonic and it controls well and the general amount of the levels are fun and enjoyable. the music is decent and its a good game. Negatives: for some people it is too slow ironically. the storyline is plain and boring but all of the 2d sonic games weren't very good either because it was all about game-play so focus on the game-play for this game. Negative is that they introduce you to the controls so poorly stopping you in the middle of your level to tell you which stops the game flow completely. overall a solid good sonic game. But there is allot more they could have done and i feel they went in the wrong direction for the fans stand point Expand
  6. Apr 23, 2014
    6
    The problem with Sonic Lost World is that it doesn't know what it wants to be. It mixes in many different gameplay styles, some that don'tThe problem with Sonic Lost World is that it doesn't know what it wants to be. It mixes in many different gameplay styles, some that don't work at all. Sadly the wisp power-ups, one of the great features in Sonic Colors, are one of the biggest pase brakers. The characters interactions are charming enough, and the game is very colorful. Over all this is not the worst Sonic game, but it's not one of the better ones either. Over all I'd put Sonic Lost World a step below Sonic Unleashed. They have the same set back, in that they show new ways to play a Sonic game. However Sonic Unleashed was more sure of what it wanted to do, where Lost World feels like it can't make up it's mind. Expand
  7. Jun 9, 2014
    0
    So this usless peice of **** video game i dont know where to get started. Matter of fact ill only say one thing. If you want to be sent to aSo this usless peice of **** video game i dont know where to get started. Matter of fact ill only say one thing. If you want to be sent to a mental hospital this game is for you. Just in case you was wondering what that would be like play outlast in real life Expand

See all 136 User Reviews