Sonic: Lost World Wii U

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
  • Also On: 3DS
Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 64 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 387 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: When the Deadly Six threaten to annihilate his world, Sonic's new moves and power-ups are the only way to defeat them before it is too late. In his latest plan to defeat Sonic and rule the world, Dr. Eggman has harnessed the power of 6 menacing creatures known as the Deadly Six. However,When the Deadly Six threaten to annihilate his world, Sonic's new moves and power-ups are the only way to defeat them before it is too late. In his latest plan to defeat Sonic and rule the world, Dr. Eggman has harnessed the power of 6 menacing creatures known as the Deadly Six. However, when the Deadly Six rise up against their new master, Sonic must unite with his arch nemesis Eggman and explore the mystical Lost Hex in order to take them on head-to-head. Use Sonic's unique new moves and incredible Color Powers to speed across a variety of unique terrains, racing inside, outside and upside down in every level. [Sega] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 64
  2. Negative: 9 out of 64
  1. Oct 18, 2013
    90
    Sonic Lost World is a great platform game. SEGA did a great job creating a brilliant level design and mashing up the best elements from Colors and Generations. This is a solid Wii U exclusive which, along with Rayman Legends, can easily sell the Nintendo console to platformers lovers.
  2. Oct 18, 2013
    80
    Even though the hedgehog’s deceleration is a resounding success, that precision in gameplay is hindered by a temperamental homing attack and subsequent cheap deaths. That aside, though, Sonic Lost World is unquestionably a return to form and a reason to care again – thankfully without the rose-tinted specs.
  3. Oct 22, 2013
    80
    Sonic Lost World is the ideal title for those seeking an immediate and funny platform meanwhile waiting for a new Mario.
  4. Oct 25, 2013
    65
    Sonic: Lost world introduces a few very strong new elements, but clings to old formulas that can’t be combined with the new 3D-style. That makes Sonic: Lost World great from time to time, but an awkward failure at others.
  5. Oct 18, 2013
    60
    Lost World could have been a great Sonic game, but agitating cutscenes, an overly complicated control scheme and a really unclear general direction puts a stop to that. I have a hard time imagining this will satisfy anyone to a full extent.
  6. Oct 28, 2013
    50
    It's more clear than ever that Sega doesn't know where to go with Sonic. The game tries to do a lot of things and end up failing at most of them. Those of you who want a great platformer for the Wii U should just pick up Rayman Legends or wait for Super Mario 3D World.
  7. Oct 18, 2013
    20
    If you love him as I once did, you’ll agree that it’s time to take Sonic out back and put him out of everyone’s misery.

See all 64 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 67 out of 122
  2. Negative: 18 out of 122
  1. Feb 19, 2015
    10
    Unlike the Critics like the biased IGN and unreliable Gamespot, I actually know how to play a Sonic game. And let me tell you, I knew how toUnlike the Critics like the biased IGN and unreliable Gamespot, I actually know how to play a Sonic game. And let me tell you, I knew how to play this Masterpiece. Many people think it's a copy off of Mario Galaxy, although the truth is Mario Galaxy is kinda a copy off of the space levels in Sonic Adventure 2, Sonic Adventure 2's levels are related to Yoshi's Island space-like levels, and Yoshi's Island's space levels are a copy off of many parts of Sonic 3 and Knuckles's Carnival Night Zone and Death Egg Zone, and Sonic X-treme (Which a lot of people seem to be in denial of, thinking it was a fish-eye view game only, but the truth is it was a combination of both gravity-based gameplay and the fish-eye view, yeah I've done my research.) But I digress. And while I admit Mario Galaxy was a magnificent game, it was not completely original, because Sega thought of the idea first, and while many fans of Mario Galaxy can deny it all they want, it's not going to change the facts, but again, I emphasize, Mario Galaxy was a god-like game, a great step away from the money-grabbing, repetitive, sexist, though sometimes creative, games Mario is usually in.

    So the claims that Sonic Lost World is a rip-off of Mario Galaxy is distorted. I honestly like to think Sonic Lost World is just Sonic X-treme being finished off because of the similarities that one of the original ideas for the storyline Sonic X-treme was going to have was implemented in Sonic Lost World, The six Zeti being the original 'six chaos monsters' that were going to be under forced to do Eggman's biding after he stole and released them from the Master Emerald, (Half of that idea was put to use on Chaos in Sonic Adventure.) Although while I admit Sonic Lost World is nearly original, I do admit I've found out a few of the developers of the game where inspired by parts of Mario Galaxy, but that's parts, not all of it. Many creators have been inspired by others ideas, but have managed to make it original. Just like my father always says, "Good people are great creators, great people are inspired by the ideas of others, with so many ideas in the world, arguably nothing is truly original."
    Expand
  2. Nov 6, 2013
    10
    I think this game is worthy of an 8, but gave it a 10 in my score because I think the current user aggregate of 7.5 is too low for the game.I think this game is worthy of an 8, but gave it a 10 in my score because I think the current user aggregate of 7.5 is too low for the game.

    As a lifetime fan of Sonic, I've seen him at his best and worst. Sonic Lost World is definitely one of Sonic's better 3-D offerings. The plot and storytelling are enjoyable. The game is stupendous from a visual and audio standpoint. The soundtrack is wholly fantastic, ranging from super rad to breathtakingly beautiful. The gameplay in SLW feels more faithful to Sonic's Genesis classics, both in concept and execution, than any 3-D Sonic offering to date. Rather than being the ridiculously fast "boost to win" Sonic of recent years, Lost World focuses on acceleration and maintaining momentum through skillful platforming, just like the old days. The level design compliments the control mechanics really well, with a subtle brilliance even. The game isn't perfect. The Wii-U exclusive features like wisps feel totally shoehorned in an unnecessary. As Sonic Team is often wont to do, the focus on creativity over refinement can really be frustrating at times. Difficulty spikes toward the end are infuriating. Some ideas just don't work and can take away the grin the good 80% of the game gives you. Boss battles are terrible in this game. Overall though, I think Sonic Lost World deserves a much better reception than what it has received from the press. It's easily as good as Sonic Colors and should not be missed if you're a Sonic fan.
    Expand
  3. Oct 29, 2013
    10
    This is a great game! I have been playing for a week now and it is amazing.Of course it's not perfect but besides the boss fights this is aThis is a great game! I have been playing for a week now and it is amazing.Of course it's not perfect but besides the boss fights this is a game that is worth your time and money if you are a sonic or platformer fan Expand
  4. Nov 5, 2013
    8
    Great Platformer. but it feels like a Mario Galaxy game oh well.

    Controls are more.... Controllable. Great Cartoony visuals. the story had
    Great Platformer. but it feels like a Mario Galaxy game oh well.

    Controls are more.... Controllable. Great Cartoony visuals. the story had alot of emotion and dialogue that the story was a thrill ride of fun. This is a good sonic game and a must-get for the Wii U
    Expand
  5. Dec 18, 2014
    7
    This game is already criminally underrated. Now, don't get me wrong. There are some poor choices here. A couple levels in here are tooThis game is already criminally underrated. Now, don't get me wrong. There are some poor choices here. A couple levels in here are too gimmicky and do drag down the game. But this game stays truer to the original sonic series than even the first 3D sonic games. When the game gets its levels down, its a fun time. The parkour may be hit or miss, but in the games case, it at least is trying something new without smothering the whole game in a shroud of confusion. The new enemies are designed nicely and dont feel out of place in the retroesque world. They may be very stereotypical, but im pretty sure that's the point. Theyre a team called the deadly six. They were going to be cheesy. Overall this game is worth playing. And its damn better than anything Sonic related in the 2000s. Expand
  6. Apr 23, 2014
    6
    The problem with Sonic Lost World is that it doesn't know what it wants to be. It mixes in many different gameplay styles, some that don'tThe problem with Sonic Lost World is that it doesn't know what it wants to be. It mixes in many different gameplay styles, some that don't work at all. Sadly the wisp power-ups, one of the great features in Sonic Colors, are one of the biggest pase brakers. The characters interactions are charming enough, and the game is very colorful. Over all this is not the worst Sonic game, but it's not one of the better ones either. Over all I'd put Sonic Lost World a step below Sonic Unleashed. They have the same set back, in that they show new ways to play a Sonic game. However Sonic Unleashed was more sure of what it wanted to do, where Lost World feels like it can't make up it's mind. Expand
  7. Jun 9, 2014
    0
    So this usless peice of **** video game i dont know where to get started. Matter of fact ill only say one thing. If you want to be sent to aSo this usless peice of **** video game i dont know where to get started. Matter of fact ill only say one thing. If you want to be sent to a mental hospital this game is for you. Just in case you was wondering what that would be like play outlast in real life Expand

See all 122 User Reviews