User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 968 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 63 out of 968

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 23, 2013
    10
    Super Mario 3D World described in one word is: Perfect. The only perfect game I have ever played. This game has no flaws that I can find. The graphics are stunning, the music is phenomenal,the camera is perfect, the frame rate is hard locked at 60fps and it never even flinches, the controls are spot on, the gameplay is great, the level design is inhuman levels of good, and over all thisSuper Mario 3D World described in one word is: Perfect. The only perfect game I have ever played. This game has no flaws that I can find. The graphics are stunning, the music is phenomenal,the camera is perfect, the frame rate is hard locked at 60fps and it never even flinches, the controls are spot on, the gameplay is great, the level design is inhuman levels of good, and over all this game is the very best game I have ever played,even better than the Wind Waker. If you don't own a Nintendo Wii U this game practically begs you too buy one. If this is how next generation Nintendo games are gonna be, I'm happy to once again be on the Nintendo bandwagon, a bandwagon I haven't been in since 2006. Expand
  2. Dec 27, 2013
    9
    The Mario series has recently got repetitive and unimaginative. I was worried this would be the point where it stopped being the perfect example of game design it once was, but Super Mario 3D World proved me wrong. Super Mario 3D World is the best Mario game since Galaxy 2, and in many ways it’s almost like a new Mario Galaxy game. It’s full of playful ideas, creative power-ups andThe Mario series has recently got repetitive and unimaginative. I was worried this would be the point where it stopped being the perfect example of game design it once was, but Super Mario 3D World proved me wrong. Super Mario 3D World is the best Mario game since Galaxy 2, and in many ways it’s almost like a new Mario Galaxy game. It’s full of playful ideas, creative power-ups and pitch-perfect design.
    The graphics look beautiful. They’re crisp and sharp, and 3D World revels in telling you that. From visually stunning cutscenes to camera angles that show you the world’s beauty, Super Mario 3D World uses graphics to generate an atmosphere that’s unrivalled by other games. This is the best Mario games have ever looked, in glorious, colourful HD. Lots of new environments help make it look so good. Tiny details aren’t overlooked- small droplets of water trickle down the screen in rainy levels. There is a level set in the African Savannah, in which the sun casts a spell on the land. Even environments from previous Marios are updated to look fantastic: the water sparkles beautifully in the beach levels and the lava in volcano levels has never looked more alive.
    The fantastic music sets the atmosphere, ranging from the haunting ghost house theme to the many jazzy tunes in the game. The recordings are of excellent quality, too.
    But while the presentation of the game firmly pushes it into the next-gen, it’s the groundbreaking gameplay that makes it one of the best Mario games. Multiplayer is a riot, with chaotic gameplay that’s full of calamity, and yet fun. Each character has different strengths and weaknesses, for example, Peach is one for inexperienced players as she can glide and runs slower. It’s one of the best additions to a Mario game since he went to space. It is annoying, however, that players share lives, so an expert player may find all their lives drained if they’re playing with a novice. This isn’t a huge problem, though, as getting a game over only takes you back to the start of the level. Local multiplayer is a blast, but it’s a shame there’s no online.
    There are loads of new power-ups and items. As well as returning ones, the cat suit allows Mario to climb walls and scratch enemies, but the double cherry was my favourite. Every time you collect one, it creates a clone of you that you control at the same time. Soon I had five clones of myself and combined with fire Mario, I could shoot five fireballs at a time! It allows for fun, chaotic gameplay.
    Of course the power-ups would be useless without the level design, and 3D World succeeds on that area too. Levels are brimming with creativity. Each one is wildly different from the other. Some of my favourites were an underground level in which you could only see the shadows of everything. In another, there were platforms that appeared and disappeared in time with the rhythm of the music. Mario 3D World juggles tonnes of new ideas but never lets any of them outstay their welcome. I constantly complete a level (which usually take about 5 minutes) to be faced with yet another idea which turns everything on its head. Sadly, the Gamepad is integrated very little into the game. That second screen’s capabilities are not utilised nearly as much as they should be. This doesn’t remove the creativity in the game at all though, and 3D World has some of the best bosses in the series, with hugely inventive battles, despite there not being enough of them.
    Levels are at their most challenging in this entry in the series, as well. Prepare to die a lot, especially in the later stages. Some of the levels in the Bowser world seriously challenged me, with one in particular killing me over fifteen times. Overall, the game took me about 10 hours from the beginning to the end credits, which is an underwhelming length when compared to its predecessors. It’s got a lot of content, but the fact levels are short bursts of energy rather than the long challenges they were in games in the Galaxy series means 3D World is a lot shorter. There are however 3 green stars and a stamp to collect in each level, which are hidden in hard-to-find areas or put in precarious positions that are extremely hard to reach and survive. There are also extra levels available after you beat the game, but fewer than in past Mario games. Altogether, though, 3D World does add up to a longer experience than 10 hours, particularly if you aim to complete it 100%. It’s an excellent Mario game, one that’s constantly throwing in something new. It has better graphics and framerate than the majority of PS4 and Xbox One launch games and, best of all, it’s huge fun to play. It can easily claim the prize of being an outstanding platformer, and it proves that even now, Nintendo can still create an inventive, fresh and well-designed Mario game as much as they could 25 years ago.
    Expand
  3. Dec 29, 2013
    9
    This game is no Super Mario 64, sunshine, or galaxy. It is the 2nd game in the Super Mario 3D series, Super Mario 3D Land being the first. If you've played that game, expect just about the same thing but with better graphics (obviously), more creativity and innovation, and just a better experience overall. The multiplayer also adds an extra layer of fun to the game, and unlike New SuperThis game is no Super Mario 64, sunshine, or galaxy. It is the 2nd game in the Super Mario 3D series, Super Mario 3D Land being the first. If you've played that game, expect just about the same thing but with better graphics (obviously), more creativity and innovation, and just a better experience overall. The multiplayer also adds an extra layer of fun to the game, and unlike New Super Mario Brothers, it actually works because you don't get into each other's way. Honestly, this game isn't as good as most critics have been saying, but it's still a fantastic game. I would give it just a flat, simple 9/10. It deserves a 9, but nothing more. If you like Super Mario Brothers linear run to the flag gameplay, but you like the 3D roaming and controls of the Super Mario series (64, sunshine, galaxy), then you'll love this game. I would say that it's the best Mario game released that isn't in the Super Mario main series. Hope this helped. Expand
  4. Dec 31, 2013
    10
    Perfect in ways unlike the Galaxy series, 3D World is my game of the year. I went in quite skeptical but came away very pleased. The sheer amount of new game play mechanics is outstanding. Not to mention having a great soundtrack.
  5. Dec 31, 2013
    8
    Like cute Mario games? Got friends?

    BAM. The game for you. The simple 3D masterpiece of graphics is fun to play, easy for anyone, and almost enough content for hours of life to go by. It's less traditional, colorful, and appealing on the Wii U, and even if some say it is a game for younger children, it's not a bother to play. If you've got a Wii U, and you don't have much to play,
    Like cute Mario games? Got friends?

    BAM. The game for you. The simple 3D masterpiece of graphics is fun to play, easy for anyone, and almost enough content for hours of life to go by. It's less traditional, colorful, and appealing on the Wii U, and even if some say it is a game for younger children, it's not a bother to play.

    If you've got a Wii U, and you don't have much to play, this is for you. Wii U.
    Expand
  6. Jan 1, 2014
    9
    This is the best mario game since galaxy Super mario 3d world is an outstanding game it fantastic in every aspect it's creative and the game is extremely fun
  7. Jan 1, 2014
    9
    This Game is Amazing, the art style is so incredible, the gameplay is way far improved from 3D Land, the graphics, I don't really care for it but let's say they are perfect graphics for a Wii U game.
    Buy this game, It's the best Mario game now.
  8. Jan 6, 2014
    10
    this game is a perfect 10/10 nice graphics great gameplay the 3D elements add a nice touch the cat-mario and other new suits add some more fun to an already amazing franchise many consider it to be the best mario since mario 64 i totally agree definitely a must own for the wii u id recommend a wii u for this game alone
  9. Jan 7, 2014
    10
    An amazing game that shows off the Nintendo magic. This game is a must-have for Wii U owners! It's fun and challenging to play alone, and if you prefer to have friends or family play, this game is all-around fun and relaxing. It is definitely one of the best Mario games to date, visually and game play-wise. The colors and art style are just stunning in this game, it'll have you admiring itAn amazing game that shows off the Nintendo magic. This game is a must-have for Wii U owners! It's fun and challenging to play alone, and if you prefer to have friends or family play, this game is all-around fun and relaxing. It is definitely one of the best Mario games to date, visually and game play-wise. The colors and art style are just stunning in this game, it'll have you admiring it even though you should be making your way through the level! and as well for the controls and innovations, which make the game even better.
    The game itself is a good amount of fun, but if you're one of those people that like 100% ing your games, this one will last quite a while.
    The game is just platforming perfection!
    Expand
  10. Jan 8, 2014
    10
    Everything about this game is borderline perfect. The level design is amazing, absurdly addicting with 3 or 4 players (seriously it's crazy), the music is very catchy and memorable (the Boo house theme is a really good piece) and it's just so much fun. This game is hands down one of the best games of the year and is an essential purchase for any Wii U owner.
  11. Jan 10, 2014
    10
    BEST MARIO GAME to come out over the last 10 years! The family had a great time at Christmas playing 4 player mode and all skill levels of gamers had a blast and worked together. Not often can a game bring the whole family together to have a good laugh - thanks Nintendo!
  12. Jan 10, 2014
    10
    This game is an absolute JOY to play. Lots of replayability value and lots of polish. Level design is amazing, and the gameplay is phenomenal. Don't miss this game.
  13. PMG
    Jan 12, 2014
    9
    This game... Blew my expectations! With four players, this game becomes the god of COOP Mario games, there are so many power ups and most of all, it is just so fun! It is easy in places, but it is a charming and color full experience among the best Mario games ever made!
  14. Jan 13, 2014
    10
    This game is incredible! i have been playing it for 20 hours and still haven't fully beat it (100%) This game is crazy long and crazy amounts of fun! the best mario game to date! it added new mechanics to characters and if you played mario 2 every character has the same advantages as they did in that game (Princess floats, luigi jumps higher, toads faster, and marios well rounded and easyThis game is incredible! i have been playing it for 20 hours and still haven't fully beat it (100%) This game is crazy long and crazy amounts of fun! the best mario game to date! it added new mechanics to characters and if you played mario 2 every character has the same advantages as they did in that game (Princess floats, luigi jumps higher, toads faster, and marios well rounded and easy to control) i really did enjoy how creative they got with the levels and how it never felt like i played the same level twice. All in all i loved the game and i thought it deserves it's rating it got.

    P.S sorry about poor punctuation i'm not a writer i'm just a guy who likes games.
    Expand
  15. Jan 14, 2014
    10
    Nintendo never fails when the things is their main titles. Super Mario 3D World is not exception. The game is very good, the graphics are amazing and very well detailed, it really shows what the Wii U is capable of. Galaxy 2 had amazing graphics, but 3D World is better in every way possible. Super Mario 3D World's main gimmick is the "3D exploration but with a 2D feeling", like it'sNintendo never fails when the things is their main titles. Super Mario 3D World is not exception. The game is very good, the graphics are amazing and very well detailed, it really shows what the Wii U is capable of. Galaxy 2 had amazing graphics, but 3D World is better in every way possible. Super Mario 3D World's main gimmick is the "3D exploration but with a 2D feeling", like it's precessor Super Mario 3D Land. 3D World feels like a classic game, but with a modern touch. There is 4 playable characters to choose from. Each one of them have their own skills and you really fell that when you play the game, each character feels different when you play. Nintendo once again challenge players with level exploration in order to find secrets and stamps. The game rewards you for exploration and that is a very good thing is games. The levels feels gimmicky all the time, each level has something unique to see and do. Power-ups works pretty nice and the new Cat Bell, while it sounds weird, still a lot of fun to use. Bosses, however, are kinda a disappointment, they suffer from the "find the weak point, hit it 3 times" cliche and most of the time, it isn't fun, it is just boring. But still, the game is a lot of fun and finding all the stamps isn't an easy task and you keep coming back for more. Let's just hope that Nintendo continues with this formula to the next titles. Expand
  16. Jan 15, 2014
    8
    All the vibrant fun of the best Mario games but none of the frustrations. Having said that there is something else missing, a challenge. Nintendo has walked the thin line between pleasing existing fans and attracting new fans who may be put off by a higher difficulty level. The problem isn't that the game is too easy but that there is rarely any risk or reward in anything that you do.All the vibrant fun of the best Mario games but none of the frustrations. Having said that there is something else missing, a challenge. Nintendo has walked the thin line between pleasing existing fans and attracting new fans who may be put off by a higher difficulty level. The problem isn't that the game is too easy but that there is rarely any risk or reward in anything that you do.

    Coins used to be collected to gain extra lives, now it's just for fun. Yes you still get extra lives but what's the point when you get infinite continues?

    A big thing is made of hitting the top of the flag pole but you can cheat by storing a cat suit until the end of the level and then just climbing to the top.

    Early levels are particularly easy and most can be 100% completed on a first attempt. The difficulty does get ramped up towards the end but it takes a long time in coming. The games longevity relies less on replayability and more on the sheer amount of worlds and levels it has. On three occasions I thought I was on the last world only to find there was more. At the time of writing this I have clocked well over 20 hours of play time and still have a few more stamps and green stars to collect.

    So yes it's a bit easy, at no point did I find my heart beating faster. But I still enjoyed every second of it. It's one of those games that when your not playing it your thinking about playing it. It's a game full of charm and subtle comic moments. Mario camps it up beautifully by meowing while mincing around in an adorable yellow cat onesie. The graphics look great in HD and the fantastic soundtrack combine to make a great overall package.
    Expand
  17. Jan 17, 2014
    10
    Do you want to have fun? This is the game for you! Lighthearted, colorful, shiny game with perfect mechanics, fantastic music and flawless gameplay. As usual, the puzzles will give the players that challenge to keep them hooked.
  18. Jan 17, 2014
    10
    one of the best games out there on the wii u super mario 3d world brings the enjoyful of mario luigi toad and peach the game has quite a lot things you can do the captain toad game are far of may fav mini games on here this is more step foward to super mario 3d land
  19. Jan 17, 2014
    10
    I actually prefer this over super Mario 3d land! Man Nintendo really knocked this one out of the park! The cat suit and the multiplayer with different characters just makes it so fresh and unique
  20. Jan 19, 2014
    10
    This in many ways builds off galaxy/galaxy 2 plus more traditional Mario gameplay as well as some brand new stuff. Every level feels different One of my favourite games of 2013 and a reason to get the wii u.
  21. Jan 20, 2014
    10
    This game is awesome. The graphics are amazing and with family or freinds is one off the best local multiplayer games I have ever played period. Its not as fully explorable as mario 64 or banjo but is far more enjoyable then both those games. I would definitely recommend.
  22. Jan 21, 2014
    1
    I was really hoping Nintendo would bring a system selling 3D Mario title, a proper one like Sunshine or 64, but no, we got a worse version of Super Mario 3D Land. Controls are bad, you can only move in 9 directions, wtf is that about? Why have a control stick? Music is OK, not very memorable though. Level design/themes are stale, same themes as New Super Mario Bros., just in a differentI was really hoping Nintendo would bring a system selling 3D Mario title, a proper one like Sunshine or 64, but no, we got a worse version of Super Mario 3D Land. Controls are bad, you can only move in 9 directions, wtf is that about? Why have a control stick? Music is OK, not very memorable though. Level design/themes are stale, same themes as New Super Mario Bros., just in a different order. The game has no exploration, its just a straight path all the way to the FLAGPOLE... Why is there a flag pole in a "3D World"? It's not even a 3D World, you can't look around you, you can only see the direction you're going. Just to top it off there's a Time limit. This game is absolute trash, it's such a disappointment to people growing up with real Mario games, not the recent re-hashed abominations. The game is pathetically easy, it's literally boring, at no point do you feel in danger, I must have died twice maybe 3 times throughout the entire game. Only positive thing I can say is I liked using Peach, cause she floated for a little bit, seriously that was the highlight of the game, floating a bit. Do yourself a favour and don't think twice about picking this mess up. Imagine if this game didn't have Mario characters, the review scores would be slashed in half. Super Mario 2D World gets a 2/10 from me. (2D was intentional). Expand
  23. Jan 24, 2014
    8
    Although the 93% maybe justified you never feel like you're playing a classic such as when playing Mario galaxy 2.some good idea's although it feels slightly outdated
  24. Jan 26, 2014
    10
    Best Mario game in years! Amazing Graphics on each stage and beautiful music for each stage as well! The only problem that I had playing this game was its camera. The Camera was a issue with the multiplayer mode and in the stages that allow you to have clones with you however its a fantastic game worth buying.
  25. Feb 10, 2014
    10
    This game does co-op flawlessly.
    Level design is thrilling, inventive and fun.
    This game controls just about perfectly.
    The graphics are some of the best yet on Wii U.
    Loads and loads of content too.
    Works with old Wii mote +nunchuck too!
  26. Feb 14, 2014
    10
    Just one thing I can say, no Mario game will be more amazing in terms of level and gameplay than Mario Galaxy 1 or 2, that's a fact. But Super Mario 3D World is the funnest,extremely challenging and most beautiful Mario game to date. When Mario Galaxy 2 came out a lot of people were scared that nintendo wouldn't be able to come up with a Mario game that comes close to Galaxy's level andJust one thing I can say, no Mario game will be more amazing in terms of level and gameplay than Mario Galaxy 1 or 2, that's a fact. But Super Mario 3D World is the funnest,extremely challenging and most beautiful Mario game to date. When Mario Galaxy 2 came out a lot of people were scared that nintendo wouldn't be able to come up with a Mario game that comes close to Galaxy's level and thank god we were all wrong.
    Levels: Just like every Mario game the levels are jaw dropping and intelligently designed. No level is repetitive or dull. Every level has color and a smart design to it, whether you're avoiding spotlights that send Bullet Bills at you, or you have to run away from a horde of Fuzzies, every level will challenger your video game skills and will give you a satisfying feeling when you reach that end flag.
    Multiplayer: Single player is fun by itself, but multiplayer is insane. When 4 people are on the screen it's an absolute blast and hilarious throughout the entire time you play with friends, you will be bouncing off each other's heads or using each other's skills to grab the stars in the level, and compete for that first place crown. The only negative about multiplayer is the camera, when 4 people are too spread out the camera focuses on one character and will normally drag the others behind and cause them to die or bubble to you. This isn't much of a hassle in most level since the platforms are small, but on large open levels it becomes a hassle.
    Graphics: you will stand still and just state at the beauty that Nintendo has created, every object has shine and reflection, the characters and enemies animation are smooth and react naturally. Every step and jump releases a spark or some effect that adds color to the level. Even bouncing on enemies or throwing a fireball is beautiful. The music in this game is amazing as well, giving your ears a sense of euphoria. We just wish every level had a dedicated orchestrated soundtrack to go along with it.
    Verdict: Buy Super Mario 3D World RIGHT NOW, this game proves that nintendo still has what it takes and if you have a wii u and don't get this game then idk what you're doing with your life.
    Expand
  27. Feb 18, 2014
    10
    This game is one of my favourite games of 2013. I loved the fact that it had amazing gameplay, mixed with wonderful graphics and loveable, but silent, characters! I've completed the main story in about 13-14 hours and I still haven't finished! There are so many things to do this game is more than 20 hours if you are the person who likes to collect all stars and complete the game 100%.This game is one of my favourite games of 2013. I loved the fact that it had amazing gameplay, mixed with wonderful graphics and loveable, but silent, characters! I've completed the main story in about 13-14 hours and I still haven't finished! There are so many things to do this game is more than 20 hours if you are the person who likes to collect all stars and complete the game 100%.

    Thanks for reading.

    -Apologeticritic
    Expand
  28. Feb 22, 2014
    9
    The only reason this got a nine instead of a ten is the gold tanooki suit. The suit appears after you fail a level 5 times and gives you invincibility. I do not take it, but i really wish it wasn't there. If you say it is ok for young kids (5 or 6) I still think they should problem solve and beat the level, and it will be more of an accomplishment. But overall a phenomenal game.
  29. Feb 22, 2014
    10
    I wasn't so sure about this game prior to playing. My personal preference is more a classic 2D platformer. However, Nintendo has incorporated a slice of each of the classics and mashed it into an awesome 3D world... and it plays so well! Each level is somewhat unique, not overly challenging but not too easy either. Visuals are amazing. Soundtrack is very catchy, although slightlyI wasn't so sure about this game prior to playing. My personal preference is more a classic 2D platformer. However, Nintendo has incorporated a slice of each of the classics and mashed it into an awesome 3D world... and it plays so well! Each level is somewhat unique, not overly challenging but not too easy either. Visuals are amazing. Soundtrack is very catchy, although slightly repetitive. Overall fantastic game and a must have for Wii U and those who enjoy Mario platformers. Expand
  30. Feb 24, 2014
    10
    I was very underwhelmed by 3D Land, and after seeing the first trailer for this game, it looked like a rather dull sequel. Fortunately, this couldn't be less true. This game takes the 3D Land concept and makes enormous improvements in every area. 3D Land's one new power up (the Boomerang Suit) has been replaced by about a dozen new ones here. With the Cat Suit, Double Cherry, Cannon Box,I was very underwhelmed by 3D Land, and after seeing the first trailer for this game, it looked like a rather dull sequel. Fortunately, this couldn't be less true. This game takes the 3D Land concept and makes enormous improvements in every area. 3D Land's one new power up (the Boomerang Suit) has been replaced by about a dozen new ones here. With the Cat Suit, Double Cherry, Cannon Box, Goomba Hat, and more, it feels like there's a new power up almost every level. The amount of variety here is insane - whereas 3D Land got boring and repetitive after awhile, every level in this game is fresh and completely different from the previous levels. This is the culmination of the best elements of New Super Mario Bros, 3D Land, and Mario Galaxy, with some brilliant original ideas and great new power ups as well. On top of all that, there's beautiful HD visuals, an excellent and completely original soundtrack, and the incredibly fun addition of 4-player multiplayer, which surprisingly works better here than in 2D Mario.

    While it doesn't quite reach the incredible standard set by Mario Galaxy, this is still one of the most fun 3D platformers I've ever played and easily the best game of 2013.
    Expand
  31. Feb 24, 2014
    10
    Nintendo have once again outdone themselves with this game. It's honestly unbelievable how many ways there are for a person to have fun just by jumping around in a game. Looking at the franchise's history, this probably is the most varied series ever but that has stayed true to the principles of its conception: Pure fun with family and friends.

    In conclusion, one of the best Mario
    Nintendo have once again outdone themselves with this game. It's honestly unbelievable how many ways there are for a person to have fun just by jumping around in a game. Looking at the franchise's history, this probably is the most varied series ever but that has stayed true to the principles of its conception: Pure fun with family and friends.

    In conclusion, one of the best Mario titles ever and proof that Nintendo can leave you speechless due to how original they are, even after 30+ years of creating a game with the same formula. Because of all that and the sheer quality of the game (from the colors, the shapes, the lighting, the gameplay etc.), for me, this is one of the greatest achievements in the field of game-designing ever.
    Expand
  32. Apr 26, 2014
    10
    Wow, I had a FUN TIME with this game. Even though i went through world 1 to 8 in 3 days,
    The game feels fresh and Innovative, so it isn't gonna sell. Face it, it's not gonna sell, because we're too scared of wasting money on a new game, like M64, Super mario sunshine, Or Super mario world 2: Yoshi's island. Just try something new, you might just like it!
    Back to the review: I felt
    Wow, I had a FUN TIME with this game. Even though i went through world 1 to 8 in 3 days,
    The game feels fresh and Innovative, so it isn't gonna sell. Face it, it's not gonna sell, because we're too scared of wasting money on a new game, like M64, Super mario sunshine, Or Super mario world 2: Yoshi's island. Just try something new, you might just like it!
    Back to the review: I felt excited in the duration of the game. I had no idea what COULD happen in this game, all of which we're enjoyable. Just rush out and buy a WII U and this game. Not to mention; Mario Kart 8, SSB4. Oh boy.
    Expand
  33. Nov 23, 2013
    9
    Got this game yesterday, LOVE IT!!! The last time I bought a mario game was super mario galaxy,and this game just brought me back to the series. The graphics and visuals in this is absolutely gorgeous, everything looks great in HD!! The gameplay, if you love super mario for the 3ds and new super mario wii u then you will love this game!! Almost identical gameplay but with a few niceGot this game yesterday, LOVE IT!!! The last time I bought a mario game was super mario galaxy,and this game just brought me back to the series. The graphics and visuals in this is absolutely gorgeous, everything looks great in HD!! The gameplay, if you love super mario for the 3ds and new super mario wii u then you will love this game!! Almost identical gameplay but with a few nice touches that makes this game wonderful. Can't wait to invite my friends over to play this game tomorrow, if your a mario fan, GET THIS GAME!!! Expand
  34. Nov 27, 2013
    8
    Like New Super Mario Bros U, breathes life into an okay franchise. It's got a bit of a slow start, and can sometimes be too easy, but the homages to past games, and even other franchises, definitely make up for it, and it even becomes one of the most fun Mario games to date.
  35. Nov 29, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. What can I say about the Wii U’s brand new title: Super Mario 3D World? Well that’s easy. In short: Super Mario 3D World is amazing! And definitely the best Mario title we’ve seen since “Super Mario Galaxy 2”!

    The new Mario title looks great on the Wii U and is the best looking Mario titles to date, especially in HD! The graphics have also slightly veered from the usual plastic look we always see. In some levels, the visuals were amazing to look at; one of my favorites was the ruins with the moss and patchy grass, which seemed to give it a more earthy organic feel on that level specifically. There are also others that present creativity and eye candy! There is such a massive variety in the levels that keep it interesting and creative without getting bored.

    The music in Super Mario 3D World brings back that sort of depth that it did in the Super Mario Galaxy games, but with more diversity. In the Mario Galaxy series the music made you feel like you were watching a space odyssey, but with Super Mario 3D World having multiple level themes; the music has more variety. I’m not saying the Super Mario 3D World has better music, but it definitely has its own flavor… which is a good thing. There are also a few retro tunes that you old school nostalgia lovers will catch as well.

    Super Mario 3D World runs at 720p and at 60 fps, but looks and feels great doing so. The gameplay is smooth and it makes it easy to pick up and play; I also didn’t find the 8 directional stick movement so much of a problem like the other reviewers have, nor did I have trouble with the little speed boosts that you get for running after short while. The speed boost actually adds interesting touch to the core Mario 3D game mechanics as well; some reviewers found this to throw off their jumps, but it never made anything difficult for me, it has instead helped me to get that good jump in for obtaining perfect flagpole jumps and overcoming other obstacles. Now how differently do the characters feel from each other? Well…

    Coming back as the main protagonist, Mario doesn’t really have pros or cons, but mostly is just balanced, and feels very similar to how he has in previous titles. Like the rest of the characters he can wall jump, backflip, and even roll (which doesn’t do much other than break through bricks). But he is a great choice for those who want just a more straightforward basic character.

    The much underrated Luigi has the highest jump, but is the 2nd slowest runner out of the main four, and has the lowest traction, but it’s not near as noticeable as in previous Mario titles. Luigi is great if you find yourself wanting to jump to greater heights.

    Peach is possibly the most fun out of the main four, she retains her floating ability like in the classic “Super Mario Bros. 2”, but suffers by being the slowest character of the bunch. Her abilities are great for beginners since her floating ability is great for honing in on perfect jumps and obtaining green stars through very tricky obstacles, mainly the timed ones. Peach is a most-welcomed addition to the group of heroes.

    Toad is back with his retro blue throwback to the classic “Super Mario Bros. 2”, he also retains his abilities which include being the fastest character, but has the lowest jump. Toad is a blast to play for expert Mario gamers, and is the most ideal for speed runs.

    Rosalina is a great addition to Super Mario 3D world adding a level of flexibility with her default spin attack and being able to use it for a double jump. When using power-up other than the mushroom, her spin attack is replaced with that power-up’s capabilities. It’s especially interesting when you use Rosalina, because you find yourself NOT wanting to obtain a power-up, because of how awesome her spin-attack is! Rosalina’s running speed might even be slower than Peach’s, but has the second highest jump out of the whole crew.

    The power-ups are a blast! You have several new power-ups with the return of some old favorites. The cat suit makes it fun to scale up the side of ledges and is great for discovering secrets. The double cherry makes the experience fun and interesting by multiplying your character the more cherries you collect, the more doppelgangers you control! I’m personally still a fan of the Tanooki suit which also makes a return, in addition to the Boomerang Flower and Fire Flower. There are also many fun items that aren’t power-ups that’ll help you out with secrets and getting through the level.

    Super Mario 3D World has a lot for you to do; you can collect 3 stars in almost every level, and collect stamps as well. Super Mario 3D World is the beginning of why it's good to have a Wii U.
    Expand
  36. Nov 29, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Great game for the Wii U! The best thing about it is that Rosalina is a playable character! It also easy to unlock her! The game is a great 3D platforming game, and it also mixes in some 2D parts. Great game. Expand
  37. Dec 16, 2013
    5
    The game is fun-but it doesn't save the progress we've made past the 4th world. It's frustrating for the kids. We will be at world 8, make absolutely sure that we have saved them game, and when we return later it's back to world 4. Anyone else have this problem? Is it a glitch? My rating reflects this:(
  38. Jan 26, 2014
    8
    This is a solid Mario platformer who, for the most part, is very entertaining and fun. There are, in my opinion, some noticeable downsides however.

    At times the camera feels a bit unnatural for what is supposed to be a 3d game, so there were quite a few instances where I fell off certain objects and areas and died. This can at times be so frustrating that it interferes with the fun
    This is a solid Mario platformer who, for the most part, is very entertaining and fun. There are, in my opinion, some noticeable downsides however.

    At times the camera feels a bit unnatural for what is supposed to be a 3d game, so there were quite a few instances where I fell off certain objects and areas and died. This can at times be so frustrating that it interferes with the fun you're supposed to have.
    It would maybe have been a title better suited for the 3ds, so you could turn on the 3d-effect, and that way it would be much easier to see where you land after a jump in hectic environments.

    Another thing is the timer, it just kills the joy of exploring and isn't very suited for a 3d-Mario game. That way you'll have to rush through the levels and won't have the time to sink in the oftentimes beautiful environments.
    There's just something about this game that makes me miss that 3d-Mario magic, especially from Mario Galaxy. I believe the 3ds title, Mario 3d Land was a better effort than this game, as it felt perfectly suited for the hardware it was released for.

    But for the most part I had very much fun playing this game, and there are some memorable levels that comes to mind and makes me smile when I think of them. So if you're a Mario fan, or just like platformers in general, I'm pretty sure you'll find much enjoyment in this game, but don't expect it to be as good as Mario Galaxy.
    Expand
  39. Jan 27, 2014
    9
    The game's graphics are amazing; surpassing New Super Mario Bros. U in terms of visuals. Regarding gameplay, it's fun and the characters may take some getting used to at first, since each has their own attributes. The difficulty starts off gradual, fairly easy, but as you progress you'll find the game getting tougher with each world you visit. It takes quite a lot to truly beat this gameThe game's graphics are amazing; surpassing New Super Mario Bros. U in terms of visuals. Regarding gameplay, it's fun and the characters may take some getting used to at first, since each has their own attributes. The difficulty starts off gradual, fairly easy, but as you progress you'll find the game getting tougher with each world you visit. It takes quite a lot to truly beat this game 100% and get all 5 stars on your save file, and honestly, the only pay-off is bragging rights. However, the bright extraordinarily-detailed visuals, vast new locations, and great new gameplay mechanics are enough to want to come back for more. Expand
  40. Jan 30, 2014
    3
    Very disappointing. You can only move in 8 directions, it feels like a massive step back.

    I can imagine most Nintendo fans want a super Mario 64 or super Mario sunshine type game, not this HD 3DS title.

    The magic of roaming around and exploring a landscape had disappeared into little vignettes of uninspiring micro lands.
  41. Jan 31, 2014
    8
    Super Mario 3D World is an amazing game, however it still falls short in a few areas. The game is a great HD Mario game, with standard platforming, collecting and defeating Bowser once again. Similar to Mario 2, Super Mario 3D World brings back the four playable characters of Mario, Luigi, Princess Peach and Toad, each with a unique attribute. Mario is the most balanced of the team, LuigiSuper Mario 3D World is an amazing game, however it still falls short in a few areas. The game is a great HD Mario game, with standard platforming, collecting and defeating Bowser once again. Similar to Mario 2, Super Mario 3D World brings back the four playable characters of Mario, Luigi, Princess Peach and Toad, each with a unique attribute. Mario is the most balanced of the team, Luigi can jump higher and flutter in the air momentarily. Princess Peach can float in the air for a short period of time, while Toad is the fastest of all the characters. The game is a huge step-up from its predecessors and is very enjoyable to play, but just like older multiplayer Mario games, multiplayer is too hectic and a little sloppy. All four characters on the screen at a time is confusing with too much going on at one time on the screen.

    In the end the game is great and a must have Wii U title, but multiplayer is still a crowded mess. The game is best enjoyed as a two or single player experience. Super Mario 3D World is still a Mario game, and just like any other Mario game it's a great experience and a must play.
    Expand
  42. Feb 11, 2014
    9
    Super Mario 3D world is simply a pure delight. This game is nothing that will blow your mind, but it is a game that so consistently hits the right marks. Nintendo has the 3D style of Mario down to an art, and what a lovely art this game is.

    Typical of Nintendo, the game is fairly simple, easy to pick up and play. Of course, hidden underneath are several hidden mechanics and a few
    Super Mario 3D world is simply a pure delight. This game is nothing that will blow your mind, but it is a game that so consistently hits the right marks. Nintendo has the 3D style of Mario down to an art, and what a lovely art this game is.

    Typical of Nintendo, the game is fairly simple, easy to pick up and play. Of course, hidden underneath are several hidden mechanics and a few unique moves, but most everything is as it has been since Super Mario 64. However, they throw in just enough new things to make people like myself who have grown up with Mario to enjoy the new challenges. In particular, I found the double cherries to be a particularly fun challenge.

    This game is probably longer than the average Mario adventure. For the first time ever, I was beginning to wonder when it might end, as there's one secret world after another. Some of the later levels provide a particularly high level of challenge. I can always trust Nintendo to provide some of those at the end, and I joyously lost hundreds of lives to the last few. There's a time and a place for those kind of moments, and Nintendo usually knows when to place them, so it's fine.

    This game brings out the simple joy of a good platformer. It builds on itself to create one of the top Mario games of in recent years, and one that I would highly recommend.
    Expand
  43. Feb 13, 2014
    5
    Extremely easy and short, gets really boring after playing for 30 minutes. The multiplayer is horribly broken, every time someone gets hurt the game lags a second and it becomes annoying, making the rest of the team lose as well. Nintendo has gone lazy as f**k
  44. Feb 16, 2014
    10
    This game is pure platforming fun.It boasts next gen graphics with game-play so polished you it would not look out of place in a castle made of diamonds. If there is only one game that makes you want to buy a Wii U this should be it. Play alone or with friends and you a guaranteed to have grin on your face as you try and master each beautifully crafted level.
  45. Feb 16, 2014
    10
    This is one of the best Mario games we've gotten in a long time. Probably the best ever since Galaxy. The game starts like your typical Mario fashion but the difficulty REALLY cranks up towards the end which will keep you playing until you've unlocked all the stars, stamps, and levels. The biggest problem I had with it is that some levels were very predictable and you knew what to expectThis is one of the best Mario games we've gotten in a long time. Probably the best ever since Galaxy. The game starts like your typical Mario fashion but the difficulty REALLY cranks up towards the end which will keep you playing until you've unlocked all the stars, stamps, and levels. The biggest problem I had with it is that some levels were very predictable and you knew what to expect but there are still lots of creativity to the levels. If you have a Wii U, this is a must-own. Expand
  46. Feb 17, 2014
    8
    This is an awesome great game. The mechanics are perfect and the art work is second to none. I you need a pallet cleanser for all these dark dreary games this is the one to play.
  47. Feb 20, 2014
    10
    Bow to this game, guys, we got the contemporaneous Super Mario All-Stars.

    As many of you, I was firstly disappointed when I first saw the game. I really love the heck out of 3D Land, but hoping the same gameplay style would never happen again, so I actually found a reason to be freaked out at the E3 reveal. However, as time passed, I started to think again about my real opinion. And
    Bow to this game, guys, we got the contemporaneous Super Mario All-Stars.

    As many of you, I was firstly disappointed when I first saw the game. I really love the heck out of 3D Land, but hoping the same gameplay style would never happen again, so I actually found a reason to be freaked out at the E3 reveal.

    However, as time passed, I started to think again about my real opinion. And again. I had been a Mario gamer since the original Super Mario World, so pulling back those gems would help me to question myself if my vision was actually correct. As I completed Super Mario AS + SMW, it happened that the famous turnabout trailer from september was finally shown. So yeah, my faith in the game was restored. I couldn't wait anymore to get my hand on the new installment to the series, and if things were not clear enough, those previews and dat october trailer finally set my will to purchase the game.

    And so, the 29th of november (I live in Spain) finally happened. My new WiiU console arrived at home bundled with Super Mario 3D World. As i booted up the game, magic was everywhere. The artistic presentation, the colorful levels and a truly kickass soundtrack formed a package of exceptional croft, as Gamespot said.

    Of course, there were still minor dips when I was let down with the game in some level details, but the actual fact out of me stayed true to its identity when progressing and proved me wrong once again.

    The platforming level was getting better and better within each world, and when I finally got the 5 shiny stars... I was all set, Mario was just as good as always. as we've always seen that magnificent creation of Miyamoto-san.

    Nintendo, you did it again.
    Expand
  48. Feb 21, 2014
    10
    perfection in a 3d mario game. this is a real piece of art, the game stands on its own as one of the very best mario games ever released. an absolutly huge amount of levels and content, collectibles and hidden secrets make this game a real joy to play, and then play through again. if you own a wii-u then you have to have this game.
  49. Feb 22, 2014
    10
    Buy a Wii U for this game. Seriously. This is a great game that shows off the Wii U's capabilities (like the luscious HD graphics and use of the gamepad in a way that shows it's presence, yet isn't overused and boring like ZombiU where you check the gamepad every two seconds). Anyone who looks past this game due to it being Nintendo is an idiot. Even though this game is child-friendlyBuy a Wii U for this game. Seriously. This is a great game that shows off the Wii U's capabilities (like the luscious HD graphics and use of the gamepad in a way that shows it's presence, yet isn't overused and boring like ZombiU where you check the gamepad every two seconds). Anyone who looks past this game due to it being Nintendo is an idiot. Even though this game is child-friendly overall, the final levels test any gamer's abilities and is one of the most difficult modern games in the final levels. The first levels are ok, and a bit repetitive but every level after that is amazing. The running is good. People complain about it, but there is no problem. It wasn't needed and doesn't add anything to the gameplay, but it doesn't take anything from it either. Sometimes the timer can be annoying, but that is very rarely a problem. The music is great. Super Mario Bros 2 was my favourite Mario game, and this takes concepts from 2 and 3 which is great. Anyone crying that it isn't like Mario Galaxy should shut up. I get that they want Super Mario Galaxy 3, but that doesn't make this game bad. You don't see reviews on Zelda complaining it isn't Mario Galaxy 3. Expand
  50. Feb 24, 2014
    10
    Super Mario 3D World provides a very welcome refreshment to the beloved platforming franchise. Innovative level design and beautiful environments make this latest installment a delight to play, with enough new features to stand strong as a new big dog in Nintendo's already vast library of gaming glory. In short this is the best Mario game since Galaxy and has this title been available atSuper Mario 3D World provides a very welcome refreshment to the beloved platforming franchise. Innovative level design and beautiful environments make this latest installment a delight to play, with enough new features to stand strong as a new big dog in Nintendo's already vast library of gaming glory. In short this is the best Mario game since Galaxy and has this title been available at the systems release in place of the familiar New Super Mario Bros. U the Wii U may very well have had a much better launch period. This game was new, original yet stayed true to the series in style, feel and spirit. A must own for any fan of the series, Nintendo or gamers in general. Expand
  51. Feb 25, 2014
    10
    This game is amazingly fun. From the first level you complete you will want to keep playing to experience new ones. I wish there were more new power ups, but the cat suit and the double mario are pretty interesting. The cannon suit is just ok. The first time I sat down to play this game I didn't stop until I was through three worlds and it was way too late for me to be going to bed beforeThis game is amazingly fun. From the first level you complete you will want to keep playing to experience new ones. I wish there were more new power ups, but the cat suit and the double mario are pretty interesting. The cannon suit is just ok. The first time I sat down to play this game I didn't stop until I was through three worlds and it was way too late for me to be going to bed before work. As far as fun factor I would put this right up there with galaxy 1 and 2. Expand
  52. Feb 25, 2014
    10
    Looks fantastic, plays fantastic, levels have plenty of content. I highly recommend this game to anyone with a Wii U and anyone who likes platforming.
  53. PCR
    Feb 26, 2014
    10
    Our favorite Italian plumber is back and better than ever.

    When Super Mario 3D World was announced at E3 last year, I was thrilled. After all, my Wii U, which I purchased on launch day, was begging for something new to play. Since I felt that Super Mario Galaxy was the greatest Mario game on the Wii, I had high hopes for 3D World on the Wii U, considering the Galaxy team was behind it.
    Our favorite Italian plumber is back and better than ever.

    When Super Mario 3D World was announced at E3 last year, I was thrilled. After all, my Wii U, which I purchased on launch day, was begging for something new to play. Since I felt that Super Mario Galaxy was the greatest Mario game on the Wii, I had high hopes for 3D World on the Wii U, considering the Galaxy team was behind it.

    Super Mario 3D World is a breath of fresh air from the New Super Mario Bros. series that we all know and love (and frankly are getting tired of). I really enjoyed New Super Mario Bros. U (and especially the New Super Luigi U DLC), but I was left wanting something more. I wanted a great 3D platformer. Super Mario 3D World delivered. This is exactly what the Wii U needed right now.

    I was never a big fan of Super Mario Bros. 2, but the one thing I did like about it was the ability to choose your character. I don’t like when they force me to be Mario when I’m player 1, Luigi when I’m player 2, etc. I like to be able to choose my character, and Super Mario 3D World lets any player choose to be Mario, Luigi, Peach, or Toad.

    The all new cat suit power-up is a lot of fun. Mario, Luigi, Peach, or Toad can transform into a cute little cat and scratch enemies and climb up walls (and the flagpole at the end of a level). My favorite new power-up, however, is the Boomerang Flower, which was introduced in the 3DS title Super Mario 3D Land. Anyone who has played a Mario game knows just how annoying those Boomerang Bros. are, and we can finally use their awesomely annoying power to destroy enemies.

    What I love about this game is that it combines elements from so many different Mario games and blends them seamlessly. Some of the levels are very similar to levels I remember playing in Super Mario Galaxy, and other levels remind me of Super Mario 64. I had a strange moment while playing, déjà vu of sorts, where I felt like I was playing Super Mario 64. Obviously, the character selection mirrors that of Super Mario Bros. 2. The little tune that plays when you die is from Super Mario Bros. 3, as are the toad houses. The music is the same as well, and Toad even says the same thing to you when you walk into his house.

    I was relieved when I saw that the game automatically saves after each level is completed. One of the most frustrating things about the NSMB series was that you had to reach- and complete- a castle before you could save. If you lost all your lives before beating the castle, you would have to go all the way back to the last castle and redo all the levels you already completed. It made the games very frustrating and it was just unnecessary.

    All in all, SM3DW is a charming, beautiful experience that I’ve been waiting my whole life to play. Like most gamers, I grew up loving Mario. He was the first video game character I ever saw, and I’m delighted that he’s still around and doing better than ever.

    FINAL THOUGHTS

    Gameplay: I don’t think there was one moment when I wasn’t smiling while platforming about in SM3DW. It’s simple fun for casual and hardcore gamers alike.

    Appearance: This game is absolutely gorgeous. It’s so refreshing to see Mario and company is stunning high definition. The environments are beautiful as well; I was very impressed with the quality of the water. It’s the best looking Mario game to date, but it’s not quite up to par with other true next-gen games such as Knack.

    Sound: The soundtrack is perfect. I don’t know how else to describe it. The music just puts a big smile on your face and really adds a lot to the feel of the game.

    Bottom line: This is a system seller for the Wii U. People who already own the console should not hesitate to pick this up, and those who don’t should really consider it. SM3DW proves that Nintendo still knows how to make games, and great ones at that.
    Expand
  54. Feb 27, 2014
    10
    This game is one of the best Mario games ever. It is worth buying a Wii U alone. Yes, the perspective may be wonky, but you can change it using the right control stick if you don't like it. The graphics are absolutely astonishing. From my first few minutes playing the first level, I knew it was going to be a hell of a ride. This game is extremely fun when played with 3 people! In myThis game is one of the best Mario games ever. It is worth buying a Wii U alone. Yes, the perspective may be wonky, but you can change it using the right control stick if you don't like it. The graphics are absolutely astonishing. From my first few minutes playing the first level, I knew it was going to be a hell of a ride. This game is extremely fun when played with 3 people! In my opinion, 2 people is too small, 4 people is too hecktic. There is also so much to complete!
    [SPOILER ALERT!]
    You have to complete every level with each of the 5 characters, touch the top of every flag pole, get every stamp, every green star, and you have to do all this without getting that white tanooki suit. Smart, they took it out on Champions Road. Well played, Nintendo.
    [CONTINUE READING]
    The level design is one of the best I've seen. Every level is unique, and none feel the same. You'll need some unique new powerups, like the Super Bell and Double Cherry to progress and get stamps and green stars. This should have been the release title of the Wii U when it came out. But then again, it WAS pushed. This title is worth buying the Wii U alone.
    Expand
  55. Feb 27, 2014
    10
    The home console sequel to the best-selling 3DS game proves Nintendo can always make the next SUPER MARIO game more super than the last one. With 6 characters (Mario, Luigi, Toad, Peach, Rosalina & Captain Toad), an amazing multi-player, and about 19 wonderful power-ups, Mario has never looked better than ever. The dev team thought of everything with the level designs right down to theThe home console sequel to the best-selling 3DS game proves Nintendo can always make the next SUPER MARIO game more super than the last one. With 6 characters (Mario, Luigi, Toad, Peach, Rosalina & Captain Toad), an amazing multi-player, and about 19 wonderful power-ups, Mario has never looked better than ever. The dev team thought of everything with the level designs right down to the flowers in the grasslands. The sharp visuals shows that HD graphics has finally been perfected and makes all other consoles' visuals look like there were a lot to be desired. And Kenny James and Charles Martinet have made Bowser Koopa & the Mario Bros. sound so awesome, right down to Bowser's defeat scream. SUPER MARIO 3D WORLD is a must have for both the Wii U and for the eight generation of gaming, and it'll be awhile for another game to replace it as the Wii U and 8th generation's killer game. Expand
  56. Feb 27, 2014
    9
    What many originally considered to be Super Mario 3.D. Land 2.0, Super Mario 3.D. World is an entirely different game, though uses the same formula...essentially mixing the worlds of both 2.D. and 3.D. Super Mario in one. The game is near flawless, with one issue that ends up being big enough for me to deduct an entire point. The camera during multiplayer is rather awful, it will causeWhat many originally considered to be Super Mario 3.D. Land 2.0, Super Mario 3.D. World is an entirely different game, though uses the same formula...essentially mixing the worlds of both 2.D. and 3.D. Super Mario in one. The game is near flawless, with one issue that ends up being big enough for me to deduct an entire point. The camera during multiplayer is rather awful, it will cause many lives lost and will cause much frustration among many. Super Mario 3.D. World has a lot of content and will provide many hours of entertainment. Expand
  57. Feb 28, 2014
    9
    Super Mario 3D World is phenomenal, and worthy to stand amongst some of 2013's best.

    First of all, I think we need to all get one thing straight… This IS NOT, the greatest Mario game of all time. It think people are getting a little too ahead of themselves when they put that title on the game. However, is it the greatest Multiplayer Mario experience of all time? Absolutely. If you've
    Super Mario 3D World is phenomenal, and worthy to stand amongst some of 2013's best.

    First of all, I think we need to all get one thing straight… This IS NOT, the greatest Mario game of all time. It think people are getting a little too ahead of themselves when they put that title on the game. However, is it the greatest Multiplayer Mario experience of all time? Absolutely.

    If you've played Super Mario 3D Land for the 3DS, you've played this game, and that is in no way a criticism. Both games play wonderfully.
    Aside from a few new abilities, notably the adorable cat suit, the games have a lot of the same features.

    Something that struck me right from the get go, was that this game should be an example to why Wii U is great. Why Nintendo don't need the most powerful hardware on the market. They have some of the best designers in the world, and their artistic direction is so phenomenal that it puts so called "triple A" games to shame.

    If you want to best couch co-op experience of 2013 and most likely 2014, look no further.

    A 9 out of 10.

    Jack Valentine
    Expand
  58. Feb 28, 2014
    10
    When SM3DW was first showed I was very skeptical about it. But in the end, the game didn't disappoint me at all. This game is gorgeous from start to end! Everything in the game is really polished, the music, the graphics, the gameplay, everything! The level design is pretty good and the challenge keeps growing the more you advance to the insane final level. While It was a letdown that someWhen SM3DW was first showed I was very skeptical about it. But in the end, the game didn't disappoint me at all. This game is gorgeous from start to end! Everything in the game is really polished, the music, the graphics, the gameplay, everything! The level design is pretty good and the challenge keeps growing the more you advance to the insane final level. While It was a letdown that some bosses were easy and repetitive, there were other awesome and memorable battles (Giant Snake King FTW). This is definitely one game that will be remembered in the years to come.

    On a side note, if you has some pals to play this game multiplayer, you will have a BLAST. Playing this game multiplayer is incredibly fun!
    Expand
  59. Mar 13, 2014
    9
    Let me first start off by saying that the last 3D Mario Action game I played was Super Mario Sunshine. I have yet to play Super Mario Galaxy, Super Mario Galaxy 2, or Super Mario 3D Land. I want to say this because there are a lot of people who compare these games, where as I went into it with a completely open mind.

    So, where to start? I suppose the first thing I'll talk about is the
    Let me first start off by saying that the last 3D Mario Action game I played was Super Mario Sunshine. I have yet to play Super Mario Galaxy, Super Mario Galaxy 2, or Super Mario 3D Land. I want to say this because there are a lot of people who compare these games, where as I went into it with a completely open mind.

    So, where to start? I suppose the first thing I'll talk about is the most important part- the gameplay. When it comes to level design, I was blown away. Now, there are a small handful of levels that didn't completely amaze me, but I'd say 9 out of every 10 levels were fantastically designed, and most had the most interesting ideas that you would only see in a Nintendo game like this. Each level has 3 green stars and a stamp (for posting onto Miiverse). This gives the player a reason to explore each and every inch of the level, and there are definitely a few very cleverly placed ones that will no doubt make you smile when you finally find them. You can play all these levels with up to 4 friends, and even having just one there for you when you play enhances the experience immensely. Since I personally enjoy taking my sweet time and looking for all the collectibles in each level, I found myself enjoying single player just as much. Rest assured, you'll enjoy the game no matter what.

    Next, how about the graphics and the music? The graphics in this game are top notch, not because they're beyond anything we've ever seen before, but simply because the game creates such a colorful world to look at. Everything looks crisp and clean, and it's one of those games that will look fantastic even decades from now. And then we have the music which is incredible. You're guaranteed to look up some of the incredibly memorable tracks on YouTube as soon as you're finished playing. It's THAT good.

    There is one problem that I had with this game though, that being the camera. Now, the camera works fine, and in single player, you can even adjust it, but this game is (at least, from what I've seen) made similarly to how Super Mario 3D Land for the Nintendo 3DS was made, which means some levels have some depth in them, and without the 3DS's 3D capabilities, you may find yourself misjudging a few jumps during your playthrough. This is a fairly minor complaint, however it's what kept it from being a 10/10 game in my mind, so be careful with those jumps.

    And that is just about all there is to say about Super Mario 3D World. Personally, I don't really find it to be a must-have title for everyone, however, if you're considering a Wii U, this IS a must-have title.
    The Wii U has a growing library, and it's finally proving to be worth your time. With games like Monster Hunter 3 Ultimate, The Wonderful 101, Pikmin 3, and soon, Mario Kart 8, Super Smash Bros., Bayonetta 2, and Monolith Soft's big RPG project (currently called "X"), and of course, Super Mario 3D World, there really is something for everyone.
    Expand
  60. Mar 19, 2014
    10
    I'm going to keep this short as I like to. This game is the only reason you need to know Wii U is the console for you. With stellar graphics, wonderful level design, fun multiplayer, tight controls and unique characters this one is a game should be remembered for years.
  61. Apr 11, 2014
    10
    Super Mario Bros. 2 + Super Mario 64 = Great game. Congratulations, Nintendo, you've done it again. Keep up. There are some more great Wii U games to come.
  62. Apr 20, 2014
    10
    There literally is nothing wrong with this game. A short adventure shouldn't stop you because there's lots to do after. Not only is replaying the levels a blast, collecting all the green stars, reaching the top of all flagpoles, getting all the stamps, and beating the 3 extra worlds leave loads to do after.
  63. Apr 25, 2014
    10
    I recommend this game to EVERYONE (seriously, any age!).It's pure fun. Don't know anyone I played it with that doesn't like it.
    Fitting difficulty level, great level design, beautiful soundtrack, intuitive gameplay, multiplayer mode works perfectly––I wouldn't hesitate; just get it!
  64. May 1, 2014
    10
    This was not the game I was hoping for after the masterpieces of Galaxy 1 and 2, but this game is really great. It's best enjoyed alone or with 1 friend imo. But you gotta work togheter, otherwise it's just a mess. This is probably the most creative Mario games that I have ever played. There are so many new and fresh ideas in a lot of levels. The music is also amazing and almost on parThis was not the game I was hoping for after the masterpieces of Galaxy 1 and 2, but this game is really great. It's best enjoyed alone or with 1 friend imo. But you gotta work togheter, otherwise it's just a mess. This is probably the most creative Mario games that I have ever played. There are so many new and fresh ideas in a lot of levels. The music is also amazing and almost on par with Galaxy. It has more of a Jazz feel, meanwhile Galaxy was more orchestrated. This game is a must buy for the Wii U and imo it's the best game on the system along with Rayman Legends. Expand
  65. May 15, 2014
    9
    Super Mario 3D World packs the same creative 3D platforming that made the Galaxy games so great along with the charm of the classic Mario games and its own new fresh ideas. Nintendo has proven yet again that they know how to make their series new again.
  66. May 25, 2014
    10
    This game is a MASTERPIECE is doesn't step a foot wrong. Where do i start? Gameplay is truly innovative and improves upon 3D Land on the 3DS. Graphics are amazing and the story is actually different! LOL. The cat suit is cool and the is just so much content and new ideas. Each level is unique and sometimes there are minigames in the levels. Super Mario World is just pure FUN!!
  67. May 28, 2014
    10
    Graphismes énormes. Très grande jouabilité et durée de vie énorme. En attendant un véritable mario tout en 3D cet épisode permet de patienter. Peut être une révélation à l'E3
  68. May 28, 2014
    10
    So much better than 3D Land on the 3DS, I couldn't stop playing it.

    The only "problem" with the game is that I finished it too quickly, a few more levels would have been nice.
  69. Sep 9, 2014
    3
    It looks like trash and plays like a 5 year old's video game. The levels are simple, short and offer no real challenge. I have had mild fun playing the worse Mario game ever when playing with others, but once your playing single player you'll see how shallow this game really is. I'm SHOCKED that any professional reviewer scored this a 10/10 they must have been some real hardcore IwataIt looks like trash and plays like a 5 year old's video game. The levels are simple, short and offer no real challenge. I have had mild fun playing the worse Mario game ever when playing with others, but once your playing single player you'll see how shallow this game really is. I'm SHOCKED that any professional reviewer scored this a 10/10 they must have been some real hardcore Iwata groupies, I hope IGN, Game Spot & others FIRE these clowns, their reviews are very misleading. The only reason why so many WII U owners try saying it's excellent because they are happy with anything NINTENDO SPITS at them after the long drought the WII U had and still has. Seriously Nintendo if your going to make us wait 3 to 6 months inbetween games please don't give us a Mario crossed with Dora The Explorer game. Expand
  70. Sep 13, 2014
    0
    Más de lo mismo, más de 30 años jugando a lo mismo CANSA! Donde está la next gen??? un juego de menos de dos gigas, eso ocupaban algunos en PSX...
  71. May 30, 2014
    10
    A beautiful masterpiece with amazing sound and level design, this game is truly perfect and is one of the best 3D Mario games ever made, it improves upon 3D land in pretty much every way.
  72. Dec 18, 2013
    6
    This game is very cool, fun, interesting, it is easy to catch onto, but the quality isnt very good. The game is more aimed at the younger generation as it is more cartoon based. It is by far the funnest Mario game in years! I would urge anyone with a Nintendo Wii to purchase this game. This is pure AAA grade Nintendo gaming. It is a perfect game for families as it can bring so many laughsThis game is very cool, fun, interesting, it is easy to catch onto, but the quality isnt very good. The game is more aimed at the younger generation as it is more cartoon based. It is by far the funnest Mario game in years! I would urge anyone with a Nintendo Wii to purchase this game. This is pure AAA grade Nintendo gaming. It is a perfect game for families as it can bring so many laughs and joys. Expand
  73. Feb 3, 2014
    2
    If you already own Super Mario 3D Land, and play videogames alone, don't bother buying this. The only upgrade is the multiplayer and the shiny graphics. Definitely not worth $60 for yet another one of Nintendo's rehashed Mario titles.
  74. Feb 13, 2014
    7
    Well this game sure has a lot worlds and some of the hardest stages its a good game but the only thing that bothers me its a Mario game and I didn't expect too much of it. But overall its a good game.
  75. Feb 21, 2014
    7
    The reason why i give it 7 is because after beating the whole game, it is not what i expected an quality Mario platform game. It is because the levels are too simplistic, easy and repetitive. This itself makes the game boring even with 3-4 players. The level design, the music, the annoying camera with multiplayer are all low quality. It seems this game was made in rush.
  76. Mar 2, 2014
    10
    This is the best Mario platformer ever! It's gameplay is stellar, it's graphics are beautiful, it's soundtrack is jazzy, and it has loads of content for you!♪So many worlds, all around. So many places, to be found. Exploring a kingdom where Sprixies must be found!♪Many courses are in each world. Some are easy, many are difficult, but all are fun! The multiplayer is awesome, the cutscenesThis is the best Mario platformer ever! It's gameplay is stellar, it's graphics are beautiful, it's soundtrack is jazzy, and it has loads of content for you!♪So many worlds, all around. So many places, to be found. Exploring a kingdom where Sprixies must be found!♪Many courses are in each world. Some are easy, many are difficult, but all are fun! The multiplayer is awesome, the cutscenes are epically jazzy, and the fun-filled surrealism is significant! The new Cat Suit is epic! It's over-powered, but in a fun way! In fact, this game has 17 power-ups, more than Super Mario Bros. 3's 9 power-ups!

    Please, get a Wii U, and buy this game!

    This isn't a AAA game!

    It's an ∞A game!

    Everyone loves 3D World, and so will U!
    Expand
  77. Mar 14, 2014
    10
    hd graphics:9/10
    gameplay:10/10
    story:9/10
    music:10/10

    well,nintendo done again!
    super mario 3d world is the best game of wii u,i have this game,okay,the mario series is one of the best series for me(crash bandicoot is number 1)
  78. Mar 16, 2014
    10
    Anyone negatively reviewing this game just has a bone to pick with nintendo. From a critical perspective, this game is one of the best designed games I've ever played. It is crafted with great care, and you can feel it throughout. It shakes up the traditional Mario formula in MANY ways, so its not "just another mario game" like you hear some people complain. The final bonus levels areAnyone negatively reviewing this game just has a bone to pick with nintendo. From a critical perspective, this game is one of the best designed games I've ever played. It is crafted with great care, and you can feel it throughout. It shakes up the traditional Mario formula in MANY ways, so its not "just another mario game" like you hear some people complain. The final bonus levels are insanely difficult. Don't think that this is going to be a walk in the park. There is real satisfaction to be gained from beating a level after spending days or even weeks on it. There is an incredible amount of replayability in it as well. No real gamer could play this and say it was a poor game. This is THE must buy game for the Wii U, and if you havent played it yet, youre missing out! Expand
  79. Mar 16, 2014
    10
    This game revived my interest in platformers. The graphics are spectacular and the gameplay is phenomenal. This is a such a fun game that kept me entertained for hours upon hours on end. I highly recommend this game to all looking for a relaxing game experience
  80. Mar 22, 2014
    9
    I still think that it's not the best Mario game ever... well, in a relative perspective, at least.

    When Super Mario Bros 3 was released, the game was simple a new paradigma for the games. Not only for the Mario franchise... for all the game industry! In every aspect, the game innovates and dictates rules from that time on. I can't say the same for Super Mario 3D World...
    I still think that it's not the best Mario game ever... well, in a relative perspective, at least.

    When Super Mario Bros 3 was released, the game was simple a new paradigma for the games. Not only for the Mario franchise... for all the game industry! In every aspect, the game innovates and dictates rules from that time on.

    I can't say the same for Super Mario 3D World... unfortunatly.

    Still, from my point of view, the game still deserves a 9.

    The game have so many pros, that I'll only list the 3 best that I found.

    Pros:

    -A big amount of content:

    That's the main pro, no doubt. Lot's of players bought the game. But I think that just a few actually finished all the game with all the contents that it offers. I myself didn't finished the entire game yet.

    There are so many courses, and with so many different obstacles, themes, etc that you probably will not be bored, even playing for hours! In fact, the only thing that blocked me from playing more this game when it was launched was the lack of Wii U GamePad's battery time.

    -Beautiful graphics/animations:

    You'll be delighted of the game art. In every aspect, the game simple looks shiny! The animations, courses, characters, foes, etc... all was worked in details.

    -Flexible difficult level:

    This is one point that I think that many players completely forgot or dont even recognized it inside this game. Nintendo is already using this concept from some time, but I noticed that inside 3d world, the concept reached the climax, the objective itself.

    You put your little brother to play with you... checked. Your little brother never played a video game in his life... checked. He plays and after a couple minutes... he's playing alone and even clearing some courses. It's a perfect example of intuitive and flexible gameplay.

    If you try it with your grandmother or wife, the results would be probably the same... I tried it with my wife... seriously. It was incredible seeing her clearing a course for herself.

    But, as it's a game for begginers and veterans (flexible difficult)... try giving the gamepad for your younger brother again... inside the crown world... (I'm just kidding. Having a small child crying of angry is not good, dudes)

    The beginners will probably be satisfied after finishing the game (I mean, by beating the bowser world). From the begin to that point, the gameplay can offer a easy and soft curve of learning. Also, the game allows the use of the "invincible white suit". After all, since the game gives lots of coins to you... earning extra lifes is not that hard.

    About the veterans, the real challenge will begin after the "finished game". And that was the ace in the hole.

    Cons:

    -Lack of online interactions

    Like almost all of Nintendo games... Mario platform still dont have a good online interaction feature. Now comes the Miiverse, the stamps, ghost characters.... interesting... yes... But come on. There are lots of other features that we want much more than these.

    From the basis, I have a friend that lives in another city. I want to play with him... Ok. I'll make a trip... enter his house, play for a couple hours and go back.

    Of course, that it was a joke (for the people that didn't understood). We live today in a interconected world. There's a interesting thing called Internet. I'm using it now... to write a review that you can read from the other side of the world... amazing, isn't it? Please, someone tell to Nintendo that this thing actually exists!
    Expand
  81. Mar 27, 2014
    10
    This game is great! The levels are varied, and the multiplayer is very fun! If you have a Wii U, this is a must have! If you don't, go buy one just for this game!!!
  82. Mar 30, 2014
    10
    A sequel to Super Mario 3D Land, with a mixture of Super Mario Bros. 2, & elements taken from Super Mario Galaxy. Easily one of the best & most fun games I've ever played. I've definitely been proven wrong of how I thought this game could've been, but it's amazing. Wii U owners would be a fool to not buy this game.
  83. Mar 30, 2014
    9
    I really liked this game its like 2d mario with 3d mario, the graphics look incredible, its so incredibly colorful,its the kind of game that increases its difficulty the more you play it but the 4-player co-op can be very difficult to control i was with my friends and i wanted to do the 1-up trick but my brother messed up the trick the more i told him not to leave the screen besides allI really liked this game its like 2d mario with 3d mario, the graphics look incredible, its so incredibly colorful,its the kind of game that increases its difficulty the more you play it but the 4-player co-op can be very difficult to control i was with my friends and i wanted to do the 1-up trick but my brother messed up the trick the more i told him not to leave the screen besides all that there are a lot of secrets difficult levels and my god the game is incredible Expand
  84. Apr 1, 2014
    10
    In my opinion this is a Super Mario Galaxy spiritual successor. Not to be confused with the "New Super Mario Bros" - but not QUITE a full Galaxy game because it doesn't have "planets" and such. It is a near perfect game.
  85. Apr 2, 2014
    8
    Super Mario 3D World reminded me of why I love Mario games, because they are fun. I'm not really into graphics in video games but this game has amazing graphics for a Mario game. They even added a wet texture to the characters when it rains which I know it's not a new technology but it was the first time I seen it used well. The new cat suits power up made the game more fun where you needSuper Mario 3D World reminded me of why I love Mario games, because they are fun. I'm not really into graphics in video games but this game has amazing graphics for a Mario game. They even added a wet texture to the characters when it rains which I know it's not a new technology but it was the first time I seen it used well. The new cat suits power up made the game more fun where you need them to reach hidden areas to find hidden items or green stars.

    In short, I had a lot of fun playing this game and I would love to see this game come out with DLC maps in the future.
    Expand
  86. Apr 18, 2014
    6
    Not a bad game, but to me slightly disappointing considering all the praise it got. I was expecting something like Super Mario Galaxy or Sunshine, but it's really just New Super Mario bros on a 3D plane with enhanced graphics. I've never expected much 'story' from a Mario game but 3D world's plot was pretty pathetic. The game made poor and limited use of the gamepad, it was too easy, oneNot a bad game, but to me slightly disappointing considering all the praise it got. I was expecting something like Super Mario Galaxy or Sunshine, but it's really just New Super Mario bros on a 3D plane with enhanced graphics. I've never expected much 'story' from a Mario game but 3D world's plot was pretty pathetic. The game made poor and limited use of the gamepad, it was too easy, one can breeze through the game in 4-5 hours, plus another 2-3 hours to go back and get all the stars/stamps. On the other hand, there are some memorable little tunes and fun levels. The cat transformation, while strange, was perfect for some levels and bosses. A decent game overall, but not something I would call the best the Wii U has to offer. Expand
  87. Apr 22, 2014
    10
    Super Mario 3D World is really a good game that appeals to younger kids and hardcore players.
    If you want a challenge: Try the special worlds
    If you want to play just for fun: Just play the "normal" worlds

    Also, multiplayer is fun.
  88. Apr 23, 2014
    10
    This is one of the best Mario games to come out in the franchise. The gameplay is solid. I had no problems with the 3d platforming in the levels. This game has over a hundred levels in all, which is a lot of hours of extra gameplay. There is also stamps and green stars to collect. Stamps can be used for the social gaming network Miiverse. The green stars are made for progressing throughThis is one of the best Mario games to come out in the franchise. The gameplay is solid. I had no problems with the 3d platforming in the levels. This game has over a hundred levels in all, which is a lot of hours of extra gameplay. There is also stamps and green stars to collect. Stamps can be used for the social gaming network Miiverse. The green stars are made for progressing through the game. Super Mario also brings back the Super Mario Bros. 2 formula, character wise. There is Mario, who has the normal physics. Luigi, who can jump higher, Peach, who can float for a limited time, and lastly, Toad, who can run faster. You can select any of these four characters in one player mode. Not to mention, there is a secret character you unlock shortly after beating a certain level! Overall, Super Mario 3d World is an amazing, and not to mention beautiful, addition to the Super Mario series and I hope Nintendo can make more Mario games as fun and as addictive as this one. Expand
  89. Apr 28, 2014
    9
    This game was beautiful and so much fun to play with friends and family. I know it's a kids game but it's ridiculously easy. The boss battles were very short and wasn't impressive. I was very satisfied playing it. This game is definitely a must buy. I bought the Wii-U for this! Was worth it.
  90. May 8, 2014
    9
    After playing almost every single Mario game out there for years and years, I find it surprising how this game manages to feel so amazing and uniquely different. Nintendo really knows how to keep things fresh and feeling different but similar enough to be memorable.

    On to the review. To start, the soundtrack is very good right from the start to the end. You may be coming back to some
    After playing almost every single Mario game out there for years and years, I find it surprising how this game manages to feel so amazing and uniquely different. Nintendo really knows how to keep things fresh and feeling different but similar enough to be memorable.

    On to the review. To start, the soundtrack is very good right from the start to the end. You may be coming back to some levels just to hear the magnificently orchestrated tunes. The graphics are great for a game on the Wii U. Some levels look bland unfortunately but with most to all of the other levels, The game looks truly incredible. The gameplay also was amazing. The varied level design which often became challenging later on even for someone as experienced as me and the power-ups including the extraordinary cat suit/transformation were really good. I personally did not like the double cherry power-up too much however but it kept the game fresh like a cherry should be and it was a nice touch every so often. Last for my review are the controls which feel great. Once you get used to the feeling of them, you will be breezing through levels. It feels great and it stays like that for the rest of your life. Also one last thing about the controls is that I love the few advanced moves in the game that help with speed running and doing some crazy stuff. This includes the rolling long jump and the long jump itself.

    Do yourself a favor and buy a Wii U and get this game with it. The quality of everything will surely amaze you. 9/10
    Expand
  91. Oct 24, 2014
    10
    Seriously, if there's an idiot saying that this is an average Mario title, he/she is so wrong. Awesome gameplay and gorgeous design makes this game very enjoyable, specially with my friends and cousins.
  92. May 12, 2014
    9
    My opinion in short:
    - great multiplayer fun
    - fun new ideas
    - awesome graphics
    - replayability because of stamps and stars
    - stamps for Miiverse
    - new items are awesome!
    - soundtrack is superb
    - the different characters are not soooo different from each other in my opinion
    - playtime feels a little short though
    - buy it if you like jnr's or mario!
  93. May 20, 2014
    9
    Recent Mario games favor to stay at a safe zone. Each one does little to change the formula and unfortunately tend to blend together. 3D World is at a comfortable middle. It does enough to feel like its own game, with its unique level designs, excellent pacing, and surprisingly addictive multiplayer. But 3D World doesn’t feel as innovative as Super Mario Galaxy felt before it. All in all,Recent Mario games favor to stay at a safe zone. Each one does little to change the formula and unfortunately tend to blend together. 3D World is at a comfortable middle. It does enough to feel like its own game, with its unique level designs, excellent pacing, and surprisingly addictive multiplayer. But 3D World doesn’t feel as innovative as Super Mario Galaxy felt before it. All in all, 3D World is a fantastic addition with enough personality to be its own game.

    Bowser is at it once again but this time instead of taking the princess, he has kidnapped several fairies and locked them away inside bottles. The team makes hot pursuit and follows Bowser into the fairy’s kingdom. After years of playing the damsel in distress, Princess Peach finally joins the cast once again for the first time since Super Mario Bros 2.

    This time around the player gets to choose from four characters to play as; Mario, Luigi, Peach, or Toad.
    Each character has their own unique abilities and flaws similarly to Super Mario Bros 2. Mario is the most balanced character as he is the most agile, Luigi has the highest jump, Peach is the slowest and can float during a jump, and Toad is the fastest. Players can reselect a new character before any level making quick changes in play styles simple. Most levels don’t call for a specific character so playing the game in its entirety as your favorite character is welcome. This refreshing tweak in the formula is an excellent change as it gives players variety as well as a chance to play as their favorite character.

    While 3D World is a blast to play in single-player, the fun multiples in co-op. The unique and colorful 3D worlds with New Super Mario Bros.’ chaotic four player co-op action is an excellent blend. Everyone can work together or create chaos, sabotaging each other’s game. Tossing friends off cliffs, stealing every power-up, and doing whatever it takes to get the highest on the flagpole always keeps every teammate active. Each player has their own score tallied against each other at the end of each level and the player with the highest wins a wearable crown. This subtle system keeps players looking out to being number one and getting the crown when everyone is supposed to be working together.

    The classic power-ups including the Fire Flower, Star, and Boomerang Flower make a return as well as joined by a few new power-ups. The main new power-up this time around is the Cat Suit, a power-up that transforms the character into a cat. With the suit, the character struts around on all fours and gains new abilities including a scratch attack as well as a dive bomb move adding new offensive options. The cat suit also allows Mario and the gang to scale walls, helping them escape enemies and find new hidden passages. The new power-up also allows the user to climb to the top of the flagpole from any angle. The cat suit is a useful and fun new addition to the line-up of powers.

    The other new power-up is the Double Cherry. With this power-up, a player duplicates their character and adds another duplicate with each new cherry pick-up. While it is a neat mechanic, as you control multiple clones of your character, it isn’t as useful as a full time power-up. If one clone strays too far away or gets hit you lose a clone, so the fun with clones ends quicker than it began.

    Green Stars and Stamps replace Star Coins as the collectibles in this game. As the Star Coins before, there are three Green Stars in each level as well as one Stamp. A few levels can only be opened by having a certain number of Green Stars so returning to past levels and clearing them completely is both rewarding and satisfying. Bonus stages also appear after the credits, encouraging many to return and gather up Green Stars. You can even unlock a recognizable bonus character.

    My only issue is the game’s camera. Players familiar with Super Mario 3D Land for the 3DS will recognize the same camera. There are times where the focused camera can feel a bit annoying even confusing. One accidental leap of faith can lead to uncertain death until the “too bad” chime plays. There were a few insists during my play through where my character would do the cat diving move far off camera and dive off into an unseen death pit. It takes a bit of getting used to, especially during chaotic four-player sessions. Another small issue I had is that the game features no controller options so player can’t remap their buttons. With the multiple controller options, including the Wii U Pro Controller as well as Wiimote and Nunchuk, it’s a surprise this feature wasn’t included.

    Super Mario 3D World doesn’t reinvent the Mario formula, but it is a refreshing new addition to the current Mario line-up. The game delivers with both an outstanding cast of characters and both nostalgic and unique level designs. This game has been one of the most fun experiences I had with a Mario game in a while. 3D World truly delivers challenge, fun, and surprise for all to enjoy.
    Expand
  94. May 20, 2014
    10
    perfect :) What more can I say about it? It's a Mario Game, of course it's gonna be good. but it's the best Mario game we've had in years. No more 2D, even tough there is some levels that are 2.5d.
  95. May 24, 2014
    10
    Ok I just got this game and trout this would just suck because of the boring e3 trailer but I had a little punch of curiosity so I played it and WOW buy this game it's worth it Nintendo you've done it again. the graphics the music the design I give this a big ten
  96. May 27, 2014
    9
    This game is perfect to play with friends because is fun and a challenge at the same. I put 9 because I'd like to have an "very hard" mode for single player where there aren't power ups. Most of them make the game easy to hell.
  97. Jun 1, 2014
    10
    I am in no way a fanboy of Nintendo. I bought both the PS4 and the Wii U on launch day, and there is no hiding that I have been disappointed with the game line up on both consoles for the first 6 months to a year. After having very little to play on the PS4 I gave my dusty Wii U another chance and picked up some games; Super Mario 3D World, Pikmin, Mario Kart 8, Zelda to name a few.

    As
    I am in no way a fanboy of Nintendo. I bought both the PS4 and the Wii U on launch day, and there is no hiding that I have been disappointed with the game line up on both consoles for the first 6 months to a year. After having very little to play on the PS4 I gave my dusty Wii U another chance and picked up some games; Super Mario 3D World, Pikmin, Mario Kart 8, Zelda to name a few.

    As much as I am a sucker for amazing graphics and physics, there is not one single game on the PS4 or Xbox One that packs as much wonder and magic as any of these titles. Super Mario 3D World takes you straight back to when you were a kid in front of the TV playing Super Mario World, A Link to the Past or any other classic gem. These games are filled with charm and creativity and are quite easy to pick up - ask my wife. Still, the game is challenging enough to keep a gamer who have been playing since the mid 80's occupied. There is an immense amount of worlds, all completely different from each other with a beautiful score that I could listen to by itself for hours. I can not express how much I love this game, so grab a Wii U (they go pretty cheap on Craigslist and Nintendo sells even refurbished ones) and for god sake buy this game - you won't regret it.
    Expand
  98. Jun 5, 2014
    10
    One of the most fun games you can play with three other people of any age. It's a great teamwork game, and not everyone has to be at the same level of playing skill to have a great time. There are some really creative worlds, it's a blast.
  99. Jun 10, 2014
    7
    This game is a... little bit better than meteoker mario title. let'sjust say it had very few flaws but they where big ones.one of which is how easy this is. I should be done with the game and i bought it a week ago! but I can't. Why? In the game there is in each level 3 green stars and you have tto get a certain number of stars in order to get to places like other levels or castles. BUT IThis game is a... little bit better than meteoker mario title. let'sjust say it had very few flaws but they where big ones.one of which is how easy this is. I should be done with the game and i bought it a week ago! but I can't. Why? In the game there is in each level 3 green stars and you have tto get a certain number of stars in order to get to places like other levels or castles. BUT I CAN'T FINISH THE FRICKING GAME BECUASE I NEED 200 STARS WHEN I ONLY HAVE LIKE 115!! I DON'T WANNA GO BACK AND GET 200 FREAKING STARS. I like the whole power ups thing like the cat. but that's it. Expand
  100. Jun 13, 2014
    10
    My favorite Mario game since Super Mario World for the Super Nintendo. The gameplay is perfect, and for me that's the most important in a videogame. Any stage is like a Level Designer Class for anyone who wants to make games. And the music is also amazing.
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 82 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 82
  2. Negative: 0 out of 82
  1. Jul 25, 2014
    100
    While not as revolutionary as Mario 64 or Galaxy, 3D World manages to feel simultaneously fresh and nostalgic in a way the New Super Mario Bros. series never quite realized.
  2. Mar 11, 2014
    93
    Mario Galaxies have finally gotten the follow up they so rightfully deserve. Fun, exciting and surprising, Super Mario 3D World is everything a good platformer needs to be. [Dec 2013]
  3. Feb 19, 2014
    60
    I'm sure some players will get a kick out of throwing each other into pits or causing chaos in a cat suit, but 3D World stands squarely in the shadow of other, greater entries in the series.