Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 81 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 680 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Work together with your friends or compete for the crown in the first multiplayer 3D Mario game for the Wii U console. In the Super Mario 3D World game, players can choose to play as Mario, Luigi, Princess Peach or Toad.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 81
  2. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. Nov 19, 2013
    100
    Super Mario 3D World can be easily summarised — it’s a terrifically enjoyable, tight and impeccably structured experience. It recalls the mascot’s 3D heritage while providing the perfect starting point for those that prefer 2D platforming, catering to an audience of beginners and skilled veterans alike. Nintendo’s also mastered Mario multiplayer for, arguably, the first time; it’s still manic and can be either co-operative or competitive, but there’s also a sense of space that allows determined groups to progress coherently.
  2. Nov 21, 2013
    100
    Super Mario 3D World is a great game full of amazing games inside. The boundaries of the imagination were again overcome and the strong interactivity and magnificent achievements in technical terms prevails.
  3. Feb 12, 2014
    100
    You wanted a reason to buy a Wii U? Here you go. [March 2014, p.67]
  4. Dec 19, 2013
    92
    It's not a game that'll single-handedly save the Wii U, but it is a typically brilliant, typically Nintendo experience - and one that'll live in the memory long after the final flag pole has disappeared from view. [Jan 2014, p.45]
  5. Dec 2, 2013
    90
    Super Mario World 3D pares back some of the complexity seen in recent Mario games in favour of multiplayer gaming, and it works wonderfully.
  6. Nov 19, 2013
    90
    Super Mario 3D World is not only the essential videogame Wii U so desperately needed, it's another master class in gameplay design by Nintendo.
  7. Jan 1, 2014
    60
    If you’ve sampled a wider range of platformers, and if you don’t have an inherent predilection for Mario worlds, Super Mario 3D World will proceed like a pleasant enough curiosity. It’s a bit like hearing oldies on a radio station. It’s familiar and safe. Then it’s over and out of your head entirely, leaving you room to discover new and better music.

See all 81 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 15 out of 188
  1. Feb 20, 2014
    10
    Bow to this game, guys, we got the contemporaneous Super Mario All-Stars.

    As many of you, I was firstly disappointed when I first saw the
    game. I really love the heck out of 3D Land, but hoping the same gameplay style would never happen again, so I actually found a reason to be freaked out at the E3 reveal.

    However, as time passed, I started to think again about my real opinion. And again. I had been a Mario gamer since the original Super Mario World, so pulling back those gems would help me to question myself if my vision was actually correct. As I completed Super Mario AS + SMW, it happened that the famous turnabout trailer from september was finally shown. So yeah, my faith in the game was restored. I couldn't wait anymore to get my hand on the new installment to the series, and if things were not clear enough, those previews and dat october trailer finally set my will to purchase the game.

    And so, the 29th of november (I live in Spain) finally happened. My new WiiU console arrived at home bundled with Super Mario 3D World. As i booted up the game, magic was everywhere. The artistic presentation, the colorful levels and a truly kickass soundtrack formed a package of exceptional croft, as Gamespot said.

    Of course, there were still minor dips when I was let down with the game in some level details, but the actual fact out of me stayed true to its identity when progressing and proved me wrong once again.

    The platforming level was getting better and better within each world, and when I finally got the 5 shiny stars... I was all set, Mario was just as good as always. as we've always seen that magnificent creation of Miyamoto-san.

    Nintendo, you did it again.
    Expand
  2. Nov 22, 2013
    10
    By far the funnest Mario game in years! I urge anyone with a wii u to purchase this game. This is pure AAA grade Nintendo gaming. The local multiplayer is an absolute blast anyone can join & leave whenever. Perfect game for families or hanging out with friends. Highly recommended! Expand
  3. Jan 10, 2014
    10
    BEST MARIO GAME to come out over the last 10 years! The family had a great time at Christmas playing 4 player mode and all skill levels of gamers had a blast and worked together. Not often can a game bring the whole family together to have a good laugh - thanks Nintendo! Expand
  4. Nov 30, 2013
    10
    A great platforming Mario game. Multiplayer is competitive yet cooperative and it's a blast with friends at or around your skill level. Great music and it's nice to see a quality HD Nintendo game. Expand
  5. Nov 23, 2013
    10
    Me and my daughters absolute loved the game. It's so cool, awesome graphics, awesome playing experience. Control is accurate. The game is so fun to play. I highly recommend. Nintendo still make the best games today... I'm looking forward to play Mario Kart 8 and the new Zelda! Thanks! Expand
  6. Jan 1, 2014
    9
    This is the best mario game since galaxy Super mario 3d world is an outstanding game it fantastic in every aspect it's creative and the game is extremely fun Expand
  7. Jan 21, 2014
    1
    I was really hoping Nintendo would bring a system selling 3D Mario title, a proper one like Sunshine or 64, but no, we got a worse version of Super Mario 3D Land. Controls are bad, you can only move in 9 directions, wtf is that about? Why have a control stick? Music is OK, not very memorable though. Level design/themes are stale, same themes as New Super Mario Bros., just in a different order. The game has no exploration, its just a straight path all the way to the FLAGPOLE... Why is there a flag pole in a "3D World"? It's not even a 3D World, you can't look around you, you can only see the direction you're going. Just to top it off there's a Time limit. This game is absolute trash, it's such a disappointment to people growing up with real Mario games, not the recent re-hashed abominations. The game is pathetically easy, it's literally boring, at no point do you feel in danger, I must have died twice maybe 3 times throughout the entire game. Only positive thing I can say is I liked using Peach, cause she floated for a little bit, seriously that was the highlight of the game, floating a bit. Do yourself a favour and don't think twice about picking this mess up. Imagine if this game didn't have Mario characters, the review scores would be slashed in half. Super Mario 2D World gets a 2/10 from me. (2D was intentional). Expand

See all 188 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2013

    The Best Videogames of 2013 Image
    Published: December 30, 2013
    In our annual ranking of the year's best video games, get a list of 2013's best and worst releases by platform, view a comparison of the various game consoles, and find out which title earned Metacritic Game of the Year honors.