Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 83 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 1123 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Work together with your friends or compete for the crown in the first multiplayer 3D Mario game for the Wii U console. In the Super Mario 3D World game, players can choose to play as Mario, Luigi, Princess Peach or Toad.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 81 out of 83
  2. Negative: 0 out of 83
  1. Nov 19, 2013
    100
    Put simply, Super Mario 3D World is stunning. Its world is beautiful, its design is impeccable, and its fun is infectious. I'm running out of superlatives here, so let me finish where I started: Go play it.
  2. Nov 22, 2013
    100
    It really is a fantastic game. That thrill of hitting the top of the flagpole is still there after all these years, Mario and co leap about at the top of their game, it's colourful, friendly, joyful, and the most fun I've had with a platform game since Super Mario Galaxy 2.
  3. Jul 25, 2014
    100
    While not as revolutionary as Mario 64 or Galaxy, 3D World manages to feel simultaneously fresh and nostalgic in a way the New Super Mario Bros. series never quite realized.
  4. Dec 19, 2013
    92
    It's not a game that'll single-handedly save the Wii U, but it is a typically brilliant, typically Nintendo experience - and one that'll live in the memory long after the final flag pole has disappeared from view. [Jan 2014, p.45]
  5. Dec 3, 2013
    90
    Traditional Mario, who perfects all the possible aspects of the plumbing trade. Indeed, this is not a revolution, but you will be frequently surprised, and you will never be bored in his company.
  6. Nov 19, 2013
    90
    While I’d still like to see a proper 3D Mario game on Wii U, 3D World does so much right that it’s hard to bash the formula, especially when it veers off course so often.
  7. Jan 1, 2014
    60
    If you’ve sampled a wider range of platformers, and if you don’t have an inherent predilection for Mario worlds, Super Mario 3D World will proceed like a pleasant enough curiosity. It’s a bit like hearing oldies on a radio station. It’s familiar and safe. Then it’s over and out of your head entirely, leaving you room to discover new and better music.

See all 83 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 20 out of 289
  1. Apr 23, 2014
    10
    This is one of the best Mario games to come out in the franchise. The gameplay is solid. I had no problems with the 3d platforming in theThis is one of the best Mario games to come out in the franchise. The gameplay is solid. I had no problems with the 3d platforming in the levels. This game has over a hundred levels in all, which is a lot of hours of extra gameplay. There is also stamps and green stars to collect. Stamps can be used for the social gaming network Miiverse. The green stars are made for progressing through the game. Super Mario also brings back the Super Mario Bros. 2 formula, character wise. There is Mario, who has the normal physics. Luigi, who can jump higher, Peach, who can float for a limited time, and lastly, Toad, who can run faster. You can select any of these four characters in one player mode. Not to mention, there is a secret character you unlock shortly after beating a certain level! Overall, Super Mario 3d World is an amazing, and not to mention beautiful, addition to the Super Mario series and I hope Nintendo can make more Mario games as fun and as addictive as this one. Expand
  2. Nov 22, 2013
    10
    By far the funnest Mario game in years! I urge anyone with a wii u to purchase this game. This is pure AAA grade Nintendo gaming. The localBy far the funnest Mario game in years! I urge anyone with a wii u to purchase this game. This is pure AAA grade Nintendo gaming. The local multiplayer is an absolute blast anyone can join & leave whenever. Perfect game for families or hanging out with friends. Highly recommended! Expand
  3. Jan 20, 2015
    10
    What a fantastic game! Easily one of the better Mario games of the history! Highly recommended.
    Pros: The graphics are pretty good, on the
    What a fantastic game! Easily one of the better Mario games of the history! Highly recommended.
    Pros: The graphics are pretty good, on the 8th generation level, although I can't enjoy them completely because my TV isn't HD. The level design is incredibly beautiful and makes the levels become unique. The soundtrack is gorgeous and the gameplay is cool, with high quality control response. This game is also very fun, even in single player. The new features are also very interesting and add a ton of quality to the game.
    Cons: The game is too easy; in one week I was already on world 8. Worse: I found several times when there is a huge series of easy levels and suddenly I found a super-hard level that took me like 20 lives. Also, the collectibles are cool, but strange: some are ridiculously easy to find, while others are very hidden and are insanely hard to find without YouTube help.
    Overall: that's a wonderful game that worth the $60. Buy it and have fun!
    Expand
  4. Dec 25, 2013
    10
    This game is outstanding! This is the Game Of 2013 for me, and it's been so much fun so far. Me and my sister love it! Graphics are amazing inThis game is outstanding! This is the Game Of 2013 for me, and it's been so much fun so far. Me and my sister love it! Graphics are amazing in this game. Possibly the best in the series. The gameplay is fun, and the level ideas are very creative. It's just a great game. If you don't have a Wii U, this would be a good reason to get one.

    Graphics: 10
    Gameplay: 10
    Music: 10
    Overall: 10
    Expand
  5. Nov 23, 2013
    10
    I bought this game on launch day it's the most fun I have had on any Mario game ever. Multiplayer is amazing, great level design and theI bought this game on launch day it's the most fun I have had on any Mario game ever. Multiplayer is amazing, great level design and the visuals are fantastic. I would recommend it to anyone. Expand
  6. Nov 23, 2013
    9
    Got this game yesterday, LOVE IT!!! The last time I bought a mario game was super mario galaxy,and this game just brought me back to theGot this game yesterday, LOVE IT!!! The last time I bought a mario game was super mario galaxy,and this game just brought me back to the series. The graphics and visuals in this is absolutely gorgeous, everything looks great in HD!! The gameplay, if you love super mario for the 3ds and new super mario wii u then you will love this game!! Almost identical gameplay but with a few nice touches that makes this game wonderful. Can't wait to invite my friends over to play this game tomorrow, if your a mario fan, GET THIS GAME!!! Expand
  7. Sep 13, 2014
    0
    Más de lo mismo, más de 30 años jugando a lo mismo CANSA! Donde está la next gen??? un juego de menos de dos gigas, eso ocupaban algunos en PSX...

See all 289 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2013

    The Best Videogames of 2013 Image
    Published: December 30, 2013
    In our annual ranking of the year's best video games, get a list of 2013's best and worst releases by platform, view a comparison of the various game consoles, and find out which title earned Metacritic Game of the Year honors.