Super Mario 3D World Wii U

Super Mario 3D World Image
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 83 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 1650 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Work together with your friends or compete for the crown in the first multiplayer 3D Mario game for the Wii U console. In the Super Mario 3D World game, players can choose to play as Mario, Luigi, Princess Peach or Toad.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 81 out of 83
  2. Negative: 0 out of 83
  1. Nov 19, 2013
    100
    Put simply, Super Mario 3D World is stunning. Its world is beautiful, its design is impeccable, and its fun is infectious. I'm running out of superlatives here, so let me finish where I started: Go play it.
  2. Nov 22, 2013
    100
    It really is a fantastic game. That thrill of hitting the top of the flagpole is still there after all these years, Mario and co leap about at the top of their game, it's colourful, friendly, joyful, and the most fun I've had with a platform game since Super Mario Galaxy 2.
  3. Jul 25, 2014
    100
    While not as revolutionary as Mario 64 or Galaxy, 3D World manages to feel simultaneously fresh and nostalgic in a way the New Super Mario Bros. series never quite realized.
  4. Games Master UK
    Dec 19, 2013
    92
    It's not a game that'll single-handedly save the Wii U, but it is a typically brilliant, typically Nintendo experience - and one that'll live in the memory long after the final flag pole has disappeared from view. [Jan 2014, p.45]
  5. Dec 3, 2013
    90
    Traditional Mario, who perfects all the possible aspects of the plumbing trade. Indeed, this is not a revolution, but you will be frequently surprised, and you will never be bored in his company.
  6. Nov 19, 2013
    90
    While I’d still like to see a proper 3D Mario game on Wii U, 3D World does so much right that it’s hard to bash the formula, especially when it veers off course so often.
  7. Jan 1, 2014
    60
    If you’ve sampled a wider range of platformers, and if you don’t have an inherent predilection for Mario worlds, Super Mario 3D World will proceed like a pleasant enough curiosity. It’s a bit like hearing oldies on a radio station. It’s familiar and safe. Then it’s over and out of your head entirely, leaving you room to discover new and better music.

See all 83 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 14 out of 366
  1. Nov 22, 2013
    10
    By far the funnest Mario game in years! I urge anyone with a wii u to purchase this game. This is pure AAA grade Nintendo gaming. The localBy far the funnest Mario game in years! I urge anyone with a wii u to purchase this game. This is pure AAA grade Nintendo gaming. The local multiplayer is an absolute blast anyone can join & leave whenever. Perfect game for families or hanging out with friends. Highly recommended! Expand
  2. Jan 10, 2014
    10
    This game is an absolute JOY to play. Lots of replayability value and lots of polish. Level design is amazing, and the gameplay is phenomenal.This game is an absolute JOY to play. Lots of replayability value and lots of polish. Level design is amazing, and the gameplay is phenomenal. Don't miss this game. Expand
  3. Jan 19, 2015
    10
    One of the best Mario games of all time. The gameplay is incredible and the graphics are one of the best in the console. The multiplayer isOne of the best Mario games of all time. The gameplay is incredible and the graphics are one of the best in the console. The multiplayer is really fun and the last battle with Bowser is just amazing! Expand
  4. Nov 28, 2013
    10
    This is the Game of the Year for me. The artistic direction is beautiful, THE MUSIC is FANTASTIC, hell, you will never get bored of the music,This is the Game of the Year for me. The artistic direction is beautiful, THE MUSIC is FANTASTIC, hell, you will never get bored of the music, and the most important thing: THE LEVEL DESIGN IS MAJESTIC. It pushes you to keep playing, as well as to find its most hideous secrets. It maks you feel astonished because of its perfection in level design. It keeps you entertained, and gets an "Ooh, awesome" out of yoour mouth every time you enter a new level. YOU MUST BUY IT!
    104763547594534/10
    Expand
  5. Jun 16, 2015
    9
    I loved this game. The graphics are beautiful, the game is in the right tone of difficulty, and the levels are always fun. I like how theI loved this game. The graphics are beautiful, the game is in the right tone of difficulty, and the levels are always fun. I like how the playable characters have their own unique abilities. My only complaint is that collectibles are required. You get to the castle and about to go in the level, but you have to collect a certain amount of green stars and you have to backtrack in one of the previously completed levels to just collect one and you have to beat the level all over again or else you won't get the green star.

    Overall this game is worth your time because there is A LOT of stuff to do.
    Expand
  6. PMG
    Jan 12, 2014
    9
    This game... Blew my expectations! With four players, this game becomes the god of COOP Mario games, there are so many power ups and most ofThis game... Blew my expectations! With four players, this game becomes the god of COOP Mario games, there are so many power ups and most of all, it is just so fun! It is easy in places, but it is a charming and color full experience among the best Mario games ever made! Expand
  7. May 17, 2016
    0
    Pobre nintendo, con lo que me encantaba esta compañia y los juegos que hacia, creo que deberia dejar descansar por unos 5 años a mario, porquePobre nintendo, con lo que me encantaba esta compañia y los juegos que hacia, creo que deberia dejar descansar por unos 5 años a mario, porque ahora ya no sorprenden ni innovan con jugabilidad. Expand

See all 366 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2013

    The Best Videogames of 2013 Image
    Published: December 30, 2013
    In our annual ranking of the year's best video games, get a list of 2013's best and worst releases by platform, view a comparison of the various game consoles, and find out which title earned Metacritic Game of the Year honors.