Super Mario 3D World Wii U

Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 83 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 1250 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Work together with your friends or compete for the crown in the first multiplayer 3D Mario game for the Wii U console. In the Super Mario 3D World game, players can choose to play as Mario, Luigi, Princess Peach or Toad.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 81 out of 83
  2. Negative: 0 out of 83
  1. Nov 19, 2013
    100
    Put simply, Super Mario 3D World is stunning. Its world is beautiful, its design is impeccable, and its fun is infectious. I'm running out of superlatives here, so let me finish where I started: Go play it.
  2. Nov 22, 2013
    100
    It really is a fantastic game. That thrill of hitting the top of the flagpole is still there after all these years, Mario and co leap about at the top of their game, it's colourful, friendly, joyful, and the most fun I've had with a platform game since Super Mario Galaxy 2.
  3. Jul 25, 2014
    100
    While not as revolutionary as Mario 64 or Galaxy, 3D World manages to feel simultaneously fresh and nostalgic in a way the New Super Mario Bros. series never quite realized.
  4. Dec 19, 2013
    92
    It's not a game that'll single-handedly save the Wii U, but it is a typically brilliant, typically Nintendo experience - and one that'll live in the memory long after the final flag pole has disappeared from view. [Jan 2014, p.45]
  5. Dec 3, 2013
    90
    Traditional Mario, who perfects all the possible aspects of the plumbing trade. Indeed, this is not a revolution, but you will be frequently surprised, and you will never be bored in his company.
  6. Nov 19, 2013
    90
    While I’d still like to see a proper 3D Mario game on Wii U, 3D World does so much right that it’s hard to bash the formula, especially when it veers off course so often.
  7. Jan 1, 2014
    60
    If you’ve sampled a wider range of platformers, and if you don’t have an inherent predilection for Mario worlds, Super Mario 3D World will proceed like a pleasant enough curiosity. It’s a bit like hearing oldies on a radio station. It’s familiar and safe. Then it’s over and out of your head entirely, leaving you room to discover new and better music.

See all 83 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 22 out of 311
  1. Mar 2, 2014
    10
    This is the best Mario platformer ever! It's gameplay is stellar, it's graphics are beautiful, it's soundtrack is jazzy, and it has loads ofThis is the best Mario platformer ever! It's gameplay is stellar, it's graphics are beautiful, it's soundtrack is jazzy, and it has loads of content for you!♪So many worlds, all around. So many places, to be found. Exploring a kingdom where Sprixies must be found!♪Many courses are in each world. Some are easy, many are difficult, but all are fun! The multiplayer is awesome, the cutscenes are epically jazzy, and the fun-filled surrealism is significant! The new Cat Suit is epic! It's over-powered, but in a fun way! In fact, this game has 17 power-ups, more than Super Mario Bros. 3's 9 power-ups!

    Please, get a Wii U, and buy this game!

    This isn't a AAA game!

    It's an ∞A game!

    Everyone loves 3D World, and so will U!
    Expand
  2. Nov 22, 2013
    10
    By far the funnest Mario game in years! I urge anyone with a wii u to purchase this game. This is pure AAA grade Nintendo gaming. The localBy far the funnest Mario game in years! I urge anyone with a wii u to purchase this game. This is pure AAA grade Nintendo gaming. The local multiplayer is an absolute blast anyone can join & leave whenever. Perfect game for families or hanging out with friends. Highly recommended! Expand
  3. Jan 19, 2015
    10
    One of the best Mario games of all time. The gameplay is incredible and the graphics are one of the best in the console. The multiplayer isOne of the best Mario games of all time. The gameplay is incredible and the graphics are one of the best in the console. The multiplayer is really fun and the last battle with Bowser is just amazing! Expand
  4. Nov 29, 2013
    10
    Great game 10.........................................................................................................................................
  5. Nov 25, 2013
    10
    HOLY This game is flat out fantastic. Even with all the praise it's been receiving, I did not expect it to be THIS good. Every moment withHOLY This game is flat out fantastic. Even with all the praise it's been receiving, I did not expect it to be THIS good. Every moment with this game is nothing but pure joy. I constantly find my jaw dropping from the sheer inventiveness of the stages, the fluidity of the gameplay, and crisp colorful graphics. Multiplayer is a blast!! This is a game for gamers of all ages, and is so far my GOTY and one of the best games I've played in 20 years of gaming. Truly sublime. Expand
  6. Apr 26, 2015
    9
    Not as good as the Galaxy Series and Super Mario 3D Land but still good. If you don't like SM3DW, you are silly as J. Bieber. The graphics areNot as good as the Galaxy Series and Super Mario 3D Land but still good. If you don't like SM3DW, you are silly as J. Bieber. The graphics are awesome. The controls are good, except why does the gamepad ALWAYS have to be Player 1? The gameplay is good. The characters are so frigging awesome. My bro fufufu plays as Luigi (Weegee) and the only character I play as is Mario. Also, why do my bro and I have to share lives? Why can't they make it like NSMB where we have our own? This frigging sucks. The level designs suck, except the Mario Kart looking stage and Super Bell Hill. Tyfoo Flurry used to suck bad as well but now it is one of my favourites. Super Mario 3D World is a good game and I recommend any gamer to buy this if they own a Wii U. Expand
  7. Sep 13, 2014
    0
    Más de lo mismo, más de 30 años jugando a lo mismo CANSA! Donde está la next gen??? un juego de menos de dos gigas, eso ocupaban algunos en PSX...

See all 311 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2013

    The Best Videogames of 2013 Image
    Published: December 30, 2013
    In our annual ranking of the year's best video games, get a list of 2013's best and worst releases by platform, view a comparison of the various game consoles, and find out which title earned Metacritic Game of the Year honors.