Metascore
45

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 37
  2. Negative: 20 out of 37
  1. Not for everyone, but younger gamers and arcade fans will love it. The multiplayer mode adds a surreal slice of joy, too. [Jan 2013, p.103]
  2. Nov 22, 2012
    68
    Tank! Tank! Tank! is a hard game to review. On one hand, I had a blast playing locally in both story and multiplayer mode, but the price tag is painful. I can't honestly say that what you get is worth the full $50 investment. However, if it ever drops in price, I cannot stress enough how much fun Kong mode, and just smashing enemies is with friends. This is a polarizing game, due in large part to its price tag, and that is truly a shame. Check it out when it gets cheaper, until then you might want to steer clear.
  3. Dec 7, 2012
    65
    It's not much more expansive than its arcade counterpart and even though it preserves the multiplayer, Tank! Tank! Tank! is a rather massive letdown.
  4. 60
    What it lacks in variety it makes up in sheer insanity.
  5. Dec 3, 2012
    60
    Tank! Tank! Tank! makes fun for about an hour, than you have seen everything. There is no variety, no gameplay-depth and old-school graphics.
  6. Dec 2, 2012
    60
    With a fairly decent presentation, it makes for a fun party game if you're up for something a bit more violent. However, with the current price point of $50, it is impossible to recommend the title unless you need to have every game for the new system. The best thing to do is to wait for a severe price drop on what should've been a breakout title for the eShop.
  7. Nov 27, 2012
    60
    Tank! Tank! Tank! is a simple and fun idea that is hindered by some poor gameplay design which ultimately leaves a lot of potential unrealized.
  8. Nov 25, 2012
    60
    At $29.99, the game could be a fun purchase for those primarily into multiplayer, but its current price-point and lack of significant Wii U GamePad functionality add up to a release worth skipping.
  9. Dec 14, 2012
    58
    Blowing up stuff is fun, but you'll end up fighting the controls and the game becomes a grind if you play it any real length of time.
  10. Dec 4, 2012
    58
    A simple and relatively fun Tank-action experience underperformed but for its poor graphics and absence of online play.
  11. Dec 14, 2012
    50
    Control issues, repetitive modes, and the lack of features keep it from being a great game. It's not worth the price of admission either.
  12. 50
    Despite its accessibility and enjoyable multiplayer, Tank! Tank! Tank! is the kind of game that's best suited for the arcades, where you only expect a game to entertain you for a few minutes.
  13. Dec 6, 2012
    50
    A fairly limited package that quickly runs out of ideas.
  14. Dec 5, 2012
    50
    Tank! Tank! Tank! does a few things pretty well, but a torturously mind-numbing solo campaign and a high price tag keep it from being a hit. The younger crowd will definitely enjoy the photo-taking aspect and simple multiplayer, but other than that it's pretty barren. If Namco Bandai had lopped off the limp campaign mode and released the game as a multiplayer offering on the Wii U eShop for $15 then it would be easier to recommend, but as it stands now, Tank! Tank! Tank! is better described as Lame! Lame! Lame!
  15. Nov 30, 2012
    50
    Tank! Tank! Tank! probably shouldn't have elbowed its way onto the Wii U. Like most arcade games, the title is fun in short bursts, but any longer than five minutes, and you're looking for another game to play.
  16. Nov 21, 2012
    50
    Solo gamers will find very little in the campaign to keep them interested for long, but the title is at its best when you're playing it with friends. If you can pick it up at a discount, and can round up a couple of people together for a gaming session, you'll be in for a riotous time, but there are better options on the system to get your multiplayer fix.
  17. Nov 19, 2012
    50
    Fun for a few hours, better with friends, soon set aside for more complex experiences.
User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 49 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 14
  2. Negative: 2 out of 14
  1. Nov 22, 2012
    1
    The worst launch title of the group. I twas supposed to be an arcade game but I never saw it at one of the few arcades I have been in over theThe worst launch title of the group. I twas supposed to be an arcade game but I never saw it at one of the few arcades I have been in over the last 3 or 4 years. The graphics and sound are DS quality. I wonder why this just wasn't a DLC game. Luckily I did not buy it and my local Gamestop decided to be funny and put a used (Yep....someone traded it in.) copy of the game in. Everyone who played it thought the same thing. $55 too much and pretty much crap that was released in the hope to get a few sales. Not only is it the worst launch title on the Wii U, I can't think of a worse game launched with a console period. Yes.....It is that bad. I am actually gonna give it a point since the developers and publishers actually had the balls to release it in the first place. Full Review »
  2. Nov 25, 2012
    6
    This game excels in its simplicity, anyone should be able to pick up a controller and play without the problem of a learning curve. PlayersThis game excels in its simplicity, anyone should be able to pick up a controller and play without the problem of a learning curve. Players only need to worry about two things: 1. driving; and 2. shooting. The story mode can get a become boring but if you are a gamer used to anything with a "grind", i.e. MMORPG's, you'll feel right at home unlocking all the medals. Some drawbacks to Tank! Tank! Tank! are: 1. Co-op limits you second player to use the same tank regardless of what you've unlocked; 2. Multiplayer requires you to retake pictures of each other before the start of each round; 3. and the ability to rotate your turret during movement is not an available feature. Overall it is a fun game but when placed against Nintendoland as a party title it's hard to measure up to the competition. Full Review »
  3. Nov 22, 2012
    8
    This game is amazing. It's not the most involving experience, and it may be light on content, but it is a heck of a lot fun. Even alone,This game is amazing. It's not the most involving experience, and it may be light on content, but it is a heck of a lot fun. Even alone, shooting mosters with tanks is fun, but it really shines when you have some friends around to team up on some bad guys, or go head to head. Now the main problem in this game is the amount of grinding needed to complete the single-player campaign. Each mission requires you to have a certain amount of medals to unlock it. But every so often, a mission comes up where you need to more than double your medal count, so you will have to replay old missions with other tanks. Some tanks are virtually unusable, but with enough practice, you might barely pass. Luckily you can take on these mission with a friend, so you never actually have to play the game alone. This may not be the best choice of spending $50, and if you can get a discount I would say buy it immediately, but if you buy it full price, you probably won't regret it. Full Review »