Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Nov 21, 2012
    75
    So, while the Wii U version of Tekken Tag Tournament 2 doesn't change up many of the problems that we had with its original release, it adds some more casual-friendly modes for the Nintendo crowd.
  2. Nov 27, 2012
    88
    There is just tons to do in this game. The Wii U version's additional features aren't phenomenal, but they'll give you more to play around with.
  3. Nov 28, 2012
    80
    Tekken Tag Tournament 2 Wii U Edition is worth it for anyone looking to build out their launch library on Nintendo's new console. It's got everything Namco packed in earlier this year, and that's about all you need to know. Tekken Ball and Mushroom Battle, while briefly entertaining, don't add much. Still, TTT2 is strong enough in its own right that we don't need to tag out just yet.
  4. Jan 15, 2013
    88
    The best technical fighting game on a Ninty home console since the days of the SNES. [Feb 2013, p.76]
  5. Jan 23, 2013
    86
    Despite some minor technical issues and a forgettable use of the Gamepad, TTT2 Wii U Edition holds up to the challenge thanks to the same great production value we've come to know and the additional content packed in directly from the start.
  6. Nov 20, 2012
    80
    The Wii U Edition's new modes are more "goofy entertainment" than "substantial content." But without them, the game's still great--so you should look at these rowdy wranglings as icing on the Tekken cake. If you skipped TTT2 on other consoles and enjoy 3D arcade punch-ups, this is currently your best Wii U bet.
  7. Dec 3, 2012
    90
    In conclusion, Tekken Tag Tournament 2 for the Wii U is a fantastic fighting game, and a must buy for the new Nintendo system. This game has so much to offer, and it adds a hard-core competitive element to Nintendo gamers that have been lacking for a long time.
  8. Nov 28, 2012
    87
    Tekken Tag Tournament 2 for Wii U offers the same content found in the PS3 and Xbox 360 counterparts, but also includes new "nintendorized" options.
  9. Dec 14, 2012
    90
    Unfortunately, neither Tekken Advance or Tekken 3D Prime Edition offered the true Tekken experience. But Tekken Tag Tournament 2 Wii U Edition does--and then some. [Dec 2012, p.78]
  10. Nov 26, 2012
    80
    As long as you're prepared to deal with the decidedly smaller community, the Wii U Edition of Tekken Tag Tournament 2 is the best version of the game. It's essentially the exact same package with a few extras, and a few tiny conveniences that put it slightly over the original.
  11. Dec 7, 2012
    85
    Due to a very large roster and the solid gameplay mechanics, Tekken Tag Tournament 2 closes with style this long chapter of the series.
  12. Dec 12, 2012
    84
    An enhanced Port with merits, especially Nintendo Fans should enjoy.
  13. Dec 3, 2012
    85
    This absolutely is a good fighting game for the Wii U. It's a port from the PS3 and Xbox 360 version but it has an extra mode which is fun to play.
  14. Jan 24, 2013
    90
    Tekken Tag Tournament 2 Wii U Edition is a great fighting game. This version is as great as the others, and the nice extras are good enough to grant fun and laughters. If you're looking for a good fighting game for the new Nintendo console, this is your best choice.
  15. Nov 25, 2012
    80
    It's easy to recommend Tekken Tag Tournament 2: Wii U Edition as it's the only fighting game out right now on Nintendo's new system, but Tekken is also franchise that's cemented itself as a quality participant in the genre; this instalment is also bursting with content. There's so much to do and so many characters to try that boredom will never be an issue. Add in the Wii U exclusive modes that will entertain series fans and newcomers alike, and you've got a title that any fighting game fan will need in their library.
  16. 85
    Tekken Tag 2 was a great game before it hit Wii U, and on the system, it's a little bit better, even if the improvements are largely on the periphery. The game might not be ideal for newcomers, but it is likely the best Tekken game available, so if you've ever been curious about the series, Tekken Tag 2 is a good place to start.
  17. Nov 30, 2012
    70
    The best version of Tekken Tag Tournament 2 so far, although by such a small margin it still doesn't excuse the game's conservative attitude to the fighting game genre.
  18. Dec 4, 2012
    86
    Tekken Tag Tournament 2 is a great 3D Fighting Game. Namco's game presents a really dream match with over 50 characters, a new tag system combo and great variety of game modes with some new additions in this Wii U version.
  19. This is the perfect example of what we expect from multi-format Wii U games, with everything seen in other versions and more Nintendo-only stuff on top.
  20. Dec 3, 2012
    80
    The Tekken Tag Tournament 2 Wii U port is rather successful, although playing with the GamePad is not easy at first. Fortunately, shortcuts on the touch screen are nice, but that being said, nothing beats a good arcade stick of course! Another interesting point: you can play on the GamePad screen itself. Regarding game modes, the Mushroom Mode is good fun, but not for long, and the online mode works pretty well. In short, TTT2 on Wii U is as good as the other consoles versions, but its new features, funny at first, finally don't bring so much to the experience.
  21. Dec 6, 2012
    67
    It's far from a simple rehash of its ported cousins, and it manages to successfully carve out its own unique and compelling features that you won't find on the other iterations.
  22. Dec 12, 2012
    80
    The Wii U version of Tekken Tag Tournament 2 offers a lot more content and clever usage of the Wii U Gamepad. In the end, this is the best version of the game.
  23. Dec 12, 2012
    82
    I always emphasize how much I like Tekken Bowling – and keep forgetting how much I missed Tekken Ball. With the extra content this would be the first choice for Tekken aficionados – but just if you use the ProController. The standard Wii U GamePad is made with a lot of games in mind but not beat'em ups.
  24. Nov 28, 2012
    90
    Tekken's first appearance on a Nintendo console is a complete and outstanding success.
  25. Dec 11, 2012
    90
    Tekken Tag Tournament 2: Wii U Edition proves that when something isn't broke then there's no need to fix it -- just add a ton of worthwhile and engaging content on top. Persistent loading times may mar the experience for some, but for fighting game fans with a shiny new console to equip, this will be gaming nirvana.
  26. 90
    TTT2 Wii U edition is an excellent example of how to best use the Wii U. The technical side of things is top notch, and the features of the Wii U game pad are brilliantly utilized. The new game modes and mini games are highly entertaining, and the whole package just oozes quality and effort.
  27. Nov 30, 2012
    90
    Tekken Tag Tournament 2 Wii U Edition is the version to get, if you have the luxury of choice and prefer inviting friends to your house to playing online. A few buddies on the same couch playing Tekken Ball and / or the in more than one way appropriately named mushroom mode, is a real winner.
  28. Dec 13, 2012
    85
    With Tekken Tag Tournament 2 Wii U, Katsuhiro Harada proposes a good sequel to the successful fighting game released on PS2. The gameplay mechanics are still intuitive but leave room for improvement. And yet, the use of the GamePad won't revolutionize the gameplay. Thanks to the Tag Crash and the Tag Assault attacks, the fighting sequences are now mostly well-balanced. Moreover, with tons of playable characters, Tekken Tag Tournament 2 Wii U is a clearly the kind of title that a lot of players will enjoy. As regards the introduction of the new Mushroom and Tekken Ball Battle modes, it's not really significant.
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 66 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. Feb 10, 2014
    10
    The bonus features of the Wii U port is so much fun. The Mushroom mode is ok, and can get very confusing, but the inclusion of painting onThe bonus features of the Wii U port is so much fun. The Mushroom mode is ok, and can get very confusing, but the inclusion of painting on characters and the Nintendo themed costumes make this port of the game superior by far. Tekken ball is ok, but the game itself is fun on all consoles. With a massive roster of characters, each character has their own entertaining ending. This game lasts a long time before it is complete. I have owned this game for around a year now, and still am not finished with it yet. Full Review »
  2. Dec 16, 2012
    10
    finally a Tekken game on a nintendo system..a lot of fun with tekken ball mode and versus mode..but this game doesnt use the gamepad with allfinally a Tekken game on a nintendo system..a lot of fun with tekken ball mode and versus mode..but this game doesnt use the gamepad with all its power like zombi u or nintendo land.. Full Review »
  3. Nov 27, 2014
    3
    I bought this game because I ADORED the original Tekken Tag Tournament, but I was soo disappointed when I picked it up. I realised what a badI bought this game because I ADORED the original Tekken Tag Tournament, but I was soo disappointed when I picked it up. I realised what a bad mistake I had purchasing this game. Terrible control in my opinion, lackluster features and no attention to detail led me to never play this since the day I picked it up. Full Review »