User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 66 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 66
  2. Negative: 7 out of 66

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 16, 2012
    10
    finally a Tekken game on a nintendo system..a lot of fun with tekken ball mode and versus mode..but this game doesnt use the gamepad with all its power like zombi u or nintendo land..
  2. Feb 10, 2014
    10
    The bonus features of the Wii U port is so much fun. The Mushroom mode is ok, and can get very confusing, but the inclusion of painting on characters and the Nintendo themed costumes make this port of the game superior by far. Tekken ball is ok, but the game itself is fun on all consoles. With a massive roster of characters, each character has their own entertaining ending. This game lastsThe bonus features of the Wii U port is so much fun. The Mushroom mode is ok, and can get very confusing, but the inclusion of painting on characters and the Nintendo themed costumes make this port of the game superior by far. Tekken ball is ok, but the game itself is fun on all consoles. With a massive roster of characters, each character has their own entertaining ending. This game lasts a long time before it is complete. I have owned this game for around a year now, and still am not finished with it yet. Expand
  3. Jan 12, 2013
    9
    Get ready for the next review! (sorry I couldn't help but go there) Tekken appears on a Nintendo console for the first time and it is epic. The gamepad isn't used very well but the Nintendo themed bonus content and inclusion of the other versions dlc make this the best version of the game and if you have the choice, definitely get on Wii U as it's the one that gets the most bang for your buck.
  4. Feb 13, 2013
    9
    Being that this was my first Tekken game, I thought it was just going to be Soulcalibur with fists instead of swords. Turns out it's a lot more that that. From the great graphics, many colorful characters, and powerhouse fighting, there's never a dull moment in this game. Whle the Nintendo outfits are hit or miss, the news modes like Mushroom Battle are good fun if you get a second playerBeing that this was my first Tekken game, I thought it was just going to be Soulcalibur with fists instead of swords. Turns out it's a lot more that that. From the great graphics, many colorful characters, and powerhouse fighting, there's never a dull moment in this game. Whle the Nintendo outfits are hit or miss, the news modes like Mushroom Battle are good fun if you get a second player in on them. The only complaint I have lies in the controls as they take a while to get used to if you're brand new to the series, especially the blocking. Otherwise, go grab it. It's worth your time to the fullest extent. Expand
  5. Mar 8, 2013
    9
    As a veteran tekken player (Since tekken 2) i can say without doubt that this is one of the best tekken games ever (top 3). The gameplay is the best in the series. There are tons of characters (trust me, this is very important), and the graphics are great. The real gem here is the multiplayer. It is very addicting and fun to go up the rankings and receive cool nicknames and other stuff.As a veteran tekken player (Since tekken 2) i can say without doubt that this is one of the best tekken games ever (top 3). The gameplay is the best in the series. There are tons of characters (trust me, this is very important), and the graphics are great. The real gem here is the multiplayer. It is very addicting and fun to go up the rankings and receive cool nicknames and other stuff. The ranking system makes sure you always play against players on your level (if you want to) and The characters are well balanced (though not perfectly). As for the wii u mechanics, It is alot of fun to play this game on the gamepad, in bed for instance. Very recommended! Collapse
  6. Mar 8, 2013
    0
    As a veteran tekken player (Since tekken 2) i can say without doubt that this is one of the best tekken games ever (top 3). The gameplay is the best in the series. There are tons of characters (trust me, this is very important), and the graphics are great. The real gem here is the multiplayer. It is very addicting and fun to go up the rankings and receive cool nicknames and other stuff.As a veteran tekken player (Since tekken 2) i can say without doubt that this is one of the best tekken games ever (top 3). The gameplay is the best in the series. There are tons of characters (trust me, this is very important), and the graphics are great. The real gem here is the multiplayer. It is very addicting and fun to go up the rankings and receive cool nicknames and other stuff. The ranking system makes sure you always play against players on your level (if you want to) and The characters are well balanced (though not perfectly). As for the wii u mechanics, It is alot of fun to play this game on the gamepad, in bed for instance. Very recommended! Collapse
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Jan 24, 2013
    90
    Tekken Tag Tournament 2 Wii U Edition is a great fighting game. This version is as great as the others, and the nice extras are good enough to grant fun and laughters. If you're looking for a good fighting game for the new Nintendo console, this is your best choice.
  2. Jan 23, 2013
    86
    Despite some minor technical issues and a forgettable use of the Gamepad, TTT2 Wii U Edition holds up to the challenge thanks to the same great production value we've come to know and the additional content packed in directly from the start.
  3. Jan 15, 2013
    88
    The best technical fighting game on a Ninty home console since the days of the SNES. [Feb 2013, p.76]