User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 31 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 31
  2. Negative: 3 out of 31

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 5, 2013
    7
    For starters, this game is average at best. The graphics are really really bad, jagged edges everywhere and low quality textures make this game look just awful. Luckily the gameplay makes up for the graphics making this a very fun spiderman game, one of the best. The Wii U edition comes with all the DLC making this game have hours of extra content. Overall, if you are like many Wii U owners and bored with the current lineup of games you have, this will keep you entertained for a bit. Expand
  2. Mar 10, 2013
    9
    I was actually pleasantly surprised by this game. As a super fan of the open world spiderman style since spiderman 2 for ps2 I have been hooked on that and it was put on the shelf since web of shadows. I wont go into too much specific detail about this game but i will say i enjoy two things which i rarely enjoy. one thing is the collectibles. Two is the level based gameplay which is awesome in my opinion especially since you get to choose when you want to do the levels as opposed to just roaming the city doing as you wish. I am not totally in love with the graphics and wish the fighting gameplay was more like web of shadows but thats why web of shadows got a ten and one of the best games i ever played and the amazing spiderman is only getting a nine. Collapse
  3. Mar 10, 2013
    9
    What this game lacks in graphics it more than makes up for in mostly every other area (I'm no graphics-before-gameplay guy but the jaggies in this game are pretty bad). Swinging around NYC with or without HD is just exhilarating to say the least, and like any open world game, there's plenty to see and do. The gameplay feels like someone took Arkham City and slapped Spider-Man's face on it...which is actually a good thing in this case because beating up Oscorp grunts and hostile infected is extremely fun. Collecting the little pages scattered around the city actually unlocks full comics for you to read later on, and as any late version of a game should, all of the DLC from the 360/PS3 version is on-disc, including the Stan Lee Adventure Pack. Top it off with a solid story and great voicework and good God, the effect is intoxicating. It's not quite on the same level as Ultimate Spider-Man, but it gave me what I wanted: a great return to the open world of New York courtesy of our friendly neighbourhood Spider-Man. Expand
  4. Mar 13, 2013
    7
    Missed The Amazing Spider-Man when first it came out on the other systems? Well it's here on the Wii U now and has all the DLC that was made available on the other systems already on the disc so it's the definitive version of the game. Let me just get this out of the way, if you haven't seen the movie yet don't get the game as the story takes place after the events of the film and because of this has spoilers. The Amazing Spider-Man was developed by Beenox who gave us Spider-Man: Shattered Dimensions, which is one of the best Spider-Man games of all time, and the disappointing Spider-Man: Edge of Time. Your probably wondering did Beenox give us another fantastic experience like Shattered Dimensions? or did they give us another failure like Edge of Time? The answer is neither, it's like a hodge-podge of the two. Thankfully it's more Shattered Dimensions than Edge of Time, but the fact is that it includes to many of the failings of the latter to be considered a truly great Spider-Man game. Let's start with presentation. The soundtrack is generally very good and the voice acting is above average, it's just a shame they couldn't get any of the actors from the movie to reprise their roles. The graphics are dated, and with the screen tearing and other graphical glitches this is a rough looking game. Now for the gameplay which is generally very solid. The game is packed with content and is at its best when your swinging around the city completing the numerous side-quests and hunting for collectibles that unlock comics for you to read. It brings back wonderful memories of playing Spider-Man 2, also one of the best Spider-Man games ever. Unfortunately the game suffers when you start to play the main story which takes place in linear combat focused levels. The problem with this is that the combat generally isn't that much fun and lacks any sort of pop or flare. The levels are also cramped, repetitive, and don't feature the best design. It's here that the game starts to feel similar to Edge of Time, although thankfully it never gets as bad as that game was. The Amazing Spider-Man is still a good game and one that I'll be coming back to in the future, but its issues keep it from being, well, amazing. Expand
  5. Apr 13, 2014
    9
    I actually wasn't expecting this game to be amazing. I originally got it on Xbox 360, and ended up loving it. When I saw this version of the game that includes all DLC, (plus on the Wii U, which is my system of choice), on sale, I had to get it. The DLC is great, and the gameplay with the Gamepad is amazing! You have maps, objectives, and more on the Gamepad screen, making it easy to see those things while playing the game. The open world in this game is great, and has quite a bit to do. If you like the gameplay from the Arkham games, you should like this game. I highly recommended this game, and I highly recommended this version. Expand
  6. Mar 10, 2013
    0
    I was actually pleasantly surprised by this game. As a super fan of the open world spiderman style since spiderman 2 for ps2 I have been hooked on that and it was put on the shelf since web of shadows. I wont go into too much specific detail about this game but i will say i enjoy two things which i rarely enjoy. one thing is the collectibles. Two is the level based gameplay which is awesome in my opinion especially since you get to choose when you want to do the levels as opposed to just roaming the city doing as you wish. I am not totally in love with the graphics and wish the fighting gameplay was more like web of shadows but thats why web of shadows got a ten and one of the best games i ever played and the amazing spiderman is only getting a nine. Collapse
Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Jun 9, 2013
    88
    In the end, this game works on many levels. It plays well as a brawler, it attracts the superhero fans with fun powers and moves, and it gets kids giddy for Spider-Man. The Amazing Spider-Man: Ultimate Edition is a great addition for any Wii U owner.
  2. You play as Spider-Man, but never feel like him. [May 2013, p.74]
  3. 80
    Overall, however, I love this game. It provides a fun Spider-Man story and my favorite aspects of Spider-Man 2, but with better graphics and more things to do. Yeah, the combat could be better, but all things considered, that’s a minor complaint. If you have any love for Spider-Man, you owe it to yourself to check this game out.