User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 1117 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 22, 2014
    4
    This game sucks and I don't get why anybody ever liked it. There is so little actual content, and so much of what you do is just a pointless workaround. I can't speak for the whole game, because I only played the first two dungeons but they were both really lame and short and I'm tired of tooling around in a stupid looking talking boat. The graphics and controls are great and I really likeThis game sucks and I don't get why anybody ever liked it. There is so little actual content, and so much of what you do is just a pointless workaround. I can't speak for the whole game, because I only played the first two dungeons but they were both really lame and short and I'm tired of tooling around in a stupid looking talking boat. The graphics and controls are great and I really like the art style actually. I really liked Spirit Tracks so the art style doesn't bother me at all. I really wish I could like this game, but I have better **** to do than to try and appreciate a game that is just simply not a good game. To me a Zelda game has to have fun dungeons and getting shot out of a seed pod repeatedly is not my idea of fun. Expand
  2. Mar 21, 2017
    0
    Pesimo este diseño se ve terrible y demasiado afeminado, es una pena que se haya tomado el camino mas fácil y barato en lugar de trabajar en un diseño que valga la pena y a pesar de que el sistema de juego es algo divertido ese diseño destruye todo lo positivo que pueda tener este videojuego
  3. Nov 30, 2013
    4
    The Legend of Zelda Twilight Princess and Skyward Sword were both great games for the Wii. In fact, they were some of the few games on Nintendo's last console that were actually really worth playing. They were aimed at a more serious audience, had good graphics and incredible gameplay guaranteed not to disappoint. Its only a shame that Nintendo didn't link the two games together to createThe Legend of Zelda Twilight Princess and Skyward Sword were both great games for the Wii. In fact, they were some of the few games on Nintendo's last console that were actually really worth playing. They were aimed at a more serious audience, had good graphics and incredible gameplay guaranteed not to disappoint. Its only a shame that Nintendo didn't link the two games together to create more of a story.
    Wind Waker however is a different story, Nintendo have ditched all seriousness that the series once had and have gone all out on a completely childish look. The graphics have taken a HUGE step down in quality and the storyline is pretty dull and pathetic. The only real pro of the whole game is the interesting idea of traveling around different islands, allowing Nintendo to change the games environment regularly without question. On the whole though Wind Waker is a huge disappointment to a series that was once one of the greatest in the gaming world. I can only hope Nintendo see sense and finally start to address an older, more serious audience in the future.
    Expand
  4. Feb 5, 2014
    3
    This adventure is impossible without access to an online walkthru or strategy guide. I just lost 2 hours of my life on a dungeon that became impossible to beat because I did not do one obscure thing and had to restart at the beginning. This - coupled with the wonky camera and lack of direction to solve quests make this a curious artifact that doesn't belong in modern video gaming. OtherThis adventure is impossible without access to an online walkthru or strategy guide. I just lost 2 hours of my life on a dungeon that became impossible to beat because I did not do one obscure thing and had to restart at the beginning. This - coupled with the wonky camera and lack of direction to solve quests make this a curious artifact that doesn't belong in modern video gaming. Other than a fanciful graphical overhaul, it is still a game that belongs in 2002. Expand
  5. Sep 7, 2017
    3
    Did not like it. It peaked at about a third of the way into the game and then it was a lot of wandering around and looking for help online. I think they meant for this to have a social media element and maybe that was helpful in the beginning, but no more. On the Wii U store this has a 5 star rating. I don't see how that is. It plagiarized the sailing element from the PC Treasure AdventureDid not like it. It peaked at about a third of the way into the game and then it was a lot of wandering around and looking for help online. I think they meant for this to have a social media element and maybe that was helpful in the beginning, but no more. On the Wii U store this has a 5 star rating. I don't see how that is. It plagiarized the sailing element from the PC Treasure Adventure game, but it's not fun. When so much is optional, it starts to become trivial, (side missions) and therefore boring. The fact that it's not Link and and it's sort of Zelda detracts from the story too. I spent a lot of time swimming in the water trying to get back to my boat and it sucked. The ship fights are okay, but become repetitious. Other than that, very few things seem important and it is very low intensity. The map collecting is stupid. I was maxed out on 5000 coins for about 60% of the game (without any need to buy!) but there is only one option for increasing magic. Plus, all the items you load up on are lame. Butterfly pendants? An abundance of chu jelly and plant heads? Dumb. I also hated the cartoony graphics. Expand
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 70 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 70
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 70
  3. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. Jan 6, 2014
    90
    After ten years Wind Waker is still as magical as it was when it was first released. The Wii U is all of a sudden looking like a console worth considering.
  2. Dec 12, 2013
    80
    Fond memories of older games can oftentimes come to shatter when revisited but The Wind Waker still shines bright even after ten years. It is almost hard to believe the game is even that old. The battles, the dungeons and the sidequests are all still top notch and wrapped in timeless cartoon graphics. Have you not yet been enchanted by The Wind Waker then now is a better time than ever.
  3. Nov 10, 2013
    100
    Wind Waker HD is a must play game not just for Zelda fans, but for every gamer.