The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker HD Image
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 70 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 1086 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: As the purported definitive version of the game, The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker HD is remastered and presented in 1080p graphics. Gamers can experience high-definition cell-shaded presentation on their TVs or entirely on the Wii U GamePad controller. The streamlined interface letsAs the purported definitive version of the game, The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker HD is remastered and presented in 1080p graphics. Gamers can experience high-definition cell-shaded presentation on their TVs or entirely on the Wii U GamePad controller. The streamlined interface lets gamers easily manage your inventory—simply slide an item onto any button. Instantly view maps and zoom in on the GamePad controller's touch screen. Enjoy a breezy cruise with the original sail, or switch to the brand-new Swift Sail that lets you gather the wind and speed across the waves. With the new Tingle Bottle feature, you can connect with others over Miiverse. Comments or screenshots others have posted on Miiverse may wash up on the shore or appear in other locations, tucked into bottles. Whenever you want, move around the world in first-person mode, using the GamePad gyroscope to look around you and aim your bow, hookshot, Picto Box, or telescope. You can store more pictographs with your improved Picto Box—handy for creating figurines—and share them with other players on Miiverse. Your pictures, game tips, and messages may also appear in another player's game. Take the adventure to new levels with Hero Mode, available from the moment you start the game. In this mode, you only regain health when you earn a new heart piece or container, use a red potion, or visit a fairy fountain. Also, your enemies do double the damage. [Nintendo] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 70
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 70
  3. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. Nov 10, 2013
    100
    Wind Waker HD is a must play game not just for Zelda fans, but for every gamer.
  2. Sep 18, 2013
    100
    Although without presenting new content, Wind Waker HD comes to the Wii U after a restoration that puts it at the same level of productions of the current generation.
  3. Sep 25, 2013
    95
    This is one of the most memorable experiences in the history of gaming, and it is a shame if anyone misses out on it.
  4. Sep 18, 2013
    90
    Despite the cel shading which might have mislead our judgment, we would like to state the following: from a technical point of view, The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker HD is the best HD conversion ever made.
  5. Oct 3, 2013
    90
    The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker HD is the definitive version of the GameCube classic.
  6. Sep 18, 2013
    88
    Beautiful, fluid, and tactfully modernized, The Wind Waker HD heavily preserves its base while adjusting the ingredients when absolutely necessary to correct the original’s most glaring imperfections.
  7. Sep 18, 2013
    78
    While the ideas for those dungeons eventually made their way into other games, it’s disappointing Nintendo didn’t re-work the Triforce quest into a new dungeon or two to greatly improve the experience. Or why they still left three charts in the game rather than making all of the items immediately obtainable once you reached the quest. As it stands, even with the refinements, this segment breaks the otherwise great pacing of the game and feels out of place.

See all 70 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 4 out of 155
  1. Dec 3, 2013
    10
    Even though The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker HD is a remake, it feels as if it was made for the Wii U system. The controls are perfect andEven though The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker HD is a remake, it feels as if it was made for the Wii U system. The controls are perfect and throughout my 40 hour long adventure I barely experienced a hiccup in the control scheme. With the Wii U gamepad’s gyroscope feature you can now aim your bow, hookshot and grappling hook using motion controls and it feels very natural.
    Wind Waker is often praised for excellent combat and quite rightly so. Slashing Moblins and stabbing Bobkoblins has never been more fun. But it’s not all just about good controls and challenging AIs that make fighting monsters as fun as it is when in battle with an enemy every hit of your sword emits a musical note which really adds to the epic and immersive combat system Wind Waker HD has to offer.

    The art-style of this certain adventure was a brave move from Nintendo and is one they have never regretted and never should, although some potential customers may have been scared away by the cartoony graphics. This original game on the Gamecube is beautiful and the art-style has aged better than any other game to this date, but the graphical improvements made in this HD remake make what is already amazing into something extraordinary. I have never played a game so beautiful in my life. The textures have obviously been updated into HD (hence the title) but more importantly the lighting has added a whole new dimension to this game which adds wonderfully to the distinct atmosphere created by the vastness of the world, the many islands, the characters and every single one of them on every single island in the entire game’s backstory which is woven throughout dialogue and actions made by not just the characters themselves, but everyone around them. Nintendo has obviously put a lot of work into the adventure-filled world of flooded Hyrule and it is truly magical.
    Nintendo’s storytelling is known to be amazing and masterful and Wind Waker is no expeception. Infact, Wind Waker’s story is one of their very highly-acclaimed ones. Wind Waker is not afraid to shake things up a bit so things feel familiar yet fresh and new. There is not I can say about it without spoiling the experience for you except it is one of the best stories in a video game ever and it will stick with you after all the adventuring is done. Trust me, it’s amazing.
    The Zelda series has without doubt the best music of any video games and Wind Waker certainely doesn’t drop that trend. In fact, Wind Waker had the best music of them all. Koji Kondo’s breathtaking soundtrack will make you laugh, cry and everything in between. In this HD upgrade Nintendo has left the soundtrack untouched apart except sound is now of higher definition and I can assure you will be humming along as soon as you hear it.

    The Verdict
    Wind Waker is not just a game, but an amazing experience with a hooking story which will stay with you forever, fantastic gameplay you will never get bored of, breathtaking music that you’ll never forget, and beautiful world to explore. The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker HD is the definition of what Zelda is truly about; Adventure!
    Expand
  2. Sep 20, 2013
    10
    The original was amazing and was filled with so much adventure. The same is true for The Wind Waker HD. Also, I love being able to play thisThe original was amazing and was filled with so much adventure. The same is true for The Wind Waker HD. Also, I love being able to play this on my Wii U as the HD remake looks spectacular. Expand
  3. Sep 2, 2014
    10
    first this game is the best zelda game I've played the great open sea the nice dungeons the beautiful graphics awesome gameplay all togetherfirst this game is the best zelda game I've played the great open sea the nice dungeons the beautiful graphics awesome gameplay all together combine in this one masterpiece Expand
  4. Oct 13, 2013
    10
    Just a great game, with lots of content and beautiful colorful visuals.

    The graphics are fresh, and the gameplay is excellent. The use of
    Just a great game, with lots of content and beautiful colorful visuals.

    The graphics are fresh, and the gameplay is excellent. The use of the GamePad really makes the game more enjoyable.

    TEN OUT OF TEN.
    Expand
  5. Feb 7, 2015
    10
    Beautifully rendered classic Zelda game, unique in both its art style and its open-ocean gameplay. So many remasters don't do much, but thisBeautifully rendered classic Zelda game, unique in both its art style and its open-ocean gameplay. So many remasters don't do much, but this one has crisp and beautiful graphics, plus small changes to gameplay to improve some small annoyances on an otherwise brilliant game. Expand
  6. Nov 25, 2015
    9
    This was the first time I played Wind Waker and it was a very great experience! I loved the game so much as I was playing. The whole sailingThis was the first time I played Wind Waker and it was a very great experience! I loved the game so much as I was playing. The whole sailing was confusing at first but I managed to get used to it. very great game and is my 2nd favorite Zelda game ever! Expand
  7. Mar 21, 2017
    0
    Pesimo este diseño se ve terrible y demasiado afeminado, es una pena que se haya tomado el camino mas fácil y barato en lugar de trabajar enPesimo este diseño se ve terrible y demasiado afeminado, es una pena que se haya tomado el camino mas fácil y barato en lugar de trabajar en un diseño que valga la pena y a pesar de que el sistema de juego es algo divertido ese diseño destruye todo lo positivo que pueda tener este videojuego Expand

See all 155 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2013

    The Best Videogames of 2013 Image
    Published: December 30, 2013
    In our annual ranking of the year's best video games, get a list of 2013's best and worst releases by platform, view a comparison of the various game consoles, and find out which title earned Metacritic Game of the Year honors.