The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker HD Image
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 70 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 1160 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: As the purported definitive version of the game, The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker HD is remastered and presented in 1080p graphics. Gamers can experience high-definition cell-shaded presentation on their TVs or entirely on the Wii U GamePad controller. The streamlined interface letsAs the purported definitive version of the game, The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker HD is remastered and presented in 1080p graphics. Gamers can experience high-definition cell-shaded presentation on their TVs or entirely on the Wii U GamePad controller. The streamlined interface lets gamers easily manage your inventory—simply slide an item onto any button. Instantly view maps and zoom in on the GamePad controller's touch screen. Enjoy a breezy cruise with the original sail, or switch to the brand-new Swift Sail that lets you gather the wind and speed across the waves. With the new Tingle Bottle feature, you can connect with others over Miiverse. Comments or screenshots others have posted on Miiverse may wash up on the shore or appear in other locations, tucked into bottles. Whenever you want, move around the world in first-person mode, using the GamePad gyroscope to look around you and aim your bow, hookshot, Picto Box, or telescope. You can store more pictographs with your improved Picto Box—handy for creating figurines—and share them with other players on Miiverse. Your pictures, game tips, and messages may also appear in another player's game. Take the adventure to new levels with Hero Mode, available from the moment you start the game. In this mode, you only regain health when you earn a new heart piece or container, use a red potion, or visit a fairy fountain. Also, your enemies do double the damage. [Nintendo] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker HD - E3 2013 Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 70
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 70
  3. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. Nov 10, 2013
    100
    Wind Waker HD is a must play game not just for Zelda fans, but for every gamer.
  2. Sep 18, 2013
    100
    Although without presenting new content, Wind Waker HD comes to the Wii U after a restoration that puts it at the same level of productions of the current generation.
  3. Sep 25, 2013
    95
    This is one of the most memorable experiences in the history of gaming, and it is a shame if anyone misses out on it.
  4. Sep 18, 2013
    90
    Despite the cel shading which might have mislead our judgment, we would like to state the following: from a technical point of view, The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker HD is the best HD conversion ever made.
  5. Oct 3, 2013
    90
    The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker HD is the definitive version of the GameCube classic.
  6. Sep 18, 2013
    88
    Beautiful, fluid, and tactfully modernized, The Wind Waker HD heavily preserves its base while adjusting the ingredients when absolutely necessary to correct the original’s most glaring imperfections.
  7. Sep 18, 2013
    78
    While the ideas for those dungeons eventually made their way into other games, it’s disappointing Nintendo didn’t re-work the Triforce quest into a new dungeon or two to greatly improve the experience. Or why they still left three charts in the game rather than making all of the items immediately obtainable once you reached the quest. As it stands, even with the refinements, this segment breaks the otherwise great pacing of the game and feels out of place.

See all 70 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 5 out of 176
  1. Nov 26, 2013
    10
    Amazing graphics funAmazing graphics fun gameplay................................................................................................................................ Collapse
  2. Sep 20, 2013
    10
    The original was amazing and was filled with so much adventure. The same is true for The Wind Waker HD. Also, I love being able to play thisThe original was amazing and was filled with so much adventure. The same is true for The Wind Waker HD. Also, I love being able to play this on my Wii U as the HD remake looks spectacular. Expand
  3. Sep 15, 2014
    10
    There's nothing to say about Wind Waker that hasn't been said before.
    With this remake, the game looks even more beautiful, the audio is even
    There's nothing to say about Wind Waker that hasn't been said before.
    With this remake, the game looks even more beautiful, the audio is even higher quality and the slight issues it had before are fixed.
    However, there were some other issues I had with it: I was a bit confused by the item-screen on the gamepad, and changing items using the touchpad scared me since I felt like I was scratching the screen trying to move the items. Just nitpicking. I like the idea but in my case it slowed me down a little. Also, aiming with the WiiU-gamepad was kind of difficult and left you vulnerable for slightly longer than necessary.
    Other than that, the new controls worked fine (although naturally it confused me at first, as someone used to playing it on the GameCube) and I had a blast playing it in it's new form.
    This game is special in many ways, it wasn't afraid to break new ground with it's visual artstyle back in 2002 and it looks fantastic in HD. The battles run smooth and are immensely fun, and the bosses are just as great. Sailing is faster, the part of the game labeled as the most tedious is shortened, and the newly added Tingle Bottles are a nice touch that I like way better than the Tingle Tuner.
    In conclusion, Wind Waker HD is worth its price. The developers took an already marvelous game and sprinkled some extra gloriousness on top of it.
    I can definitely recommend it.
    Expand
  4. Sep 27, 2013
    10
    It's worth note that I never finished Wind Waker on the Gamecube. Despite being a devoted fan of the rest of the series, Wind Waker did notIt's worth note that I never finished Wind Waker on the Gamecube. Despite being a devoted fan of the rest of the series, Wind Waker did not hold my attention through the long bouts of sailing and some z-targeting issues despite the fact that I loved the cell shaded style. So, how do I go from not even finishing a game to giving it a 10/10?

    The gamepad. Every complaint I have with this game is immediately resolved by the gamepad. Your inventory, the save button, your map, tingle bottle messages, all of it is right there in front of you on the gamepad. This streamlines the process of trudging through dungeons or crossing the sea.

    Visually, the game is a delight. If you turn up the volume, you'll also note that the music has been re-recorded by what sounds like a live orchestra. The story is pretty familiar if you have played any Zelda game in the past, but it does the trick. Controls are solid and while the pro control can be used for this tile, I can't imagine doing so when the gamepad adds so much.

    Finally, the online community. The camera item you receive, in a genius move by Nintendo, allows you to take "selfies" of Link. This has led to a large number of Link "selfies" being shared over the miiverse by players usually accompanied by amusing taglines. This makes the message in a bottle system in the game half the fun of playing the game.

    td;lr Wind Waker for the Gamecube was low on my list of favorite Zelda titles. The HD re-release ranks up with Majora's Mask and Ocarina of Time, no question. If you have been holding off on buying a Wii U until THE game comes out for it, this is THE game.
    Expand
  5. Oct 19, 2014
    10
    The original was already my favorite Zelda ever, but they found a way to improve it in the remake. the graphics are the BEST hands downThe original was already my favorite Zelda ever, but they found a way to improve it in the remake. the graphics are the BEST hands down graphics I've seen in 8th generation. and the lack of triforce chart hunts takes away the back and forth I found annoying in the original. Expand
  6. Mar 9, 2017
    9
    The Legend of Zelda the Wind Waker HD is a wonderful adventure with beautiful graphics, and a great entry into the Zelda series. The Wii UThe Legend of Zelda the Wind Waker HD is a wonderful adventure with beautiful graphics, and a great entry into the Zelda series. The Wii U gamepad is a great way to control the game. The gamepad allows you to switch your items while playing. There are so many great editions to the HD version, like the gyro controls, and the swift sail.

    In conclusion, this game is truly wonderful, it has some flaws which lowers the score but it's still a very enjoyable expierence.
    Expand
  7. Mar 21, 2017
    0
    Pesimo este diseño se ve terrible y demasiado afeminado, es una pena que se haya tomado el camino mas fácil y barato en lugar de trabajar enPesimo este diseño se ve terrible y demasiado afeminado, es una pena que se haya tomado el camino mas fácil y barato en lugar de trabajar en un diseño que valga la pena y a pesar de que el sistema de juego es algo divertido ese diseño destruye todo lo positivo que pueda tener este videojuego Expand

See all 176 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2013

    The Best Videogames of 2013 Image
    Published: December 30, 2013
    In our annual ranking of the year's best video games, get a list of 2013's best and worst releases by platform, view a comparison of the various game consoles, and find out which title earned Metacritic Game of the Year honors.