Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 3 Critics Awaiting 1 more review What's this?

User Score
4.4

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 49 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Walking Dead is a first-person shooter based on the AMC TV show and starring the Dixon brothers.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 3 out of 3
  1. May 3, 2013
    40
    The Walking Dead: Survival Instinct is a very bad game. Ugly graphics, poor realization and boring gameplay are the main reasons of this failure. Activision and Terminal Reality throw away the possibility of making a great game based on a very appreciated license.
  2. It's amazing that it's so far from finished. We're not sure if it's the developer, the publisher or both, but someone should be ashamed of themselves. Awful.
  3. Apr 1, 2013
    30
    Anyone looking for a survival horror experience on their Wii U will definitely want to set their sights on the infinitely superior ZombiU instead.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Mar 19, 2013
    10
    Plays perfect on the Nintendo Wii U and on top of that its a GREAT game so much fun graphics are good but the gameplay is what makes this game so great Expand
  2. Apr 9, 2013
    10
    I did played the PS3 version of this game, but i gotta say, i actually like this version better. The game looks exactly like the other version but the gameplay obviously changed. If you like The Walking Dead and the Wii U, i highly recommend getting this game. It is really fun to me. Expand
  3. Mar 16, 2014
    10
    Surprisingly, I had a lot of fun with this game. It plays like an old school FPS, you can have more than four weapons, I hate it when you only get 2 to 4 weapons max. You drink energy drinks to heal which are similar to health packs. There are lots of enemies to fight. The gore effects on the enemies are awesome as well. The levels can be played any way you like; this game has freedom, unlike most FPS today which are super linear. This game also encourages multiply play throughs by having different paths to take in the story mode and relics. I had more fun playing The Walking Dead Survival Instinct than I did ZombiU, which was really boring. If you enjoy killing zombies and having fun go buy this game now. Expand
  4. Mar 20, 2013
    8
    To start I am a huge fan of the show and only picked this game up for the story. Knowing this I had low expectations for the gameplay and graphics. I was pleasantly surprised to find the graphics to be better than I expected. It is more cartoony than realistic but not as bad as some people make them out to be. The game play is nicely rounded out. It is a mix of stealth and action. You can take the zombies head on are sneak up behind them and use a finish on them. The game relies on the player finding fuel and food to keep them going on there road trip to Atlanta. Along the way you find survivors who you can find items for and get them to join your group. For fans of the TV series this is a must play to learn more about the Dixon brothers and for anyone who is not a fan of the tv show there is still plenty to like about this game. Overall 8/10

    Graphics 7
    Game play 8
    Story 9
    Expand
  5. Mar 29, 2013
    7
    Honestly, I came into this game with very low expectations based on the reviews. it is a different take on a FPS, almost like a mix of Left 4 Dead and Oregon Trail. It is a good background story on the Dixon boys. Non-fans of the show might be slightly lost but honestly why would you be playing if you didn't like the show. The fact that they can swear in this makes it realistic too. Expand
  6. Mar 27, 2013
    6
    The Walking Dead is a successful comic that has since been adapted to AMC's hit TV show of the same name. The Walking Dead: Survival Instinct focuses on a character who is exclusive to the TV show called Daryl Dixon and is currently a fan favourite. Daryl Dixon started out as a racist redneck who only cared for his own survival, since the second and third series of the TV show, the character has changed a lot and has attracted a large number of fans.

    The game is a prequel to the show and you start out by learning what happened during Daryl's early days during the undead scourge. While there aren't any amazing revelations, you do get a bit more information about the characters and there are some characters that get referenced in passing.

    The good things about this game include a solid combat engine and a range of weapons to choose from. While the combat is not quite as good as Dead Island, you can reliably take down Walkers with stealth attacks and later get stronger weapons.

    Each melee weapon is different from the speedy but weak hammer to the heavy and slow sledgehammer that can take down walkers in a single hit. In terms of guns you have pistols, shotguns, rifle and of course Daryl's trusty crossbow. You'll want to use the crossbow as much as you can to kill walkers silently and retrieve your crossbow bolts.

    Silence is important because walkers pick up on sound a lot. One way you can draw walkers away is by throwing a bottle or a flare in the opposite direction, when they charge towards the noise you slip past them the other way.

    As you progress through the game you'll want to pick up food rations, weapons, ammunition and fuel. Fuel is important for making your way across the map on the road sections. Some of these sections will give you a choice, do you move the car stuck on the road or take an alternative route?

    One great feature of the game is the survivor management. As you progress in the game, you get access to different survivors. You can only pick up a certain number of survivors, based on the size of your vehicle. While you may sometimes want to save everyone, ultimately you sometimes have to choose a location and hope for the best. Some survivors are also only found on the random encounters and so can be overlooked. It's worth helping them survive since you get a bonus at the end of the game.

    Sadly it's not all non-stop fun and there are a few bad points about this game. This game is relentlessly hard, with no difficulty select screen. This means that if you're not careful, you will die many times until you learn how to move around properly and what areas are dangerous to be in. You can sometimes get away from walkers in buildings, but often you can get trapped and face an early demise.

    Another gripe with many people is the game length. At most, the campaign mode can be completed in around 5-8 hours. In other games this isn't such a major problem, but since there is no multiplayer or co-operative modes of any kind, it's a big big problem. The ending is also a bit of a let down as it doesn't really fill in any gaps or explain anything of importance.

    If you have the option of getting Dead Island then I would suggest that you try that game out first, as it's fairly cheap. Otherwise you could potentially get this game but I would say you should get it cheap, simply because of it's length and problems. It's still pretty fun at times though.
    Collapse