Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 75 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 354 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Earth is under attack from an invasion of enormous aliens, and the only thing that can protect the planet is a group of unlikely, yet mighty, heroes with special abilities. Unfortunately, the aliens are too powerful for the heroes to fight individually. They must join forces and work together to defeat their common enemy. These uniquely different heroes can morph into powerful weapons to crush the invaders or turn into objects like a giant fist or bridge to interact with and traverse the environments. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 75
  2. Negative: 0 out of 75
  1. Sep 15, 2013
    100
    This is the very definition of a killer-app in regards to the Wii U library, and deserves every ounce of support the gaming community can muster up.
  2. 90
    Quite frankly, there’s nothing else quite like The Wonderful 101 on the market. It’s an incredibly polished game that’s few blemishes are easily overlooked. If you own a Wii U, you owe it to yourself to see how wonderful The Wonderful 101 truly is.
  3. Aug 28, 2013
    85
    It might not be the prettiest game, but once you get the idea of utilizing the weapon changing gestures, the Centinels will keep you in a firm grip with their positively hectic battles and challenging boss encounters.
  4. Aug 18, 2013
    80
    It can be confusing at first, but The Wonderful 101 has lots of potential to unleash. A great GamePad support, even if there's something more to do with this new controller, and graphics make it the best third-party exclusive for Wii U so far.
  5. Aug 22, 2013
    80
    It's not a game for everyone, but if you liked previous games by Hideki Kamiya, like Bayonetta, you'll fall in love with this one.
  6. Sep 23, 2013
    70
    The Wonderful 101 is a game that requires patience, skill, a willingness to learn and an almost Zen-like ability to overlook its shortcomings. But if you can get there - if you can make peace with this game, and enjoy it for what it does right instead of the things it does wrong - it really can be something wonderful.
  7. An inventive game with plenty of potential and some truly original concepts that somehow failed materialize into something that can be fairly described as entertaining.

See all 75 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 77 out of 82
  2. Negative: 4 out of 82
  1. Sep 15, 2013
    10
    Wonderful 101 is a breath of fresh air for gamers everywhere. It's a fun new concept wrapped up in a beautiful high quality presentation.

    At its core, it's a beat 'em up adventure game. It boils down to learning enemy weaknesses and scoring high hitting combo attacks. You control a group of superheroes who must defend Earth from an outer-space invasion. The controls are innovative and take a little while to learn, and making that effort is rewarded. The controls are tight and become intuitive after investing a little time to learn and practice them. The Wonderful 101 also utilizes many features of Wii U's unique gamepad controller. The music and sound in Wonderful 101 are top notch. It has an over the top attitude and feels like a high quality animation is playing out before you because of the great sound and graphics. Everything about this game is polished and shines quality.

    All in all, this game breaks new ground and deserves a perfect score for taking gamers somewhere unexpected and WONDERFUL!!!
    Expand
  2. Oct 4, 2013
    10
    great game and completely insane in a good way. i would use the right stick to draw unites though instead of drawing them. The difficulty can be brutal and the game refuses to hold your hand, but each mission is so replayable to try and beat your time/score. Expand
  3. Apr 21, 2014
    10
    an incredible game with an insane amount of content packed in.

    It's bums me out knowing this game almost had an allstar nintendo cast as i
    know it would have sold more but regardless its still an incredible adventure. Expand
  4. Sep 16, 2013
    10
    Masterpiece. What should a video game be? I say equal parts fun, challenging, with some beautiful graphics. Wonderful 101 has this and it's a completely new experience! Part beat up, part street fighter, part star fox, part rpg. This game is in it's own class. Platinum games u have done well. Thank you. Expand
  5. Sep 30, 2014
    9
    I'm not going to sugar coat it. This game has a learning curb that will challenge you until you get used to it. But once you do and you learn how to react to different enemy types, learn to quickly use the controls and stop dying every 12 seconds, it's the most fun you'll have in a long time in the most unique twist to a beat-em-up I've ever seen.
    It's hard even on Normal difficulty at first, it's probably what you would call Nintendo hard but instead of losing lives and starting all over again, it affects your score at the end of each stage. The game pushes you to be better at it and that's what I like about it. It is by no means a casual game, if you're a coward you will shy away from it, if you like a challenge and like to feel awesome then this is the game for you.
    The art style of the game is toy like and that much is apparent in the view angle you have and the heaps of heroes you have fighting with you, it's also got humour that is seen in a lot of Japanese comedy and generally what you would find on Saturday morning cartoons as that is how the story is being presented. The characters are also that cartoon feel, they're quirky and ridiculous and it's wonderful (101 lol)!

    I recommend you try the demo first, see if you like the gameplay as that is what got me to buy the game.
    Expand
  6. Oct 10, 2013
    9
    The Wonderful 101 is everything a great game should be fun, yet challenging. Engaging as well as rewarding. Don't be fooled by the Haters this is my Game Of The Year as of now. You owe it to yourself to see why i praise so highly. I love the controls they are simple at first and continue to develop. The game is perfect for speed runs. The soundtrack is some the best period. It has tons of replay value with the hidden team members and other collectibles. If you miss out on this Gem i could easily see it be another earthbound a game that should have been loved ,but was missed out on by so many. I'm just a fan of great games and this is one of them. Expand
  7. Sep 14, 2014
    0
    Easily one of the worst games I've ever played. Don't play it.
    For those who claim that difficulty makes a game worthwhile I'm playing it on
    "normal." Games are meant to be fun, not difficult. Difficulty should be a choice not a requirement. It is stupid to make a game look so childish then be so difficult. It is great this is not going to be a viable IP. It should stay that way. Don't waste money on this nonsense. Expand

See all 82 User Reviews