Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 121 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The United States has a military presence in two thirds of countries around the world. A group of rogue nations have had enough and initiate a terror ultimatum called the Blacklist - a deadly countdown of escalating terrorist attacks on U.S. interests. Sam Fisher is the leader of the newly formed 4th Echelon unit: a clandestine unit that answers solely to the President of the United States. Sam and his team must hunt down these terrorists by any means necessary, and stop the Blacklist countdown before it reaches zero. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. 80
    We can say that Ubisoft did what was expected of an adaptation of Blacklist for Wii U. Without adding new content and unique functions that would elevate the game to a new level, it opted to keep a similar experience in all versions, the difference being that the Wii U adapts some mechanics to the GamePad.
  2. Oct 24, 2013
    80
    Consistently competent and without great ambitions beyond the volume of content, Blacklist is not the definitive experience of Splinter Cell, but reunites the series.
  3. Like the world's darkest buffet, Blacklist offers a lot to choose from, but all of it seems a tad undercooked. This is almost always good, but very rarely great.
  4. 70
    If you feel like you can put up with copious loading screens and cutscene glitches, then I would say this is worth picking up. However, if you’re looking for the tight, polished package that Splinter Cell games used to be, then you’ll likely be left wanting.
  5. Sep 17, 2013
    70
    Ubisoft takes bold steps with tradition in Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell Blacklist in an attempt to please as many as possible, but by doing so dilutes the game's stealthy strength in favour of chasing new audiences.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 18
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 18
  3. Negative: 1 out of 18
  1. Aug 23, 2013
    10
    I decided to go with this version over the others because of the Wii u features and off screen play. But was not sure it was any good due to no reviews. I have been playing it for several hours and I'm safe to say it's fantastic. Graphics and frame rate is great and off screen play is awesome. I've played all the splinter cells and this is one of the best. Don't understand why reviewers can't be arsed to review it on Wii u or if they have their reviews aren't on here but it's safe to say it's a great game. Collapse
  2. Sep 27, 2014
    10
    I've been enjoying this game a lot: graphics are gorgeous, and the gameplay is very solid. It really feels great to walk around in the shadows, picking enemies one after the other, with all the weapons, tools and moves at our disposal (even though the game accomodates a more aggressive playstyle, stealth still rules). It's actually the best game I've played on Wii U so far IMO. I had played "SC: Double Agent" on Wii just before, and thought it was a fun game, but this one is thousands times better. Really the only flaw is the long loading times between missions, but they're rare enough that it's easily forgiven. Expand
  3. Aug 28, 2013
    10
    Simply awesome. This game had me glued to the TV addicted to the gameplay and story. The gamepad is used in useful ways. Switching between guns is easy and it acts as a camera sometimes. The load times suck but I can dig it. Recommended Expand
  4. May 4, 2014
    9
    I love games that let you decide how you want to play. And the fact that Splinter Cell Blacklist scores you based on, and lets you “master” three different play styles really adds to the replay-ability and overall awesomeness. The load times are pretty lengthy though Expand
  5. Aug 22, 2013
    9
    As a fan of both Chaos Theory AND Conviction, I was eagerly anticipating the release of this game, since it features gameplay from both. I was a bit worried that the combination would fall flat, but I was pleasantly surprised to find that I could play the game how I wanted to a combo of both without feeling cheated. The game looks great on my big-screen TV, sounds great on my stereo, the GamePad features are amazing (don't have to use the radial menu to choose gadgets, using it to control the Tri-Rotor is awesome IMO, and off-TV play means I can join my wife in bed and still play the game) and the variety of gameplay is top-notch.

    The only knocks I have are that the controls are clunky in some areas (sometimes I want to jump up to a pipe, but I end up opening a door; I was trying to shoot a guy from a pipe on the ceiling, he moved just as I shot and this alerted him to my presence, and when I went to return fire a big X replaced my reticle and I was told there was no target) and the load times are God-awful. Hopefully, Ubisoft will fix these things via patch.
    Expand
  6. Aug 21, 2013
    8
    i agree with the 9s and 10s below me except that one small problem i've found with the game is that i've thought that the mercs are maybe too strong. other than that the graphics are mind-****ing, the controls are solid, the story is really good so far, and i'm sure after a bit of time the MP will beef up a bit. i'm being a hard ass on the 8 it probably deserves a 9 but i loved CT so that's how i'm gonna judge this. Expand
  7. Nov 7, 2014
    4
    To get idea of how this game plays, just picture Prince of Persia with guns. Not good picture considering this series was about stealth, planning your next move, and taking it slow. This game has more in common with Rainbow Six Vegas and Prince of Persia than the previous titles in the series. It has become a mere shadow of its former self... Expand

See all 18 User Reviews