Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 115 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The United States has a military presence in two thirds of countries around the world. A group of rogue nations have had enough and initiate a terror ultimatum called the Blacklist - a deadly countdown of escalating terrorist attacks on U.S. interests. Sam Fisher is the leader of the newly formed 4th Echelon unit: a clandestine unit that answers solely to the President of the United States. Sam and his team must hunt down these terrorists by any means necessary, and stop the Blacklist countdown before it reaches zero. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. 80
    We can say that Ubisoft did what was expected of an adaptation of Blacklist for Wii U. Without adding new content and unique functions that would elevate the game to a new level, it opted to keep a similar experience in all versions, the difference being that the Wii U adapts some mechanics to the GamePad.
  2. Oct 24, 2013
    80
    Consistently competent and without great ambitions beyond the volume of content, Blacklist is not the definitive experience of Splinter Cell, but reunites the series.
  3. Like the world's darkest buffet, Blacklist offers a lot to choose from, but all of it seems a tad undercooked. This is almost always good, but very rarely great.
  4. 70
    If you feel like you can put up with copious loading screens and cutscene glitches, then I would say this is worth picking up. However, if you’re looking for the tight, polished package that Splinter Cell games used to be, then you’ll likely be left wanting.
  5. Sep 17, 2013
    70
    Ubisoft takes bold steps with tradition in Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell Blacklist in an attempt to please as many as possible, but by doing so dilutes the game's stealthy strength in favour of chasing new audiences.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 16
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 16
  3. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Aug 23, 2013
    10
    I decided to go with this version over the others because of the Wii u features and off screen play. But was not sure it was any good due to no reviews. I have been playing it for several hours and I'm safe to say it's fantastic. Graphics and frame rate is great and off screen play is awesome. I've played all the splinter cells and this is one of the best. Don't understand why reviewers can't be arsed to review it on Wii u or if they have their reviews aren't on here but it's safe to say it's a great game. Expand
  2. Aug 28, 2013
    10
    Simply awesome. This game had me glued to the TV addicted to the gameplay and story. The gamepad is used in useful ways. Switching between guns is easy and it acts as a camera sometimes. The load times suck but I can dig it. Recommended Expand
  3. May 4, 2014
    9
    I love games that let you decide how you want to play. And the fact that Splinter Cell Blacklist scores you based on, and lets you “master” three different play styles really adds to the replay-ability and overall awesomeness. The load times are pretty lengthy though Expand
  4. Aug 22, 2013
    9
    As a fan of both Chaos Theory AND Conviction, I was eagerly anticipating the release of this game, since it features gameplay from both. I was a bit worried that the combination would fall flat, but I was pleasantly surprised to find that I could play the game how I wanted to a combo of both without feeling cheated. The game looks great on my big-screen TV, sounds great on my stereo, the GamePad features are amazing (don't have to use the radial menu to choose gadgets, using it to control the Tri-Rotor is awesome IMO, and off-TV play means I can join my wife in bed and still play the game) and the variety of gameplay is top-notch.

    The only knocks I have are that the controls are clunky in some areas (sometimes I want to jump up to a pipe, but I end up opening a door; I was trying to shoot a guy from a pipe on the ceiling, he moved just as I shot and this alerted him to my presence, and when I went to return fire a big X replaced my reticle and I was told there was no target) and the load times are God-awful. Hopefully, Ubisoft will fix these things via patch.
    Collapse
  5. Aug 20, 2013
    9
    Shocked there are no reviews yet. I'll keep it short. I've been playing Splinter Cell Blacklist on Wii U for the better part of today and have a very good idea of how it is. Breathe easy, it is actually really good. On par with the other versions, only the PC version outpaces it. A bonus is it doesn't have the screen tearing like the PS3 and Xbox 360 versions. It all runs very smoothly, though I had slight hiccups in the frame rate during cutscenes. The gadgets like the little drone copter work in a really fun way on the gamepad. Best part is It came with the codes all copies come with for extra suits and weapons that help without actually cheating. The off screen play is very awesome, which is why I bought it. Runs pretty smooth. This isn't a port, it's a fully featured version created along side the other versions. Only thing missing is local co-op, all online features are there and still good.

    All in all this version is the one to get, unless you want to play a ton of online. While it's actually very good, there isn't the big pool of players like other systems. The players that are there are fun to run around with. Community is pretty cool, just small. Hopefully that will change now that people are starting to pick up the system.
    Expand
  6. Aug 21, 2013
    8
    i agree with the 9s and 10s below me except that one small problem i've found with the game is that i've thought that the mercs are maybe too strong. other than that the graphics are mind-****ing, the controls are solid, the story is really good so far, and i'm sure after a bit of time the MP will beef up a bit. i'm being a hard ass on the 8 it probably deserves a 9 but i loved CT so that's how i'm gonna judge this. Expand
  7. Oct 30, 2013
    7
    The game is great! Great graphics, great controls, but lacked the local co-op that the other consoles had. The online co-op was easier to find a partner, but Spies vs. Mercs was a bit more difficult. There were many gliches and freezes that occurred when launched, but the other consoles experienced the same thing. Overall, if you are a Splinter Cell fan, this is a must have. There are DLC available as well to expand the game play.

    Instagram: Game_Row
    Expand

See all 16 User Reviews