Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 108 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The United States has a military presence in two thirds of countries around the world. A group of rogue nations have had enough and initiate a terror ultimatum called the Blacklist - a deadly countdown of escalating terrorist attacks on U.S. interests. Sam Fisher is the leader of the newly formed 4th Echelon unit: a clandestine unit that answers solely to the President of the United States. Sam and his team must hunt down these terrorists by any means necessary, and stop the Blacklist countdown before it reaches zero. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. 80
    We can say that Ubisoft did what was expected of an adaptation of Blacklist for Wii U. Without adding new content and unique functions that would elevate the game to a new level, it opted to keep a similar experience in all versions, the difference being that the Wii U adapts some mechanics to the GamePad.
  2. Oct 24, 2013
    80
    Consistently competent and without great ambitions beyond the volume of content, Blacklist is not the definitive experience of Splinter Cell, but reunites the series.
  3. Like the world's darkest buffet, Blacklist offers a lot to choose from, but all of it seems a tad undercooked. This is almost always good, but very rarely great.
  4. 70
    If you feel like you can put up with copious loading screens and cutscene glitches, then I would say this is worth picking up. However, if you’re looking for the tight, polished package that Splinter Cell games used to be, then you’ll likely be left wanting.
  5. Sep 17, 2013
    70
    Ubisoft takes bold steps with tradition in Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell Blacklist in an attempt to please as many as possible, but by doing so dilutes the game's stealthy strength in favour of chasing new audiences.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 14
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 14
  3. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Aug 23, 2013
    10
    I decided to go with this version over the others because of the Wii u features and off screen play. But was not sure it was any good due to no reviews. I have been playing it for several hours and I'm safe to say it's fantastic. Graphics and frame rate is great and off screen play is awesome. I've played all the splinter cells and this is one of the best. Don't understand why reviewers can't be arsed to review it on Wii u or if they have their reviews aren't on here but it's safe to say it's a great game. Expand
  2. Aug 28, 2013
    10
    Simply awesome. This game had me glued to the TV addicted to the gameplay and story. The gamepad is used in useful ways. Switching between guns is easy and it acts as a camera sometimes. The load times suck but I can dig it. Recommended Expand
  3. Aug 21, 2013
    10
    The Wii U version is very good. There is no reason why the reviews on metacritic don't show up. Specific reviews will come, but reviews like IGN and the others also included the Wii U version. Metacritic, get your act up straight here...!!!!!!!! Expand
  4. Aug 29, 2013
    9
    The best stealth game I've played in years and easily the best on the Wii U in that genre (not saying much I guess). The campaign is a blast and there are many coop missions to play afterwards as well as the spies VS mercs multiplayer mode. The game features all kinds of upgrades you can purchase including upgrades for your guns, gadgets and even for the Paladin plane itself (radar...). The story is pretty good and is entertaining enough (pretty good ending too). Some of the later levels are fairly challenging but the difficulty curve is perfect. Definitely recommended. Expand
  5. Nov 17, 2013
    9
    The campaign gives a fresh twist to a tried story, and is thoroughly enjoyable. The graphics are incredible and the mechanics are great. It's missing local coop though, and you won't find many people playing it online. I was able to pick it up for $30, and it was well worth it!!! Expand
  6. Nov 6, 2013
    9
    This game is a great example of what the Wii U can do. The GamePad was put to good use for a variety of actions and interface needs. I enjoyed being able to customize my loadout and to store some loadouts in my base.

    I think one of the best aspects of this game is how you are rated at the end of each mission. You're ranked in three categories that reflect your style of gameplay. It gives the player a reason to revisit missions to either raise their scores or to play in a different manner.

    The story was compelling and the presentation reminded me fondly of the Mass Effect trilogy. Overall I think that Wii U owners should definitely get this game.
    Expand
  7. Oct 21, 2013
    7
    A great game This version lets u play off tv and use some touch controls which I thought it was great The graphics are ok And I liked the cutscenes and voice acting Buy this game for xbox or wiiU or PC or ps3 Just buy it Collapse

See all 14 User Reviews