Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Requires a forgiving gamer to see it from start to end. [March 2014, p.78]
  2. 80
    Unepic is a solid game that holds up very well throughout. It offers up a stiff challenge, while maintaining a sound sense of humour, and will go down especially well with those of us that remember (or still play) all-night Dungeons & Dragons sessions.
  3. Feb 25, 2014
    60
    It is a work with a satisfying narrative projection, based on good moments of humor, right battle system and fully adjusted to the GamePad Wii U.
  4. Feb 13, 2014
    80
    Unepic won't save Wii U neither Nintendo, but it can represent a really interesting precedent in this much criticized console's struggle to survival.
  5. Feb 12, 2014
    82
    A challenging and funny retro adventure in classic MetroidVania style.
  6. Feb 10, 2014
    80
    This isn't a game suitable for all palates: due to its difficulty and peculiarity, the title is highly recommended to all the fans of Metroidvania-like games, and in general to those who are looking for a challenge and want to do keep their hands well trained while waiting for Dark Souls 2.
  7. Feb 7, 2014
    89
    Unepic is another little gem in the indie world. Definitely difficult, his retrò style is delightful, and absolutely irresistible for old school games fan. An epic game, that's for sure.
  8. Feb 5, 2014
    80
    Unepic may not stand out as one of the more original titles in the genre but it does what it sets out to do very well, offering plenty of addictive exploration, challenging combat and fairly in-depth character customisation.
  9. Feb 4, 2014
    70
    Its sharp wit and bevy of nerd-culture references offset the frustration that arises from an unrelentingly challenging dungeon crawler.
  10. Feb 3, 2014
    72
    UnEpic comes to Wii U basically unchanged, but with a couple of interesting new features. By the way, it's still a blast for all the metroidvania fans.
  11. Feb 3, 2014
    80
    A fine conversion of one of the best indie games released so far in PC years ago. Decent use of the GamePad capabilities, sharp graphics and nice new touches.
  12. Feb 3, 2014
    70
    It can be quite frustratingly difficult at times, and the constant geeky references to everything from Star Wars to the worlds of Gary Gygax may not sit well with everyone – one particular misfiring side quest involving bureaucrats may be enough to turn off some gamers – but for those who enjoy old school platform action, this generously sized Spanish-crafted effort will be manna from heaven.
  13. 50
    In the end, it's all right there in the title. There's nothing here to elevate it above mediocrity.
  14. Jan 31, 2014
    50
    Unepic is a perfectly serviceable platform-RPG, but Unremarkable might have been a more apposite title.
  15. Jan 28, 2014
    85
    Wii U gets a challenging game, fun, addictive and full of surprises, that becomes one of its best downloadable titles.
  16. Jan 27, 2014
    70
    This individual effort by the name of Unepic triggers a craving for exploration in an action-platform and adventure style, akin to the early Castlevania games. There are shortcomings and points which require a greater polishing, but the elements are all here to become an instant hit with its audience.
  17. 65
    Unepic is a standard dungeon crawler with standard combat, enhanced by its goofy characters and story. If you’re in the mood for a game that doesn’t take itself too seriously, and don’t mine the occasional weed/D&D/Star Wars joke, then Unepic might be for you. However, if you’re looking for an engrossing RPG with deep mechanics, your time is likely best spent elsewhere.
  18. Jan 20, 2014
    80
    With much to explore and so many ways of storming the castle’s inhabitants, Unepic is a fun and well-designed challenge for those who enjoy platformers and yon hefty olde RPG feel. Its tight and rewarding core makes it a quest that can be enjoyed along with, or even in spite of, its cheekier sense of humour.
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 39 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Jan 18, 2014
    9
    An excellent game, bought the PC version. Saw it released on the Wii-U and picked it up. I'm putting a lot more time into the Wii-U version. I find the inventory on the gamepad easier to work with, especially when shifting between weapons. Unepic does a good job of mixing classic RPG, Questing, Platforming and Crafting. The game play is more on the casual side with lots of humor (teen/adult) in the mix. Full Review »
  2. Jan 24, 2014
    8
    Unepic is about as far from actually being, erm, unepic as you can possibly imagine. Having released here in the UK only a few short days ago, I perhaps unsurprisingly couldn't find much in the way of reliable reviews through the usual channels, but having been genuinely intrigued by it's backstory and eShop trailer, I decided to take a punt on Unepic anyway. And long story short, I'm absolutely thrilled that I did, because this game is really rather special.

    I'll endeavour to leave more detailed impressions once I've finished the game, and experienced at least two of it's three different endings. In the meantime however, I just wanted to write a line or two for those still on the fence as whether to grab this one or not. Well, as you might have guessed, my advice on the matter is overwhelmingly straightforward -- if you're a fan of 2D metroidvania-style games, platformers, RPG's, adventures, exploration, or just plain old addictive gameplay, then this ones a no-brainer, and you should jump right into Unepic with confidence. Yep, this one is an absolute belter!

    Hope this helps!
    Full Review »
  3. Jul 7, 2014
    10
    I love this game. I am on my third play through. The first time I tried it on Hard +. Then I started over on Hard ++, but when I got to the end I found it IMPOSSIBLE. So now I've started over on Hard + and I hope to finish it. Once I lit the first torch, I was hooked. Sort of like in Shovel Knight - as soon as you dig that first mound of gems you are addicted to the game. Full Review »