Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 19
  2. Negative: 1 out of 19
  1. Jan 2, 2014
    90
    While the majority of Wii Fit U isn't as "hardcore" as some fitness buffs may like, it does provide an enormously friendly, approachable entry point into the world of exercise for those who may have struggled with motivation in the past. Featuring a swathe of enjoyable games and a wealth of helpful advice, it's a great starting point on a journey towards a leaner, meaner you.
  2. 90
    While it would be nice if more difficult exercises were readily available from that start and if routines didn’t feature a jerky start-stop-start progression, Wii Fit U remains the best exercise game I’ve ever played.
  3. Dec 31, 2013
    85
    The formula keeps evolving, and Wii Fit U offers another fun step to help us get in shape.
  4. A classy, thoughtful update that packages the best of the previous Wii Fit games with some ace new mini-games. A genuinely fun flab-shifter. [Jan 2014, p.84]
  5. May 11, 2014
    83
    Wii Fit U is the second updated edition of Wii Fit. More of the same, then. Which is mainly a good thing. [Feb 2014]
  6. Mar 23, 2014
    80
    Although it doesn't serve as a replacement for regular exercise, Wii Fit U is probably the best game in its genre, and with the existence of the Fit Meter, is a great way to keep track of and accompany daily activities.
  7. Dec 26, 2013
    80
    Wii Fit U really does take advantage of the software and hardware available, even if there are a lot of individual devices to keep track of.
  8. Dec 6, 2013
    80
    There’s no more need to go to the gym, when you have a Wii U. With Wii Fit U you can practice, even when not looking at your TV-screen. However, you’ll need to pay a lot of money for all the attributes you need.
  9. Nov 14, 2013
    80
    Bringing forward all of what made Wii Fit so great in the first place, then adding new features and the Wii Fit Meter means that Wii Fit U is an excellent package designed to get friends and family playing games while getting fitter.
  10. Nov 11, 2013
    80
    While the exercises it offers still aren't intensive enough to replace traditional exercise, it’s nevertheless an entertaining way for players of all fitness levels and ages to be more active and conscious of the importance of keeping fit.
  11. Dec 10, 2013
    75
    Wii Fit U is an improvement over the original formula, with some nice new modes and the interesting Fit Meter that gives the chance to get the game at a discounted price.
  12. Nov 20, 2013
    75
    Some of the options seem superfluous, and the gym functionality is totally ignorable, but it’s still a fun, effective way to get your sweat on.
  13. Jan 23, 2014
    70
    An admirable attempt at melding physical activity with light-hearted play. [Issue#143, p.115]
  14. Dec 16, 2013
    70
    If you're interested in losing weight, Wii Fit U is definitely worth your time. Fans of the original Wii Fit will definitely notice some overlapping content, but it brings enough new to the table to, if nothing else, get you active and moving in your living room.
  15. Dec 11, 2013
    70
    There’s not a lot that the Wii U can really do to improve the Wii Fit experience but this is still a useful entry point for the exercise averse.
  16. Nov 20, 2013
    70
    Meanwhile Wii Fit U's mini-games are fun, but still suffer from being single-player/non-simultaneous multiplayer and there just isn't that much new stuff.
  17. 60
    The same bunch of exercises spiced up with a few new features, like the ability to use gamepad as a display. The game is a proven recipe and it’ll keep you occupied for a while. [Issue#238]
  18. Jan 24, 2014
    50
    If your goal is simply to be more active, of if you're just starting to dabble in dedicated personal fitness, Wii Fit U will probably fit the bill. If you're willing to put in the legwork to create a regular regimen and stick with it, you can definitely get a good workout. Anyone seeking detailed fitness guidance and structure should look elsewhere.
  19. Dec 20, 2013
    45
    Wii Fit U isn't a meaningful solution to getting active and in shape; it's a half-assed stepping stone at best.
User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 52 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. Dec 26, 2013
    9
    This is a great fitness game. I have two 13 year old boys and a 17 year old daughter. I tried the game first and liked it, even though myThis is a great fitness game. I have two 13 year old boys and a 17 year old daughter. I tried the game first and liked it, even though my balance is terrible and it rated me older than my physical age. Once my kids tried the game, and saw how cute and fun it is, it's been in daily use. All my kids and my daughter's boyfriend have accounts on it and play it together (one at a time), laughing and joking all the way.

    I recommend this as a mild to moderate fitness game that's a lot of fun, gives you a wide range of fitness activities, and tracks your progress to help you meet your fitness goals. I just got the Wii U Fit Meter and it works. I can't say how well yet, but the meter is $20 and is small and discreet enough to wear at work, so I'm looking forward to carrying it all day. The price is so low, I'm not stressed about breaking or losing it.
    Full Review »
  2. Dec 14, 2013
    9
    Wii Fit U is a game that does exactly what it sets out to do; it battles the bulge and tones those glutes! In all seriousness, Wii Fit U isWii Fit U is a game that does exactly what it sets out to do; it battles the bulge and tones those glutes! In all seriousness, Wii Fit U is largely similar to the two previous instalments on Wii. The differences, however, are significant enough to keep the game fresh namely the mini-games that involve the use of the GamePad and the inclusion of the Fit Meter as an additional peripheral. The Fit Meter works like a dream, and shows up many other pedometers on the market in doing so. Steps, calories burned, an altitude graph and a METs graph are all able to be viewed on the Fit Meter, with temperature and time also viewable. Not to mention a picture of your Mii's face with a few little animations! Sync the Fit Meter with the GamePad to view a full-colour bar graph of your energy output and altitude on the Wii U. If a calorie goal has been set for the day, and you haven't met your quota, Wii Fit U will recommend exercises you can do in-game so that your quota is met. Fit Meter Challenges allow for long-term goals by translating distances and altitudes onto famous areas and landmarks, complete with some trivia from the talking Balance Board. Wii Fit U isn't the most revolutionary fitness game, and a lot of it is rehashed from the past instalments. But that doesn't take away from the fact that this is a great game to consult about getting fit, and does little to suggest otherwise. Full Review »
  3. Dec 13, 2013
    8
    Despite not adding that many new exercises, and getting rid of some of my favorites, this is still my favorite Wii Fit game out of all 3. SomeDespite not adding that many new exercises, and getting rid of some of my favorites, this is still my favorite Wii Fit game out of all 3. Some of the new aerobic exercises and balancing games make great use of the gamepad, and while some of the controls are hard, they get easier to use if you play the game long enough. Another thing I like is the fitness meter, it's surprisingly fun to try to complete the challenges in the game. Basically if you want a game that is both fun and one that will give you a nice workout, then I suggest giving this game a try. Full Review »