Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 19
  2. Negative: 1 out of 19
  1. Jan 23, 2014
    70
    An admirable attempt at melding physical activity with light-hearted play. [Issue#143, p.115]
  2. Dec 16, 2013
    70
    If you're interested in losing weight, Wii Fit U is definitely worth your time. Fans of the original Wii Fit will definitely notice some overlapping content, but it brings enough new to the table to, if nothing else, get you active and moving in your living room.
  3. Dec 11, 2013
    70
    There’s not a lot that the Wii U can really do to improve the Wii Fit experience but this is still a useful entry point for the exercise averse.
  4. Nov 20, 2013
    70
    Meanwhile Wii Fit U's mini-games are fun, but still suffer from being single-player/non-simultaneous multiplayer and there just isn't that much new stuff.
  5. 60
    The same bunch of exercises spiced up with a few new features, like the ability to use gamepad as a display. The game is a proven recipe and it’ll keep you occupied for a while. [Issue#238]
  6. Jan 24, 2014
    50
    If your goal is simply to be more active, of if you're just starting to dabble in dedicated personal fitness, Wii Fit U will probably fit the bill. If you're willing to put in the legwork to create a regular regimen and stick with it, you can definitely get a good workout. Anyone seeking detailed fitness guidance and structure should look elsewhere.
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 59 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. Mar 22, 2015
    8
    This game is great but Wii Fit Plus is a bit better. The graphics are awesome. The new activities are great. The body tests are still theThis game is great but Wii Fit Plus is a bit better. The graphics are awesome. The new activities are great. The body tests are still the same. They should have had all the previous activities return. Wii Fit U is a great game and I'd recommend it for the new activities. Full Review »
  2. Dec 26, 2013
    9
    This is a great fitness game. I have two 13 year old boys and a 17 year old daughter. I tried the game first and liked it, even though myThis is a great fitness game. I have two 13 year old boys and a 17 year old daughter. I tried the game first and liked it, even though my balance is terrible and it rated me older than my physical age. Once my kids tried the game, and saw how cute and fun it is, it's been in daily use. All my kids and my daughter's boyfriend have accounts on it and play it together (one at a time), laughing and joking all the way.

    I recommend this as a mild to moderate fitness game that's a lot of fun, gives you a wide range of fitness activities, and tracks your progress to help you meet your fitness goals. I just got the Wii U Fit Meter and it works. I can't say how well yet, but the meter is $20 and is small and discreet enough to wear at work, so I'm looking forward to carrying it all day. The price is so low, I'm not stressed about breaking or losing it.
    Full Review »
  3. Dec 14, 2013
    9
    Wii Fit U is a game that does exactly what it sets out to do; it battles the bulge and tones those glutes! In all seriousness, Wii Fit U isWii Fit U is a game that does exactly what it sets out to do; it battles the bulge and tones those glutes! In all seriousness, Wii Fit U is largely similar to the two previous instalments on Wii. The differences, however, are significant enough to keep the game fresh namely the mini-games that involve the use of the GamePad and the inclusion of the Fit Meter as an additional peripheral. The Fit Meter works like a dream, and shows up many other pedometers on the market in doing so. Steps, calories burned, an altitude graph and a METs graph are all able to be viewed on the Fit Meter, with temperature and time also viewable. Not to mention a picture of your Mii's face with a few little animations! Sync the Fit Meter with the GamePad to view a full-colour bar graph of your energy output and altitude on the Wii U. If a calorie goal has been set for the day, and you haven't met your quota, Wii Fit U will recommend exercises you can do in-game so that your quota is met. Fit Meter Challenges allow for long-term goals by translating distances and altitudes onto famous areas and landmarks, complete with some trivia from the talking Balance Board. Wii Fit U isn't the most revolutionary fitness game, and a lot of it is rehashed from the past instalments. But that doesn't take away from the fact that this is a great game to consult about getting fit, and does little to suggest otherwise. Full Review »