Wii Fit U Wii U

Wii Fit U Image
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 72 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Wii Fit U is a new installment in the Wii Fit series that combines fun and fitness with new exercises and activities, and incorporates the GamePad in unique ways.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 19
  2. Negative: 1 out of 19
  1. Jan 2, 2014
    90
    While the majority of Wii Fit U isn't as "hardcore" as some fitness buffs may like, it does provide an enormously friendly, approachable entry point into the world of exercise for those who may have struggled with motivation in the past. Featuring a swathe of enjoyable games and a wealth of helpful advice, it's a great starting point on a journey towards a leaner, meaner you.
  2. Dec 31, 2013
    85
    The formula keeps evolving, and Wii Fit U offers another fun step to help us get in shape.
  3. Pelit (Finland)
    May 11, 2014
    83
    Wii Fit U is the second updated edition of Wii Fit. More of the same, then. Which is mainly a good thing. [Feb 2014]
  4. Nov 11, 2013
    80
    While the exercises it offers still aren't intensive enough to replace traditional exercise, it’s nevertheless an entertaining way for players of all fitness levels and ages to be more active and conscious of the importance of keeping fit.
  5. Nov 20, 2013
    75
    Some of the options seem superfluous, and the gym functionality is totally ignorable, but it’s still a fun, effective way to get your sweat on.
  6. Dec 16, 2013
    70
    If you're interested in losing weight, Wii Fit U is definitely worth your time. Fans of the original Wii Fit will definitely notice some overlapping content, but it brings enough new to the table to, if nothing else, get you active and moving in your living room.
  7. Dec 20, 2013
    45
    Wii Fit U isn't a meaningful solution to getting active and in shape; it's a half-assed stepping stone at best.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. Dec 26, 2013
    9
    This is a great fitness game. I have two 13 year old boys and a 17 year old daughter. I tried the game first and liked it, even though myThis is a great fitness game. I have two 13 year old boys and a 17 year old daughter. I tried the game first and liked it, even though my balance is terrible and it rated me older than my physical age. Once my kids tried the game, and saw how cute and fun it is, it's been in daily use. All my kids and my daughter's boyfriend have accounts on it and play it together (one at a time), laughing and joking all the way.

    I recommend this as a mild to moderate fitness game that's a lot of fun, gives you a wide range of fitness activities, and tracks your progress to help you meet your fitness goals. I just got the Wii U Fit Meter and it works. I can't say how well yet, but the meter is $20 and is small and discreet enough to wear at work, so I'm looking forward to carrying it all day. The price is so low, I'm not stressed about breaking or losing it.
    Expand
  2. Mar 8, 2015
    9
    Wii Fit U may be better than Wii Fit Plus and some other titles in the Wii series, but I can say that it definitely doesn't surpass Wii SportsWii Fit U may be better than Wii Fit Plus and some other titles in the Wii series, but I can say that it definitely doesn't surpass Wii Sports Resort.

    Let's start with the good. I usually do not like when games recycle ideas over and over again (like New Super Mario Bros. 2) but for this one, I will make an exception since it will be easy for both newcomers and veterans to jump into. You'll remember the simple Body Test (yes, it will still criticize you at the end) and the Yoga and Strength Training. There are some new Yoga and Strength Training exercises, yet I rarely do these types since I'm not that flexible. If you are flexible, however, there are special exercises that are "For Advanced Users" as the game calls them.

    The game got rid of some of my favorite Wii Fit Plus exercises, particularly Rhythm Parade, Tightrope, and the Penguin game and I had really enjoyed those. They do keep Rhythm Kung Fu and Snowball Fight though. There are some new exercises such as one that involves you having to find certain Miis, one where you have to take food to Miis, one where you're rock climbing, one where you're jumping on a trampoline, and one where you have to squirt water at Miis similar to Snowball Fight. These new minigames are all very fun and enjoyable and I'm glad that they put at least some effort into them.

    Wii Fit U's main new feature is the Fit Meter which can track your steps and calories burned which you can later input into the game. I do have a Fit Meter but I've yet to try out this feature. Once you've inputted your data, the game will cleverly tell you things like "If you were in Paris, you would have made it ____ far" or "If you were in New York, you would have made it ____ far." It can help you set goals which is very neat.

    Overall, Wii Fit U is another enjoyable Wii-branded series title and I would probably say the second best in the series behind Wii Sports Resort. It does seem to take more of a diagonal step when it comes to improving over Wii Fit Plus but it's still worth picking up if you have a Wii U.
    Expand
  3. Dec 14, 2013
    9
    Wii Fit U is a game that does exactly what it sets out to do; it battles the bulge and tones those glutes! In all seriousness, Wii Fit U isWii Fit U is a game that does exactly what it sets out to do; it battles the bulge and tones those glutes! In all seriousness, Wii Fit U is largely similar to the two previous instalments on Wii. The differences, however, are significant enough to keep the game fresh namely the mini-games that involve the use of the GamePad and the inclusion of the Fit Meter as an additional peripheral. The Fit Meter works like a dream, and shows up many other pedometers on the market in doing so. Steps, calories burned, an altitude graph and a METs graph are all able to be viewed on the Fit Meter, with temperature and time also viewable. Not to mention a picture of your Mii's face with a few little animations! Sync the Fit Meter with the GamePad to view a full-colour bar graph of your energy output and altitude on the Wii U. If a calorie goal has been set for the day, and you haven't met your quota, Wii Fit U will recommend exercises you can do in-game so that your quota is met. Fit Meter Challenges allow for long-term goals by translating distances and altitudes onto famous areas and landmarks, complete with some trivia from the talking Balance Board. Wii Fit U isn't the most revolutionary fitness game, and a lot of it is rehashed from the past instalments. But that doesn't take away from the fact that this is a great game to consult about getting fit, and does little to suggest otherwise. Expand
  4. Sep 2, 2015
    8
    It is a good fun way of exercising and getting you to move those muscles. The pedometer works well and offers good challenges to climbIt is a good fun way of exercising and getting you to move those muscles. The pedometer works well and offers good challenges to climb monuments and mountains and for walking long distances, e.g. the tour of Italy. Worth getting to get you more active. Expand
  5. Jun 18, 2016
    8
    O Jogo tem exercícios criativos com a wii balance board e os 2 wii remote plus, adicionar o wii fit meter adiciona bastante a experiencia doO Jogo tem exercícios criativos com a wii balance board e os 2 wii remote plus, adicionar o wii fit meter adiciona bastante a experiencia do jogo, expandindo os exercícios para fora de casa e medindo os METs. Expand
  6. Nov 24, 2015
    8
    Wii fit U Isn a hardcore exercise game but it is fun and some of the workouts can work even the hardest workout freak. Before you begin, youWii fit U Isn a hardcore exercise game but it is fun and some of the workouts can work even the hardest workout freak. Before you begin, you will take a series of tests balance and a BMI test. After that the easy to navigate menus give you a wide variety of fun workouts. strength training and yoga are in a studio with the partner you chose but the meat of the game is in the form of fun games. work yard in the hula hoops dances boxing and 30 minute run and take a break with some time at the driving range and some sightseeing. My favorite games are the aerobics and balance games they work you and you have fun. There are even communities to join with other miis in the game. Overall wii fit u is the best in the series and if your looking for an exercise game you found it. Expand
  7. Dec 13, 2013
    4
    Since downloading this software a month ago I have been calling it Wii Fit because essentially it is Wii Fit Plus and a few new games andSince downloading this software a month ago I have been calling it Wii Fit because essentially it is Wii Fit Plus and a few new games and features. I had hoped for a complete remodeling of the Wii Fit concept, so what I got was disappointing. I would have preferred Nintendo take another year and then release something a lot more innovative. The good thing about Wii Fit U is the price. Since I already had a balance board all I had to pay for was the Fit Meter(a pedometer which tracks altitude as well as movement). So the new software and the meter only cost me about $25.

    Others have criticized Wii Fit for not offering enough challenge. This is still true. Wii Fit U doesn't offer much to challenge you, or to help burn calories quickly. I am using it as a hub to upload and track my calorie totals using the Fit meter. I can see how many calories I have burned over the past few days, and track my BMI for the purpose of hitting goals. That is about the extent of my use of the new stuff. The new features aside from the new games Wii Fit U offers are not much of a draw for me. I'm not using the gym feature. I am using the Fit meter goals, but they are quite lame, and I think I probably won't make use of those in the future.

    This software is very disappointing to me even with the price offered to owners of a balance board.
    Expand

See all 12 User Reviews

Trailers