Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 59 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Wii Fit U is a new installment in the Wii Fit series that combines fun and fitness with new exercises and activities, and incorporates the GamePad in unique ways.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 19
  2. Negative: 1 out of 19
  1. Jan 2, 2014
    90
    While the majority of Wii Fit U isn't as "hardcore" as some fitness buffs may like, it does provide an enormously friendly, approachable entry point into the world of exercise for those who may have struggled with motivation in the past. Featuring a swathe of enjoyable games and a wealth of helpful advice, it's a great starting point on a journey towards a leaner, meaner you.
  2. Dec 31, 2013
    85
    The formula keeps evolving, and Wii Fit U offers another fun step to help us get in shape.
  3. May 11, 2014
    83
    Wii Fit U is the second updated edition of Wii Fit. More of the same, then. Which is mainly a good thing. [Feb 2014]
  4. Nov 11, 2013
    80
    While the exercises it offers still aren't intensive enough to replace traditional exercise, it’s nevertheless an entertaining way for players of all fitness levels and ages to be more active and conscious of the importance of keeping fit.
  5. Nov 20, 2013
    75
    Some of the options seem superfluous, and the gym functionality is totally ignorable, but it’s still a fun, effective way to get your sweat on.
  6. Dec 16, 2013
    70
    If you're interested in losing weight, Wii Fit U is definitely worth your time. Fans of the original Wii Fit will definitely notice some overlapping content, but it brings enough new to the table to, if nothing else, get you active and moving in your living room.
  7. Dec 20, 2013
    45
    Wii Fit U isn't a meaningful solution to getting active and in shape; it's a half-assed stepping stone at best.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. Dec 26, 2013
    9
    This is a great fitness game. I have two 13 year old boys and a 17 year old daughter. I tried the game first and liked it, even though myThis is a great fitness game. I have two 13 year old boys and a 17 year old daughter. I tried the game first and liked it, even though my balance is terrible and it rated me older than my physical age. Once my kids tried the game, and saw how cute and fun it is, it's been in daily use. All my kids and my daughter's boyfriend have accounts on it and play it together (one at a time), laughing and joking all the way.

    I recommend this as a mild to moderate fitness game that's a lot of fun, gives you a wide range of fitness activities, and tracks your progress to help you meet your fitness goals. I just got the Wii U Fit Meter and it works. I can't say how well yet, but the meter is $20 and is small and discreet enough to wear at work, so I'm looking forward to carrying it all day. The price is so low, I'm not stressed about breaking or losing it.
    Expand
  2. Mar 8, 2015
    9
    Wii Fit U may be better than Wii Fit Plus and some other titles in the Wii series, but I can say that it definitely doesn't surpass Wii SportsWii Fit U may be better than Wii Fit Plus and some other titles in the Wii series, but I can say that it definitely doesn't surpass Wii Sports Resort.

    Let's start with the good. I usually do not like when games recycle ideas over and over again (like New Super Mario Bros. 2) but for this one, I will make an exception since it will be easy for both newcomers and veterans to jump into. You'll remember the simple Body Test (yes, it will still criticize you at the end) and the Yoga and Strength Training. There are some new Yoga and Strength Training exercises, yet I rarely do these types since I'm not that flexible. If you are flexible, however, there are special exercises that are "For Advanced Users" as the game calls them.

    The game got rid of some of my favorite Wii Fit Plus exercises, particularly Rhythm Parade, Tightrope, and the Penguin game and I had really enjoyed those. They do keep Rhythm Kung Fu and Snowball Fight though. There are some new exercises such as one that involves you having to find certain Miis, one where you have to take food to Miis, one where you're rock climbing, one where you're jumping on a trampoline, and one where you have to squirt water at Miis similar to Snowball Fight. These new minigames are all very fun and enjoyable and I'm glad that they put at least some effort into them.

    Wii Fit U's main new feature is the Fit Meter which can track your steps and calories burned which you can later input into the game. I do have a Fit Meter but I've yet to try out this feature. Once you've inputted your data, the game will cleverly tell you things like "If you were in Paris, you would have made it ____ far" or "If you were in New York, you would have made it ____ far." It can help you set goals which is very neat.

    Overall, Wii Fit U is another enjoyable Wii-branded series title and I would probably say the second best in the series behind Wii Sports Resort. It does seem to take more of a diagonal step when it comes to improving over Wii Fit Plus but it's still worth picking up if you have a Wii U.
    Expand
  3. Dec 14, 2013
    9
    Wii Fit U is a game that does exactly what it sets out to do; it battles the bulge and tones those glutes! In all seriousness, Wii Fit U isWii Fit U is a game that does exactly what it sets out to do; it battles the bulge and tones those glutes! In all seriousness, Wii Fit U is largely similar to the two previous instalments on Wii. The differences, however, are significant enough to keep the game fresh namely the mini-games that involve the use of the GamePad and the inclusion of the Fit Meter as an additional peripheral. The Fit Meter works like a dream, and shows up many other pedometers on the market in doing so. Steps, calories burned, an altitude graph and a METs graph are all able to be viewed on the Fit Meter, with temperature and time also viewable. Not to mention a picture of your Mii's face with a few little animations! Sync the Fit Meter with the GamePad to view a full-colour bar graph of your energy output and altitude on the Wii U. If a calorie goal has been set for the day, and you haven't met your quota, Wii Fit U will recommend exercises you can do in-game so that your quota is met. Fit Meter Challenges allow for long-term goals by translating distances and altitudes onto famous areas and landmarks, complete with some trivia from the talking Balance Board. Wii Fit U isn't the most revolutionary fitness game, and a lot of it is rehashed from the past instalments. But that doesn't take away from the fact that this is a great game to consult about getting fit, and does little to suggest otherwise. Expand
  4. Apr 12, 2014
    8
    A fun game that can be enjoyed by gamers, casual gamers, people who like exercise or just normal people. The only people who wouldn't likeA fun game that can be enjoyed by gamers, casual gamers, people who like exercise or just normal people. The only people who wouldn't like this game are lazy people :P. This would be a 9/10, however there are a few broken controls in the game. I could not get Rock Climbing to work, so that was a dissapointment, in all of the dancing minigames, you have to strongly move your arms for the sensor to detect the movement and the altitude on the wii fit meter is sometimes faulty. However, everything else in the game is fun due to having all the minigames from Wii Fit, plus new minigames added in Wii Fit U including a whole new dancing mode, where you can select different styles of dancing and inclusion of the Wii Fit Meter, which you can use to track your steps and altitude. You can use your steps and altitude from the Wii Fit Meter to take part in Walking and Altitude challenges, where you have to walk the distance or go in the altitude of somewhere (for example, a tour round New York, a tour round Italy, the statue of liberty and the pyramids). This game rewards you in many ways. As most games do, you are rewarded with a high score you can show off with. You are also given unlockable costumes for your Mii Character to wear, which you unlock for completing challenges. And the most obvious reward is burning off calories, which I, as a gamer do not do often, so to be able to have fun while excersising is a very good thing for me. Expand
  5. Mar 22, 2015
    8
    This game is great but Wii Fit Plus is a bit better. The graphics are awesome. The new activities are great. The body tests are still theThis game is great but Wii Fit Plus is a bit better. The graphics are awesome. The new activities are great. The body tests are still the same. They should have had all the previous activities return. Wii Fit U is a great game and I'd recommend it for the new activities. Expand
  6. Dec 13, 2013
    8
    Despite not adding that many new exercises, and getting rid of some of my favorites, this is still my favorite Wii Fit game out of all 3. SomeDespite not adding that many new exercises, and getting rid of some of my favorites, this is still my favorite Wii Fit game out of all 3. Some of the new aerobic exercises and balancing games make great use of the gamepad, and while some of the controls are hard, they get easier to use if you play the game long enough. Another thing I like is the fitness meter, it's surprisingly fun to try to complete the challenges in the game. Basically if you want a game that is both fun and one that will give you a nice workout, then I suggest giving this game a try. Expand
  7. Dec 13, 2013
    4
    Since downloading this software a month ago I have been calling it Wii Fit because essentially it is Wii Fit Plus and a few new games andSince downloading this software a month ago I have been calling it Wii Fit because essentially it is Wii Fit Plus and a few new games and features. I had hoped for a complete remodeling of the Wii Fit concept, so what I got was disappointing. I would have preferred Nintendo take another year and then release something a lot more innovative. The good thing about Wii Fit U is the price. Since I already had a balance board all I had to pay for was the Fit Meter(a pedometer which tracks altitude as well as movement). So the new software and the meter only cost me about $25.

    Others have criticized Wii Fit for not offering enough challenge. This is still true. Wii Fit U doesn't offer much to challenge you, or to help burn calories quickly. I am using it as a hub to upload and track my calorie totals using the Fit meter. I can see how many calories I have burned over the past few days, and track my BMI for the purpose of hitting goals. That is about the extent of my use of the new stuff. The new features aside from the new games Wii Fit U offers are not much of a draw for me. I'm not using the gym feature. I am using the Fit meter goals, but they are quite lame, and I think I probably won't make use of those in the future.

    This software is very disappointing to me even with the price offered to owners of a balance board.
    Expand

See all 9 User Reviews

Trailers