Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 70 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Play your favorite Wii Sports games on the Wii U console! With Wii Sports Club, you can now take the competition online with tennis, bowling and golf - baseball and boxing are coming soon. Join a club, compete against other clubs from around your region, or play online multiplayer with your friends. You can also use all-new training modes to improve your skills and support your club.

    Wii Sports Club takes what was fun about Wii Sports - cooperative and competitive gameplay together with friends and family - and moves the experience online. Each sport uses Wii MotionPlus technology to give you more control.

    Ways to Play

    Just set up an Internet connection and the SpotPass feature on your Wii U to automatically download Wii Sports Club. First-timers can try it out a 24-hour free trial. After the free trial ends, you can purchase two different types of passes exclusively on the Nintendo eShop: a Day Pass gives you access to all of the available sports for a 24-hour period and a Club Pass gives you unlimited access to a single sport with no time limit.

    Features:
    -Play online with friends and other competitors.
    -Join a club and compete against rivals for better rankings.
    -Improve your skills with all-new training modes and help your club move up in rank.
    -Build community with fellow club members and friends online by sending tips, pep talks, and other messages via Miiverse.
    -You now have more flexibility to play the way you want to with varied purchasing options.
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Nov 18, 2013
    83
    With only two sports currently available, Wii Sports Club isn’t as robust an experience as it could be, but what is there will still keep players entertained for hours. With the promise of additional sports in the future, there’s a lot of potential for Wii Sports Club, and it’s easily worth a download for anyone who owns a Wii U.
  2. Jul 5, 2014
    75
    Wii Sports Club is a mixed bag, with some good things and some bad things. Tennis is great, especially online, and baseball is nice too, while the new golf and bowling minigames don't shine as they could have and boxe is a complete mess.
  3. Jan 7, 2014
    70
    As a golf experience, Wii Sports Club offers one of the most satisfying gameplay to date, thanks to the clever use of the GamePad and the precision of Wii Motion Plus controller. But it's no more the game you can pick and play to have fun with your friends and family, losing all the casual appeal that Wii Sports series had.
  4. Aug 4, 2014
    70
    Six years later, Wii Sports finally goes online. It hasn't got everything you would expect from a 2014 online experience, but it's the usual good game for every kind of audience.
  5. The game you loved, primarily unchanged. [Dec 2013, p.81]
  6. Dec 14, 2013
    60
    The business model and the online mode are the main new features and, while paying just for the games you're going to play seems fair, the online experience has not been smooth for us.
  7. Aug 7, 2014
    60
    Rather than advancing upon the legacy of its predecessor, Wii Sports Club comes off more like an HD remake of the same old game with some additional motion plus and gamepad support. While this may have been a groundbreaking package eight years ago, today it feels altogether lackluster.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 14
  2. Negative: 1 out of 14
  1. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    I enjoy it, its fun for my family and its fun to be able to play this game with friends.

    If you like this kind of game then definitely
    check this one out. Collapse
  2. Dec 18, 2013
    10
    Personally, I didn't have a serious, major problem with this game. Yes it does have some online connectivity issues and some lag during matches, but it seemed like a significant improvement over the last Wii Sports game. Playing a specific sport costs 10 dollars to buy to last as long as you want; renting the whole sports package is $1.99 for a 24-hour period. Is it worth the money to pay 50 dollars for all five of the original sports? Probably not, but as a Nintendo and Wii Sports fan, I did have three favourite sports: tennis, bowling, and golf. With three modes the package is $30. Since online would have some cost into the company, I was okay with the price. Wii Sports doesn't have an end with games to come back to and training to do every now and then. What mattered for the review is I had great enjoyment with the new Motion-Plus controls, online matches, Wyoming supporting, Miiverse messages, and the magnificent course designs.

    Why did I give this game a 10? First, I had so much fun playing that the errors of the game didn't make me annoyed at all. Second, I feel like the user score average should be higher than a 6.9 because that seems like a D+ grade-wise, and I really don't think this game is bad enough to be in the failing range. Third, this is one of the Nintendo classics being remade into an improved game! It shouldn't be ignored and put in the list of video game disasters. I don't think it is.

    To sum up, Wii Sports Club is a great experience to have if you liked the original Wii Sports and want to join in the online community, or if you just want to exercise in the comfort of your own home and play athletic games casually. It's a game worth checking out and or at least renting for the 24-hour period. Support your state (or province) today and battle it out in Wii Sports Club! Thanks for reading.
    Expand
  3. Nov 12, 2013
    9
    This game will be judged harshly I think as it is a game that is easy to blame when you lose, or have little patients.
    For the record, the
    control scheme is accurate and skill based but takes time to master. Gone are the days of waggle, with precise strokes replacing it. If the control scheme is fooled then pressing down of the D-Pad will re-centre your racket in tennis, but once you have got use to it, this is rarely needed.
    I've heard lots of complaints of people having lag in the tennis, but just as many people saying they have had minimal amounts. Me myself, I have a laggy game about once in ten and have fibre optic BB. So this lag is obliviously when I get paired with someone with slow BB, or who is sharing a connection with someone using torrentz Either way, with a good connection speed it is so much fun! Been hooked since lauch
    Expand
  4. Dec 31, 2013
    7
    Take the original Wii Sports, add better accuracy with the WiiMotion Plus controllers and add online modes to create Wii Sports Club. The game is best with friends playing local multiplayer, but online mode is a great alternative for solo gamers.Unfortunately, the online matches does suffer from internet connection issues when playing others without a strong internet connection. Hopefully those issues will be resolved with future updates and more people joining the Clubs.
    Bowling is better than ever, and golf is a lot of fun with an extra use of the gamepad (placed on the floor as the tee/golf ball). At $10 per "sport" Wii Sports Club is worth buying your favorite one or two (or three).
    Expand
  5. Nov 7, 2013
    7
    A great remake of an the best-selling Wii title, Wii Sports. Wii Sports Club offers new HD graphics, along with online play, allowing players to compete online and even come up with their own messages during games. The sports provided so far are Tennis & Bowling, Tennis was fun to play online although a few times I felt like there was some bad connection games going on, and with Bowling, I had a blast playing online, as it was very competitive and fun to play with people online. Wii U owners can rejoice as this game is free to download and will provide a free 24 hour trial, purchasing permanent passes after is up to you, which seems fine but at $10 per sport, it seems way too overpriced. Overall, Wii Sports Club is a great remake Wii Sports, making it better with the graphics and online play, but is it worth it to permanently buy each sport for $10? ($50 for all 5) Expand
  6. Nov 7, 2013
    6
    So far It's a 6 for me. While tennis is fun to play online and off, something happened with bowling because each time I try to hit the pins the ball just goes in the opposite direction, this was never a problem with the original Wii sports. I'll most likely give it a better score once golf, baseball, and boxing comes out. Expand
  7. Feb 19, 2014
    3
    First of all, let me just say the gameplay is great. The motionplus controls are a vast improvement and its much less finicky than the Wii version. Its a great game if you liked the first one.

    The reason that I give it a negative review however, is the lack of effort and laziness put into this game. It is an obvious cash grab by Nintendo. There really isnt much to differentiate this from the previous entries, and the pricing structure is a joke. It certainly isnt worth the cost they expect to play all the sports. Not only that, but upon launch they only offered 2 sports was it? I cant remember for sure, but at the time of writing only some of the sports are even available.

    The game is definitely of high quality, but I cant help but feel insulted by Nintendo on this one.
    Expand

See all 14 User Reviews