• Publisher: Ubisoft
  • Release Date: Nov 18, 2012
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 620 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 18, 2012
    10
    Not sure what's up with all of these 0-3 reviews--come on now. I'll be giving it a 10 just to boost it from the trolls.

    The graphics are not great--that's its low point. They absolutely nailed the feel and atmosphere with the music, sounds, and locations. If you are a fan of survival horror, you'll certainly want to check this game out. I'm not saying it's a timeless masterpiece,
    but get out of here with those 0 scores. Expand
  2. Nov 27, 2012
    10
    I think this game is not getting the love it deserves. It's a great game for the Wii U. Great graphics, great sound, and it's a very unique approach to the zombie genre that just won't go away. If you own a Wii U, i say buy this game over the rest. Mass Effect 3 and other titles are just not worthy to be in the same level as ZU. Give it a try. The best Wii U game so far!
  3. Nov 28, 2012
    10
    OMFG this game is absolutely hands down the best survival horror I've ever played in my life. Do not play on easy mode. No ammo pickups, maximize your skills with melee, and get ready to get your ass TORTURED. I thought the Wii U was going to be the weakest new console to hit but this title makes it a brutal, brutal new episode in gaming. Going to pick it up real soon (have only made these judgments based on my neighbor's new setup). Expand
  4. Nov 28, 2012
    10
    we now have a precedent for what all wii u FPS should be like. watch the trailer to see how it works: you are fully immersed and have to use your body to move the screen around to see exactly what you're getting yourself into. it's almost like you're in the game itself. like nothing i've ever played before.
  5. Nov 18, 2012
    10
    Hi, ZombieU is an awesome game, graphically good with a setting and atmosphere very successful survival horror. As for the multiplayer is the most original.
  6. Nov 18, 2012
    10
    GameSpot gave this awesome a 45/100, but then they deleted the review. Yep. Anyway, ZombiU it's an awesome game not only because it's better than the new entries in the series that used to be the bomb in the Horror genre a decade ago ( Resident Evil and Silent Hill), but also because it's challenging, rewarding and it uses the GamePad in a great way. Get this. It's gold.
  7. Nov 25, 2012
    10
    As a survival horror game, this game really does its job. Yeah you will end up beating zombies with a cricket bat a lot, but that's because supply conservation is a crucial and common element of any real survival horror game. I found the game to have a very dark and scary atmosphere that has kept me pacing myself wherever I go rather than running and gunning without a care. The story of a zombie plague is told through real time scenes (a la half-life) as well as numerous news paper pages and letters you find. I've found myself interested in all aspects of the game... I feel like the negative reviews for this are full of prematurely conceived biases and a fair number of reviewers were expecting the wrong kind of game. Expand
  8. Dec 7, 2012
    9
    I wasn't going to try this game after reading IGN's review but after reading some more review's from other site's eg "Ausgamers". I bought a WiiU and ZombieU and have loved it the graphics are not the best but thats after playing other titles on my pc when i play my ps3 or xbox 360 i always am in shock how bad the graphics look compared to pc .One of IGN's negative points was ammo being scarce but they were playing it before everyone's zombie survivors were popping up in each others world like loot pinatas. The Melee combat is a little clunky but really would say a nurse in real life be able to pick up a bat and turn into a zombie killing machine?. The atmosphere is great as well .. There is nothing like the feeling of scanning the environment before you turn a corner. I like the game pad use's for checking your bag and looting. I hate it for tapping manhole covers and timber boards. Like others have said if you love survival horror games give this a try and you will not regret it. Ohh and buy something else to play when your heart cannot take it after a couple of hours.. Expand
  9. Nov 26, 2012
    9
    Wow, this was a day one purchase as it s for me and I have to admit I played it for an hour and was somewhat unimpressed. I came back about a week later and told myself I was going to give it a fair shot and boy am I glad I ever did. The initial turn off to many gamers I think is that it is NOT a scripted "hold your hand" type of game and it aims to take from seasoned greats such as Dark Souls (Learning from dying), Metroid (Revisiting past places with new equipment to access new areas), and even Resident Evil One (Clunky Survival Horror) Although its not perfect graphically or combat wise It almost seems to be a necessity as the graphical style allows for more surprises (think Silent Hill Fog) and the minor clunkiness gives you a sense of urgency when attacking or running from Zombies. This game is great and like many Nintendo exclusives makes me realize why I enjoy games so much. The amount of ingenuity and new ideas far surpasses almost every modern day title to date and with a few more tweaks such as more melee weapons and some slightly better character animations, the future of this series could be very good. Expand
  10. Nov 26, 2012
    9
    Please, PLEASE try this game. The online reviews have been very harsh with it, and I personally think it deserves your attention. It is not perfect, far from it, but the game-play is fun, the atmosphere is great, you really feel like it's a survival. I also really enjoyed the gamepad features, scanning around for items and mission objectives, looking into your backpack you can get attacked if not careful, hearing the radio communication from the gamepad while looking at the screen is a small detail that really immerse you into the game. So please, try it :) Expand
  11. Dec 13, 2012
    9
    ZombiU is an excellent survival horror game, in my opinion is a bit like the resident evil on playstation 1, in the only thing I complain a little is in the graphics, but everything else is excellent game.
  12. Jan 22, 2013
    10
    The market is flooded with run and gun shooters and this one sets itself apart. It's more about surviving with limited resources and I mean limited. The atmospheric sounds add a great deal to the experience especially traveling in the dark. There is so much detail in this game I don't know where to begin like the fire and water effects are nicely done as well as lighting. But sure the visuals are not the games strong point but the gameplay is where it strikes. It's about carefully executed events that keep you alive and never rushing to reach the next objective, one small mistake and it's zombie food. Do yourself a favor and try this out. Get ready to jump out of your seat because they come when you least expect it. Expand
  13. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    First of all, I'm laughing at the multi-accounting casuals giving this game low ratings. They should stick to their Cowadoody and pseudo-horror games like Dead Space and RE6 and stay away from genuinely hardcore games like this. Anyways, this game is brutally hard; the zombies aren't one-hit kills any more, but they still present a huge threat. Regenerating health? You wish. Save points? Spare me. There's no reloading save points when **** hits the fan; you make do or die. This game is brutal. The game also takes ammo conservation up to eleven. Finding five handgun bullets is cause for celebration, and if you try to play this like Dead Space you'll find yourself having to spend most of your time beating zombies to death with a stick. Another surprisingly deep aspect is the Gamepad; everything, from switching weapons to picking locks, is handled on it, drawing your attention away from the TV and the horrible things trying to chew your face off. It racks up the tension, which brings me to another point: ZombiU is genuinely scary. In an era of gaming where games that claim to be scary aren't (RE6), this is suprising. The game has its downsides, though: the constant backtracking gets tedious after a while, and the multiplayer feels weak. Ultimately, though, this is one of those games where you'll decide whether or not you like it based on what you want out of it. If you're hoping for Kill Everything Ever: Zombie Edition, stick with RE6 and Dead Space; you'll hate everything about this game, from the slow-pacing to the punishing ammo conservation and the backtracking. This game is strictly for survivalists and true survival horror fanatics; it scary, gory, and doesn't make any effort to coddle the player. It's the antithesis to the endless casualized shooters and action-horror games made by other companies, and an ode to those who want a sadistic challenge. And here's to hoping that the inevitable sequels stay that way. Expand
  14. Mar 31, 2013
    9
    ZombiU is a great game. While it misses on a few elements such as how many times it takes to kill a zombie with the melee weapon and maybe not having the most coherent story, what the game does well makes these flaws an afterthought. I don't think I've ever played a game that had me on my toes as much as this one. When a zombie pops up behind you or around a corner it's legitimately frightening. It's hard to understand the ign and gamestop reviews, I would of thought this game would be hailed as innovative and taking risks, unlike many of the FPS type games out today. The atmosphere of this game is really something special. Expand
  15. Dec 30, 2012
    9
    ZombiU is getting such a wide range of reviews because there are a lot of people expecting something from it that the game itself is not. This is pure and simple a survivor horror game more in line with the first Resident Evils on the Original Playstation. If you are looking for an FPS then turn away now because Zombiu is not an FPS. You are not going to run around completely demolishing everything in your path. This game is great! This game is intense and has you really scrambling to survive. You can not afford to underestimate any threat. There have been times where I barely survive a Zombie mob just to be brought down by a single Zombie later. Having to kill your former zombified self is an amazing concept as well and works wonderfully. This game is top notch and delivers on what it promises. You may die a few times getting use to the controls but once you do get use to them surviving becomes that much easier. The graphics are not as amazing as I would like but they do not take away from the experience either. Don't pass this game up if you are looking for a survival horror that will keep you on your toes! This game is worth every penny I spent on it. Expand
  16. POE
    Nov 18, 2012
    10
    This game is great. It has the best story so far on a wii u game, and awesome use of the control pad. The grafics are it´s low point, maybe with more time Ubisoft could have done a better job on this aspect.
  17. Nov 19, 2012
    9
    Along with resident evil revelations I would concider this one of the only true survival horror games to still exist in this modern day of casual games and faceroll uninteresting ideas. This game is tough, infact IGN gave the game a bad review just because of how terrible the reviewer playing was, this game is scary at times and the atmosphere is amazing! Play this game in the dark!
  18. Nov 29, 2012
    10
    What an incredible game. This game will be divisive among gamers and reviewers - but know this: If you want to play a game where you load up on all kinds of weapons and take out zombies like ducks in a shooting gallery - this is NOT your game. If you want to play a game with edge of your seat atmosphere and "DEAD GOD I HOPE I HAVE ONE MORE BULLET LEFT" suspense where YOU WILL DIE, this is the game you need. What a refreshing game - what a great game by Ubisoft. Expand
  19. Dec 27, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. An excellent breath of life to survival horror. The hard core aspect of your character actually dying adds to it. Even if you're about to die from a bite the game will auto save so quickly that you won't be able to quit out before it's done. Don't fight it since that's probably what's caused people to have problems with the save functions. If you're dead you're dead and there isn't anything you can do about it. The Story is solid. However, there seems parts of it that should have been expanded on. Angles are frequently referenced in reference to Dee, but you never see one. The Opening credits claim the "alchemy of wealth from air" is the cause of the plague, but that's never explained. One character blames Science and Doctors, but if the plague were engineered why were their plague victims in Dee's day before genetically engineered viruses. At another point the game references "Vultures" have raided the "Ravens" safe houses. I thought that meant that I was going to encounter The Ravens Antithesis, but it never expands on that point ether. It never fully addresses the question of "Why is the Plague Happening?". In part, that makes this seem more real since you're player is just a random civilian, but it does leave you wanting more. Hopefully their is a Prequel and Sequel to explain and expand.

    The Multiplayer is also unique. The only setting I like is CTF. The other settings are just a play until the person playing as zombies kills the survivor. I like CTF because I have a goal as the survivor, and the other settings are lacking in a clear goal other than play-till-you're-dead. The Irony is that in the Single player there is an arena mission that is just like the multiplayer. The goal for the Survivor in that is to survive and escape with your life. That would have been great to have in the multiplayer rather than just kill zombies till you're dead.

    It would also have been interesting if they had worked in some form of Anti-Coop play. It would be nice to play though a second time, but with someone spawning the zombies trying to kill me. That way the predictability goes out the window, but it wouldn't be good to have available for the first run though so I can see why it wasn't done.

    The multiplayer requires the Pro Controller. It will let the survivor play with the Wiimote and Nunchuck, but it's LITERALLY painful looking around with the Wii Mote. Really it did hurt my arm playing with the wiimote in first person for any length of time. It's just too heavy in one hand to be waving around fighting in First Person. With the pro controller my Wife and I were able to crank the Zombie difficulty up and I was able to play much better than I was with the difficulty way down with the Wiimote.

    The game was fully worth buying at full price, and is one of the 3 must have games for the WiiU right now.
    Expand
  20. Jan 13, 2013
    10
    Zombiu is a great survival horror, better than the new Resident evil style. This is a terrorific game with an interesting way, great atmosfear and beautiful graphics. I love this game, this is a fantastic surprise for survival horror fans.
  21. Nov 26, 2012
    10
    I think people's main reason for not liking this game is that it's too hard. If you a enjoy challenging game, and smashing zombies with a cricket bat. This game is for you. Creates a real sense of tension as is always exciting
  22. Nov 21, 2012
    10
    A great game. Difficulty is a little high, but it's supposed to be for survival games like this. The lack of ammo, the paranoia, and hesitancy of opening the next door.. because your radar tells you there are at least 4 zombies on the other side.. Will you use your limited ammo? No.. you should try using the melee weapon.. the cricket bat.. You have to lure them into a 1/1 fight.. any more than that, you can't handle.. That is ZombiU, decisions.. plans, how to survive, and how to conserve. It is hard, it is unforgiving. It doesn't deserve a 10, nor does it deserve the 0-5/10 scores many reviewers give. Metacritic is a joke of a review site. I feel sorry for people who's jobs depend on doing well on reviews.. only to have them take a dump all over them because it was too hard, and a lack of ammo.. If you have a WiiU and are interested in ZombiU, do yourself favor and go buy it. It's worth it. It's fun, it's a little terrifying. It's a great game. Expand
  23. Dec 8, 2012
    10
    I don't care what nobody says bad about this game. This game is so underrated that is crazy. Best survival horror game I ever played. And I'm a resident evil fan for life. But this here showed me something different and a new direction. I'm honestly very impressed. I look at reviews for everything before I buy. And I saw the reviews for this game and said "oh well, i guess ill save my money for something else" but on the mii verse community I kept reading post of how good this game is, so I bought it. And I swear to you that I can't disagree with them. I'm even looking for flaws on the game because at this point I'm wondering what exactly is it that ign.com saw wrong with this game. Overall I see it as a 9.2 type game. Is scary, it makes you feel like death is everywhere. And the atmosphere is so real. The zombies act very real to. Is like a movie. And even the graphics I think are excellent. Not my pc type graphics but definitely better and cleaner then my ps3 or Xbox games. Try this game or rent it. Is worth it. This is a review from an older gamer. So don't think I'm a little 12 year old that gets scared easy lol. This game is really well done. Thanks :) Expand
  24. Apr 21, 2014
    9
    I don't understand how this game is so underrated. It's the return of the classic horror games. I haven't played something this scary since the first Silent Hill titles. It's a very good game considering that it is a launch title. The atmosphere is very well done, it has one of the best GamePad uses yet and even tough it doesn't have online multiplayer, you can find your friends in the game if the have played it and interact with them in some way ;). It's a fantastical game. Short but from my point of view a very good experience. If you have a Wii U and you haven't played it yet, I don't know what are you waiting for. You can find it now anywhere for less than 10€. Expand
  25. Nov 29, 2012
    9
    My favorite game in a looong time. If you love survival horror than you wil love this. This game is brutal, unforgiving, and extremely tense. Not for those looking for a run and gun or casual experience. There are some minor issues such as zombies partially clipping into walls, however the tense atmosphere and excellent use of the new Wii U gamepad more than make up for any shortcoming. For sure a 9/10 for any survival horror fun. Expand
  26. Nov 22, 2012
    10
    AVOID WEBSITE KOTAKU.com they bash Everything nintendo and this guy named owen that does game reviews has a problem with nintendo , this game is great 100%
  27. Dec 14, 2012
    9
    Juego increible, tremendamente adictivo y que es capaz de crearte una auténtica sensación de inseguridad en todo momento. Altamente recomendable para los amantes del survival horror y poco para los que lo único que busquen sea un shooter.
  28. Dec 3, 2012
    9
    Simply put, this game is kack your pants scary. I never thought id care much for another survival horror game again, but then this little gem came along. It is quite possibly the darkest game i have ever played, to which very much works in its advantage. Zombies are a menacing force that if you are taking on more than one you really have to think on your feet of how you are going to go about it. The sonar "alien"-esque motion tracker is a stroke of genius, as you can never be sure as to whether you are dealing with a face muncher aound that corner, or whether a little rat is about to give you the jumping fright of your life. The audio as well, my god the audio. Its only a little touch, bur hearing your character panick and sob a little bit when you are in a dire situation and fending off Zombies is a disturbing touch and the fact that if you die, that character is dead and gone are all your goods makes every encounter as tense as the last.
    Basically... get this game!
    Expand
  29. Nov 18, 2012
    10
    I see no reason to criticize this game for being exactly what it was advertised and hyped up to be. You get a survival horror that pushes you to the limits, but hey, that's what you do when you survive. You get pushed to the limits to survive. The graphics are pretty unique. Nothing impressive, but unique nonetheless. Gameplay great. If you don't like to be limited and like to have the upper hand constantly, this game isn't for you. Expand
  30. Dec 3, 2012
    10
    This game is Terrifyingly AWESOME. Seriously. I haven't had this good a time getting put in straight up horrific moments in a long time. This game PUTS YOU in the world of zombie-London and does wonders for making an immersive, horrifying experience. I played it all weekend in a pitch black house and I recommend you do the same.
  31. Nov 22, 2012
    10
    This game is amazing, a real survival horror, I think the only reason why people is **** about the game and giving bad rates is because is not on 360/PS3 or because they thought it was going to be like shoot like crazy and run like in Resident Evil 6 or Left4dead
  32. Sep 19, 2014
    9
    Quality, quality, quality game. Truly unique and innovative. Genuinely scary. This is a must-have game on the Wii U. There are no other games like it on any platform.

    It's not a run-and-gun zombie shooting game, like basically every other zombie game, but a real survival game. You rarely use guns, ammo is severely limited. Your main weapon is a cricket bat. It's more about wondering if
    there is a zombie around the corner... or worse, more than 1 (you rarely survive encounters with 3 or more zombies). The lighting is fantastic as you can see almost nothing, so have to use your gamepad (which acts as a scanner) to see some rooms. This all adds to the creepyness of the game.

    It can get incredibly creepy if you play in the dark, especially at the times when you have to look at the gamepad (e.g., for hunting around in the backpack or lockpicking) and then you look up to see a zombie staring at you in the face.

    And, just now, I had a situation where someone else playing their game affected mine - my character died, so my new character had to go and retrieve their backpack from the (now zombiefied old character).... Only thing is, by the time I got there, some other player killed them first and took everything! All my guns, medpacs, grenades, etc. These are NOT easy to find, and I had them for 10 hours of the game up until that point! That means I am now far in the game, but have almost no items, thus making it 10x harder. I've never seen this in a game before, and is very cool. It means you really do not want to die, as you could lose everything.

    The only issue I have had with this game are the loading screens (which aren't Lego City Undercover terrible).

    Honestly, though, this is a very underrated game. I don't even like zombie games, but this is great. You will not be disappointed. What a great game!
    Expand
  33. Nov 26, 2012
    9
    Considering the recent turn of RE6, I think its a decent trade off to satisfy those who are in lack of a good zombie survival horror this year. With clever use of the WiiU controller screen, an ever expanding world and
    challenge; its all worth it.

    But if you are expecting some stand-alone zombie mode CoD I'll stop you right there, because it plays nothing like it. Them Negative reviews
    we're probably expecting a game like that. But if you are familiar with Dead Island/Resident evil, you'll feel comfortable with how the game flows Expand
  34. Nov 18, 2012
    10
    oh my god this is my first wii u game and its so good the graphics looks great and the sound effects so impressive i recommended this game for any wii u owner
  35. Nov 24, 2012
    10
    Yes a 10, you know why? Because it is different from any zombie game, it actually makes you feel like a survivor, something that DayZ itself couldn't make it 100% right... People giving scores below 7 are just sick of zombie games, I get it, I am too, or at least I was, this game is the only reason i could find to get WiiU this early. The way they simulate the apocalypse is perfect, if you die you get to pick another character that was around the area, and get to kill your past-zombie-self, loot and continue surviving... It lacks in zombies just to give the tense atmosphere, making you wandering what happens next... The chances of getting bitten are HUGE and you actually get infected (just like the Half-Life 2 mod, No More Room in Hell) as I said, hen you kill your zombie character once you pick another survivor. Expand
  36. Dec 19, 2012
    10
    Ok.. People mark this game ten for a reason.. We are not professional reviewers like ign and companies of that ilk.. Although I wonder if their opinions mount to a hill of beans to begin with..
    So I give zombiu a 10 for these reasons..
    The graphics I think personally are very good.. No doubt the pending sequel will get a massive overhaul.. For a wii u launch title.. Still in its baby
    phase, the coders did a tremendous job.. Very gritty and dirty.. Zombies look amazing and the background setting of London is pretty cool and authentic to a point.. (Where are the buskers and tramps) in the underground? Or the stupid oyster top up points haha..

    The sound.. Makes this game very tense.. From the beeping of the radar indicating danger is a Foot!!! Is it a bird? A rat? Worse still a crazed infected super tramp zombie? The hissing and ambient sounds ate top notch and send shivers down my spine.. Play it at night in the dark and crank the sound up!!! Trust me.

    This is the first title I've played that really compliments the gamepad... Perfect!! Controls feel boaty at fist, give it an hour or so and it's all second nature and you can see why this game will only ever work on the wii u..
    Well unless Sony get there act together and use the ps vita properly and mimic the wii u set up that would be very cool..
    Sorry side tracked.. The controls are Stella..

    Level design is pretty much fantastic, a little to much back tracking for my tastes, but n all honesty this is the game that has not left my wii u.. Even black ops 2 does not get as much play time..

    This is the zombie survival game I've been waiting for other then (the war z) on pc... Huge sensation of helplessness, very hard campaign (you will die!) claustrophobic in places all adds up to a amazing atmosphere, totally astonishing and I can't get enough of this game right now.. This will be an amazing franchise for ubisoft..
    The developers deserve a larger budget next time around and hopefully create online co-op or death matches... The multiplayer (king of zombies) whatever it's called is actually pretty cool.. One player using the tv and classical controller pro must fend off and capture flags, whilst at the same time worry about their mate who is using the gamepad and its touch screen to strategically place an assortment of zombies all over your map essentially preventing you from capturing flags!! Rounds are best out of 5.. You get loads more guns and ammo making it more of a call of duty experience fps whilst your mate gradually upgrades his selection of zombies from your run of the mill bottom feeders to spitting or exploding/armour clad super enhanced zombies!! It's awesome and the best game I have played on Any console for quite a while..

    Get this game if you can only afford to make one purchase this year!! Trust me
    Expand
  37. Dec 28, 2012
    10
    Great game! One of the few that really scares you and feels like true survival horror. If you like games like Resident Evil (the original), Silent Hill, Condemned, etc. that are actually frightening then pick this one up. It keeps the tension high at all times and makes you feel truly alone in a zombie outbreak. The game pad is used well during game play, and if you encounter more than 1 zombie at any time it's very difficult, you have to use strategy and sometimes run for safety! Dark atmosphere and very tense game play, I highly recommend! Expand
  38. Nov 21, 2012
    10
    Incredible. Those who trash this game clearly don't know what type of game they're playing. This is not a twitch shooter, it's a survival horror game. Yes, a genre that's just about dead finally has a new AAA game. This is not a game where you just run around holding the trigger and you win, this is a game that actually takes SKILL. Learning how to conserve ammunition is very important. the game makes great use of the Wii U gamepad, and it really showcases a lot of amazing things it can do. Highly recommended. Expand
  39. Nov 18, 2012
    10
    This was one of nintendos main launch games and wanted this game to sell the Wii U, well Nintendo have achieved that ZombiU works great on the amazing gamepad and has a really adventures twang to the game this is the best game I've ever played you guys have got to get it!
  40. Nov 18, 2012
    10
    I'm shocked by the reviews this game has got, 4.5, 5.5, Just because it;s not a typical action shooting gallery does not mean it is rubbish, Zombiu is great, You just need to get used to it.
  41. Nov 18, 2012
    10
    This game does an amazing use of the gamepad and has the potential to bring back the core of the horror games. With time, zombies got overused and couldn't keep their true meaning, of scaring people. ZombiU may not have the most awesome graphics, but if you care that much about it, you're not a hardcore gamer, that will try to beat a game where you don't have that "autosave" every 5 seconds and will have to really give a good effort to make it through. Expand
  42. Nov 18, 2012
    9
    How in the world this game got a few bad reveiws I will never know!!! The game is fantastic its not like every other zombie game on the market thank goodness!!!!! It stands alone, a truly fun and unique gaming experience!!! Dont let a few false reveiws ruin a truly extraordinary gaining experience for YOU!!!!!!! think for yourself don't let others decide for you!!! if you want a great game its here waiiting 4 you!!!!!! Expand
  43. Nov 18, 2012
    10
    Essentially, the game is really fun, challenging, and scary. However, those who want something more action oriented, go somewhere else.

    This is a SURVIVAL HORROR title. And it does that very well in my opinion. While the combat can be a bit repetitive, and the visuals aren't as nice to look at as I had hoped, (Hence, I marked it down a little) the game still provides a good time and a
    decent challenge. A few bugs here and there that I'm confident can be ironed out (and those gameplay issues that can't) are all I see wrong with the game. Add a compelling multiplayer experience to enjoy with friends and you have a very fun game for the Wii U launch, though it isn't for everyone. Expand
  44. Nov 18, 2012
    9
    After waiting in line at walmart for 6 hours to pick up the wii u on release, this was my first game purchase. I eagerly rushed up to set up the new console and fire up this game. I only played about an hour into the game so please keep that in mind when considering my review. The game looks gorgeous!! It looks like a next generation title. The atmosphere is extremely creepy to the point where it was scary playing late at night by myself. My initial impression was the wii u gamepad felt a little awkward to use at first but it achieves a new feeling in gaming. I wanted to put this out there because I read some really bad reviews and I don't really agree with them. It is definitely not a game for children as you smash the heads in of zombie corpses. The game makes really good use of the wii u game pad and the sonar tool will drive you crazy when you see targets and realize they are only rats running around. I thought a group of zombies was rushing up the hall and it turned out to be some rats. The game did make the hair on my neck stand a few times. I cant wait till my kids go to bed to play some more tonight. Expand
  45. Nov 18, 2012
    9
    I am seeing quite a few trolls trying to bash this game when they probably haven't even played it, but that isn't all of the negative reviews. Reviews like IGNs were geared towards reviewing it as an action title, which it is not. This is a pure survival horror title and is by no means ugly, if you enjoy the tension of running and hiding like you would in real life you will enjoy this. If you like to be an invincible action star that is immune running and gunning through a zombie horde this game is not for you and you should move along. I am thoroughly enjoying it and am headed back to play it right now. Expand
  46. Nov 18, 2012
    9
    4.5? 6.3? WHAT? This game is great, it accomplishes exactly what it set out to. To be a survival horror game. If you don't like Survival Horror, then steer clear. If you do, then ZombiU is a no-BRAIN-er. The only gripe I have with the game, and it's a minor one. Is that alot of the textures are pretty low-res.
  47. Nov 18, 2012
    10
    I'm enjoying all the bull$hit reviews from people who clearly don't have wii U systems let alone have Zombie U to play. Stop the foolish regurgitation of review sites comments without actually playing it. The Game is great, and haters gonna hate. nuff said
  48. Nov 18, 2012
    9
    honestly I don't know why this game got those weak reviews, almost did not get this game. I am glad I did not listen to them. this game is not perfect but I love the tension. I hope they improve on a lot of the elements introduced in this game in zombie u 2.
  49. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    Expected a survival horror game and got survival horror game.
    One of the best and most original Launchgames in this century. Its not a blunder like Resident Evil 6 focusing on Action and cutscenes .
    Its not a Left 4 Dead where hundreds of Zombies attack you and you have more Ammo than the American Army.
    Is an real oldschool game where your sources are limited.
  50. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    One of the better Launchgames for The Wii U.
    Scary as ****
    Harder than steel, more addictive than Meth. Its more Survival than watching bear grylls eating centipedes.
    Enjoy ing the game so far and glad that i bought it.
  51. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    I was suspicious against the Wii Pad and ZombiU.
    I thought it would end like an not usefull gimmick but holy **** the Gamepad is realy adding immersion to the gameplay.
    Searching for items on the Pad as fast as possible and looking with fear on the televions for Zombies is just great.
    The gameplay is great and the graphics ( for a luanch title supporting native FullHd) impressive.

    Sound effects are good the only thing negative are the loadingtimes and backtracing.
    Expand
  52. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    You like hard games?
    You like unforgettable games?
    You like games that will haunt you in your dreams?
    ZombiU is one of this games. Brutally hard, it will not forget one mistake you do.
  53. Nov 19, 2012
    9
    Do not be fooled by the 1st person view, the guns and the zombis - this is *not* a shooter. It is a tactical survival horror. Slow paced, dark, difficult and unforgiving. That pretty much sold it to me right away - no hand holding, not instant re-spawns. Its nice to play a game that makes you work at being good for once! Combat can get a bit stale at times but it doesn't really detract from the overall survival-horror aspect.

    RE: smellymetal (and others) who complain that "My gosh these people who like the game have new accounts, clearly this means they are fake!" - Yeah, I'm sure this happens, check out some of those zero score "reviews" if you want some examples. I enjoyed playing it, I enjoyed it enough to give it a 9. However I doubt very much if the people giving it zero are being remotely objective, do you? However 5 critic reviews give it 8 or 9 out of 10, why is my liking it so unrealistic?
    Expand
  54. Jan 20, 2013
    9
    ZombiU won't be for everyone, but that doesn't mean it's a bad game. It is pure survival horror, something that I missed within these past few years. I enjoyed every ounce of gameplay of the 15 hours that I poured in. One bite and you're gone, n ifs and or buts about it. If you need to grab something out of your inventory and you have a horde of zombies on you, the game will NOT pause, which in turn is a good thing and makes things tense. The world is set up sort of like "The Darness" or somewhat like "Bioshock". The Safehouse acts like a hub and from there you can either walk to each connected place or fast travel (given that you unlocked a manhole cover in that area) to each location. There will be certainly back traveling for doors you need to go back and unlock, looking for more ammo (yes, ammo is scarce), or looking for other player's zombies for their loot. While the game doesn't have any online multiplayer components, it does allow other people to infect your world, where they previously died and if you kill them, you'll get whatever loot they had in their backpack at that time. You can leave messages for others on virtually any wall or floor, to give people hints, warn them or trick them. Leaderboards are also posted for people's best survival character's score. Your score resets when your survivor dies, which in turn you start a new survivor and you get a chance to go get your loot back from yourself. There is also a "Survival Mode", which basically and bluntly, if you die (even at the end of the game), it's game over, period. Graphics are quite good and I have no complaints with them. Certain glitches may appear with zombie's heads turning kind of oddly, but other than that, the atmosphere is so surreal, that it really gives the impression that this world as we know it, is dead. It'll take you in some pretty unnerving places that will cause you to really take your time and keep watching your back. The sound is pretty outstanding, if not a little low in certain spots. You'll hear people screaming around you in houses, garbage being tipped over, crows, rain and thunder, voices all around you, growls. I did have a few lock ups/freezes (3 in fact) during my play time. One glitch happened when I was sliding through an opening, and it locked up, couldn't do nothing. Two others were pure lockups upon loading a section or in the middle of killing a zombie. In closing, I can recommend this game to any WiiU owner from now and probably until the end of the WiiU's life cycle. It is THAT good. Expand
  55. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    You know why the Metacritic user review sucks? Because people who didnt play the game give 0/10 . So the only possibility to get the score right again is to give a 10/10. The game isnt a 10/10 because there a few problems in ZombiU. Like the Backtracing and the Meleecombat and the Loadingscreens. I can live with this 3 negative points beecause the atmosphere and the difficulty of this game give a huge advantage ov every other self claimed survival game out there.
    Playing Survival Horror for a long time its the first game since Amnesia who really suprises me.
    The setting is new and fresh, the atmosphere is dense and the sound is great.
    Zombies are really dangerous when attacking in groups of 2-6 and the only possibility is to kill them or avaiding them.
    So its a good Launch game for a new console and a good first impression for an new Ip.
    Normally i would give this game a 8/10 but because of the kids who bomb reviews of games they dont like i give a 10/10
    Expand
  56. Nov 19, 2012
    9
    Buying this and New Super Mario Brothers U for launch ( Nintendoland was already in my premium pack ) and its quite good.
    Running through the devastated London is great and the atmosphere is so dense its awesome.
    The zombies are a real threat for the players and the gameplay is challanging.
    I like survival games so its not a big issue for me that the melee combat is slightly repetitive
    and the backtracing.

    So i give this game a 9/10
    Expand
  57. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    In a generation that is saturated by action games, Zombie U is getting the cold shoulder. "Ugly graphics, claustrophobic areas, limited ammo, 1 bite your dead" is one of this game main complaints. That would be true if Zombie U was a action game...BUT IT'S NOT. Zombie U is a green mushroom for the survival horror genre that's dying thanks to capcom & ignorant casual gamers. Survival horror games are supposed to be: 1) ugly looking environment, 2) limited ammo (survival, duh), using your brains instead of brawn( your just 1 weakling against many viral enemies. 3) feeling helpless. Melee attack animations can get tiring, but when your desperate trying to get the zombie of your back, you'll forget that. This game delivers for what resident evil 1-4 fans Have been claiming for. I suggest go watch a few playthrough videos & see it for yourself, but NOTE: if your expecting call of duty zombie, you'll be disappointed but sorry to tell you IT'S AN SURVIVAL HORROR GAME not an ACTION GAME Expand
  58. Nov 19, 2012
    9
    Oh my God, there's an entire horde on the other side of this fence. Only 10 bullets left in my pistol? At least I've got two flares. Should've saved a molotov on that last group, though. Equip my flares, a health pack, and open the gate.

    5 crows and one zombie. What was I so worried about?

    ZombiU is not a great action game, I'll say that up front. However, this is completely
    unimportant to the experience as a whole. ZombiU capitalizes on making the player feel vulnerable; the tension of knowing that death is potentially around every corner. Most of the time the zombies will lunge and scratch at you, but if just one of them can get their jaws on your flesh, BAM. You're infected.

    The game design harkens to the early days of survival horror; ammo is hard to find, health is hard to find, and the zombies need a serious beating from your cricket bat before they quiet down. The graphics are nothing mind-blowing, but they do run smoothly and look great. The sound design is one of my favorite parts; the squish and thud of hitting a zombie with a bat, and the thinly spread music which always makes me feel like there are 10 zombies that are coming for me even though I can see both of the ones in the area.

    Atmosphere is honestly ZombiU's greatest achievement, and is a refreshing experience for a long-time Survival Horror fan that had nearly given up on console games in the genre.
    Expand
  59. Nov 19, 2012
    9
    I'm opening with my closing statement: If you want a game that forces you to think about how to handle a situation instead of run and gun, this game is for you. If you don't want a game that challenges your wit and cunning, steer clear. This rogue-like gem is a must have for true survival horror fans.

    ZombieU is one of the WiiU's most promising launch titles. A step away from the sea of
    action horror games flooding mainstream gaming, ZombieU brings us back to the old days of Resident Evil-esque survival horror. Ammo conservation and knowing when to sneak rather than confront an enemy is key!

    I can imagine some players getting frustrated with the Normal level of difficulty, but I've sorely missed unforgiving games that make you value every ounce of life you have. This is a must have for fans of Dark Souls/Demon Souls and oldschool difficulty.

    Two things they could have done better and one thing I was on the fence about:

    Include some kind of local multiplayer component. Only one person would be able to manage the pad/inventory/map instructions, but split screen could easily allow you to equip a companion to help you along.

    Offer a sandbox mode for both multiplayer and local co-op. London is a huge place and they could easily expand the game into a "last as long as you can" session. They have a survival mode currently, which is brilliant, but I believe it still follows the campaign.

    I'm on the fence about how death is done. Sometimes, you die and it's really frustrating. You spawn as a new survivor only to have to back track to your former location, hopefully kill your former self, and carry on. Sometimes your lack of gear snowballs into a bigger problem; if you don't manage to kill your old self you will lose out on that super sweet gun you just looted until you happen to find another one. This can be problematic in situations where the next area is chalk full of zombies and you could have really used that extra firepower. I'm on the fence because I believe this is a necessary punishment for not being more careful the first time around. Ultimately, I would rather have it this way than be handed another super shiny gun immediately.

    Regardless, this is a must have title. I just really, really hope the would be sequel doesn't get dumbed down- there's "Chicken" difficulty for that!

    Thanks for reading. I hope you enjoy it as much as I do.
    Expand
  60. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    This is an amazing survival game. Allot of critics and lesser-minded folk seem to think repetitive things make a game terrible. Sadly, these folks must not enjoy FPS games, halo, CoD, or assassins creed being that they are all extremely repetitive. Dont miss out on great games like these, and zombiU because of trolls.

    This game very closely resembles Dark Souls in just about every way
    (including the backtracking, bonfires = safe rooms, the way combat works etc is very unforgiving. Expand
  61. Nov 20, 2012
    9
    After playing for close to 10 hours, I am now in love with this game. For someone looking for an action shooter, this is not your game. This is a game of strategy, patience, exploration, and lots of crying.
    My first death was the hardest. Not only did I scream in horror as I tried to pull out a Molotov. I also continued screaming when I spawned in the safehouse and realized my waking
    there had triggered an event. No supplies, I died quickly and screamed again, realizing that all my gear on my first character had just disappeared. While I think this game mechanic works most of the time, (the whole double death equals a disappearing zombie and loss of all items on said zombie), this instance seems an unfair part. If i could have waited to trigger the event, I could have gotten my gear. After the loss, It took me a while to build my gear up. I had to strategize. I had to know when to run and when to kill. I learned the hard way how important the locker is. If your locker has a few flares and molotovs, retrieval of gear is always much more successful.
    My biggest gripe is multiplayer. The zombie king thing is nice, but why no option to play against the computer? I can't always convince the wife to play king for me and playing solo would be nice.  Why no 2 players in the king of the zombies arena? I think a multiplayer patch that supports 2 screens would be amazing.

    Another annoying bit is the lack of melee weapon variation and / or upgrading. It seems a simple thing to add. The Crickett bat does get old, and it never gets more powerful. Luckily, after you make it to Buckingham, weapon variety expands on the projectile front.

    Another strange bit is the insistance that the touch screen be used. For instance, when scanning, why can't I just use a button, like Y, to analize or hack?  Reaching off the joystick to tap the screen is awkward and arbitrary, as NONE of the other buttons are used during scanning.Yes, they are trying to make use of all the wii u's gadgets, but sometimes a button is still easier, especially when the alternative is just a button on the screen.

    Overall, best launch game by far. I can't stop playing it to even touch Mario or cod for more than a few minutes each. The shortcomings are so obvious, it makes me wonder if they were brought up but pushed aside due to ubisofts corporate structure. This is definitely a buy. If you get frustrated with the difficulty level, set it to chicken mode, which is pretty much 'normal' when you compare it to the standard difficulty.
    Expand
  62. Nov 21, 2012
    9
    Amazing use of the Gamepad, sometimes it's broken, but that's the point. So hard, maybe the hardest I ever played in the last years. Just remember this isn't a normal first person shooter. It's a tactical survival horror. The gameplay it's the best part, maybe this a real survival horror, many zombies made me jump from my chair, specially when I was playing at night. Ubisoft did a great work making this game, because it's really haunted. When you die, you restart with a different character, and the last one you controlled is now chasing you. Great atmosphere. But sometimes is very slow and graphically, is very weak. But that's a good point, too. Just because the zombies look so horrible. A must-have for the Wii U. Expand
  63. Nov 20, 2012
    9
    This really is a very good game. I was skeptical at first because for whatever reason I thought it might be like Red Steel; it's not. The most important thing to know is that this is a survival horror. This is not a run and gun FPS.. The game does an excellent job of creating a very scary and "edge of your seat" experience. It really sucks to die in this game; which is great because it makes you care. The scavenging and survival aspect of this game is what makes it shine. There aren't enough games that actually make you feel like you are in danger and must forage for anything that might be of use. Some zombie games are good even if they are just built around a "run and gun, kill as many as you can" concept, but that ultimately provides for a much shallower experience than what is offered in ZombiU. Sometimes mindlessly killing zombies may be what you want, but if you feel like a change and the idea of a true survival horror zombie game appeals to you, you should buy this game. Expand
  64. Nov 21, 2012
    10
    I am about 7 hours into the game, on my 5th survivor and I have to say how much I am enjoying this game. Its super hard, you will die if you get careless, and the zombies are really great. The only thing I would gripe about are when the event is scripted to add more zombies than there otherwise would be, but it adds to the excitement and gives momentary bursts of action will generally result in my starting a new survivor!

    A worthy purchase for anyone who can actually remember what survival horror is.
    Expand
  65. Nov 22, 2012
    10
    Maybe it's a misunderstanding, maybe times have changed? What ever it is it makes me sad to see that the fruit of Ubisoft's labour has been tarnished by gamers who have not given this game a chance to let it's survival horror elements permeate through them.

    It has been mentioned numerous times already in countless reviews that gamers expected an 'action shooter' title or 'CoD' like
    experience. Well, I'm absolutely glad to say that survival horror is back, and no such game mechanics have found their way into this brilliant piece of software.

    ZombiU's greatest achievement is by far evoking fear through a fantastic use of atmospheric sound and level design. While elements of the game mechanics may appear to be broken, they do nothing to cripple the gaming experience, and boy, it's been a long time since a game has provided that.

    I'm a bit of an old time gamer - right back from the days of the Spectrum ZX, and in all the time I have been playing great titles, this is actually the first time where it's culminated in a true experience of fear. Many games (and movies) have tried, and achieved a few scares, somewhat cheap ones, but ZombiU isn't cheap and it takes that emotion and plants that element right in the centre of the cerebral core.

    The game doesn't have state of the art graphics, there are technical flaws, there are even bugs that can stop the game in it's track (Ubisoft, please fix these in a patch) but despite these issues, and that's what they are - ISSUES, there is still something very special here, and any gamer from any platform worth their salt should recognise that. We should celebrate this game, perhaps I personally do more so because I adore the genre, film or game, and I'm very happy it has divided opinion because this will only draw attention to what is undoubtably going to have a cult following.

    In a day and age where we're all told what to like, what is good or bad, trust game reviews like the word of god, it's good to see not all consumers are brainless zombies themselves, that they take the punt beyond what a journalist would say and discover the experience for themselves. It pains me to think there will be people who will not give this game the time of day just because they read or watched a video review - and I know full well if only they'd given it a chance they would have discovered something that may have opened up their gaming world just a little bit more.

    If I was to review this game I would have marked it an 8.5, but due to some of the backlash from what are obviously fake reviews I'm showing some love and support by giving it a full 10.

    In an age of mindless churned out template titles that strangulate the industry, it good to some companies take a risk to set themselves apart, Ubisoft are magnificent French beauties for having the guts to change direction on a project that ultimately resulted in what will be a very successful game changer. And the fact that the grandfather of all gaming companies is with them on the ride makes it all the more sweet. And if anyone from Ubisoft or Nintendo read this, please know, I for one think you should be very proud.

    My final thoughts are on the fear of creative risk and pandering to what people think they want. Let me tell you, people (gamers in particular) as a mass are idiots - they don't have a clue what they want to play and it's why everything is stagnating. Like magpies they look at something and say "I want that!" pointing, grasping - and what they get over and over is diluted with every passing. They think they want it, because they enjoyed it the first time, when it was new. Then every experience feels old, been there and done that - the only way to progress is by making it look better or flashier, pump in production values. The hook isn't that, it's fresh ideas, and without them the industry will flounder. This is why it's important to take risks and it's also why Nintendo for me puts it's ethos at heart with a business sense - rather than milk a cash cow.

    What I'm trying to iterate here is ZombiU is a very important title in driving the industry forward, and although it's not perfect, it's certainly very good despite the flaws. And that my dear gamers is a testament to the creatives behind this game.
    Expand
  66. Nov 23, 2012
    10
    This is a survival game with an extra hard difficulty level. If you are not good at surviving in games, chances are you will not like this game. However, if you enjoy the challenge of surviving insurmountable odds where one mistake can end your entire game...this is the game for you. decent graphics, excellent lighting. Probably the best game I've played this year. people that suck at gaming will more than likely hate this game. Expand
  67. Nov 23, 2012
    9
    I'm just going to say it... Hands down the BEST SURVIVAL HORROR I'VE EVER PLAYED!I had pre-ordered ZombiU after seeing gameplay footage and demos, Needless to say, I was litle put off by the initial reviews it was receiving, It was too late, I had already purchased the game.

    I finally got a chance to sit down with ZombiU last night and was floored by how personal it feels. I'm a horror
    movie fan, an english speaking one, but I've turned to Foreign horror to receive my thrills, as it seems that Hollywood lacks any kind of imagination. I've found that Foreign movies have retained the creepy atmospheric tension that there hollywood counterparts have traded for T 'n A long ago. This is exactly what Ubisoft has Done with ZombiU. I fondly remember what I consider as the scariest moment in video games for me As the part in RE:1 where you're strolling down the halls and out of nowhere "SMASH" beast dogs come flying through the window. I was 11 or 12 years old when that game was released and that feeling has remained with me until last nights session of ZombiU. If you were interested in this game but put off by the negatives reviews, you need to reconsider.

    The only negative comments I can make about this game are as follows: 1) Nothing but a cricket bat for melee
    2) inability to pick up whatevr you want and bash a zombies face in.

    If you like tense/freaky or just generally being creeped out, pick this up, turn off the lights smoke something fun and play.
    Expand
  68. Nov 25, 2012
    10
    A return to Survival Horror and it seems that certain sites found fit to give it a negative review for being an actual survival horror game rather than another action shooter. Great atmosphere, nice use of the controller, real danger and challenge presented to the player. More of this and less of what the RE series has become please.
  69. Nov 26, 2012
    10
    This game blows my mind with how good it is. I played this back and forth with my girlfriend for hours just elated with how much fun we were both having. The zombies are tough and take rational thought to defeat rather than shoot-em-up style mechanics. The game often rewards patience. 90% of the widgets that the controller utilizes to enhance the game feel engaging and useful. However, I found the removal of barricades to be lazy and not well thought out. They could have done better on that one. But seriously, if that is the ONLY gripe I can muster after hours of game play... all that I can say is, try it for yourself. I know you will find this as pleasing an experience as I did. Expand
  70. Nov 26, 2012
    10
    Damn that was really unique, probably due to the use of the new nintendo tablet, but quite the perfect use. A one in a videogamer's life experience (and those are quite rare nowadays). Are you gamer ? ... Well then don't miss it !
  71. Nov 30, 2012
    10
    I still don't see why a few outlets gave this game such negative reviews, fans of survival horror this is the game you have been waiting for. I personaly havent experienced this kind of enjoyment for a game since the first devil may cry. the only critical thing i would say is i feel the bat should be more effective but then it probably would be too easy if they changed that.
  72. Nov 30, 2012
    9
    This game is pretty good. im glad i picked it up. its a modern day resident evil 2 minus the crappy walking... this is in my top five of games, i truly believe it gets bad reviews because its hard, and not an easy zergfest. they dont hold your hand through it like most games anymore. id say its for hardcore gamers
  73. Dec 1, 2012
    9
    First things first - I singed up with Metacritic just to put forward my dismay at the unfair reviews this title has received. Don't listen to the unusually wayward wafflings of some those big American sites. ZombiU is a more than solid wii u launch title.
    If such a thing is possible in the world of a zombi apocalypse, this game is a breath of fresh air. Dark, gritty and very real, it
    makes use of impressive lighting effects and eerie audio detail to create a truly tense, gripping atmosphere. No balls out, 200 round per second mayhem here - at least nothing even close to it until the end - ZombiU is all about picking your battles, scavenging for every last scrap of ammo and, more than just occassionally, resorting to the nearest blunt instrument in a final frantic attempt to save your own skin.
    Moreoever, playing ZombiU feels like a fresh and new experience, almost - dare we say it - next gen. Pay no heed to those who throw around words like 'gimmicky' when referring to ZombiU's use of the gamepad. For the most part it works. Scrambling though your inventory live or fumbling to hack a door lock as the monsters approach on the other screen is a new, often exciting experience and scanning for objects that you would otherwise miss the in the shadowy back streets of London is genuinely useful. Occasionally, ZombiU will throw in a tablet mini game that feels a little unnecessary or 'gimmicky'. Occasionally.
    Quite why ZombiU has received anything other than A star reviews is beyond me. Some may claim that the game could look a little better, produced as it is on the very latest home console hardware money can buy. Such comments are fair, but visually this game is all about light and shade rather meticulous visual detail and the lighting effects in this game are VERY impressive. Some may also claim that the game is frustratingly difficult. That is the point. To create the kind of tension that ZombiU so often does, it is essential that the player feels the possibility of death lurking in every shadow and around every corner. And in death ZombiU brings it's final trick into play. Your character lives on infected, and you must hunt them down to reclaim the equipment and ammo you so desperately need. ZombiU will take you out countless times, but there is no feeling of pointless repetition. You will enjoy the challenge that follows.
    Nintendo took the decision to package this game with their new machine for a reason. Trust them. It's a purchase you won't regret.
    Expand
  74. Dec 1, 2012
    9
    Finally an outstanding zombie survival game and brings back old Resident Evil feel to new life. The multiplayer feature is great and I hope it expands I lovesurvival modes especially online. Art Style is nice, but Still needs an upgrade. The Wii U controller brings back zombies and I love inventory uses. This is next generation gaming.
  75. Dec 2, 2012
    9
    It would be difficult to offer any review for ZombiU without words like "intense", "atmospheric", or "terrifying." While this game rewards those who play with caution after your first handful of deaths, you'll get a sense for what works and what doesn't, and this will likely allow for a better flow, and a more enjoyable experience. The features that make this a "WiiU" game may take some getting used to, and most will find-- after they have become accustomed to managing your inventory while remaining vulnerable to attacks, for example-- that these features simply work and add to the gameplay experience. Scanning a room with your gamepad becomes second nature with time, and offers something that you've never been able to experience in a game before. In many ways, ZombiU may very well be more about what a player DOESN'T know as it is anything else. At first this can be a titch frustrating, as trying to figure out just how to use your weapons efficiently and effectively can lead to accidental deaths. The games refusal to hold your hand can land you into some tough spots and some early mistakes you make may be more due to your general cluelessness as a supposed Zombie Apocalypse survivor (read, "noob"), than it is to fair and challenging gameplay. But these moments will pass soon enough, if you give the game a chance. Over time you will become familiar with game and the element of the unknown will shift from frustrations to intrigue. "What's around that corner?" "Is that animal showing up on my radar a bird or a Zombie?" "What does a survivor have to do to get a working map around here!?" may all be questions that are asked repeatedly, while moody, understated music and solid graphics carry you along through an overall very enjoyable experience. In short, this game is a unique experience which is not without its faults or frustrations, though overall provides an intensely enjoyable thrill that can keep a player up at night either playing it, or for those who are more timid/easily scared, making it harder to sleep. If this is a sign of things to come for the WiiU, it's going to be a great ride. Expand
  76. Dec 3, 2012
    9
    I nearly cancelled my pre-order of the special zombi u console after reading the ign and gamespot reviews because they where so bad. But it was to late for me to cancel so I ended up having to get it. So I got and played and I don't understand what ign and gamespot where playing. Zombi u is invative and really brings back the tension in to the survival horror genre. If you where disappointed by the action focused resident evil 6 this year, zombi u is what you have been waiting! Expand
  77. Dec 3, 2012
    10
    This is a true survival horror game.
    Try the game for yourself and then decide if you like it. Don't let reviews make your mind up for you.
    Not since Resident Evil 2 on the PS1 have I felt that I have played a true scary zombie game, until now. The later incarnations of the RE series has turned it from the amazing survival horror it used to be, to an action based, guns blazing, Gears of
    War attempted clone.
    ZombiU actually makes you not want to use your gun for the fear of running out of ammunition.
    So you will find yourself actually avoiding Zombies and steering away from them as to not risk dying, and/or wasting precious ammo.
    The gamepad features are great, however, some may consider them to have flaws, depending on how you approach the game. For example, changing weapons, you have to select the particular weapon you want on the gamepad screen; changing your inventory items around, using med-kits and different items.
    Pros - touch screen interface, select the desired weapon/item with a simple press.
    Cons - have to look away from the TV screen to organise inventory to select specific items.

    I consider the cons of this a good thing, it adds to the suspence and forces you to prepare for situations before walking in blindly.
    If this was a real life situation and you had a backpack of limited goodies and weapons, you would actually have to stop and go through your stuff of collectiables the same way to find what you want.
    And yes, although this is just a video game and shouldn't be compared to a hypothetical situation in real life, it's "survival horror", and it's doing an amazing job of it.

    Graphics - Fantastic for current-generation, not quite Next-Gen worthy as it is a launch title. It has a dirty grainy look all over for atmospheric purposes which may be getting mistaken for "bad graphics" by some "critics."

    Controls - Typical First-person with some unique additions. Left Trigger to aim, Right Trigger to shoot. If you don't aim before you fire , your character will just "shove" for those close encounters when trying to push Zombies away from you.
    It plays quite different from a typical Call of Duty game, which are meant for a more cinematic experience/presentation and just all out action and fancy effects (yes, even the Zombie mode in Black Ops 2).

    Ubisoft did a great job and I commend them for their efforts on this. It's immersive, scary and definitely a worthwhile purchase for the Wii U.
    Expand
  78. Dec 4, 2012
    9
    People saying this is below 8 are crazy. Its survival horror and should be hard, dark, moody, scary, limited attack capabilities, etc. Its not an adventure or shooter or anything else. This is by far the best game of this genre in a long time.

    The graphics, while not AC3, BF3, and so one, are still great. The lighting is perfect. The grimy and dark textures fit the idea behind the game.
    Additionally, its a new IP on a new console. Ubisoft was taking a risk and couldn't go all out with a tens of millions of dollars in a budget. However, they still look fantastic in HD running at 720p at a stable framerate. If you're complaining about the graphics, then why are you on consoles. You obviously need to be on high-end PCs.

    The controls are perfect. The gamepad adds incredible options as well as a significant part of the complexity and unique balance in this survival horror where you can be killed without proper planning due to the time involved in using your backpack or limited weapons with quick access. Then you have integration with your friends. OMG this is awesome. Either the multiplayer (which basically is a shooter at this point) or that your friends dead survivors appear in your game, you'll love it.

    This game deserves to at least be in the 8.5 range and its easily a top5 game on WiiU right now. If you like a challenge, like to be scared or at least on the edge of your seat a lot, you need this game.
    Expand
  79. Dec 6, 2012
    10
    ZombiU. Much discrepancy has been had over this game. Either you love it or you hate it. I went in a bit skeptical due to some of the negative reviews I had seen of the game. I am very happy that I chose to purchase it however. This game is true survival horror.

    Those expecting a game like Resident evil 6 or dead space will be disappointed...as this is not a game in that same vein. This
    game is about slow, tense, careful planning and conserving...with occasional spikes of terror and a constant feeling of nervousness while playing.

    This game does NOT hold your hand. You will die, and you will die alot. Dark souls with zombies? You might not be too far off. The graphics are average, yet the world and setting that have been crafted here are top notch.

    The use of the gamepad really brings it home here, making the experience more tense and intuitive without making it feel very gimmicky.

    If more games are crafted like this, the WiiU has a bright future ahead of it indeed.

    9/10
    Expand
  80. Dec 7, 2012
    10
    As one of Wii U launch titles thing game delivers an experience unlike anything else on the market. 10 out of 10 this is the Wii U Killer app. You must play this game if you own a Wii U
  81. Dec 9, 2012
    10
    Very good survival game; thx ubi.
    This game isn't made for casual; difficulty level is high.
    En francais : excellent jeu pas fait pour les **** joueurs cependant; direction artistique de toute beauté a mon goût
  82. Aug 31, 2014
    10
    ZombiU is a very refreshing game, that deserves being praised a lot more than it was. Don't expect to be running around blasting zombies with a rocket launcher! No, you'll be slowly moving in dark corridors, checking every corner, and praying you won't run into a pack of zombies because you are almost out of ammo... There is a lot of tension, as the game is unforgiving and a small mistake can get you killed (and the death mechanics are really cool, putting high pressure in the recovery of your former self's gear). A really great game if you're up to a (scary) challenge! Expand
  83. Dec 11, 2012
    10
    survival horror is back
    Immersive and fresh reinstallment of the survival horror genre after it got killed by action shooters like resident evil 4 or dead space 2. This game can without a doubt be placed next to resident evil 2, silent hill 2 or dead space 1. Standing out gameplay instead of shooter action, story by atmosphere and gameplay like demon souls instead of hollywood on the rail
    cutscenes, innovative controls (prepper pad!!!!), slow paced hard and creepy horror with atmosphere.Love it or hate it. Expand
  84. Jan 15, 2013
    10
    ZombiU is a fantastic survival horror game. This is the first thing that should be taken note of when looking at the game. If you're going into the game expecting the casual shoot-fest you'd get in a game like Left 4 Dead or any other modern FPS, you're going to be severely shocked. The game is a complete revival of the survival horror genre of games, which has been sitting in disrepair ever since Resident Evil dropped it for a more action-oriented game focus. The game makes superb use of the Wii U's innovative gamepad, from the single player all the way to the multiplayer, which I feel is possibly one of the coolest concepts for a multiplayer game in a long, long time. If you love REAL horror games and you want to play a challenging zombie survival game, you will get just that with Zombi U. Expand
  85. Dec 31, 2012
    9
    Ignore what some of the idiotic "professional" reviews have said about this game, it's fantastic. It's not flawless, no game is, but it's a wonderful, true survival horror game. It's slow, methodical and extremely well done. Survival horror at its finest.
  86. Dec 27, 2012
    9
    ZombiU is an excellent game and deserves its place among survival horrors best. Although lacking some polishing and currently requires a patch for a few bugs, it is an enjoyable experience. The gamepad use adds to the immersion and challenge of the game. Graphics are good and you can't really judge them as most environments are poorly lit but the lighting is still superb. The gameplay is fun although some may find the common use of the cricket bat tedious but I found it realistic. There is a genuine sense of fear when a more than two zombies assault you at once. Expand
  87. Dec 30, 2012
    9
    ZombiU is the hard-core experience that the Wii U's launch has to offer. Nintendo claiming they want to provide for the hard-core--ZombiU is a difficult game which tests the abilities of the player. The difficulty heavily focuses on reaction-speed and the ability to multitask and plan ahead. A common complaint is that the melee combat with the cricket bat is forced--it honestly isn't if you are skilled and know how to use your weaponry well without being all gun-happy, remember this is not a run-and-gun first-person-shooter...this is a survival-horror.

    Logic doesn't apply well to this game, though if you're playing ZombiU for its plot and story, then you shouldn't be playing it at all. It's very simple, and the whole point of the game is to be bossed around whilst exploring and surviving--Ubisoft provided well.

    Only problem that I can find with the game that it is a bit buggy...though unless you're extremely unlucky, this won't cause any major game-breaking problems. ZombiU is a very tense and fun video game which can be enjoyed by anybody if they know what they're actually playing. A great multiplayer mode which allows for hours of gameplay outside of the main game...which only allows for two save slots, one being a special mode and not the actual main-game.

    How long will YOU survive?
    Expand
  88. Jan 7, 2013
    9
    I have 7 games for the Wii U: New Super Mario Bros. U, Nintendo Land, Sonic & All Stars Racing Transformed, Scribblenauts Unlimited, GameParty Champions (Don't ask, it was a gift), Assassins Creed III, and the one I keep coming back to (besides Assassins Creed II) ZombiU. There are many mixed feelings about this great title. Personally, I find this one of the best launch games there are for the Wii U. Several hate it because of its "horrible and ugly" graphics, and game changing bugs. Most of the 1990's games are the best and on the Top 100, but did they have fantastic graphics? No. Graphics are a big part of a game, but not the biggest factor to choosing a game to play. I actually think the graphics were fantastic for a game so early on in the Wii U's lifetime. The setting was so creepy, horrifying, and ugly that it made the game. An apocalypse is supposed to be ugly. I doubt when there are zombies you will go outside and say, "It's so pretty outside, what beautiful weather." Another thing people are complaining about is the use of the cricket bat. Well it isn't that bad. The use of gamepad, difficulty, and "heart-attack" moments complete this game. So pick up this game with your Wii U and you will be pleased for a while. I suggest that you are not 5 playing this game, or you will literally **** your pants. Survival-Horror. Expand
  89. Jan 9, 2013
    10
    One of the best games of the year. Its a zombie game that's actually scary to play. It makes even one or two zombies frightening, let alone a hoard. The sound/music is amazing and perfectly timed. The use of the Wii U pad feels natural. Its also very challenging which gives you an authentic zombie experience. People say the melee system gets repetitive but they probably didn't even find all the hidden weapons or loot for ammo because there are great weapons like the cross-bow where you can pick up your used arrows. Plenty of great weapons and ways to kill while still giving you a scary feeling. You also have the option to play this game with 1 life, meaning 1 life and your whole game is over. Up for a challenge?

    The worst part of the game is the story. I didn't feel it was too bad myself, but when you have many children who don't want to dig deeper at the story, its understandable. It doesn't tell you everything up front, and even then, what kind of story other than survival do you expect? There's also letters around the game that you could read and try figuring stuff out but I never read them. There's a story but I wont go deeper. Buy this game if you're into zombies and survival. Don't buy it if you rather play Borderlands.
    Expand
  90. Jan 10, 2013
    10
    I really loved the ZombiU experience.
    The gameplay was awesome, I really felt like i have to survive, and have been scared many times.
    The game was hard and addictive, each death is gonna make you scream.
    The graphisms were quite good and acceptable.

    ZombiU is a survival horror, not a FPS, If you prefer shoot zombies instead of hit them with a cricket bat, choose Call Of Duty Black Ops II.
  91. Jan 12, 2013
    10
    A very good and hard Survival Horror game with multiple endings, pretty intense and probably will scare the sh*t out of you, great controls and great use of the GamePad, definitely a must-have for the Wii U.
  92. Apr 27, 2013
    10
    This game, for me, is one of the few actual survival-horror titles to come out in the last few years. Not only did it instill a true sense of dread and tension but it made me cautious of my every move and think about every situation. One of my favourite games of 2012 and a game I still enjoy playing now. A real slice of terror instead of the copy and paste spam fests of other 'tripple A' games.
  93. Feb 28, 2013
    10
    being a survival horror game veteran, craving games of days gone past where I'm not playing boring Quick Time Event filled with generic set pieces and countless over the top action sequences (yes Capcom, I'm referring to you) I was extremely happy to find Zombie U ticked all the right boxes for me. Currently 26 hours in and enjoying it immensely atmosphere, challenging immersive gameplay, edge of the seat and pulse setting scares have had me playing way into the night. Ok so a few technical issues were found towards the latter part of the game (some basic collision detection proved amusing for 30 seconds whilst some zombie legs jiggled violently through a door) none of which though detracted from this amazing horror experience. I've seen them all and played them all and this is by far the closest thing you can get to zombie apocalypse experience truly terrifying and 100% satisfying. An essential Wii U purchase for fans of the genre. Don't be put off from low reviewers complaining about the cricket bat and lack of weapons. This is a mans game! Not Call of Duty where you march in with nukes strapped to your thighs and dance around like a camp butterfly recreating daft scenarios from Die Hard 4.0 this is survival at its finest Expand
  94. Mar 2, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Why ZombiU has recieved bad reviews- the world may never know. It isn't a game for everyone. And do not mistake it as your typical mindless-shooting, buns ablazing Call of Duty:Zombies-like first person horror shooter. ZombiU sets out to do 2 things- to scare the crap out of you, and to utilize the Wii U GamePad well. It succeeds at both. Since this is a Wii U game, I'll go over the Wii U Gamepad features first. Your primary tool in-game is a backpack (the BOB). It contains your inventory-you drag items you want to use to the top-when looking in the BOB's items menu, as well as a scanner (used to scan secret messages, tell you what items a zombie has, or are in a box or something), and as a map. The Wii U GamePad's touchscreen is used to turn on/off your flashlight (which can recharge automatically), as well as tapping it when breaking barriers or opening heavy objects (similar to button mashing scenes in videogames), and picking locks. In the assymetric local multiplayer mode, it is used, in a topdown view, to select where to place zombies on a map to attack the survivor(who has a Wii U Pro controller or Wiimote and Nunchuck, in a FPS view). When you are using most of these features (with the exceptions of multiplayer, turning your flashlight on/off, and the map), your TV is put in a third person view of everything in the room you are in, and at any moment, you could be attacked (which adds to the realism of this game-since in a real zombie attack, zombies are not going to stop persuing you just because you are looking in a box for food or ammo).

    The story- there isn't much of one. A new plague, part of 400 year old, long deceased scientist John Dee's black prophecy, that is of the 'Blight' spreading across London, has come true. The Blight is the zombie infection that has spread throughout London. You are one of the survivors of the Blight, who has been saved by the Prepper, a war veteran who is your helper throughout the game. The Prepper believes that there is 'no saving the world- no evacuation. No cure', and that one must just... survive. Throughout the game, you will also meet a scientist trying to make a cure to the blight, as well as the Ravens of Dee, a secret organization trying to help survivors and stop the Blight. Throughout the game, you may read (or rather hear what your character is reading) or hear recordings of letters of people who were trapped and about to be attacked (for example, a recording in the nursery), which are creepy, and sort of evil,in the sense that they show you the damage the Blight has caused the people of London, and make you angry at the zombies, but even more afraid of them.

    Now for the rest of the uniqueness of the game, and other info: The gritty, dirty streets of London gives it a post-apocalyptic atmosphere, and the music adds to the thrill. The gaming industry has been growing stale of truly scary survival horrors, and ZombiU is not only scary, but unique in the sense that when your character becomes Zombified, you play as a new survivor with 6 shots,a cricket bat and a flashlight, and have to find your last character, now zombified, kill it(as well as the zombie who zombified THAT one,and probably a couple more), and get your equipment back. Another thing that makes it unique is the fact that u have limited ammo, and have to scavenge supplies. This makes you rely primarily on your cricket bat. I have to agree with reviewers that this can get rather boring, with only one animation. If there were more animations, this would probably not get as stale.


    Apart from the regular story mode, there is Survival mode (the same story, but with only one life), and an assymetric PvP multiplayer mode, that, while i had personally been skeptical about at first, is actually rather fun. The person with the GamePad is the 'King of Zombies', who places Zombies around a map (this requires strategy- especially with the limitations of where you can put them, and the number of them you can have at a time), VS a survivor with a class of guns and equipment, as well as more guns and ammo scattered throughout the map, to pick up at any time. There are three multiplayer modes- Kill Box (the survivor killing as many Zombies as possible), Assault (essentially Domination with four flags- the first player to control all four flags wins), and Survival. These multiplayer modes are incredibly fun, and they show off another of the Wii U's features, assymetric gameplay. Overall, I find ZombiU to be a very good game. It is scary and uses the Wii U GamePad rather well. While it is not the most beautiful videogame, it's lighting effects are great, and the dirty,gritty setting and creepy,suspenseful music add to the thrills that make this an incredible comeback to the horror genre. The game really places you in a Zombie appocolypse, and has amazing ideas, that are implemented very well. So I'd say this game deserves an 8.5 at the very least.
    Expand
  95. Mar 13, 2013
    9
    This game Is a great Survival Horror game. It is very slow with great atmosphere. It is really good how one zombie can be a threat and get you. The gamepad features are really cool with 2 ways to control it, using the gyroscopic sensor or if you don't feel like moving it around you can use the right analog stick. The gamepad is used as a scanner and as your inventory which is really cool. There isnt a huge amount of content and the graphics are not that great. But the lighting system and the cool ways the gamepad is used make up for that. Is this a game for everyone no It is a game if you are a fan of TRUE SURVIVAL HORROR. A great way to tell if you will like this game is if you like the first 3 resident evil games. This game is slow paced survival horror and that is what I like about this game. Expand
  96. Mar 17, 2013
    10
    ZombiU is one of the greater zombie games developed. It has a more haunting and creepy atmosphere than most zombie games. I feel that Nintendo achieved this with the lack of zombies you encounter. Sure, there isn't one around every corner, but that sense of surprise when you do come across one of the undead only adds to the intensity of the game.
  97. Mar 29, 2013
    9
    So far, the best Wii U game to date. It has completely changed the survivor/zombie game dynamic since Left 4 Dead. L4D was all about pure survival against the herd. ZombiU is the Splinter Cell of zombie games. You need to sneak around, listen to the radio voice and avoid surprises. ZombiU utilizes the game pad extraordinarily, even incorporated it into the game itself with having the character holding one. My one and only complaint is that there are portions that seem repetitive, but Ubi managed to fix it in some areas by having different looking zombies.

    Are you wondering about playing it? Oh definitely. Buy it? Oh I highly recommend it.
    Expand
  98. Jun 25, 2013
    10
    These days it's hard to find a survival horror games. Sure there's still resident evil and stuff like that but they aren't really "scary" then came e3 2012 where ubisoft showed off their ambitious exclusive for wiiu. So how was the game? Amazing. It is survival horror at its finest. I'm willing to put this up with games like re4. Actually scratch that this is BETTER than re4. No Ashley Graham's whining no qte's just killing zombies. While this isn't the graphical showcase for the u since you can't see anything in the dark the presentation is this games strongpoint. Ubisoft paid tons of attention to detail and it shows. Zombies growl unsettlingly making you tap your radar which also picks up rats and crows so you may see a ton of rats on your radar and become pale. Your character makes whimper noises while using the backpack where there are zombies it's great. The gameplay is ok but nothing to special. It makes good use of the gameplay but the cb combat is clunky and unsatisfying although I don't imagine it being to satisfying during the apocalypse so ill let this one slide. Zombiu is a great action packed adventure that every wiiu owner should experience. Don't let this one pass you by. It rocks. Expand
  99. Aug 14, 2013
    10
    Que jogão! Obrigatório pra quem fã de games de terror (não tão assustador assim, mas te deixa muito apreensivo e te da VÁRIOS sustos). Foi o primeiro jogo que joguei no Wii U então ele que me apresentou e me apaixonou pelo Wii U. Não compre o jogo achando que vai jogar um "Left 4 Dead", pq não Você vai ter que economizar munição sempre que possível, você vai morrer muito, muitas vezes você tem que evitar os Zumbis e SEMPRE vai ter que pensar no que vai fazer. Expand
  100. Oct 31, 2013
    9
    If you plan on buying this game, know this: this is not a FPS, this is a first person survival horror game that has shooting in its gameplay.
    that being said, the game is just awesome. zombies are tough and you need some time to kill one. you are not supposed to run n' gun zombies like most fps games, and instead you have to be methodical, scanning your enviroments, finding supplies and
    advancing slowly.
    One mistake might cost you a survivor's life, and then you become a new survivor. You can even hunt down the old survivor (now a zombie) and kill him to get his items back. neat.
    one advice: don't listen to reviewers who say the game is too hard or boring. they are the ones playing this with the wrong expectations.
    and know this: if you get past the first confusing hour of the game, it becomes a unique experience, unlike any other in this generation.
    Expand
  101. Nov 27, 2012
    0
    This review contains spoilers. this game has a new way to survive and play,but shows the parts that are repeated and eliminate the fear and the actions is running out , the gamepad is fun at first but finishing the game is boring Collapse
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 70 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 70
  2. Negative: 1 out of 70
  1. Feb 1, 2013
    51
    It takes a couple of hours to fully realize that ZombiU – not an eerie game, but a rather eerily boring one – is a goner. I hope that Ubisoft will hack the head off this franchise before it turns into ZombiU 2 and starts biting people’s wallets.
  2. Jan 23, 2013
    86
    An intense experience. ZombiU delivers one of the most intense experiences in recent history. Moody, violent and suitably tough, it managed to keep me playing long into the night. [Jan 2013]
  3. Jan 16, 2013
    90
    For fans of the survival horror genre, ZombiU is filled to the brink with challenges and many hours of gameplay.