• Publisher: Ubisoft
  • Release Date: Nov 18, 2012
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 587 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 99 out of 587

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 18, 2012
    10
    This was one of nintendos main launch games and wanted this game to sell the Wii U, well Nintendo have achieved that ZombiU works great on the amazing gamepad and has a really adventures twang to the game this is the best game I've ever played you guys have got to get it!
  2. Nov 18, 2012
    10
    GameSpot gave this awesome a 45/100, but then they deleted the review. Yep. Anyway, ZombiU it's an awesome game not only because it's better than the new entries in the series that used to be the bomb in the Horror genre a decade ago ( Resident Evil and Silent Hill), but also because it's challenging, rewarding and it uses the GamePad in a great way. Get this. It's gold.
  3. Nov 18, 2012
    9
    How in the world this game got a few bad reveiws I will never know!!! The game is fantastic its not like every other zombie game on the market thank goodness!!!!! It stands alone, a truly fun and unique gaming experience!!! Dont let a few false reveiws ruin a truly extraordinary gaining experience for YOU!!!!!!! think for yourself don't let others decide for you!!! if you want a great game its here waiiting 4 you!!!!!! Expand
  4. Nov 18, 2012
    10
    I'm shocked by the reviews this game has got, 4.5, 5.5, Just because it;s not a typical action shooting gallery does not mean it is rubbish, Zombiu is great, You just need to get used to it.
  5. Nov 18, 2012
    10
    oh my god this is my first wii u game and its so good the graphics looks great and the sound effects so impressive i recommended this game for any wii u owner
  6. Nov 26, 2012
    10
    This game blows my mind with how good it is. I played this back and forth with my girlfriend for hours just elated with how much fun we were both having. The zombies are tough and take rational thought to defeat rather than shoot-em-up style mechanics. The game often rewards patience. 90% of the widgets that the controller utilizes to enhance the game feel engaging and useful. However, I found the removal of barricades to be lazy and not well thought out. They could have done better on that one. But seriously, if that is the ONLY gripe I can muster after hours of game play... all that I can say is, try it for yourself. I know you will find this as pleasing an experience as I did. Expand
  7. Nov 18, 2012
    10
    This game does an amazing use of the gamepad and has the potential to bring back the core of the horror games. With time, zombies got overused and couldn't keep their true meaning, of scaring people. ZombiU may not have the most awesome graphics, but if you care that much about it, you're not a hardcore gamer, that will try to beat a game where you don't have that "autosave" every 5 seconds and will have to really give a good effort to make it through. Expand
  8. Nov 18, 2012
    10
    Not sure what's up with all of these 0-3 reviews--come on now. I'll be giving it a 10 just to boost it from the trolls.

    The graphics are not great--that's its low point. They absolutely nailed the feel and atmosphere with the music, sounds, and locations. If you are a fan of survival horror, you'll certainly want to check this game out. I'm not saying it's a timeless masterpiece,
    but get out of here with those 0 scores. Expand
  9. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    First of all, I'm laughing at the multi-accounting casuals giving this game low ratings. They should stick to their Cowadoody and pseudo-horror games like Dead Space and RE6 and stay away from genuinely hardcore games like this. Anyways, this game is brutally hard; the zombies aren't one-hit kills any more, but they still present a huge threat. Regenerating health? You wish. Save points? Spare me. There's no reloading save points when **** hits the fan; you make do or die. This game is brutal. The game also takes ammo conservation up to eleven. Finding five handgun bullets is cause for celebration, and if you try to play this like Dead Space you'll find yourself having to spend most of your time beating zombies to death with a stick. Another surprisingly deep aspect is the Gamepad; everything, from switching weapons to picking locks, is handled on it, drawing your attention away from the TV and the horrible things trying to chew your face off. It racks up the tension, which brings me to another point: ZombiU is genuinely scary. In an era of gaming where games that claim to be scary aren't (RE6), this is suprising. The game has its downsides, though: the constant backtracking gets tedious after a while, and the multiplayer feels weak. Ultimately, though, this is one of those games where you'll decide whether or not you like it based on what you want out of it. If you're hoping for Kill Everything Ever: Zombie Edition, stick with RE6 and Dead Space; you'll hate everything about this game, from the slow-pacing to the punishing ammo conservation and the backtracking. This game is strictly for survivalists and true survival horror fanatics; it scary, gory, and doesn't make any effort to coddle the player. It's the antithesis to the endless casualized shooters and action-horror games made by other companies, and an ode to those who want a sadistic challenge. And here's to hoping that the inevitable sequels stay that way. Expand
  10. Nov 18, 2012
    10
    Hi, ZombieU is an awesome game, graphically good with a setting and atmosphere very successful survival horror. As for the multiplayer is the most original.
  11. Nov 18, 2012
    9
    I am seeing quite a few trolls trying to bash this game when they probably haven't even played it, but that isn't all of the negative reviews. Reviews like IGNs were geared towards reviewing it as an action title, which it is not. This is a pure survival horror title and is by no means ugly, if you enjoy the tension of running and hiding like you would in real life you will enjoy this. If you like to be an invincible action star that is immune running and gunning through a zombie horde this game is not for you and you should move along. I am thoroughly enjoying it and am headed back to play it right now. Expand
  12. Nov 18, 2012
    9
    4.5? 6.3? WHAT? This game is great, it accomplishes exactly what it set out to. To be a survival horror game. If you don't like Survival Horror, then steer clear. If you do, then ZombiU is a no-BRAIN-er. The only gripe I have with the game, and it's a minor one. Is that alot of the textures are pretty low-res.
  13. POE
    Nov 18, 2012
    10
    This game is great. It has the best story so far on a wii u game, and awesome use of the control pad. The grafics are it´s low point, maybe with more time Ubisoft could have done a better job on this aspect.
  14. Nov 18, 2012
    9
    After waiting in line at walmart for 6 hours to pick up the wii u on release, this was my first game purchase. I eagerly rushed up to set up the new console and fire up this game. I only played about an hour into the game so please keep that in mind when considering my review. The game looks gorgeous!! It looks like a next generation title. The atmosphere is extremely creepy to the point where it was scary playing late at night by myself. My initial impression was the wii u gamepad felt a little awkward to use at first but it achieves a new feeling in gaming. I wanted to put this out there because I read some really bad reviews and I don't really agree with them. It is definitely not a game for children as you smash the heads in of zombie corpses. The game makes really good use of the wii u game pad and the sonar tool will drive you crazy when you see targets and realize they are only rats running around. I thought a group of zombies was rushing up the hall and it turned out to be some rats. The game did make the hair on my neck stand a few times. I cant wait till my kids go to bed to play some more tonight. Expand
  15. Nov 18, 2012
    9
    honestly I don't know why this game got those weak reviews, almost did not get this game. I am glad I did not listen to them. this game is not perfect but I love the tension. I hope they improve on a lot of the elements introduced in this game in zombie u 2.
  16. Nov 19, 2012
    9
    Buying this and New Super Mario Brothers U for launch ( Nintendoland was already in my premium pack ) and its quite good.
    Running through the devastated London is great and the atmosphere is so dense its awesome.
    The zombies are a real threat for the players and the gameplay is challanging.
    I like survival games so its not a big issue for me that the melee combat is slightly repetitive
    and the backtracing.

    So i give this game a 9/10
    Expand
  17. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    You know why the Metacritic user review sucks? Because people who didnt play the game give 0/10 . So the only possibility to get the score right again is to give a 10/10. The game isnt a 10/10 because there a few problems in ZombiU. Like the Backtracing and the Meleecombat and the Loadingscreens. I can live with this 3 negative points beecause the atmosphere and the difficulty of this game give a huge advantage ov every other self claimed survival game out there.
    Playing Survival Horror for a long time its the first game since Amnesia who really suprises me.
    The setting is new and fresh, the atmosphere is dense and the sound is great.
    Zombies are really dangerous when attacking in groups of 2-6 and the only possibility is to kill them or avaiding them.
    So its a good Launch game for a new console and a good first impression for an new Ip.
    Normally i would give this game a 8/10 but because of the kids who bomb reviews of games they dont like i give a 10/10
    Expand
  18. Nov 18, 2012
    10
    I see no reason to criticize this game for being exactly what it was advertised and hyped up to be. You get a survival horror that pushes you to the limits, but hey, that's what you do when you survive. You get pushed to the limits to survive. The graphics are pretty unique. Nothing impressive, but unique nonetheless. Gameplay great. If you don't like to be limited and like to have the upper hand constantly, this game isn't for you. Collapse
  19. Nov 18, 2012
    10
    Essentially, the game is really fun, challenging, and scary. However, those who want something more action oriented, go somewhere else.

    This is a SURVIVAL HORROR title. And it does that very well in my opinion. While the combat can be a bit repetitive, and the visuals aren't as nice to look at as I had hoped, (Hence, I marked it down a little) the game still provides a good time and a
    decent challenge. A few bugs here and there that I'm confident can be ironed out (and those gameplay issues that can't) are all I see wrong with the game. Add a compelling multiplayer experience to enjoy with friends and you have a very fun game for the Wii U launch, though it isn't for everyone. Expand
  20. Nov 18, 2012
    10
    I'm enjoying all the bull$hit reviews from people who clearly don't have wii U systems let alone have Zombie U to play. Stop the foolish regurgitation of review sites comments without actually playing it. The Game is great, and haters gonna hate. nuff said
  21. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    This is an amazing survival game. Allot of critics and lesser-minded folk seem to think repetitive things make a game terrible. Sadly, these folks must not enjoy FPS games, halo, CoD, or assassins creed being that they are all extremely repetitive. Dont miss out on great games like these, and zombiU because of trolls.

    This game very closely resembles Dark Souls in just about every way
    (including the backtracking, bonfires = safe rooms, the way combat works etc is very unforgiving. Expand
  22. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    Expected a survival horror game and got survival horror game.
    One of the best and most original Launchgames in this century. Its not a blunder like Resident Evil 6 focusing on Action and cutscenes .
    Its not a Left 4 Dead where hundreds of Zombies attack you and you have more Ammo than the American Army.
    Is an real oldschool game where your sources are limited.
  23. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    One of the better Launchgames for The Wii U.
    Scary as ****
    Harder than steel, more addictive than Meth. Its more Survival than watching bear grylls eating centipedes.
    Enjoy ing the game so far and glad that i bought it.
  24. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    I was suspicious against the Wii Pad and ZombiU.
    I thought it would end like an not usefull gimmick but holy **** the Gamepad is realy adding immersion to the gameplay.
    Searching for items on the Pad as fast as possible and looking with fear on the televions for Zombies is just great.
    The gameplay is great and the graphics ( for a luanch title supporting native FullHd) impressive.

    Sound effects are good the only thing negative are the loadingtimes and backtracing.
    Expand
  25. Nov 26, 2012
    10
    Damn that was really unique, probably due to the use of the new nintendo tablet, but quite the perfect use. A one in a videogamer's life experience (and those are quite rare nowadays). Are you gamer ? ... Well then don't miss it !
  26. Nov 19, 2012
    9
    Along with resident evil revelations I would concider this one of the only true survival horror games to still exist in this modern day of casual games and faceroll uninteresting ideas. This game is tough, infact IGN gave the game a bad review just because of how terrible the reviewer playing was, this game is scary at times and the atmosphere is amazing! Play this game in the dark!
  27. Dec 27, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. An excellent breath of life to survival horror. The hard core aspect of your character actually dying adds to it. Even if you're about to die from a bite the game will auto save so quickly that you won't be able to quit out before it's done. Don't fight it since that's probably what's caused people to have problems with the save functions. If you're dead you're dead and there isn't anything you can do about it. The Story is solid. However, there seems parts of it that should have been expanded on. Angles are frequently referenced in reference to Dee, but you never see one. The Opening credits claim the "alchemy of wealth from air" is the cause of the plague, but that's never explained. One character blames Science and Doctors, but if the plague were engineered why were their plague victims in Dee's day before genetically engineered viruses. At another point the game references "Vultures" have raided the "Ravens" safe houses. I thought that meant that I was going to encounter The Ravens Antithesis, but it never expands on that point ether. It never fully addresses the question of "Why is the Plague Happening?". In part, that makes this seem more real since you're player is just a random civilian, but it does leave you wanting more. Hopefully their is a Prequel and Sequel to explain and expand.

    The Multiplayer is also unique. The only setting I like is CTF. The other settings are just a play until the person playing as zombies kills the survivor. I like CTF because I have a goal as the survivor, and the other settings are lacking in a clear goal other than play-till-you're-dead. The Irony is that in the Single player there is an arena mission that is just like the multiplayer. The goal for the Survivor in that is to survive and escape with your life. That would have been great to have in the multiplayer rather than just kill zombies till you're dead.

    It would also have been interesting if they had worked in some form of Anti-Coop play. It would be nice to play though a second time, but with someone spawning the zombies trying to kill me. That way the predictability goes out the window, but it wouldn't be good to have available for the first run though so I can see why it wasn't done.

    The multiplayer requires the Pro Controller. It will let the survivor play with the Wiimote and Nunchuck, but it's LITERALLY painful looking around with the Wii Mote. Really it did hurt my arm playing with the wiimote in first person for any length of time. It's just too heavy in one hand to be waving around fighting in First Person. With the pro controller my Wife and I were able to crank the Zombie difficulty up and I was able to play much better than I was with the difficulty way down with the Wiimote.

    The game was fully worth buying at full price, and is one of the 3 must have games for the WiiU right now.
    Expand
  28. Nov 29, 2012
    9
    My favorite game in a looong time. If you love survival horror than you wil love this. This game is brutal, unforgiving, and extremely tense. Not for those looking for a run and gun or casual experience. There are some minor issues such as zombies partially clipping into walls, however the tense atmosphere and excellent use of the new Wii U gamepad more than make up for any shortcoming. For sure a 9/10 for any survival horror fun. Expand
  29. Nov 22, 2012
    10
    This game is amazing, a real survival horror, I think the only reason why people is **** about the game and giving bad rates is because is not on 360/PS3 or because they thought it was going to be like shoot like crazy and run like in Resident Evil 6 or Left4dead
  30. Nov 21, 2012
    10
    Incredible. Those who trash this game clearly don't know what type of game they're playing. This is not a twitch shooter, it's a survival horror game. Yes, a genre that's just about dead finally has a new AAA game. This is not a game where you just run around holding the trigger and you win, this is a game that actually takes SKILL. Learning how to conserve ammunition is very important. the game makes great use of the Wii U gamepad, and it really showcases a lot of amazing things it can do. Highly recommended. Expand
  31. Nov 18, 2012
    0
    I see no reason to criticize this game for being exactly what it was advertised and hyped up to be. You get a survival horror that pushes you to the limits, but hey, that's what you do when you survive. You get pushed to the limits to survive. The graphics are pretty unique. Nothing impressive, but unique nonetheless. Gameplay great. If you don't like to be limited and like to have the upper hand constantly, this game isn't for you. Collapse
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 70 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 70
  2. Negative: 1 out of 70
  1. Feb 1, 2013
    51
    It takes a couple of hours to fully realize that ZombiU – not an eerie game, but a rather eerily boring one – is a goner. I hope that Ubisoft will hack the head off this franchise before it turns into ZombiU 2 and starts biting people’s wallets.
  2. Jan 23, 2013
    86
    An intense experience. ZombiU delivers one of the most intense experiences in recent history. Moody, violent and suitably tough, it managed to keep me playing long into the night. [Jan 2013]
  3. Jan 16, 2013
    90
    For fans of the survival horror genre, ZombiU is filled to the brink with challenges and many hours of gameplay.