• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 70 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 653 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: For only the second time in history, a great plague has descended upon London, infecting the human race with a deadly disease. Big Ben tolls as hundreds upon thousands of the unprepared die or are infected by a sickness worse than death... You continue to breathe, for now. But how long willFor only the second time in history, a great plague has descended upon London, infecting the human race with a deadly disease. Big Ben tolls as hundreds upon thousands of the unprepared die or are infected by a sickness worse than death... You continue to breathe, for now. But how long will you survive in the labyrinth of London streets and underground as the infected close in around you? The horrifying remains of humanity ravaged by the foul disease shuffle through the streets, waiting to prey on your living flesh at every turn. ZombiU is designed to take advantage of the Wii U and its new controller and will test your will to survive in a zombie Survival-Horror First Person Shooter. So grab hold of the height of survival kits – your new controller – and stock up your Bug-Out Bag with supplies. Make every second count; you only get one chance. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 70
  2. Negative: 1 out of 70
  1. ZombiU will send shivers of fear and excitement up and down your spine in equal measure: it's the perfect showcase for what the Wii U is all about.
  2. Nov 19, 2012
    90
    These minor problems, however, rarely interfere with the pulse-quickening thrill of diving into a mass of infected and coming out alive on the other side. ZombiU isn't for everyone, but those who stick with it, through its unforgiving and occasionally frustrating difficulty, there's a an exhilarating experience to be had.
  3. Dec 17, 2012
    84
    It's not perfect and it's not for everyone, but ZombiU is a fantastic return of the survival horror genre.
  4. Nov 18, 2012
    80
    ZombiU is awkward, ugly, crawling in its pace, and often nonsensical with its narrative ... and I remember when horror games weren't ashamed of any of that, even actively exploiting it to create alienating, frightening atmospheres that stuck in a players' memories and made them too spooked to want to take another step forward. ZombiU did that to me.
  5. Nov 30, 2012
    80
    It is unforgiving and brutal, but in the best of ways that challenges players to carefully consider each step. For those who don't shy away from a challenge, ZombiU may just be the best reason to own a Wii U at launch.
  6. Dec 21, 2012
    70
    The game-ending glitches can be a real pain and the same goes for some of the developers choices concerning the use of the GamePad. But if you are willing to look past those problems you'll be left with a true and immersive survival horror experience.
  7. Nov 18, 2012
    45
    With an uninteresting world and dull combat, the survival horror game ZombiU is a weak link in the Wii U's launch lineup.

See all 70 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 23 out of 213
  1. Jan 13, 2013
    10
    Zombiu is a great survival horror, better than the new Resident evil style. This is a terrorific game with an interesting way, great atmosfearZombiu is a great survival horror, better than the new Resident evil style. This is a terrorific game with an interesting way, great atmosfear and beautiful graphics. I love this game, this is a fantastic surprise for survival horror fans. Expand
  2. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    In a generation that is saturated by action games, Zombie U is getting the cold shoulder. "Ugly graphics, claustrophobic areas, limited ammo,In a generation that is saturated by action games, Zombie U is getting the cold shoulder. "Ugly graphics, claustrophobic areas, limited ammo, 1 bite your dead" is one of this game main complaints. That would be true if Zombie U was a action game...BUT IT'S NOT. Zombie U is a green mushroom for the survival horror genre that's dying thanks to capcom & ignorant casual gamers. Survival horror games are supposed to be: 1) ugly looking environment, 2) limited ammo (survival, duh), using your brains instead of brawn( your just 1 weakling against many viral enemies. 3) feeling helpless. Melee attack animations can get tiring, but when your desperate trying to get the zombie of your back, you'll forget that. This game delivers for what resident evil 1-4 fans Have been claiming for. I suggest go watch a few playthrough videos & see it for yourself, but NOTE: if your expecting call of duty zombie, you'll be disappointed but sorry to tell you IT'S AN SURVIVAL HORROR GAME not an ACTION GAME Expand
  3. Nov 18, 2012
    10
    This was one of nintendos main launch games and wanted this game to sell the Wii U, well Nintendo have achieved that ZombiU works great on theThis was one of nintendos main launch games and wanted this game to sell the Wii U, well Nintendo have achieved that ZombiU works great on the amazing gamepad and has a really adventures twang to the game this is the best game I've ever played you guys have got to get it! Collapse
  4. Nov 30, 2012
    9
    This game is pretty good. im glad i picked it up. its a modern day resident evil 2 minus the crappy walking... this is in my top five ofThis game is pretty good. im glad i picked it up. its a modern day resident evil 2 minus the crappy walking... this is in my top five of games, i truly believe it gets bad reviews because its hard, and not an easy zergfest. they dont hold your hand through it like most games anymore. id say its for hardcore gamers Expand
  5. Nov 20, 2012
    8
    You are either going to be in the eurogamer (9.2) camp, or the gamespot (4.5) camp. It is that simple, and there is no middle. PeopleYou are either going to be in the eurogamer (9.2) camp, or the gamespot (4.5) camp. It is that simple, and there is no middle. People expecting left 4 dead U or dead island U should stay away, this is a true survival horror game, like the early Resident Evils and Silent Hills. It has a great, creepy atmosphere, and it nails the gamepad usage, with a real scavenging scenario. However, i would have liked to see better graphics, a more coherent plot, and more interesting varieties of zombies. Expand
  6. Oct 11, 2014
    8
    A great game wrapped up in a technical mess.

    This is probably one of the best Zombie games on the market, with its atmosphere, level design
    A great game wrapped up in a technical mess.

    This is probably one of the best Zombie games on the market, with its atmosphere, level design etc, however the fact that you'll have to mash the bat at the enemy for almost the entire game since ammo is very scarce gets frustrating, besides that it takes literally 40 seconds or so to open some doors in the game.

    Would be one of my favorites if it weren't for those problems.
    Expand
  7. Feb 3, 2015
    0
    ZombiU was an entire mistake, controls are confusing, game difficult is not ok and the game does not worth the price as day one. AnotherZombiU was an entire mistake, controls are confusing, game difficult is not ok and the game does not worth the price as day one. Another fiasco as the wii u. I was very upset after bought the console and game Expand

See all 213 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Hardware Review: Wii U

    Hardware Review: Wii U Image
    Published: November 19, 2012
    Nintendo's Wii U is the first new gaming console to launch in six years. Is its innovative GamePad controller winning over critics, or is Nintendo still lagging behind Microsoft and Sony? Find out inside, where we collect Wii U reviews from dozens of publications.