• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 70 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 578 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: For only the second time in history, a great plague has descended upon London, infecting the human race with a deadly disease. Big Ben tolls as hundreds upon thousands of the unprepared die or are infected by a sickness worse than death... You continue to breathe, for now. But how long will you survive in the labyrinth of London streets and underground as the infected close in around you? The horrifying remains of humanity ravaged by the foul disease shuffle through the streets, waiting to prey on your living flesh at every turn. ZombiU is designed to take advantage of the Wii U and its new controller and will test your will to survive in a zombie Survival-Horror First Person Shooter. So grab hold of the height of survival kits – your new controller – and stock up your Bug-Out Bag with supplies. Make every second count; you only get one chance. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 70
  2. Negative: 1 out of 70
  1. ZombiU will send shivers of fear and excitement up and down your spine in equal measure: it's the perfect showcase for what the Wii U is all about.
  2. Nov 19, 2012
    90
    These minor problems, however, rarely interfere with the pulse-quickening thrill of diving into a mass of infected and coming out alive on the other side. ZombiU isn't for everyone, but those who stick with it, through its unforgiving and occasionally frustrating difficulty, there's a an exhilarating experience to be had.
  3. Dec 17, 2012
    84
    It's not perfect and it's not for everyone, but ZombiU is a fantastic return of the survival horror genre.
  4. Nov 18, 2012
    80
    ZombiU is awkward, ugly, crawling in its pace, and often nonsensical with its narrative ... and I remember when horror games weren't ashamed of any of that, even actively exploiting it to create alienating, frightening atmospheres that stuck in a players' memories and made them too spooked to want to take another step forward. ZombiU did that to me.
  5. Nov 30, 2012
    80
    It is unforgiving and brutal, but in the best of ways that challenges players to carefully consider each step. For those who don't shy away from a challenge, ZombiU may just be the best reason to own a Wii U at launch.
  6. Dec 21, 2012
    70
    The game-ending glitches can be a real pain and the same goes for some of the developers choices concerning the use of the GamePad. But if you are willing to look past those problems you'll be left with a true and immersive survival horror experience.
  7. Nov 18, 2012
    45
    With an uninteresting world and dull combat, the survival horror game ZombiU is a weak link in the Wii U's launch lineup.

See all 70 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 21 out of 196
  1. Nov 21, 2012
    10
    I am about 7 hours into the game, on my 5th survivor and I have to say how much I am enjoying this game. Its super hard, you will die if you get careless, and the zombies are really great. The only thing I would gripe about are when the event is scripted to add more zombies than there otherwise would be, but it adds to the excitement and gives momentary bursts of action will generally result in my starting a new survivor!

    A worthy purchase for anyone who can actually remember what survival horror is.
    Expand
  2. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    In a generation that is saturated by action games, Zombie U is getting the cold shoulder. "Ugly graphics, claustrophobic areas, limited ammo, 1 bite your dead" is one of this game main complaints. That would be true if Zombie U was a action game...BUT IT'S NOT. Zombie U is a green mushroom for the survival horror genre that's dying thanks to capcom & ignorant casual gamers. Survival horror games are supposed to be: 1) ugly looking environment, 2) limited ammo (survival, duh), using your brains instead of brawn( your just 1 weakling against many viral enemies. 3) feeling helpless. Melee attack animations can get tiring, but when your desperate trying to get the zombie of your back, you'll forget that. This game delivers for what resident evil 1-4 fans Have been claiming for. I suggest go watch a few playthrough videos & see it for yourself, but NOTE: if your expecting call of duty zombie, you'll be disappointed but sorry to tell you IT'S AN SURVIVAL HORROR GAME not an ACTION GAME Expand
  3. Nov 18, 2012
    10
    This was one of nintendos main launch games and wanted this game to sell the Wii U, well Nintendo have achieved that ZombiU works great on the amazing gamepad and has a really adventures twang to the game this is the best game I've ever played you guys have got to get it! Expand
  4. Jul 18, 2013
    9
    Now, this is what I'd call a Survival-Horror game! It has a high difficulty level and a great, tense atmosphere.

    Loved it al the way
    though, the 13 hours it lasted, feeling the thrills every second.

    Cons are graphics look a little outdated and the story is somewhat shallow, but the Gamepad adds a lot to the game play (radar and Backpack checking. You don't know how tense the game can get with just those two features)

    It has nice reply value, too. Try playing in cooperating with others via Miiverse and the game renders an awesome online-multiplayer-like experience!!

    And that's enough for me to give it a 9.
    Expand
  5. Nov 18, 2012
    8
    ZombiU's easily the best Mature rated game at launch, however, is it flawless? No, it is not. ZombiU offers a tense and atmospheric journey through a dark and desolate world. While it's light on narrative, its gameplay offers more satisfying depth than your typical zombie romp. Not without its flaws, ZombiU has a large amount of clipping, where zombies will glitch right through walls. Yes, it's an annoyance that takes you out of the experience a little, but does it hurt the game's overall enjoyment? Not one bit. The gun mechanics aren't like Call of Duty. I'd say they're a little more clunky in the vein of Metro 2033, but it doesn't hurt in this style of game, as it actually adds to the difficulty. This is a neat world to explore. I especially love how zombies will follow you to a door, you shut the door, then they'll stand on the other side pounding, which means you'll have to take care of them at some point and they're not letting you through to the either side without putting up a fight. So while ZombiU has its apparent flaws, this game's satisfaction is simply too difficult to deny. Expand
  6. Dec 20, 2012
    8
    Is ZombiU one of the most polished games I've ever played? No. Does it have amazing combat or stunning graphics? No. But it is one of the most innovative, challenging and frightening games I have ever played! Yes!

    It utilizes the WiiU game pad in a way that not only adds to the game, but makes it an integral part of the game. Every time I look in my backpack my adrenaline starts pumping and I know I am completely vulnerable to whatever zombie might be lurking in a dark corner or waiting around the next bend. Whenever I push the tracker button and see those little red dots pop up on the map, my heart skips a beat and I know I am just moments away from a grueling zombie attack. ZombiU is by far one of the most difficult games I have ever played. You will die a lot, but it is the intense challenge the game poses that makes me want to keep playing more and see if I can climb up the leader board. I still don't know how some of you racked up 15,000+ points. If only I could successfully kill my last survivor and recover all of my supplies before getting mauled by the zombie horde that killed me the time before. The scarcity of ammunition, and explosive weapons also makes you think twice about killing a loaner zombie when you can whip out your trusty cricket bat. ZombiU is also probably the scariest video game I have ever played, with the original Resident Evil coming in a close second. I highly recommend playing it at night with the lights out. It is constantly suspenseful and always keeps you on your toes. Although ZombiU's graphics aren't super polished or sharp, I really do feel their grittiness contributes to the rawness of the game and never takes away from it's chilling atmosphere. The lighting in ZombiU is great! The use of the flash light is a very effective medium and adds to the chilling atmosphere of the game. There is nothing like walking down a dark narrow hallway with nothing but your flashlight to guide your way, and do not let it run out of batteries. You don't want to be caught in the dark with your guard down. In closing, if you are looking for a fresh take on the Zombie survival horror (not FPS) genre then you need to pick up ZombiU! Your Wii U collection will not be complete without it.
    Expand
  7. Dec 2, 2012
    0
    Worst game ever, belongs in 1999. Lost my save for some unknown reason. Way to ruin my holidays. Played an hour or 2, saved and turned off. Went to play next day save file says empty. No way am I doing that boring start again, I'd already started over due to the bad tutorial. Taking the game back first thing tomorrow, may even take back the Wii U. Bad Ubisoft, bad Expand

See all 196 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Hardware Review: Wii U

    Hardware Review: Wii U Image
    Published: November 19, 2012
    Nintendo's Wii U is the first new gaming console to launch in six years. Is its innovative GamePad controller winning over critics, or is Nintendo still lagging behind Microsoft and Sony? Find out inside, where we collect Wii U reviews from dozens of publications.