• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 70 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 589 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: For only the second time in history, a great plague has descended upon London, infecting the human race with a deadly disease. Big Ben tolls as hundreds upon thousands of the unprepared die or are infected by a sickness worse than death... You continue to breathe, for now. But how long will you survive in the labyrinth of London streets and underground as the infected close in around you? The horrifying remains of humanity ravaged by the foul disease shuffle through the streets, waiting to prey on your living flesh at every turn. ZombiU is designed to take advantage of the Wii U and its new controller and will test your will to survive in a zombie Survival-Horror First Person Shooter. So grab hold of the height of survival kits – your new controller – and stock up your Bug-Out Bag with supplies. Make every second count; you only get one chance. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 70
  2. Negative: 1 out of 70
  1. ZombiU will send shivers of fear and excitement up and down your spine in equal measure: it's the perfect showcase for what the Wii U is all about.
  2. Nov 19, 2012
    90
    These minor problems, however, rarely interfere with the pulse-quickening thrill of diving into a mass of infected and coming out alive on the other side. ZombiU isn't for everyone, but those who stick with it, through its unforgiving and occasionally frustrating difficulty, there's a an exhilarating experience to be had.
  3. Dec 17, 2012
    84
    It's not perfect and it's not for everyone, but ZombiU is a fantastic return of the survival horror genre.
  4. Nov 18, 2012
    80
    ZombiU is awkward, ugly, crawling in its pace, and often nonsensical with its narrative ... and I remember when horror games weren't ashamed of any of that, even actively exploiting it to create alienating, frightening atmospheres that stuck in a players' memories and made them too spooked to want to take another step forward. ZombiU did that to me.
  5. Nov 30, 2012
    80
    It is unforgiving and brutal, but in the best of ways that challenges players to carefully consider each step. For those who don't shy away from a challenge, ZombiU may just be the best reason to own a Wii U at launch.
  6. Dec 21, 2012
    70
    The game-ending glitches can be a real pain and the same goes for some of the developers choices concerning the use of the GamePad. But if you are willing to look past those problems you'll be left with a true and immersive survival horror experience.
  7. Nov 18, 2012
    45
    With an uninteresting world and dull combat, the survival horror game ZombiU is a weak link in the Wii U's launch lineup.

See all 70 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 21 out of 201
  1. Nov 18, 2012
    10
    This was one of nintendos main launch games and wanted this game to sell the Wii U, well Nintendo have achieved that ZombiU works great on the amazing gamepad and has a really adventures twang to the game this is the best game I've ever played you guys have got to get it! Collapse
  2. Jan 13, 2013
    10
    Zombiu is a great survival horror, better than the new Resident evil style. This is a terrorific game with an interesting way, great atmosfear and beautiful graphics. I love this game, this is a fantastic surprise for survival horror fans. Expand
  3. Nov 26, 2012
    10
    I think people's main reason for not liking this game is that it's too hard. If you a enjoy challenging game, and smashing zombies with a cricket bat. This game is for you. Creates a real sense of tension as is always exciting Expand
  4. Jan 7, 2013
    9
    I have 7 games for the Wii U: New Super Mario Bros. U, Nintendo Land, Sonic & All Stars Racing Transformed, Scribblenauts Unlimited, GameParty Champions (Don't ask, it was a gift), Assassins Creed III, and the one I keep coming back to (besides Assassins Creed II) ZombiU. There are many mixed feelings about this great title. Personally, I find this one of the best launch games there are for the Wii U. Several hate it because of its "horrible and ugly" graphics, and game changing bugs. Most of the 1990's games are the best and on the Top 100, but did they have fantastic graphics? No. Graphics are a big part of a game, but not the biggest factor to choosing a game to play. I actually think the graphics were fantastic for a game so early on in the Wii U's lifetime. The setting was so creepy, horrifying, and ugly that it made the game. An apocalypse is supposed to be ugly. I doubt when there are zombies you will go outside and say, "It's so pretty outside, what beautiful weather." Another thing people are complaining about is the use of the cricket bat. Well it isn't that bad. The use of gamepad, difficulty, and "heart-attack" moments complete this game. So pick up this game with your Wii U and you will be pleased for a while. I suggest that you are not 5 playing this game, or you will literally **** your pants. Survival-Horror. Expand
  5. Jul 18, 2013
    9
    Now, this is what I'd call a Survival-Horror game! It has a high difficulty level and a great, tense atmosphere.

    Loved it al the way
    though, the 13 hours it lasted, feeling the thrills every second.

    Cons are graphics look a little outdated and the story is somewhat shallow, but the Gamepad adds a lot to the game play (radar and Backpack checking. You don't know how tense the game can get with just those two features)

    It has nice reply value, too. Try playing in cooperating with others via Miiverse and the game renders an awesome online-multiplayer-like experience!!

    And that's enough for me to give it a 9.
    Expand
  6. Dec 20, 2012
    8
    Is ZombiU one of the most polished games I've ever played? No. Does it have amazing combat or stunning graphics? No. But it is one of the most innovative, challenging and frightening games I have ever played! Yes!

    It utilizes the WiiU game pad in a way that not only adds to the game, but makes it an integral part of the game. Every time I look in my backpack my adrenaline starts pumping and I know I am completely vulnerable to whatever zombie might be lurking in a dark corner or waiting around the next bend. Whenever I push the tracker button and see those little red dots pop up on the map, my heart skips a beat and I know I am just moments away from a grueling zombie attack. ZombiU is by far one of the most difficult games I have ever played. You will die a lot, but it is the intense challenge the game poses that makes me want to keep playing more and see if I can climb up the leader board. I still don't know how some of you racked up 15,000+ points. If only I could successfully kill my last survivor and recover all of my supplies before getting mauled by the zombie horde that killed me the time before. The scarcity of ammunition, and explosive weapons also makes you think twice about killing a loaner zombie when you can whip out your trusty cricket bat. ZombiU is also probably the scariest video game I have ever played, with the original Resident Evil coming in a close second. I highly recommend playing it at night with the lights out. It is constantly suspenseful and always keeps you on your toes. Although ZombiU's graphics aren't super polished or sharp, I really do feel their grittiness contributes to the rawness of the game and never takes away from it's chilling atmosphere. The lighting in ZombiU is great! The use of the flash light is a very effective medium and adds to the chilling atmosphere of the game. There is nothing like walking down a dark narrow hallway with nothing but your flashlight to guide your way, and do not let it run out of batteries. You don't want to be caught in the dark with your guard down. In closing, if you are looking for a fresh take on the Zombie survival horror (not FPS) genre then you need to pick up ZombiU! Your Wii U collection will not be complete without it.
    Expand
  7. Dec 2, 2012
    0
    Worst game ever, belongs in 1999. Lost my save for some unknown reason. Way to ruin my holidays. Played an hour or 2, saved and turned off. Went to play next day save file says empty. No way am I doing that boring start again, I'd already started over due to the bad tutorial. Taking the game back first thing tomorrow, may even take back the Wii U. Bad Ubisoft, bad Expand

See all 201 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Hardware Review: Wii U

    Hardware Review: Wii U Image
    Published: November 19, 2012
    Nintendo's Wii U is the first new gaming console to launch in six years. Is its innovative GamePad controller winning over critics, or is Nintendo still lagging behind Microsoft and Sony? Find out inside, where we collect Wii U reviews from dozens of publications.