Metascore
45

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 5
  2. Negative: 4 out of 5
  1. So despite all the options - Championship mode, Capture The Flag, four player split screen and a Hot Pursuit mode - the wild handling is a little too much to cope with.
  2. Nov 2, 2011
    40
    A contradiction on wheels. [Nov 2011, p.75]
  3. Jul 16, 2011
    40
    As interesting and unique as the visual presentation is, it's still not quite enough to cover up the many gameplay flaws that rear their heads rather frequently throughout the game.
  4. Oct 23, 2011
    28
    Pixel imperfect. [Dec 2011, p.91]
User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 8 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 6
  2. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. Jan 2, 2014
    0
    There's nothing good about this game. It doesn't work. I have tried using the Wii Wheel, I have tried using the Wii Remote alone, but it doesn't works, the car goes into whenever feels like, I couldn't win a single race, I couldn't even finish a lap! 0/10. Full Review »
  2. Oct 21, 2011
    8
    It's like Minecraft meets Sega Racers meets Mario Kart. And if you are astute, you'll notice some actual Sega racers here. There's the Ferrari Testarossa from OutRun, the Hornet from Daytona USA. the Lancia from Sega Rally, Formula 1 cars (Virtua Racing perhaps?). Also there's what looks like the Porsche from Chase HQ. Also Lamborghinis and Corvettes...

    Take a look at their website. You can see what looks like the Ferrari Testarossa & F40, the Hornet, & the Lancia and Celica. I find that fascinating. Also, the Chase HQ car is coincidentally named "Chaser," HA!


    As for the game itself, it looks very charming. Not brutal and absurd like Burnout or Split/Second. It has pit stops and "cop chases." The way the cars "shake" and slide back and forth when they drive is very Sega-esque. THESE GUYS must be Sega racing fans, I know it!!! GIVE THEM PROPS, PEOPLE!!!

    The only bad news: it's only for the Nintendo Wii. I would get this in a heartbeat but I only have the Xbox 360. Also, I don't know how much customization there is...looks like you can design your own cars and tracks although I doubt you can do the former and the latter is questionable...

    Download it from the Wii Store. DO IT FOR GREAT JUSTICE. AT THIS POINT IN TIME, WE MUST STICK UP FOR ANYONE REPRESENTING SEGA'S GLORY DAYS!!!
    Full Review »
  3. Oct 21, 2011
    8
    3D Pixel Racing is a 1-4 player racing WiiWare game. You can use the Wheel or Wii Remote to play. It costs 500 points at 46 blocks of memory. Welcome to a no gimmicks, all hard, good racing events!

    For a WiiWare title, this game has quite a bit of features. When accessing the main menu, a player can choose these modes: Championship, Single Race, Capture the Flag, Hot Pursuit, and Time Trial. In the Settings menu, a player can set difficulty (Easy, Medium, and Hard), in-race pit stop On/Off, in-game music, Drivers for players and CPU and race laps.

    Most of the racing modes allows a player to choose these standards: Number of Players, Car Selections including colors and transmission, Pixel Character Selections, Enter Player Name, Track Selections including weather (Sun, Snowy, Night, Fog, Rain) and direction (Normal, Reverse). When starting out, a player can choose from only 6 vehicles, 5 pixel characters and 5 tracks. As certain race modes are won, a player can unlock 5 more vehicles, 5 pixel characters and 5 tracks for a total of 15 unlock-able content. To choose the best car to use, a player can look at the basic stats of a car which includes speed, grip and handling. If you know what track and mode you are racing, choosing the car to best fit the race is IMPORTANT as this game's physics is pretty accurate.
    All in all, this game is worth the 500 points or more due to difficulty of the tracks and amount of things you can unlock. This game is definitely for racing fans. I don't think casuals can get into 3D Pixel Racing. It takes a good amount of skill to win. Some might say it's a little imbalanced, but that is because you have to get used to the physics of the game. After about 2 -3 hours, I was winning left and right and zooming through the tracks like a bat out of hell.
    Full Review »