Metascore
45

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 5
  2. Negative: 4 out of 5
  1. Jul 18, 2011
    60
    3D Pixel Racing averages out to be somewhere around the Okay range. Drop five bucks on it in the Wii Shop if you're looking for a fresh racing fix with a unique new look, but just don't expect it to dethrone the best racers already in your Wii library.
  2. Oct 23, 2011
    28
    Pixel imperfect. [Dec 2011, p.91]
  3. Jul 16, 2011
    40
    As interesting and unique as the visual presentation is, it's still not quite enough to cover up the many gameplay flaws that rear their heads rather frequently throughout the game.
  4. So despite all the options - Championship mode, Capture The Flag, four player split screen and a Hot Pursuit mode - the wild handling is a little too much to cope with.
  5. Nov 2, 2011
    40
    A contradiction on wheels. [Nov 2011, p.75]
User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 9 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 7
  2. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. Jul 27, 2014
    7
    Just a standard racing game with Wiimote gyroscopic controls to move the vehicle, you know, what the Wii was made for! If it wasn't for the pixel graphics, I probably wouldn't have bought this, but at 5$, its a good deal. (a better deal than Sonic the Fighters on the PS3, which is ALSO for 5$.) Full Review »
  2. Jan 2, 2014
    0
    There's nothing good about this game. It doesn't work. I have tried using the Wii Wheel, I have tried using the Wii Remote alone, but it doesn't works, the car goes into whenever feels like, I couldn't win a single race, I couldn't even finish a lap! 0/10. Full Review »
  3. Oct 21, 2011
    8
    It's like Minecraft meets Sega Racers meets Mario Kart. And if you are astute, you'll notice some actual Sega racers here. There's the Ferrari Testarossa from OutRun, the Hornet from Daytona USA. the Lancia from Sega Rally, Formula 1 cars (Virtua Racing perhaps?). Also there's what looks like the Porsche from Chase HQ. Also Lamborghinis and Corvettes...

    Take a look at their website. You can see what looks like the Ferrari Testarossa & F40, the Hornet, & the Lancia and Celica. I find that fascinating. Also, the Chase HQ car is coincidentally named "Chaser," HA!


    As for the game itself, it looks very charming. Not brutal and absurd like Burnout or Split/Second. It has pit stops and "cop chases." The way the cars "shake" and slide back and forth when they drive is very Sega-esque. THESE GUYS must be Sega racing fans, I know it!!! GIVE THEM PROPS, PEOPLE!!!

    The only bad news: it's only for the Nintendo Wii. I would get this in a heartbeat but I only have the Xbox 360. Also, I don't know how much customization there is...looks like you can design your own cars and tracks although I doubt you can do the former and the latter is questionable...

    Download it from the Wii Store. DO IT FOR GREAT JUSTICE. AT THIS POINT IN TIME, WE MUST STICK UP FOR ANYONE REPRESENTING SEGA'S GLORY DAYS!!!
    Full Review »