User Score
4.4

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 33 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 33
  2. Negative: 20 out of 33

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 3, 2011
    4
    hmm. i can't decide if this game is great or terrible, so i'm gonna say this, GRAPHICS= Terrible
    CONTROLS= Slightly Confusing ENJOYMENT= On and off
  2. Nov 29, 2010
    4
    Stinker. Great atmosphere and decent story but the gameplay is WAY off (mote's response time is like trying to pull an object through mollasses) and the puzzling makes no sense in the context of the game. Really poorly designed and implemented, this is just a pretty face that does not play nicely.
  3. MrNintendo
    Jul 5, 2008
    2
    What the hec is this garbage? What a disappointment. This game is a disgrace and the people that made it should be ashamed. It's just so poor. Gameplay, controls....nothing works. The graphics are horrid. What is with these developers! Come on! Look at RE4. It's a Gamecube game but it looks 100 times better than almost every Wii game out. Graphics aren't meant to be the What the hec is this garbage? What a disappointment. This game is a disgrace and the people that made it should be ashamed. It's just so poor. Gameplay, controls....nothing works. The graphics are horrid. What is with these developers! Come on! Look at RE4. It's a Gamecube game but it looks 100 times better than almost every Wii game out. Graphics aren't meant to be the strong point of the Wii but that doesn't justify making games look worse than they should. If every game on Wii had the same graphical standards as RE4, noone would complain! But no, developers for Wii games are just downright lazy and don't want to make an effort. I hope they lose a tonne of money cause they don't deserve anything for this lackluster effort. Avoid this game! *screams* Expand
  4. MatthewR.
    Jun 20, 2008
    9
    Good game-don't listen to everyone who is saying it is utter rubbish. The controls work well and the graphics aren't that bad. The game play is great. All in all a brilliant game.
  5. MartinT.
    Jun 21, 2008
    3
    Wow! Did anybody play test this game? All the puzzles seem so illogical. Example; a car is in your way...you try to push it away with the car you are driving...no such luck. Eventually, when all else fails, you put the fire out and push it by hand...problem solved. You can jump 10 feet...but can't jump over a little fence. You need to set a chair on fire for light...do it slightly Wow! Did anybody play test this game? All the puzzles seem so illogical. Example; a car is in your way...you try to push it away with the car you are driving...no such luck. Eventually, when all else fails, you put the fire out and push it by hand...problem solved. You can jump 10 feet...but can't jump over a little fence. You need to set a chair on fire for light...do it slightly wrong and you're on fire. You can chose between 3rd and 1st person? Only when the game allows it and you don't need to shoot The controls? Don't get me started! Too bad; it could have been such a great game! But I guess they wanted it in the shops as soon as possible.. Expand
  6. NeilW.
    Jun 24, 2008
    0
    Terrible gameplay, poor graphics, lame script, not scary, glitchy, no sense of achievement.
  7. DannyC
    Jul 1, 2008
    3
    What could have been a great game is really let down by the really really bad controls, the inability to skip cut scenes that you have already seen and that it is incredibly glitchy. You should only expect glitches this bad in a pre-release testing version not in a supposedly bug-checked final release version. Try opening your inventory and most of the time you just take out the object in What could have been a great game is really let down by the really really bad controls, the inability to skip cut scenes that you have already seen and that it is incredibly glitchy. You should only expect glitches this bad in a pre-release testing version not in a supposedly bug-checked final release version. Try opening your inventory and most of the time you just take out the object in your hand which is really frustrating when you need to get something quickly. As for the driving, I have nothing good to say about that at all. Avoid this game at all costs unless you really enjoy games stressing you out. Expand
  8. GaryT.
    Jul 3, 2008
    5
    I can agree with every one else the game is badly presented and the inventory system doesn't always work making the game frustrating at points. you always re-spawn before the cut scene that you can skip and the AI is c**p you can just stand in one place and shoot the enemy, it wont even think to come and attack you. other than all these major flaws the game is good, the style of the I can agree with every one else the game is badly presented and the inventory system doesn't always work making the game frustrating at points. you always re-spawn before the cut scene that you can skip and the AI is c**p you can just stand in one place and shoot the enemy, it wont even think to come and attack you. other than all these major flaws the game is good, the style of the game is good, the story line is OK and the driving levels can be fun once you get the hang of the driving controls. If you are easily frustrated by games avoid this game, otherwise grab it. Expand
  9. StuartS.
    Jul 4, 2008
    0
    This game is awful. I played the original series way back when, and those were fun and creepy. Controls on this one are awful and the writing and voice acting is unredeemable. I wish I had rented first.
  10. [Anonymous]
    Jul 6, 2008
    2
    You have to blink for your character or his eyes dry out... that alone makes the game more annoying than anything I can possibly imagine avoid this game at all costs.
  11. AndrewC.
    Jul 7, 2008
    4
    The controls really ruined this game. The controls try to be TOO much making the game a complicated mess. I love survival horror and reserved this game months in advance and payed for one day shipping. I wanted to like this game but after playing it for an 8 hour session I just got the feeling that the game wanted me to hate it. On a positive note: The graphics look amazing, The music The controls really ruined this game. The controls try to be TOO much making the game a complicated mess. I love survival horror and reserved this game months in advance and payed for one day shipping. I wanted to like this game but after playing it for an 8 hour session I just got the feeling that the game wanted me to hate it. On a positive note: The graphics look amazing, The music fits the moment. Expand
  12. GeertK.
    Jul 8, 2008
    4
    The first time i played, it looked ok (i did not see the PC-version before) and the gameplay was not too hard and it looked promissing. But... this game is definitely not finished. They cut out important cutscenes so that you cannot follow the storyline or you can have situations like "hé, what do you doing here??? I thought you were outside??" The ending is even more stupid and The first time i played, it looked ok (i did not see the PC-version before) and the gameplay was not too hard and it looked promissing. But... this game is definitely not finished. They cut out important cutscenes so that you cannot follow the storyline or you can have situations like "hé, what do you doing here??? I thought you were outside??" The ending is even more stupid and full of questions, more than on the PC-version. This bothers me the most. Also you have not the ability to use a lot of items (as on the PC-Version) and there are rather annoying puzzles like the car handling or rope-jumping. Unlike other users, the other controls were not that bad but turning in shooting perspective was also difficult. Graphics are for me not important as long as it not annoys me (it doesn't) because gameplay and storyline is much more important. Sound is ok though. I'm a fan of spooky/thrilling adventure games: firstly this game looked like on of them but after a few houres... no, don't buy this game even if you like the genre A LOT (and believe me: i don't say such things fast). Expand
  13. ChristianC.
    Jun 28, 2008
    3
    Bad controls, bad story. Don't loose or you gonna fell PAIN!!.
  14. LorenzoB.
    Jun 28, 2008
    0
    I (alas!) have to completely agree with all the bad reviews that have been written so far on this game. Graphics are so horrible I feel like I am playing on my ten years old PS1... The plot is flimsy and senseless, puzzles have no logic whatsoever, there are lots of bugs and glitches in the game (mind you! I got stuck in the car park, it took me over one hour to understand how to manage I (alas!) have to completely agree with all the bad reviews that have been written so far on this game. Graphics are so horrible I feel like I am playing on my ten years old PS1... The plot is flimsy and senseless, puzzles have no logic whatsoever, there are lots of bugs and glitches in the game (mind you! I got stuck in the car park, it took me over one hour to understand how to manage things, I got to the point of driving to the point where the old guy and the girl were waiting behind a car, I drove back and found myself in front of... nothing and the car fell God knows where and I died... what does it mean? DId I pay 50 (euro) bucks for this shit??!), Controlling the game is a matter of gumbo where you get the decided action in your lucky days otherwise... no really just avoid this thing as hell it's ugly, ugly, ugly and ugly. Did I also mention it's ugly? One of the most stupid games I have played in my life forget it and live happily ever after! Expand
  15. M.O.
    Jan 10, 2009
    2
    Great Idea, horribly carried out. Throughout the game I was very disgusted with the camera angles. Sometimes the controls didn't work correctly. The ending (both that I've found so far) sucked terribly. The levels were alright, graphics were OK except on the characters. They were terrible. Overall, a waste of time. I am glad I rented this instead of buying it. Even my $2.50 for Great Idea, horribly carried out. Throughout the game I was very disgusted with the camera angles. Sometimes the controls didn't work correctly. The ending (both that I've found so far) sucked terribly. The levels were alright, graphics were OK except on the characters. They were terrible. Overall, a waste of time. I am glad I rented this instead of buying it. Even my $2.50 for the rental was a waste. Expand
  16. KirkS.
    Aug 29, 2009
    5
    First off, I would like to disagree with many of the posters regarding game play. The controls, while it takes getting used to, worked fine for me. My suggestion for others is to go into options and review the control motions. This helped me with inventory. Graphics were pretty good on the Wii and I thought the story line was interesting. The problem I have is that the game seems tooFirst off, I would like to disagree with many of the posters regarding game play. The controls, while it takes getting used to, worked fine for me. My suggestion for others is to go into options and review the control motions. This helped me with inventory. Graphics were pretty good on the Wii and I thought the story line was interesting. The problem I have is that the game seems too easy and short, and ends all of a sudden. I reached a stage of the game where I could do one of two actions and then the credits started rolling. It seems like there should have been way more to the game like harder monsters (bosses, etc.). Am I missing something? I am not even a hard core gamer and I spent maybe 10 hours total to get to the end (it seems like there is no winning). The game is a disappointment in that regards where otherwise it could have been promising. Expand
  17. JonathanCarrier
    Aug 6, 2009
    1
    I love the Alone in the Dark series but this game is downright broken. I bought the soundtrack edition from Amazon for $12 so if I'm paying a dollar per song and the soundtrack edition has 8 of them I just spent $4 on a broken game...I want my 4 dollars back. Bad and incredibly bland graphics, absurd and uninteresting story, the controls are awful, the only good thing is the music soI love the Alone in the Dark series but this game is downright broken. I bought the soundtrack edition from Amazon for $12 so if I'm paying a dollar per song and the soundtrack edition has 8 of them I just spent $4 on a broken game...I want my 4 dollars back. Bad and incredibly bland graphics, absurd and uninteresting story, the controls are awful, the only good thing is the music so congratulations you failed at everything but 1 thing so this gets a 1. Expand
  18. IvoB
    Jun 19, 2008
    5
    Despite the high production values and gripping atmosphere the game suffers from severe control issues and numerous bugs. Waggle controls are far too loose and the character responds to certain actions somewhat random. While driving the car feels almost out of control. The unforgiving difficulty doesn't help either. I had pretty high expectations for this game and really wanted to Despite the high production values and gripping atmosphere the game suffers from severe control issues and numerous bugs. Waggle controls are far too loose and the character responds to certain actions somewhat random. While driving the car feels almost out of control. The unforgiving difficulty doesn't help either. I had pretty high expectations for this game and really wanted to like it and play it despite the poor controls. However at some points it just stops being fun and the whole experience is ruined. Expand
  19. BrianT.
    Jun 28, 2008
    2
    This game is a major disappointment. The developer must have skipped all play testing before this game went gold. The controls are hideous as well as the camera angles. The graphics are some of the poorest on a WII game. Let me some up this game in one word - Frustrating. I am glad that rented it first.
  20. AliBaba
    Jul 12, 2008
    1
    The original Alone in the Dark is far superior to this excreted bowel demon, i have never seen a game where the controls have been so ill thought out. All the sequences i have played so far are not even puzzle related just driving in crap cars or trying to make out what to shoot because the setting is way to dark. Graphics 5 Controls 0 Gameplay 1 Value 1 a Big F off to Atari for such a The original Alone in the Dark is far superior to this excreted bowel demon, i have never seen a game where the controls have been so ill thought out. All the sequences i have played so far are not even puzzle related just driving in crap cars or trying to make out what to shoot because the setting is way to dark. Graphics 5 Controls 0 Gameplay 1 Value 1 a Big F off to Atari for such a pile of crap. Expand
  21. Aug 14, 2010
    9
    This game is a good game, that puts almost all on the movement, the commands are easy to be learned, the plot is excellent and the gameplay of the game is as much, would also have given him a 10 if had had a best graphics, because is a po ugly, but not rubbed you of it of the graphics! I recommend him/it to you it is a good game
Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 10
  2. Negative: 9 out of 10
  1. Alone In The Dark is a truly shining example of both how to make a bad game and how to over-hype a game. Avoid.
  2. It's badly realised in places, the production values are low and, like a poorly produced horror flick, it feels like it's been stitched together like a Picasso. [Issue #24, p.71]
  3. It should have been so good, but it's been rushed to the shelves too early. What a pity. [Aug 2008, p.86]