Animal Crossing: City Folk Wii

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 120 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 71 out of 120
  2. Negative: 11 out of 120
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RyanF.
    Nov 16, 2008
    6
    Just please don't buy these Wii-makes, if you do you're part of the problem. I was a huge fan of the first two, but I'm just done with Nintendo after Mario Kart.
  2. eey777
    Nov 17, 2008
    5
    I was *so* excited about this game, but I am really disappointed by it. I moved my character over from the DS (it was extremely easy to do this, and it seemed like a good idea, but I'm not sure it was). The main game area is the same as Animal Crossing: Wild World - you can go to the city, but you're living in an AC:WW town. I feel like I've been there and done that. Also, I was *so* excited about this game, but I am really disappointed by it. I moved my character over from the DS (it was extremely easy to do this, and it seemed like a good idea, but I'm not sure it was). The main game area is the same as Animal Crossing: Wild World - you can go to the city, but you're living in an AC:WW town. I feel like I've been there and done that. Also, the graphics look really bad - just like a blown up view of what is on the DS. I don't think I'll play this more than a few times. :-( boo hoo. Expand
  3. Jul 23, 2012
    7
    Animal Crossing: City Folk is a good game. Despite the lack of improvement from Animal Crossing: Wild World, it is worth buying if you have played the previous game. The game is incredibly addictive and the wide variety of activities means it has plenty of replay value. Collecting all the fish and bugs is a task that would take plenty of time due, and seems very rewarding once finished.Animal Crossing: City Folk is a good game. Despite the lack of improvement from Animal Crossing: Wild World, it is worth buying if you have played the previous game. The game is incredibly addictive and the wide variety of activities means it has plenty of replay value. Collecting all the fish and bugs is a task that would take plenty of time due, and seems very rewarding once finished. Overall, City Folk is probably the best game in the series so far. The price is now little over £10 so unless you dislike the series it's hard not to recommend. The game in my opinion is only second best to Mario Kart at being the game with best online play on Wii. If you're new to the series buy it now or otherwise get it so you can hype up till the 3DS verion. Expand
  4. JonathanC
    Aug 6, 2009
    7
    A great game...if you haven't played any of the others. If you haven't jump my score up 2 points if you haven't it's the same old stuff. The city scape and Wii speak give it a nice addition for both newcomers and animal crossing fans but there's very little added for fans but newcomers will love it.
  5. Tjthegamer
    Dec 26, 2008
    7
    City folk isn't a bad game it's just that it seems like nothing is new. There are some new villigers and fish/bugs/fossils, but it won't be enough to satisfy as a sequel. The plots the same as Wild World and styled after it, however there are a few changes. The biggest is being able to go to the city. In the city, you can meet other animals who will move to your town City folk isn't a bad game it's just that it seems like nothing is new. There are some new villigers and fish/bugs/fossils, but it won't be enough to satisfy as a sequel. The plots the same as Wild World and styled after it, however there are a few changes. The biggest is being able to go to the city. In the city, you can meet other animals who will move to your town eventually, shop at Gracie's (an extremly expensive store), auction house (I was hoping there would be actual online auctions, but it's just between you and the A.I.), Shampoodles (Harriot's salon), Happy Room Acadamy, a theater (for learning emotions), and Redd's place. It's nice to see something other than your town for once, but the size of the city is a real let down. There are minute changes from Wild World as well. Tom Nook's store now closes at 10pm instead of 11pm, You can now design the back of your design shirts as well as the sleves. Neighbors now react to you differently, good relationships make them notice you faster, while bad relationships make them take forever to notice you. Overall the game isn't bad, many will just think it's reharshed. Expand
  6. Apr 17, 2011
    7
    It's clear that with City Folk Nintendo has played it safe with what is pretty much a reboot of Wild World on the Wii. So as a standalone title it's an absolute blast. As a 'sequel' it's disappointing. It's certainly the best in the series, but doesn't come close to matching the amount of new content that wild world added from its prequel on the GameCube. The little that is new isn't thatIt's clear that with City Folk Nintendo has played it safe with what is pretty much a reboot of Wild World on the Wii. So as a standalone title it's an absolute blast. As a 'sequel' it's disappointing. It's certainly the best in the series, but doesn't come close to matching the amount of new content that wild world added from its prequel on the GameCube. The little that is new isn't that enthralling - the 'City' in fact hinders the experience as all the characters that randomly show up in your town are now recycled in a plain setup accessible whenever you desire! Seems like a good thing but kind of takes a lot of the surprise and wonder out of the game when they used to visit. And there's little more to talk about? It's wild world 1.5.And it's not as if Nintendo are out of ideas - you can visit thousands of pages across gaming forums with really cool and possible ways to innovate the series, instead we get a lazy effort. Then again a GOOD lazy effort, but still a lazy effort. Not picked up Wild World? Go have a read of a review on that, if it sounds like your kind of thing - buy City Folk. Otherwise save yourself for the 3DS version. Expand
  7. Apr 27, 2011
    7
    Though Animal Crossing: City Folk refuses to add any kind of innovation -- or refined gameplay -- to the series, it's a fun life simulation for hardcore fans as well as newcomers. Pros: Multi-player is the funnest aspect of City Folk; voice chat; colorful visuals; charming characters; the City is a nice addition to gameplay. Cons: It doesn't even try to add any new flare to the gameplay,Though Animal Crossing: City Folk refuses to add any kind of innovation -- or refined gameplay -- to the series, it's a fun life simulation for hardcore fans as well as newcomers. Pros: Multi-player is the funnest aspect of City Folk; voice chat; colorful visuals; charming characters; the City is a nice addition to gameplay. Cons: It doesn't even try to add any new flare to the gameplay, making it less of a sequel, and more like a remake; no NES games. Expand
  8. May 20, 2011
    7
    It's disappointing to know that Animal Crossing's transfer to the Wii doesn't even try to take any risks. But in terms of gameplay, it's still a lot of fun. Pros: Addictive; colorful; variety of collectibles; the City; trading and visiting friends' online make for a lot of multiplayer value; voice chat. Cons: It doesn't offer anything new and acts more like a rehash of Wild World in steadIt's disappointing to know that Animal Crossing's transfer to the Wii doesn't even try to take any risks. But in terms of gameplay, it's still a lot of fun. Pros: Addictive; colorful; variety of collectibles; the City; trading and visiting friends' online make for a lot of multiplayer value; voice chat. Cons: It doesn't offer anything new and acts more like a rehash of Wild World in stead of a sequel. Expand
  9. Dec 14, 2011
    7
    Better graphics, impressive improvement and added features. (such as going to the city) The charming characters become more aware of your presence, history and whatever you have done. It is definitely worth playing, easy to get the hang of it. However, I prefer the DS version. There is just something missing in this Animal Crossing that make me really really like it...
  10. Dec 24, 2013
    6
    Mediocre at best.

    I bought this as launch with the microphone attachment that made the game cost way more than any launch game I've ever payed for. I have been playing the animal crossing series since the first gamecube one which is a port of the Japanese N64 version. I was disappointing beyond belief. The "City" as they call it is anything but, not only can you walk from one end to
    Mediocre at best.

    I bought this as launch with the microphone attachment that made the game cost way more than any launch game I've ever payed for. I have been playing the animal crossing series since the first gamecube one which is a port of the Japanese N64 version.

    I was disappointing beyond belief. The "City" as they call it is anything but, not only can you walk from one end to the other within 10 seconds, but the things you do are mostly trivial and there's no interaction besides small repetitive phrases of the people inside.

    There was so much wasted potential and they marketed it in such a way that it would be worth playing if you had the DS game, well guess what it isn't. All it is is better graphics and a boring city addition. If this isn't your first animal crossing game then it won't hold your interest for longer than a few weeks.
    Expand
  11. Feb 12, 2015
    5
    As much as I love the Animal Crossing series, I didn't like this one very much. It's the same Wild World but with a city and updated stuff. This game wasn't that bad, but not great either.
  12. Jun 29, 2015
    7
    Aside from the city, it's basically just Wild World on the Wii, and no HUGE changes. It's still a good title, though. You still get to befriend your animal neighbors and live a happy life in your town. Like I said, there aren't really any notable changes besides the (small) city. Overall, Animal Crossing: City Folk is a good game but it needs more noticeable changes.

    7/10
  13. Dec 18, 2015
    7
    City Folk's biggest drawback is that it is not different enough from Wild World, the DS portable entry that came less than two years before this Wii title. It's a fine game, but just light on content that makes it stand out... many musical cues and dialogue are the same, the items are the same, and the objectives are the same. You could say this about any Animal Crossing mainline game,City Folk's biggest drawback is that it is not different enough from Wild World, the DS portable entry that came less than two years before this Wii title. It's a fine game, but just light on content that makes it stand out... many musical cues and dialogue are the same, the items are the same, and the objectives are the same. You could say this about any Animal Crossing mainline game, but I expected more out of a home console title. On the upside, it still is Animal Crossing, and it also introduced the Wii Speak accessory, which allowed for online communication to be easier than typing one letter at a time. Expand
  14. Jul 6, 2016
    6
    This game was not special at all, it was just another Animal Crossing game and it's only feature was the "city" part of the game. Yes, "city" because it was just as big as the final house you can upgrade to in the game. It wasn't even handheld, and was boring as fk.

Awards & Rankings

#10 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2008
#9 Most Shared Wii Game of 2008
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 50 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 50
  2. Negative: 0 out of 50
  1. Animal Crossing: City Folk is one of the most charming and entertaining life sims out there, with lots to explore and experience.
  2. 50
    City Folk just seems like a huge missed opportunity - either that, or a lazy cash-in on Nintendo's newfound casual audience. If it's the former, they ought to just call it Wii Mortgage Payments.
  3. 75
    After putting literally weeks and months into playing both the GameCube original and the Nintendo DS sequel, it was very disappointing to see that, after putting nearly two weeks into Animal Crossing: City Folk that very little effort went into the design beyond porting and enhancing the Nintendo DS game.