User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 97 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 81 out of 97
  2. Negative: 8 out of 97

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ????????
    Nov 22, 2008
    10
    Why do people always say: "There's not enough improvement, and it's just like the prequel!" I mean that's what I like in a series! I hate it when game's get too much *Improvement* because some times it makes a once good series into a bad one people liked previous AC games so Nintendo probably just didn't want to rock the boat! And NO the graphics don't lookWhy do people always say: "There's not enough improvement, and it's just like the prequel!" I mean that's what I like in a series! I hate it when game's get too much *Improvement* because some times it makes a once good series into a bad one people liked previous AC games so Nintendo probably just didn't want to rock the boat! And NO the graphics don't look like crap I personally think they look GREAT! It may be like other AC titles but that doesn't change the fact that it's a great game! Expand
  2. DerpyDerp
    Dec 2, 2008
    9
    I have to say, I am really mad at anyone who says this is a "lazy remake." They abviously don't know just how much work actually went into this game. I've noticed at least some changes in every aspect of the game: new villiagers, new bugs, new fish, new furniture, new events, new clothes, new dialogue, new hairstyles, new shops, new options, new shoes, new activities. Saying I have to say, I am really mad at anyone who says this is a "lazy remake." They abviously don't know just how much work actually went into this game. I've noticed at least some changes in every aspect of the game: new villiagers, new bugs, new fish, new furniture, new events, new clothes, new dialogue, new hairstyles, new shops, new options, new shoes, new activities. Saying this game is just like Wild World is like saying all the Guitar Hero games are alike, or all the Halo Games. The truth is, every one of these games uses the same basic formula; after all, it's not as if you're going to create a whole new series with it. But all of these also bring something new to the table with every incarnation. Those who don't like Animal Crossing games can find their entertainment elsewhere. I, for one, don't care for the Halo or Guitar Hero series, but I don't choose to bash on them for lack of something more productive to spend my time on. I think that Animal Crossing fans will love this game like I do, and newcomers may find something for them as well. This is worth, at the very least, a rental. If you don't like it, that's okay. Just don't bask on other people's opinions. Expand
  3. robertoh
    Dec 20, 2009
    10
    i think that the people that voted under 5 badluck because you can do anything acsept kill yourself but its a shame you know when you get bigger houses well you never STOP!And is it hard to get the pond by the gate.
  4. JamesL.
    Nov 16, 2008
    9
    Nothing much has changed in the last six years but its still very fun and has a big replay value. Graphics are the same and the village is pretty much the same but this game is so fun and addictive that it completely makes up for it. The city is overrated because theres nothing to do for long periods of time however I have had no problems with the voice chat functioning although so far Nothing much has changed in the last six years but its still very fun and has a big replay value. Graphics are the same and the village is pretty much the same but this game is so fun and addictive that it completely makes up for it. The city is overrated because theres nothing to do for long periods of time however I have had no problems with the voice chat functioning although so far Ive only used it once. Customizing houses, furniture, and clothes has improved due to more emphasis on depth. Must-Buy for those who don't mind kicking back an hour or two a day. Expand
  5. cheesewizz
    Nov 16, 2008
    10
    'Tis a good game, really good. The graphics are really enhanced and gamplay is SWEET! With the touch of "The City", the game brings most fun and enjoyability. High Five Nintendo!
  6. RedG.
    Nov 16, 2008
    9
    Yes, its an improvement on the first 2 Animal Crossing games. Yes, it's fun. But Nintendo could have added more to make this game a lot better. This version is good, but I don't think I'll be giving up Wild World just yet.
  7. ElliottW
    Nov 26, 2008
    10
    I hate the fact that this game is getting such low reviews just because it's simaler to previous games- I would ignore the score of 73 by the critics. If you're new to the series, You need to buy this game! Fun, addictive, it really does feel like your second life and it's heart breaking when your favourite animal moves out. The game is a life simultor, although I must I hate the fact that this game is getting such low reviews just because it's simaler to previous games- I would ignore the score of 73 by the critics. If you're new to the series, You need to buy this game! Fun, addictive, it really does feel like your second life and it's heart breaking when your favourite animal moves out. The game is a life simultor, although I must point out this is not like the sims- in this game you can do whatever you like, as there are no needs or hunger demands. Even though its open-ended, there are objectives you can set for yourself, like to save up for a bigger house, make your house look nice, care for the wildlife, collect all the bugs/fish/fossils etc. However, some people just don't like this game- like my brother, for example. I guess its a certain game for certain people, and if you didn't like the previous games there will be very little to change your mind here. And for veterans.... it's very Samey to the DS version... but this is actually a good thing! I mean, they could of took a huge risk and failed, but they played it safe and gave us the AC formula we all love. There are some nice subtle additions, such as more villagers, bugs and fish. Other touches include being able to look like your mii, a more advanced clothes- designing tool, being able to cycle through tools with the d-pad and even the tiniest point of being able to see your foot-prints in the ground. The city is a bit of a letdown (it's tiny), and something new would of been nice. And anyway, does anyone know how hard it is to develop and de-bug an animal crossing game? People say it's a safe, lazy update; maybe so, but this game is definitely worth buying. Overview: Gameplay: Simply stunning and addictive, will have you playing for months, even years if you're the type of person who is willing to play every day and put in effort. The more effort you put in = the more enjoyment comes out. The controls ain't bad either. Presentation: Sure, the graphics arent amazing, but theyre not supposed to. Most Nintendo games are about the 'fun factor', not flashy graphics. But still, most people will fall in love with the cartoony style. Note- Don't be put off by the childish visuals! Music: Catchy, retro... just great music for your everyday life in the game. K.K slider's tunes (a singing dog who sings in the cafe on saturday nights) are awesome and very catchy. Overall: A brilliant game. Newcomers: A must have. Veterans: Most of you should still find enjoyment here. Expand
  8. WhyNot?
    Jan 16, 2009
    9
    Wake up, reviewers -- this is NOT a remake. No, this game, if anything, is an improvement. Between the original and Wild World, there were several big changes -- most of which were reacted to positively. So why do you shoot City Folk down because so much is the same? There are more new things than ever before! There's new furniture, new things to catch, and even new events. You can Wake up, reviewers -- this is NOT a remake. No, this game, if anything, is an improvement. Between the original and Wild World, there were several big changes -- most of which were reacted to positively. So why do you shoot City Folk down because so much is the same? There are more new things than ever before! There's new furniture, new things to catch, and even new events. You can even go to a brand new area! Sure, the Wi-Fi is nothing new, but now you can chat while you play, thanks to the new Wii Speak accessory. And one last thing: the music. This is a great soundtrack, especially for a game that doesn't focus on music. Let's face it -- some people just don't like the Animal Crossing series. But if you are an Animal Crossing fan, or even a newcomer to the series, I say give it a try. I give Animal Crossing: City Folk an 89/100. Expand
  9. Apr 20, 2011
    9
    This is a great game. It looks and feels great, much better then the previous installments. However there isn't much to keep vets coming back after some goals are accomplished. While annoying the grass growth problem is not impossible to overcome, and the smaller amount of villagers isn't an issue either. The wi-fi connectivity is great; visiting friends is now easy, and the DLC is a niceThis is a great game. It looks and feels great, much better then the previous installments. However there isn't much to keep vets coming back after some goals are accomplished. While annoying the grass growth problem is not impossible to overcome, and the smaller amount of villagers isn't an issue either. The wi-fi connectivity is great; visiting friends is now easy, and the DLC is a nice addition. Must buy for any Wii owner. Expand
  10. Feb 11, 2012
    10
    This was the game I was hooked on for five months, wasting all my free-time on it. This and the original game boy are my favorite and I was happy when this came out because the DS version disappointed me greatly. This new one adds a lot more new events, a whole different area and more whacky characters to explore and discover. The game was exactly what you might think at looking at it,This was the game I was hooked on for five months, wasting all my free-time on it. This and the original game boy are my favorite and I was happy when this came out because the DS version disappointed me greatly. This new one adds a lot more new events, a whole different area and more whacky characters to explore and discover. The game was exactly what you might think at looking at it, "weird", but it's amazingly fun and addictive. Expand
  11. Dec 25, 2012
    9
    When I first played this game I was expecting to be bored out of my mind, but was surprised to find out that this is a very fun game for both casual and hardcore gamers alike. There's a surprising amount of freedom (I just wish I could decorate my bedroom) and content in this game, and it's got loads of charm. It will keep you coming back every day.
  12. Feb 3, 2014
    10
    improvements of this is way more enjoyable then wild wold
    it one best animal crossing games that i played alot the title has quite alot things to do in the city
    one more step foward for city folk and it's fun won't stop here
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 50 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 50
  2. Negative: 0 out of 50
  1. Animal Crossing: City Folk is one of the most charming and entertaining life sims out there, with lots to explore and experience.
  2. 50
    City Folk just seems like a huge missed opportunity - either that, or a lazy cash-in on Nintendo's newfound casual audience. If it's the former, they ought to just call it Wii Mortgage Payments.
  3. 75
    After putting literally weeks and months into playing both the GameCube original and the Nintendo DS sequel, it was very disappointing to see that, after putting nearly two weeks into Animal Crossing: City Folk that very little effort went into the design beyond porting and enhancing the Nintendo DS game.