Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 5 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 13 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Battleship follows elite demolitions specialist Cole Mathis as he clashes against an aquatic-based extraterrestrial peril in the sand and sea of the beautiful Hawaiian archipelago.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 5
  2. Negative: 1 out of 5
  1. 60
    If anything is wrong with Battleship, it is that there is nothing remarkable about it. The game is fun and challenging, but bogged down by the very movie that inspired it. It might have also benefited from some sort of multiplayer option, but as it stands, you could buy far worse on the Wii.
  2. Jun 14, 2012
    60
    When compared to any other strategy game on the market, Battleship has nothing distinctive to offer. The attempt to add in some action with the duel mode is a neat, but ultimately flawed, idea. The fact that it borrows so heavily from Advance Wars doesn't help, forcing players to continually compare it to better titles. If you're absolutely dying for Advance Wars on the Wii, there aren't really better options, but that is about the game's only selling point. For everyone else, it will be a bland and forgettable adventure.
  3. May 26, 2012
    53
    More accomplished than you might expect, but lacking the depth needed for return visits after slogging through the lengthy campaign. [June 2012, p.92]
  4. Apr 30, 2012
    50
    Battleship for Wii is a poorly executed turn-based strategy game, that uses traditional controls instead of what the Nintendo console is capable.
  5. Jun 25, 2012
    49
    It's not awful just basic to the point of tedium. [Aug 2012, p.84]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 3
  2. Negative: 2 out of 3
  1. May 19, 2012
    6
    It is a good game for a day, but expect no more than a version of Advance Wars.
    The graphics are not bad. The sound is fine. The controls
    doesn't justify the use of the Nunchuk, but since it is a strategy game, it doesn't matter.
    It is not a bad game, it's just that it isn't good.
    Expand
  2. Jun 29, 2012
    3
    I really wanted to give this a higher score, however my love of the classic Battleship game made me lower my score for this peice of crap. I mean this toothbrush only has 6 bristles! 6! How am I meant to brush my teeth with that. This toilet simulation was ridiculously overpriced. There are only 6 levels and tey are all the same. Why did they make me pay £40 for this crap game when I could go and see the only slightly better movie for half as much. Sirs, I greatly advise you against buying this game, this review isn't long enough to cover all of the poor parts of the game. Do not waste your money on this rushed game. I did. Collapse
  3. Sep 18, 2012
    1
    This game sucks. I beat in an hour and a half it was so bad they are only 6 levels and they are all the same. Don't waste your money on this overpriced piece of crap. The gameplay is so repetitive and the graphics are terrible!. Thats enough talking about this crappy game!. Don't waste your money! The end. Expand