Bit.Trip Fate Image
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 7 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Bit.Trip Fate is a side-scrolling shoot-'em-up game.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Dec 22, 2010
    91
    Fate is much more frantic than its modest graphics might suggest.
  2. Oct 25, 2010
    90
    There's absolutely no denying that BIT.TRIP FATE is a radical departure from the platforming romp of the previous release, BIT.TRIP RUNNER, but gamers who put in the time to come to grips with the slightly more in-depth controls will likely find it every bit as engaging.
  3. Jan 3, 2011
    90
    They have done it again. Bit.Trip Fate is a completely new twist in the series, a fifth entry which shows freshness and almost no links with previous games.
  4. Dec 28, 2010
    78
    It's amazing how a simple, new idea is capable to reverse a solid and structured type of gameplay, but Gaijin is skilled in this process. Although not as balanced and enjoyable as "Runner", Bit.Trip Fate is a compelling audio-visual experience in perfect Gaijin-style.
  5. Dec 29, 2010
    73
    A gentler game. [Jan 2011, p.92]
  6. Dec 22, 2010
    70
    WiiWare's most consistent series of downloads returns with a unique take on the 2D shooter and the most literal on-the-rails action ever.
  7. Dec 22, 2010
    60
    One day, Gaijin Games might make it possible for mortals to play its games, but until then Fate is one you're probably best off spectating rather than getting smashed up by.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Mar 8, 2011
    9
    If you like "on-rails" shooters, this is a great game. If you hate this genre of games, you will hate this game, and stop reading this review now. Overall this is my 2nd favorite Bit.Trip game, and is a ton of fun. It is definitely a difficult game, but I keep coming back for more because of the addicting simplicity of it, combined with the brilliant soundtrack.

    This is honestly the most casual of the Bit.Trip games. You can just take it easy and blast everything out of existence without much trouble on the first several levels, though boss fights are challenging (enough). The powerups are excellent, and I feel like this is the most rewarding of all the Bit.Trip games when it comes to replay value. Unless you dislike challenging games, I strongly recommend this one
    Expand
  2. May 25, 2011
    9
    This game is a game I couldn't stop playing. I was drawn in by retro-style visuals, brilliant soundtrack, and great challenges. And the way the announcer roars what level of shooting you're at? Brilliant! Collapse