Blazing Angels: Squadrons of WWII Image
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 27 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: As a squadron leader and ace fighter pilot, leverage the Wii controller to experience intense dog fighting in the famous air battles of WW II. During the course of the mission campaign, players evolve along with their wingmen into an ace fighting force. Spectacular graphics enhance the combat experience in true World War II battle sites such as England, Germany, France, Morocco, Pearl Harbor, Midway and Tokyo. The heroic storyline that follows the evolution of a single squadron and the cinematic presentation create moments reminiscent of classic World War II movies. Pilots fly in close to Germany’s industrial terrain during a bombing raid or emerge from the fog and cloud cover over London to engage the enemy. Up to 16 players online can engage online in head-to-head dogfights or cooperative team play between squadrons in 10 additional missions. [Ubisoft] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 11
  2. Negative: 2 out of 11
  1. Still, the game's biggest problem is a simple lack of mission variety. [May 2007, p.87]
  2. There's already a better air combat game on the Wii in the shape of "Heatseeker," but if you'd rather try something more historical this isn't too bad. [Apr 2007, p.78]
  3. Even with all of the setbacks plaguing it, though, this Wii port of Blazing Angels: Squadrons of World War II has it where it counts. It adds motion-sensing functionality without sacrificing the fun — it, in fact, manages to enhance it in some cases.
  4. 60
    If you’ve never played it before, you’ll find Blazing Angels a good, but not great game. It’s a perfectly acceptable time waster for a rainy Sunday afternoon.
  5. Blazing Angels on the Wii might have an interesting control scheme but it doesn’t make up for the lackluster campaign mode or the barely-there multiplayer mode.
  6. 57
    A game that had a ton of potential, but just didn’t execute well.
  7. 20
    There's a decent flying game in Blazing Angels, there really is. It's just buried under so many obtuse design decisions and horribly awkward Wii controls that it's not even worth looking for. On the Xbox, Xbox 360, and PS3 it was a decent experience for WWII flight fans despite a handful of quirks; on the Wii, it simply doesn't work.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 16
  2. Negative: 2 out of 16
  1. SamS.
    Apr 4, 2007
    10
    This game is awesome. Yes, the controls take a while to get use to, but the game play is awesome. There are many game modes which makes this game fun to play. Expand
  2. Anonymous
    Oct 4, 2007
    9
    Best Wii game I found. Fun.
  3. KristopherR
    Jun 29, 2008
    9
    Just bought the game and finished the first 5 missions. Amazing! The controls are very intuitive. The graphics are sharp. The audio is terrific and the missions are engaging. I'm hooked!

    Regarding another players complaint about waiting for the software to correct flying upside down by rolling you out of it being a pain. Why not just get better and learn to kill the enemy while you are upside down? It's not that hard and enables you to pull up on the stick to change direction and nail a second target very quickly. I use it to my advantage.
    Expand
  4. SamF.
    Apr 30, 2007
    8
    This is a decent game and worth far more than the 60% average that this site gives. The easiest way to describe this is to say it's Rogue Squadron (Star Wars game) from the Gamecube with World War 2 planes and missions. The controls, using the Nunchuk as the control stick, are relatively intuitive and quite responsive. The graphics and sound are all solid. However, what makes the game stand out is the atmosphere it creates... no other conflict in the history of mankind has quite the effect or drama of World War 2 and this is the best example of a World War 2 flight combat game I've played. Expand
  5. JimB.
    Aug 6, 2007
    8
    Many people have said that "Heatseeker" is the best flight game on the Wii. Yet after 10 minutes with "Heatseeker" I was done. I rented "Blazing Angels" and decided that it is a buyer. The controls are responsive, not to mention a ton of control options. The graphics are decent while not spectactular. But most of all it's simply fun. I'm afraid the length of the game may be too short but is sure is a blast while it lasts. Expand
  6. CmdrWhiteWolf
    May 1, 2008
    5
    This game has a fair number of setbacks. While I'm "casual flyer", both my friend and I found several parts more difficult than we liked.
    The one really shining point of Blazing Angels is the variety of controller setup choices, though it was kind of annoying that it didn't remember our selections when we hopped from one multiplayer game to another during our play session.
    Another thing we didn't really care for was linear nature of the game.
    Collapse
  7. DonK.
    Jul 8, 2008
    2
    I'm not sure you all had played the same game I did, since this was less of a game and more a test of patients and general tensil strength test for your Wii remote as you try to snap it in two out of frustration. I liked this game alot at first, controls seemingly worked well, blowing up planes is alot of fun and all but I began to notice I was losing control from time to time. Sometimes I would be pitching the remote up and my plane was in a nosedive spiral straight into the ocean, taking some quick manuevers to regan control. I'm surprised more people didn't talk about these dead zones, I made sure nothing was around me to interfere, I moved the sensor bar forward I even stood closer to the screen but I was still htting these dead spots which would either send me straight down or just cruising in whatever direction it had been going before incountering the dead spot. maybe this was a bug that had been fixed by a patch since this was months ago I played this, but these problems are just inexscuseable. Expand

See all 16 User Reviews