• Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Oct 9, 2007
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 30
  2. Negative: 5 out of 30
  1. Save yourself the money and just shake your wii-mote randomly and violently, shout quotes from the series and cry softly to yourself in the corner for an hour afterwards – you’ll look less like an idiot and have just as much fun.
  2. Motion controls shine, with precise movement and combos accomplished with ease. However, Polygon Magic cut some corners in development, mainly with its stiff cut-scenes, slightly unfinished visuals and repetitive audio effects. Otherwise, this Blade is sharp.
  3. What makes a good fighting game is a well-designed combat system offering at least some degree of challenge and long term reward, and that's missing in Bleach: Shattered Blade.
  4. The Bankai activation scenes are still one of my favorite parts about Bleach. If you are a die-hard fan of Bleach then definitely pick this one up, but for all of those that are not yet familiar with the series, I would recommend renting it first.
  5. While the game’s story mode doesn’t make a big impression, the solid fighting mechanics and controls make this a fighting game that’s well worth a look.
  6. Overall, I was solidly entertained by Bleach: Shattered Blade. Even though I had to look up some stuff to get a general idea of who everyone was, I found myself sucked into some of the cool combat features, such as the "clash" mini-game.
  7. I suspect that the reason this game was so popular at this year's Otakon was its controls, and ease of play. You can pick it up and start slashing almost immediately.
  8. 63
    Bleach is a simple, arcade fighter that uses a ton of waggle controls, but also sacrifices the depth and strategy that most gamers are looking for.
  9. This is not even a good game for rabid fans, as they are the ones most likely to be offended by Polygon Magic's horrible whitewashing of their favorite fantasy.
  10. 40
    Bleach: Shattered Blade fails in many key areas. However, we'd be willing to overlook the dated graphics, horrid voice acting, wonky controls, or lack of depth if the game was one thing: fun. Hopefully Bleach diehards will enjoy it, because most players won't.
  11. As long as you're not expecting a ton of depth, the game will serve you well as a story-based game, a quick therapeutic diversion and a party game which proves, ultimately that there's a lot to like in Bleach: Shattered Blade.
  12. The combat mechanics are easy to exploit, effectively leaving the gameplay unbalanced and somewhat shallow. The utterly lacking multiplayer and somewhat inaccurate motion sensing don’t help, either. But hey, at least your arms will get a workout.
  13. A game that could easily be made better with a decent story and a better fighting system to seperate the good players from bad.
  14. Bleach Shattered: Blade is an average game. There is actually nothing wrong with the game, but it's also not that special. Die-hards of this series might find satisfaction in buying this game, but other people are advised to ignore this game.
  15. Bleach: Shattered Blade ultimately lacks the depth and sophistication that many fighting games require. With forgettable music and virtually no story, this game can easily be confined to Bleach fans only.
  16. 60
    A fairly enjoyable experience, coupled with an interesting take on the Wii-remote fighter experience.
  17. Bleach: Shattered Balde is a great casual fighting game. [Nov 2007, p.62]
  18. 75
    In the end, Bleach: Shattered Blade is a great fighting game that takes advantage of the Wii contextual controls in a very good way - not perfect, but certainly a step in the right direction.
  19. Bleach: Shattered Blade remains faithful to the television series and offers tight controls utilizing the Wii Remote and Nunchuck. However, a lack of variety in character moves, an overly used special move sequence and no online multiplayer add up to litte replayability value.
  20. It's a novel experience for a fighter and should be a reason to try this game out. It isn't an hardcore fighter, but those who want a simple game will like it. The flawed AI is what keeps this game from really being great.
  21. The Wii lends itself to the sword fighting very well, but it may be little more than novelty for most people. There is a lot of fan service here, but the title doesn't stand well on its own.
  22. Flashy and dressed stylishly enough to earn a second glance, Bleach isn't worth more than an occasional fling. [Mar 2008, p.76]
  23. 60
    Hardcore Bleach fans and those looking for another fighting game for their Wii might want to pick this one up, but for everyone else there is better elsewhere.
  24. Bleach is one of the deepest, most interesting shows out there. The game, sadly, isn't. [Apr 2008, p.84]
  25. Bleach: The Shattered Blade will only appeal to fans of the show, and barely at that. It's mediocre as an extension of the anime, and even worse as a video game. Though the Wii motion controls work like they are supposed to, they simply don't fit with the fast pace and repetitiveness of this style of fighting game.
  26. Even with a year to polish it up, Bleach feels like a rushed Wii launch job. Very poor. [Mar 2008, p.59]
  27. Even if you're a fan of the anime, the story and dialogues fail to impress. You can still look at it for the novelty of the control scheme, but soon you realize that there are only few movements that you can do, even fewer game modes and almost no difficulty. [May 2008]
  28. Barely any storyline - a total waste of a decent license. [Issue#20, p.78]
  29. 50
    As for me, my trip is over, and it's one game I'm never going to revisit.
  30. While Bleach: Shattered Blade doesn’t exactly fail, the repetitive nature of the game does wear thin after only a short time spent playing.
User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 22 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 8
  2. Negative: 2 out of 8
  1. GomezRuben
    Jul 8, 2009
    0
    I cant believe Shonen Jump or whoever it is who owns the rights to BLEACH actually allowed Sega to make a game for their series.

    The
    I cant believe Shonen Jump or whoever it is who owns the rights to BLEACH actually allowed Sega to make a game for their series.

    The visuals are TERRIBLE, I feel like Im playing a fighting game on the original playstation!
    Music - who the hell composed the garbage? They could have saved time, money, and pissing people like me off by using the tracks from the show! ALL the intros and some of the ending songs from the anime would have been great for this.

    Voice acting- Barf. They got first graders that were learning to read to do all the voice overs on this game. The... boy... with... blonde... hair... is...EEE...CHI...GO! Uh durr.... - They should have just included the japanese voices as an option, but like the voice actors, they are also ...uh-durr.

    Controls - I know this is a wii game but seriously!? I feel like I'm j@*k1ng off the person next to me b/c the controls are so non involving. Combo system? not really there. Swing the controller like an infant plays with a rattle and you got yourself a 13 hit combo b/c the sword gets swung up and down 13 times! Dont get me started on the "unblockables" and the terrible excuse for "bankai"

    BANKAI Scenes: For those of us who know the series, its saddening. The horrible visuals, with the stupid songs, the retarded voice overs, the midi sound effects, and the same dark lamo background(whats the deal with the dark background coming up during EVERY bankai?) makes them a dread to see! Its not that pleasing to the heart of a child still in you feeling with a slight burst of excitement that someone is about to get slapped. I prefer to just not go bankai during the fights JUST TO AVOID THE SCENES.

    Difficulty - ummm random should be the default and only option. It all depends on who your fighting. They are either fast and strong with good specials, or slow, stupid and weak. Computer just uses alot of the "unblockables either way.

    Story - Ever watched a filler arc and thought, THANK GOD ITS OVER. The story in this game will make you think - OMG JUST SKIP THE STORY LINE SCENES PLEASE!

    I'm about to close this rant.

    Sega almost went out of business for a reason. This game is a reason for REAL diehards of the series to just want to kill SEGA for developing such a HORRIBLE game.
    Full Review »
  2. Nov 21, 2011
    3
    Oh man! I love Bleach. I already read about 50 manga books. I also got DS game and it was pretty great. I had so high expectations for this.Oh man! I love Bleach. I already read about 50 manga books. I also got DS game and it was pretty great. I had so high expectations for this. Loading times take forever. There's no story mode just crappy episode mode. (where you have to fight 8 guys - in one episode with ****ing Hanataro Yamada). Sega came up with their own story and it sucks. Combat is horribly mindless. You have three choices weak attacks which don't do almost anything. Strong attacks which you have to spam. And special attacks (you have 3) which suck and most of time you use other attack than you want. Dubbing is BAD!!! Full Review »
  3. Feb 7, 2011
    7
    Bleach: Shattered Blade is a good fighter, it has a great selection of characters, the graphics are great, and the sound and voice work isBleach: Shattered Blade is a good fighter, it has a great selection of characters, the graphics are great, and the sound and voice work is superb, the story mode isn't that good and falls short in the end, but it's a good way to unlock the characters, with to few versus options and not many other modes to increase replay value it gets stale after a while, but if you enjoy Bleach or fighters you will have a blast with this game even if only for a little while. Full Review »