Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 23
  2. Negative: 3 out of 23
  1. 50
    The only redeeming factor about Bomberman Land is the inclusion of the archaic (but still awesome) Battle Mode. While it's lacking a bit in options -- only six modes to choose from -- at least it's a blast to battle it out with your buds.
  2. A fantastic game that serves to not only pay tribute to Bomberman's proud heritage and introduce a new audience to the old classic, but prove that there's a new lease of life for Bomberman in 2008 and on the Wii.
  3. Like I said, if you're looking for another mini-game frenzy and can't wait to invite your friends over, be careful with what you choose; this is not the one.
  4. Ah, kids...Let me tell you a story. It'll honestly be more enjoyable for you than this game.
  5. If you like Bomberman, there is no reason not to check this game out, it's a perfect weekend rental.
  6. Fans will appreciate the classic versus bombfests and the multitude of modes and maps, but the lack of online play means many solo players will be stuck competing against lame bots.
  7. Most of these mini-games are simplistic, monotonous affairs that require over-demanding skills to earn any kind of real accomplishment. The story is boring too, and impossible to skip past.
  8. Bomberman Land Wii is simply the weaker version of Bomberman Land Touch!. The game which was released a year ago for the NDS. The visuals and audio of the game disappionts us. The minigames are average of quality and it lacks a WiFi support. Luckily the developer has put the original Bomberman game on the disc as well. Else the result would even been lower.
  9. Bomberman needs a refresher course in high explosives - or a holiday. [May 2008, p.85]
  10. Due simply to its own mediocrity, this is another Bomberman that fails to make a bang. [June 2007, p.114]
  11. Bomberman Land isn’t worth a purchase on any level. The story mode’s cut scenes are boring and consume way too much play time, the mini games are dull and endlessly repetitive and the battle mode, while fun, is available elsewhere for much less.
  12. Compared to other minigame collections, Bomberman Land is a dud.
  13. Bomberman Land is a shining light in an otherwise drab wasteland of terrible mini-game collections.
  14. I love the classic Bomberman in this game; in fact that is about the only thing I like about this game. The new content of this game is boring and not worth the price of admittance.
  15. 72
    If you're trying to decide which of Bomberman's recent adventures to try out, we recommend Bomberman Land Touch! 2 for the DS. However, if you specifically have eyes on Bomberman Land for the Wii, there's a good amount of fun content included.
  16. Overall, this whole package seems held together with a cheap sticky-tack feeling that just leaves us wanting to cry.
  17. 50
    Bomberman Land does a good job at compiling a fairly good collection of mini-games but the bad story mode overshadows it.
  18. We can't dismiss it entirely because it does have a nice-looking bonus update of classic Bomberman. But the adventure mode is seriouly poor. Think twice, bomberfans.
  19. And would it have been that hard to include direct character control instead of using a remote-only point-and-click interface? [Mar 2008, p.86]
  20. The classic mode is still decent, but shoddy visuals, no online mode and a basic quest give this a budget feel. [Apr 2008, p.90]
  21. Tries meekly to combine some adventure to minigames (attractions) with revolting results in Story Mode. Minigames are too repetetive and simple while the story "developement" is a joke, to name a few faults. The original Bomberman (Battle Mode) works well though but that does not save the whole. Go for DS version and ignore this. [May 2008]
  22. All you really need to know about Bomberman Land on the Wii is that it's great fun in multiplayer and not worth playing alone.
  23. Bomberman Land Wii has a lot of tasks to accomplish despite its perceived image as merely a minigame collection. While this is the meat of the game, all of its customization, unlockable content, challenges, and the added classic mode help to bolster its value, especially when considering that it has a default price of only thirty dollars.
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 8 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. JosephE.
    Mar 14, 2008
    8
    My girlfriend and I love this game. We play it for hours on end, against each other and against the computer. It's a great combination of puzzle solving and combat for both boys and girls. Full Review »
  2. Johnnie
    Feb 21, 2008
    9
    I actually am enjoying this game a lot. Although, there could be better features, the game play kept me going on for hours. The classic battle is good, but could be better if there was more options, like wifi. It is fun to play with my friends on the classic battle mode. Other than that, the story/adventure mode is good for solo playing, at least for a while until you mastered them all. Full Review »