User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 23 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 23
  2. Negative: 9 out of 23

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Billy
    Sep 4, 2007
    6
    This will be typed in more of a freewrite style sp I hope it's understandable. At first play I hated this game. Hated it. I was in the middle of it and I was pissed at myself for buying a game that I never played before but I also hadn't read any reviews for either. But then something crazy happened, I started playing with someone else and the game started to grow on me. This will be typed in more of a freewrite style sp I hope it's understandable. At first play I hated this game. Hated it. I was in the middle of it and I was pissed at myself for buying a game that I never played before but I also hadn't read any reviews for either. But then something crazy happened, I started playing with someone else and the game started to grow on me. Don't get me wrong, the game is far from perfect but it's not THAT bad. I've gotten use to the controls and can bowl a pretty decent game (high 100s/low 200s) which is good and more realistic than Wii sports bowling where after a couple days I was consistently in the high 200s. The game does have it's flaws though, the animations all around are atrocious, the create a player mode is lacking considerably, and there is one sound effect that is a COMPLETELY different sounding effect when you bowl a strike. Even when pins are bouncing around you will know they will all eventually fall (or won't) based on the sound effect heard once the ball connects with the pins. It's a little annoying but I've gotten over it. And yes, it's not 1:1 but it's easy to get used to. I haven't gotten that far in career mode yet so I cant say how much depth this game has but I like being able to face off against someone even when you're playing by yourself. Overall this game could be worse but it could be a lot better. Expand
  2. CherieC.
    Mar 30, 2008
    7
    Compared to AMC bowling game, this one's pretty good although admittedly not as good as Wii Sports. It tries to simulate real bowling by changing lane conditions, making it more difficult to control the ball. We've enjoyed getting to know this game, you can't master it after only one play making it an enjoyable challenge. As with any game, rent it first. Clearly from the Compared to AMC bowling game, this one's pretty good although admittedly not as good as Wii Sports. It tries to simulate real bowling by changing lane conditions, making it more difficult to control the ball. We've enjoyed getting to know this game, you can't master it after only one play making it an enjoyable challenge. As with any game, rent it first. Clearly from the wide range of reviews this game is love it or hate it. We love it. Expand
  3. MarkL.
    Aug 30, 2007
    7
    A lot of people are going to come from this game with the thought: "This isn't like Wii Sports Bowling! It sucks." There is a steep learning curve which at first comes off like bad controls. Originally, the initial screenshots showed a meter used similarly in a golf video game. That has all been removed and what we are left with is an awkward (at first) gameplay. The key to being A lot of people are going to come from this game with the thought: "This isn't like Wii Sports Bowling! It sucks." There is a steep learning curve which at first comes off like bad controls. Originally, the initial screenshots showed a meter used similarly in a golf video game. That has all been removed and what we are left with is an awkward (at first) gameplay. The key to being succesful at this game is to first note the oil patterns on the lanes. Then when a the arrows are positioned where you want to throw the ball, you hold up the remote 90 deg and press the trigger (b button). When this is done you can then move your arm parallel to ground and do a proper 4 or 5 step bowling swing and at the release point you can turn your hand to get some some spin or flatten off (althought this could use some work for the sequel try - shooting a 10 pin the first time). The career mode is annoying that you have to watch your opponent bowl which cannot be sped up or skipped. Overall a solid 7 out of 10. I guess it helps if you are a regular bowler with and decent average like me to enjoy this game although it could of been a lot more. Expand
  4. ChadS.
    Sep 8, 2007
    4
    This game can best be described as a missed opportunity. If they had only implemented the excellent (and approachable) control scheme from Wii Sports Bowling, they would have a great hit on their hands, despite the ugly characters. Instead the Wii control in this game feels very detached and, well... needless. The Wii control is totally out of sync with the bowlers motions, and you This game can best be described as a missed opportunity. If they had only implemented the excellent (and approachable) control scheme from Wii Sports Bowling, they would have a great hit on their hands, despite the ugly characters. Instead the Wii control in this game feels very detached and, well... needless. The Wii control is totally out of sync with the bowlers motions, and you don't even know if what you're doing seems to have much of any effect on the bowling. There's no meter for feedback, or anything to help you figure this out either. I was able to bowl a fairly good game just by dropping my arm to my side each time, regardless of what my player was doing. This is a very technical bowling game, which is fine, but you don't even need the Wii controller to play it... in fact, it would control better without it. And that's just a shame, because it could have been so much more than just a controller-based game ported to the Wii with poorly tacked on Wii controls. Expand
  5. GregW.
    Sep 4, 2007
    6
    Where Wii Bowling could sell someone on buying the system, Brunswick Bowling would have someone who tried the game selling them on it. I used to be an avaid bowler and I was looking forward to the game. I did rent it first and I like everyone else I am disappointed. Wii Bowling could be considered a party game but Brunswick bowling is not a party game. If people came over and because of Where Wii Bowling could sell someone on buying the system, Brunswick Bowling would have someone who tried the game selling them on it. I used to be an avaid bowler and I was looking forward to the game. I did rent it first and I like everyone else I am disappointed. Wii Bowling could be considered a party game but Brunswick bowling is not a party game. If people came over and because of the learning curve I would not get out Brunswick bowling. Basically the control for the actually rolling of the ball is just a swing of the arm. The game does not detect if you "pulled" it or "pushed" it like Wii Bowling. It is nice to have to deal with changing lane conditions. Its nice to have some stats kept. However I still give it a 6 since I have had a lot of fun wiht it but it just could have been and SHOULD have been so much better with the better controls. Expand
  6. [Anonymous]
    Nov 20, 2007
    1
    Worse bowling game ever. I will try to return tomorrow. Hopefully AMF Bowling Pinbusters will be better.
  7. LarryH.
    Aug 28, 2007
    3
    Very slow, does not make use of accelerators in Wii Remote. Wii Sports Bowling way better. I can't believe it, I now have a $40 POS.
  8. NanB.
    Aug 29, 2007
    3
    Quick game is playable, but trying to play career mode gets frustrating fast. No matter how you try to hook or spin the ball, it goes different directions. The idea of oily lanes tries to be more realistic but fails when you can barely keep the ball out of the gutter.
  9. ColbyS.
    Feb 29, 2008
    0
    Very poor game. No ball control. The ball will roll without any movement other than pressing B and dropping arm to start swing. Looking for a refund! Company should be ashamed of putting out such trash.
  10. WindyCity
    May 29, 2008
    9
    I am not a gamer. Up till last year, I hadn't played a home video game system since Sega Genesis in 1992. I am a bowler - not a pro - but enough of a fan to own several bowling balls & understand the difference between them as well as lane conditions and other aspects of bowling. I ended up playing Wii Sports bowling at my nephews and fell in love with it. I was very excited to hear I am not a gamer. Up till last year, I hadn't played a home video game system since Sega Genesis in 1992. I am a bowler - not a pro - but enough of a fan to own several bowling balls & understand the difference between them as well as lane conditions and other aspects of bowling. I ended up playing Wii Sports bowling at my nephews and fell in love with it. I was very excited to hear about the Brunswick version when it came out. Brunswick Pro Bowling is a fan-freakin-tastic bowling game if you understand bowling beyond "throw it that way really fast" or "twist the heck out of it so it sweeps from one side of the lane to the other & back". You can't just drop the ball in the same place & expect the same results - I enjoy this challenge. What I dislike is the inability to bowl in a multi-player way in Career Mode. There should be a way for multiple players to participate in a tournament or even an occasional league night. It takes a little while to get used to the intricacies of the remote's action, but you can still roll a 200 game or close without understanding it completely. Oh - on a side note, amf pinbusters is by far The WORST bowling game I've played. The action is a joke and the character "asides" are really annoying. Expand
  11. RussL
    Aug 26, 2008
    8
    This game is definitely frustrating if you are not aware of the nuances of real bowling. If you've ever competed at a high level, however, you'll find a lot to like about it. It's very challenging, just like the real thing. The career mode takes a long time to develop your player, which makes some sense. The realism of the changing shot is impressive. One of the more This game is definitely frustrating if you are not aware of the nuances of real bowling. If you've ever competed at a high level, however, you'll find a lot to like about it. It's very challenging, just like the real thing. The career mode takes a long time to develop your player, which makes some sense. The realism of the changing shot is impressive. One of the more frustrating things though is that because it takes awhile build up attributes your player can miss a target (by a lot) simply because his/her accuracy attribute is not built up. This can happen in the middle of string of strikes or in a tournament match - it appears to be pretty random. There is not a lot of high octane entertainment here. The focus is the technical aspects more. Those that have an intricate knowledge of the game will find more to like. Overall though, it's by far the best bowling simulation I've seen out there. Expand
  12. Kahlil
    Aug 26, 2007
    4
    Wii sports bowling hands down more exciting. Controls are terrible.
  13. ScottF.
    Sep 23, 2007
    2
    They had a great model to base this product on, but they tried to reinvent the wheel and ended up with a brick. Not only did they not improve on some obvious deficiencies in wii sport, but it seems like they took what was good from it and did away with that as well. You can get used to the timing between your approach and the character being off, but I can't tell if anything I do They had a great model to base this product on, but they tried to reinvent the wheel and ended up with a brick. Not only did they not improve on some obvious deficiencies in wii sport, but it seems like they took what was good from it and did away with that as well. You can get used to the timing between your approach and the character being off, but I can't tell if anything I do with the wii remote does anything to affect the game play. Game play is boring and slow. I was playing wii sport within an hour of getting home with this game. I've even read some reviews here and decided to give it a second try...same result. SAVE YOURSELF $40.00 go buy yourself a pizza and a DVD (at least that way you will get a guaranteed 2 hours of entertainment). Expand
  14. DaveN
    Dec 18, 2008
    9
    If you are coming over from playing wii bowling and are expecting the same feel and controllabilty, then you will be in for an un-welcomed shock. Brunswick takes this bowling game to another level that just wont be fun for a majority of players, but a joy for real bowlers. This game is very precise and extremely sensitive to wrist movement, similar to the real thing. Throwing a consistent If you are coming over from playing wii bowling and are expecting the same feel and controllabilty, then you will be in for an un-welcomed shock. Brunswick takes this bowling game to another level that just wont be fun for a majority of players, but a joy for real bowlers. This game is very precise and extremely sensitive to wrist movement, similar to the real thing. Throwing a consistent ball with a nice hook is easily achieved, but it will take practice if your not a real bowler. People who bowl often will appreciate the game and understand oil patterns better then ever before. Maybe in the practice session they should provide a tutorial on arm and wrist motion. This should help the novice turn their game around alot faster so frustration doesnt get the best of them. Expand
  15. PAPARAYH.
    Sep 25, 2008
    7
    Another great way to have fun all by yourself! I also inflicted the game on unteted guests, and we all had plenty of fun. Wish the game would let you "alter" your personal bowler when you go from frumpy to semi in shape! Or maybe even from long haired to bald. Adios
  16. KevinJ.
    Dec 27, 2007
    9
    Fun Game - not great graphics but honestly, what the junk does it matter. If you want real graphics go bowl in real life.
  17. Apr 5, 2011
    6
    The main problems with the game are that the controls aren't good, but you can eventually get used to them, and that it's nothing we haven't seen before, there are better bowling games on the Wii like the bowling game in Wii Sports, it's not really a bad game but it's just nothing new or exciting, and the bad controls don't help matters either, so it's not a bad game, but it's not great,The main problems with the game are that the controls aren't good, but you can eventually get used to them, and that it's nothing we haven't seen before, there are better bowling games on the Wii like the bowling game in Wii Sports, it's not really a bad game but it's just nothing new or exciting, and the bad controls don't help matters either, so it's not a bad game, but it's not great, it's just ok. Collapse
  18. Dec 14, 2013
    9
    Wow this game is AWESOME!!! I had played ten pin alley and that games controls are broken. Reading the reviews for this game made me think this would be another broken game. But the graphics are nice and the career mode is deep. Starting out, this game was pretty decent for a while. Then I wondered how to spin the ball. After practicing for a bit and not quite getting it, the angles andWow this game is AWESOME!!! I had played ten pin alley and that games controls are broken. Reading the reviews for this game made me think this would be another broken game. But the graphics are nice and the career mode is deep. Starting out, this game was pretty decent for a while. Then I wondered how to spin the ball. After practicing for a bit and not quite getting it, the angles and the curving finally clicked. And then BLAMMO REVELATION!!! This game RULES once you get it. Its perfect. It certainly isnt the simple wii bowling and you wont get it right away. Once you do this is just like really bowling. One guy reviews that he could just move his arm and it takes over without user control. Thats complete bull. In fact if you actually go through the bowlers motion the ball responds much more realistically than if you dont. Its super realistic and amazing. I feel sorry for the designers who have had to read bad reviews from simpletons who didnt figure it out. Get it. Im on the hunt for brunswick cosmic bowling now. Expand
  19. Apr 5, 2011
    0
    The main problems with the game are that the controls aren't good, but you can eventually get used to them, and that it's nothing we haven't seen before, there are better bowling games on the Wii like the bowling game in Wii Sports, it's not really a bad game but it's just nothing new or exciting, and the bad controls don't help matters either, so it's not a bad game, but it's not great,The main problems with the game are that the controls aren't good, but you can eventually get used to them, and that it's nothing we haven't seen before, there are better bowling games on the Wii like the bowling game in Wii Sports, it's not really a bad game but it's just nothing new or exciting, and the bad controls don't help matters either, so it's not a bad game, but it's not great, it's just ok. Collapse
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 11
  2. Negative: 5 out of 11
  1. The game is still fun with a group, and bowling is infinitely more entertaining with a Wii remote than with a standard controller; just don't expect the superior control of Wii Sports Bowling. [Sept 2007, p.86]
  2. Poor presentation and a steep learning curve hinder what would have otherwise been a fun bowling sim.
  3. 55
    Sure, getting another few people around the TV is infinitely more enjoyable than the single-player experience, but figuring out the precise hook patterns to overcome the dynamic lane conditions can be overly intimidating.