Bust-A-Move Bash! Image
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.5

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 12 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Bust-A-Move Bash utilizes the unique interactivity of the Wii Remote to bring Bust-A-Move franchise fans a completely new way to experience its puzzle-based game play. Puzzle Mode: play 500 levels across five different puzzle areas. Endless Mode: a challenging test of bubble-bursting skillBust-A-Move Bash utilizes the unique interactivity of the Wii Remote to bring Bust-A-Move franchise fans a completely new way to experience its puzzle-based game play. Puzzle Mode: play 500 levels across five different puzzle areas. Endless Mode: a challenging test of bubble-bursting skill and endurance. Vs. Mode: allows up to 8 players to go head-to-head simultaneously; Shooting Mode: an all-new mode where bubbles come at players from all angles; to handle the non-stop assault, players can use the Wii Remote and Nunchuk Controller together. Bust-A-Move Bash! features 10 different characters, including franchise favorites Bub and Bob as well as many new additions. Players will experience a variety of game modes and options. In addition, a new Hyper option speeds up game play while the Slip feature allows players to connect fired bubbles to similar colors even though their aim may be off. [Nintendo] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 20
  2. Negative: 5 out of 20
  1. The Wii remote offers probably the most pleasing way to play the game, but there’s very little that could be considered new or different here. [June 2007, p.120]
  2. If you've played one "Bust-A-Move" game, you've pretty much played them all. [July 2007, p.95]
  3. Just another Bust-a-Move game but with Wii controls and repetitive soundtrack and visuals. It doesn't offer improved gameplay or cool unlockables to keep you motivated.
  4. 50
    Unfortunately, playing it with the flighty Wii Remote controls can sometimes make it more frustrating than fun, and the much ballyhooed eight-player mode (just look at those excited folks on the back of the box) is a (wait for it) bust.
  5. Also frustrating throughout are the special balls that fly around above you, waiting to be shot out of the sky and used to blow things up/get extra points. But actually all they do is get in your way and distract you from the actual game. We want to be angry, but all we can muster is indifference.
  6. Bust-a-Move Bash! seems to have been carelessly thrown together with little understanding of what made the previous versions so much fun.
  7. Based on a thirteen-year-old puzzle game, Bash lacks depth, has very little content, and presents a seriously flawed multiplayer mode.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 7 out of 9
  1. AnthonyV.
    Apr 20, 2007
    10
    Some games fit the Wii perfectly, and BaM is one. So smooth!
  2. TommyS.
    Apr 20, 2007
    7
    The mutliplayer is surprisingly disappointing, but I haven'y had so much Bust-a-Move fun since the way old arcade game.
  3. LintS.
    Apr 19, 2007
    3
    Never having tried Bust a Move I gave the "genre" a shot. I found the game to be fairly mundane and boring. Using the directional arrows to Never having tried Bust a Move I gave the "genre" a shot. I found the game to be fairly mundane and boring. Using the directional arrows to change color didn't feel natural. Unless you're a fan of the series, I don't suggest picking this one up. After about 15 minutes I've had my fill of Bust a Move for life. Expand
  4. KevinC.
    Apr 23, 2007
    2
    I was expecting something on the order of Snood, but with multiplayer support. After buying and playing it, it is nowhere near as good. The I was expecting something on the order of Snood, but with multiplayer support. After buying and playing it, it is nowhere near as good. The multiplayer gameplay is completely inane. You get more points by just randomly shooting as fast as possible than by actually trying to aim or strategies. This game is pretty much a complete waste of money. Expand
  5. EdT.
    Apr 30, 2007
    2
    Seriously, RENT this game before buying it. Don't make the mistake (like I did) of assuming that any Bust-a-Move game is better than Seriously, RENT this game before buying it. Don't make the mistake (like I did) of assuming that any Bust-a-Move game is better than none at all. I load this game up for my girlfriend and her younger sisters, and they were completely bored with the game within 5 minutes! How is that even possible? That's not an exaggeration, by the way - it was really just 5 minutes. An absurd amount of unnecessary "special" bubbles, "special" skills, and automatic combos completely take ALL the skill out of the game. And there's no classic mode for those of us who don't need that nonsense. But probably worst of all, there is NO VERSUS MODE - only the mode which places you on the same playing field with as many as 7 other people. But just as all the reviews have stated, it's just chaos where, again, no skill is involved. Continually smashing the buttons works just as good as any "strategy" because there is no way to lose. Bubbles that reach the bottom simply fall away harmlessly. I could go on and on... Expand
  6. Anonymous
    May 25, 2007
    1
    This is by far the worst Wii game I have ever played. The Wii Remote controls are completely too sensitive, bringing down the entire puzzle This is by far the worst Wii game I have ever played. The Wii Remote controls are completely too sensitive, bringing down the entire puzzle element. Thc Classic Controller scheme is much better suited to Bust-A-Move, so why you can only use it tin the party mode is anyone's guess. Bust-A-Move Bash! should sell a few copies... to Satan. It's the perfect game for the eternally damned. Expand
  7. SamJ.
    Apr 20, 2007
    0
    The graphics are disgusting, gameplay is horrible.

See all 9 User Reviews