User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 55 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 55
  2. Negative: 13 out of 55

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. IanI.
    Jan 29, 2007
    2
    The game on 360/PS3 is far from great, but it is at least serviceable. The Wii version (like most 3rd party Wii games) is horrible, in every conceivable aspect. The controllers are so illogical it makes you laugh when gamers talk about how "intuitive" the Wii is. It physically hurts to play the game for more than a couple of min. It takes sooo much effort to shoot an enemy 5 feet infront The game on 360/PS3 is far from great, but it is at least serviceable. The Wii version (like most 3rd party Wii games) is horrible, in every conceivable aspect. The controllers are so illogical it makes you laugh when gamers talk about how "intuitive" the Wii is. It physically hurts to play the game for more than a couple of min. It takes sooo much effort to shoot an enemy 5 feet infront of you even while iron sighted that it makes your eyes bleed. Unfortunately the single player on this game (on any system) is less than good, however on the 360 and PS3 the multiplayer is very good, unfortunately the Wii version doesn't support this "online multiplayer fad" so there really is nothing good about this game, amazingly the worst parts about it are the motion sensitive elements, some are pulled of decently on the PS3 but on the Wii its just poorly done. Wii seems to be showing that it isn't capable of running FPS games, its a great party system if you can afford the overpriced box and 4 controllers. Expand
  2. AnonymousMC
    Oct 25, 2007
    9
    The game is great, controls are amazing driving is the best in this game. Movement is also very well done. The game maintains a challenge while not being impossible. The story is too short on easy and too long on hard (same corner like 100 times over) Normal is the way to go but the game has no replay value. I 100% recommend you try the game
  3. Spikey
    Jan 13, 2009
    8
    I put off getting this game for the longest time, because most reviews had slammed the controls, and I'll amit, when I first turned it one, I was more than a little worried, but give it a chance. within an hour, pretty much every initial problem, had ceased to be one. Yeah, Sometime it's hard to tell exactly what the indicators are telling you to do with the remotes, but onceI put off getting this game for the longest time, because most reviews had slammed the controls, and I'll amit, when I first turned it one, I was more than a little worried, but give it a chance. within an hour, pretty much every initial problem, had ceased to be one. Yeah, Sometime it's hard to tell exactly what the indicators are telling you to do with the remotes, but once you've figured it out, it's a damn good game. I loved the previous versions on the PS2, and I'm really glad I didn't let the magazines opinions continute to keep me from playing it. Is it perfect? nope. is it worth the $20?...absolutely.
    Just be willing to give yourself an hour or so to get to grips with the controls.
    Expand
  4. AllistairP.
    Nov 26, 2006
    2
    Nothing in my life has given me motion sickness other than New York taxi cab rides, until I picked up COD3 for the Wii. When I first saw the Wii, I thought it'd be able to handle FPSs wonderfully but now it seems impossible after playing COD3. It's a complete mess and totally unplayable. Even with that aside it's just an expansion to last years version, which I'm gonna Nothing in my life has given me motion sickness other than New York taxi cab rides, until I picked up COD3 for the Wii. When I first saw the Wii, I thought it'd be able to handle FPSs wonderfully but now it seems impossible after playing COD3. It's a complete mess and totally unplayable. Even with that aside it's just an expansion to last years version, which I'm gonna just wait for PC. Hopefully Red Steel and future FPSs will handle much better. Seriously, the worst gaming expierence with my Wii yet. Expand
  5. LuisG.
    Nov 29, 2006
    8
    I've played red steel and cod3. I Must say that I hope to see games that have cod3 control mechanics than those compred to red steel. The wiimote is almost too accurate! Very cool.
  6. MikeG.
    Dec 2, 2006
    8
    I am addicted to this game can't stop playing graphics are good when the bombs start falling its does get very dizzying.
  7. SteveW.
    Dec 5, 2006
    7
    The first thing to mention when talking about a Wii game is the controls. For CoD3, they are good, but not great. Using the nunchuk to place the fuse and pull the pin on some TNT is annoying, but aiming your gun with the wiimote is almost flawless. Jerking the nunchuk up and down and side to side to reload and change weapons isnt always registered. I found the graphics adequate but too The first thing to mention when talking about a Wii game is the controls. For CoD3, they are good, but not great. Using the nunchuk to place the fuse and pull the pin on some TNT is annoying, but aiming your gun with the wiimote is almost flawless. Jerking the nunchuk up and down and side to side to reload and change weapons isnt always registered. I found the graphics adequate but too dark on the night levels, so much so that I would be walking into walls without knowing it. Overall, I would still recommend this game. Expand
  8. BenH.
    Dec 9, 2006
    10
    This game rocks. After playing for a while i got used to the controls and they are very well laid out i'd say about a 30 minutes - 2 hour learning curve for the aim, this will put alot of impatient people off this game as shown in some of the user ratings. When you twist the Wii-mote to the side your soldier will lean out from behind blocks, you can then use the aim button to look This game rocks. After playing for a while i got used to the controls and they are very well laid out i'd say about a 30 minutes - 2 hour learning curve for the aim, this will put alot of impatient people off this game as shown in some of the user ratings. When you twist the Wii-mote to the side your soldier will lean out from behind blocks, you can then use the aim button to look down the barrel and line up your head shots. This works very well for this game. Strafing is great it works very well also.. once you get the aim and the strafing down they work very well together and you can turn very quickly and accurately. The crouch controls are also very intuitive and when crouched you aim improves whether looking down the barrel of just shooting free-hand. You also Drive Jeeps, possibly tanks im not that far yet. You do this by holding your nunchuk and Wii-remote like a steering wheel and steering. It is very fun. Not only that there are many little scenarios where you have to use the Nintendo controllers motions to accomplish objectives.. this involves fights with other enemy soldiers to arming bombs so far. Anyway I just wanted to say if this game is made multiplayer i think it will be great.. i've never though FPS games could work on consoles properly compared to a mouse and keyboard but i think Nintendo have managed to make it just as fun .. if not more fun then most PC FPS. Alot of the critics gave Call of Duty 3 on Wii a much lower score the Xbox and PlayStation versions. I fail to understand this as the Wii control really proves a big point here and it makes the game so much more fun. I'd recommend buying this game if you want to play a FPS game on your Wii. Expand
  9. DavidB.
    Dec 18, 2006
    8
    Yes, no multiplayer was a mistake (or rather a choice to rush this out for launch), but I can't believe the critics and users that are complaining about the controls - it took me maybe 20 mins to get used to it and a bit of sensitivity tweaking in the options screen, but when I got it, I REALLY GOT IT... The wiimote aiming on this game shows that the Wii is the way forward for 1st Yes, no multiplayer was a mistake (or rather a choice to rush this out for launch), but I can't believe the critics and users that are complaining about the controls - it took me maybe 20 mins to get used to it and a bit of sensitivity tweaking in the options screen, but when I got it, I REALLY GOT IT... The wiimote aiming on this game shows that the Wii is the way forward for 1st person shooters. I'm from a PC background for gaming, and this is just as accurate as a mouse but much more fun! Personally I hate using standard control pad controls for 1st person shooters, its just unnatural and not fast or precise enough, so I've avoided console versions, but after this I'll always be using a Wii to satisfy my bloodlust! Plus this is such an intense game, I love it - without multiplayer though it might end up gathering dust after I've finished it (which I've almost done already unfortunately). Collapse
  10. JimboH.
    Dec 26, 2006
    7
    One thing a lot of critics got wrong was the aiming sensitivity. Its there, but because you aim the gun like you navigate menus on the Wii, the sensitivity is in the wii options. Once you realize this fact, and turn the sensitivity all the way down, suddenly aiming becomes a lot less nausiating and a lot more accurate. If you cannot hold the controller steady in the wii menus, go turn the One thing a lot of critics got wrong was the aiming sensitivity. Its there, but because you aim the gun like you navigate menus on the Wii, the sensitivity is in the wii options. Once you realize this fact, and turn the sensitivity all the way down, suddenly aiming becomes a lot less nausiating and a lot more accurate. If you cannot hold the controller steady in the wii menus, go turn the sensitivity down. The only real flaw is that the wii doesnt support lower sensitivities, but that can always get changed later by software updates. So far, the controls have become better as I play it, but it definately has a very unintuitive learning curve at the beginning. The part where you wrestle with a gun is also very shoddy and should of simply been removed. I did exactly what it said to do, and the game gave no feedback why it wasn't working. 20+ attempts later, I get it to work but I'm still not sure why. The best way to play this I've found without tiring your arm out is to sit indian-style (with cross legs) and to prop your arm against one of your legs, while propping your other arm against your other leg, allowing the nunchuk room to move. To be honest editor, though, you should remove the bottom two user reviews, as they obviously haven't spent more than 20 minutes actually playing this game. Actually, I have a feeling the bottom 4 official reviews only spent a few minutes actually playing the Wii version. Expand
  11. Raya
    Dec 30, 2006
    8
    It's the same old Call of Duty but the Wiimote makes the difference. At first I was disapointed. It was difficult to move with ease till I put the vertical and horizontal speeds to max. Then it began to rock! I suddenly turned into Rambo and was running straight at the enemy and just ploughing through them. It's like mouse and keyboard but much more fun. The special moves like It's the same old Call of Duty but the Wiimote makes the difference. At first I was disapointed. It was difficult to move with ease till I put the vertical and horizontal speeds to max. Then it began to rock! I suddenly turned into Rambo and was running straight at the enemy and just ploughing through them. It's like mouse and keyboard but much more fun. The special moves like pushing the german soldiers is just not explained well enough. It took about 10 attempts before I realized what I was supposed to do. It works well though. Reloading and switching weapons works fine but you have to be careful eg if you snap the nunchuk to the right you change weapon but if you do it diagonally - snap left and move back/forward (easy to do in combat) it won't register. Mixed reviews but the control is definately spot on once you find the settings that suit you. Some reviews like the Eurogamer complain about walking drunkenly - it's obviious that reviewers like these don't know what a manual is. Pity there's no online multiplayer. What would be good is cross platform multiplay. All those 360 and ps3 players wouldn't stand a chance against the wiimote. Expand
  12. BrianS.
    Jan 12, 2007
    8
    It's good, the controls take a little getting used too.. other than that tho, a good time
  13. FredB.
    Jan 14, 2007
    4
    Truly awful control mechanism. I can't wait to see FPS games that are actually designed _for_ the wii though, seems like this was really last minute and ill-conceived. I would argue that those claiming the wii-mote controls for COD3 are great are not regular players of FPS games. The fact is the argument that there is no point of reference is not important - it's absolutely Truly awful control mechanism. I can't wait to see FPS games that are actually designed _for_ the wii though, seems like this was really last minute and ill-conceived. I would argue that those claiming the wii-mote controls for COD3 are great are not regular players of FPS games. The fact is the argument that there is no point of reference is not important - it's absolutely vital. For a truly 'tactile' control mechanism for an FPS, one would have to design a 'gun', held with two hands, perhaps with buttons for the other controls on the stock. Using the d-pad for grenades is clumsy and breaks the gameplay, and also causes the whole controller to move, thus moving your point of view. The use of + and - buttons to pick up weapons and do other tasks is clumsy as the buttons are tiny. There's not a good thing I can say about playing this game on the wii, it's truly an abomination to anyone who is serious about games, and it stuns me to see so many obviously paid for tech journalists (or perhaps non-gamers) waxing lyrical about how wonderful it is. The fact is I was truly ready to be impressed by COD3 using a tactile system like the wiimote, but they simply did not deliver, and I don't think we've seen how good such a system can be. I wait with bated breath. Expand
  14. JamesT.
    Jan 31, 2007
    9
    The game is amazing, it works with the Wii's unique control system. The gameplay is so realistic sometimes you can loose yourself inside the game. The only bad thing about it is how easy it is! You heal if you stay in a area, and you heal fast.
  15. AngeloF.
    Feb 5, 2007
    9
    Great game, makes good use of the Wii's graphics card and abilities, would be nice if there was multiplayer though.
  16. MikeL.
    Feb 20, 2007
    9
    Amazing game, so great and real sometimes you don't know if your playing or your really in the game. This game really used the Wii's abilities to their best!
  17. HiddeB.
    Feb 25, 2007
    8
    When I started playin CoD3, I immediately saw that CoD3 is an incredibly good game. It makes perfect use of the functions of the Wii. When you plant a charge, for example, You need to twist the Wiimote to put the ignitor in the bombs. But it is a shame that the CoD3 doesn't have any Multiplayer functions.
  18. CraigM.
    Mar 2, 2007
    8
    I at first thought that the controls would be somewhat clunky but it works excellent on the Wii. It is easier than the 360 version. It is a great example about how well first person shooters can be with these controls but there is one major problem....it has no multiplayer made at all!
  19. ArthurH.
    Apr 16, 2007
    2
    I've played both previous Call of Duty games (on PC and consoles) and I'm a huge FPS fan. This game was utter crap. Not only are the controls tacked on extremely poorly, but the whole game will give you motion sickness. For example, when your character is standing around listening to orders, his head is bobbing around for some reason, making you motion sick. Seriously, who I've played both previous Call of Duty games (on PC and consoles) and I'm a huge FPS fan. This game was utter crap. Not only are the controls tacked on extremely poorly, but the whole game will give you motion sickness. For example, when your character is standing around listening to orders, his head is bobbing around for some reason, making you motion sick. Seriously, who actually bobs their head around when standing still? The dialogue and story are utter crap too. Graphics are poor as well, not sure if that's just because it's on the Wii. Easily the worst Call of Duty game, shouldn't even be allowed to carry that name. Expand
  20. PabloF.
    May 7, 2007
    8
    Very good game. It have an exelent game control, and you feel like you are in the war. BUT, it has no online, AND, they could made one for PC, but they didn't xD
  21. [Anonymous]
    Jun 2, 2007
    6
    Pretty good gameplay and controls. Only problems are it can get tiring always having to hold the Wii remote straight or else the screen just spins around and gets you dizzy. Also, doesn't have a multiplayer mode which is what i bought the game for. I wanted to be able to play with my friends but I can't.
  22. JonyS.
    Jun 10, 2007
    7
    The single player is amazing. Not too easy, controls work well, occasional fussiness but its usually cause your arm gets tired from aiming at the screen :p. The graphics are decent as well. The only thing that really disappointed me was the lack of multi player. But if you like single player fps' go for this. (or maybe Red Steel I haven't played that.)
  23. MatthewB.
    Jul 10, 2007
    4
    Horrible game filled with many bugs, such as nazi's magically teleporting into an empty hallway. Also, there is annoying unskippable cutscenes to try and tell a story we all know how ends, and an overall bad control scheme. There is also the issue of sensitivity, where its either too high to get some decent shots off, or too low to turn around and shoot a nazi that teleported behind you.
  24. JakeH.
    Jul 27, 2007
    8
    Call of Duty 3 is a great game. It's not too hard, not too easy, not too long and not too short. It also has alright controls too. Unlike Medal of Honor: Vanguard, the nunchuck doesn't have too many movements. The graphics aren't stunning, but that doesn't matter if you can see the stitching on Sgt. McCullin's uniform. The game is still good.
  25. SimonG.
    Sep 4, 2007
    5
    I know a lot of people complained about Red Steel, but to me it is by far better than COD 3. Call of Duty has good shooting and camera controls, but bad vehicles and various other functions (like mines and grenades) controls. The graphic are alright, but where it really shines is with the particle, dust and smoke effects. The audio is also a blast. The reason why I don't recommend I know a lot of people complained about Red Steel, but to me it is by far better than COD 3. Call of Duty has good shooting and camera controls, but bad vehicles and various other functions (like mines and grenades) controls. The graphic are alright, but where it really shines is with the particle, dust and smoke effects. The audio is also a blast. The reason why I don't recommend this game, and this is common to entire COD series, is that there is no storyline. You are some random guy doing some random mission and switch guy and mission from time to time over and over. No global objective at all. Also, there isn't any reward or stats systems that let you know how good you perform. The biggest issue is the fact that there's no multiplayer online or any multiplayer at all. Knowing that Nintendo would unlock the online later, Activision should've wait before release it (same for Medal of Honor Vangard). Again, the controls are good in most parts, but the huge lack of dept just can't be ignored. If you want a good single player experience, try Red Steel. If for some inexplicable reasons you really need to play another World War II game for a zillion times, wait for Medal of Honor Heroes 2, it'll at least have online multiplayer. Expand
  26. JeffZ.
    Dec 4, 2007
    7
    Enjoyable game. Since this was the first game of its type on the Wii, I can only imagine game of this type will get better and better as the life span goes on.
  27. BenihanaB.
    Dec 25, 2007
    8
    This was my first game for the Wii, other than Wii Sports. My wife bought it for me since I am such a huge Socom fan. No mulitplayer is a little dissapointing. I still like it nun the less...fun to shoot, drive, hand to hand combat, difuse bombs and do everything else you might have to do in a World War... May not be the best shooter, but a nice lengthy single player game.
  28. 1337
    Feb 24, 2008
    5
    Just the fact that this Call of Duty game wasn't made by Infinity Ward should tell that it won't be as good as some of the others. The graphics aren't that good. It is a fun game to waste time with but I wouldn't recommend playing it for a challenge or for fun. If you want a good Wii FPS go for Medal of Honor: Heroes 2, Metroid Prime 3, or Red Steel.
  29. Critic#1P
    Mar 19, 2008
    6
    For the love of god, nobody talks about the most frustrating thing about this game. There is only ONE MAJOR flaw with this game that renders it unplayable. It has a gamebreaker bug that will make you want to smash the wiimote to the wall. Sometimes, especially when there is a lot of background action on the screen the controls stop responding. Suddenly your character on the screen aims For the love of god, nobody talks about the most frustrating thing about this game. There is only ONE MAJOR flaw with this game that renders it unplayable. It has a gamebreaker bug that will make you want to smash the wiimote to the wall. Sometimes, especially when there is a lot of background action on the screen the controls stop responding. Suddenly your character on the screen aims randomly by himself and the camera just turns round and round. This can happen for 1-3 minutes if you are patient enough to wait without doing anything or lucky not to get killed at the time. How on earth do they release games with bugs like this in year 2008? As far as the rest of the game is concerned, it didn't do anything to me. I find it indifferent. MOH HEROES 2 is a far superior and game and a lot more fun. Expand
  30. JonathanB.
    Mar 29, 2008
    6
    Not as good as the ps1 games theres less 2 do you can't sneek around 2 surprise them. On the Frycry game theres paths but you don't have 2 use them.
  31. Aug 26, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. An excellent game, made even more excellent through the combined use of the Wiimote and nunchuk. The gaming experience is realistic, so players who are partial to button-mashing and Rambo-ing their way through waves of hapless enemies will most likely not enjoy it. No leaping headshots and similar nonsense here.

    The scenarios pit the player directly into the chaos of battle, from a mad scramble across open space exposed to enemy fire to gritty clashes in tight quarters where one often has to resort to hand-to-hand combat and a single hand grenade can decide the outcome of the fight. You will experience the terror of firing a single-shot rocket at an approaching enemy tank, use a mortar to destroy a barricade as enemies try to swarm your positions, engage in a tank battle in the ruins of a village and do many more cool things.

    One of the best aspects of the game is the fact that different weapons... get ready for this... work differently. Each submachinegun aims and fires differently and has a different range, and same goes for the rifles. The aim and move controls are well designed and will react to your movements with the remote and 'chuk. If it feels weird, a) spend some time learning how to use them, and/or b) adjust the sensitivity settings until they are satisfactory. A lot of effort was put into the controls you can even grab a live grenade and toss it back at the enemy if you're quick and coordinated enough. Use the arrow pad to switch your weapon and throw the grenades, as the nunchuk control is iffy at best. Use minus to reload, and if using a submachine, reload often.

    Using the arrow pad to throw grenades does not interfere with your aim, since you can't shoot and throw grenades at the same time and the field of vision moves with the direction in which the grenade is being thrown. Again, this will irk fans of the "run and gun" style of play, I for one felt like it contributes to the experience.

    Also when your character is standing around and listening to others, you still need to point the Wiimote in the direction of the speaker (like you would when talking to somebody). Some reviewers seem to have missed this. The head does not bob around for no reason it bobs around because that's how you're moving the remote (and can be very frustrating until you learn to control it).

    Slight minuses the car (jeep) controls are a bit touchy. It was literally harder learning to drive the jeep that I remember it being to drive a real car. Also instructions have a maddening tendency to pop up on the screen as you're trying to do things a better solution would be to have a Help option inside the game that you could resort to as needed (maybe there is one, but I didn't find it). Graphics sometimes you get stuck in corners and rooms without seeing a clear way out, but this is rare and you can orient yourself in a minute at most when it does happen. So my score would really be 9.75, but whatever.

    Oh, and expect to die. A lot, and often. Certain parts will stump you longer than others (for me it was the third episode, after that the rest was a breeze), but that will only make overcoming them so much more rewarding.
    Expand
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 42
  2. Negative: 2 out of 42
  1. 77
    If you’re expecting anything more than a solid single player adventure and GCN/Xbox graphics, you may be disappointed. Still, Call of Duty 3’s control is definitely something to experience, and seems to be second only to "Metroid."
  2. A pretty good game, even if the time and place are a bit overdrawn.
  3. Call of Duty 3 is a great showcase for the Wii’s unique control scheme. While the Wii controls work with other games, of the games we’ve played so far, Call of Duty 3 is the one that most benefits from the motion sensing controls.