Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
1.6

Overwhelming dislike- based on 426 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Engage enemy forces in New York, Paris, Berlin and other attack sites across the globe. The world stands on the brink, and Makarov is intent on bringing civilization to its knees. In this darkest hour, are you willing to do what is necessary?
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. Jan 21, 2012
    88
    MW3 is the definitive version of the franchise on the Wii and one of the best FPS ever made for the console.
  2. Nov 21, 2011
    80
    Though there're a few glitches that doesn't makes it the best shooter on Wii, Modern Warfare 3 stands as a well-made adaptation for those who are willing to have a taste on Infinity Ward's latest blockbuster.
  3. Dec 4, 2011
    80
    If you're a fan of Wii shooters, this game is a must. The one issue is with the online multiplayer – when it all flows well it's very good, but when it doesn't it can be very frustrating!
  4. 75
    Modern Warfare 3 on Wii won't ever astound with its graphics or win over anyone already intent on playing it on another console. It is by no means the definitive version. Despite its various limitations, however, it is a solid approximation of the kind of content that continues to deliver year after year, even if the ride is getting a little predictable.
  5. If the Wii version of Modern Warfare 3 is your only available option, what you get here is a bombastic, if braindead, accomplished shooter with online multiplayer options that stand above those of most other Wii titles. Modern Warfare 3 Wii is an undeniable guilty pleasure both online and off.
  6. Jan 3, 2012
    65
    I realize that I am painting a fairly bad picture of Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3, and I admit that it is hard to be objective when I have already had the pleasure to play the title on both the Xbox 360 and the PS3. Comparing across the platforms is hardly fair when the Wii's processing power is so limited that it forces developers to make significant modifications to the gameplay. But even considering that, Modern Warfare 3 is merely an average shooter compared to the other FPS titles on the Wii.
  7. Nov 14, 2011
    45
    Visuals aren't everything, but when the graphics make it hard to pick out targets or they make the game perform poorly when it was designed to run super-silky, they become problematic. Imagine a Michael Bay movie without the explosions? It wouldn't be exciting, and neither are the major moments in the MW3 Wii campaign.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 76
  2. Negative: 42 out of 76
  1. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    A very solid entry to the franchise with without a doubt the best multiplayer of the three. While many might complain that it is a remake or DLC this is not the case. Yes is has many of the same aspects but many have been redefined or re-imagined to add a new element to the game. Overall an excellent edition to the franchise. Expand
  2. Jan 5, 2012
    10
    MW3 for the Wii is actually a great game to play and have fun at the same time... Campaign is awesome Spec Ops is OK and Mutiplayer is one of the best Which should last you a long period of time. If i were you i will get the game. Expand
  3. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    All the bad reviews are copied from other systems, lame! OMG! Luv it, this game has so much fun everywhere. Spec Ops, MP, Sp, wow! Had a great time with this recommend it to anyone who likes FPS. Expand
  4. Jan 23, 2012
    1
    I played this on the Xbox 360, a bit annoyed at the children droning on with their immaturity. I owned this on PS3, miss it now... Having bought this on Wii makes me want to throttle the prick at gameslop for not warning me about how crappy this game is. Do not buy this, don't. It isn't what you want it to be. You know what, if this is the best Wii has to offer in terms of first person shooters then maybe all it really IS good for is a singy dancy pokemon game after all. I hate that I wasted my money on a wii now. Congratulations Nintendo, you managed to convince me to buy another PS3! Expand
  5. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Seriously?? SERIOUSLY?? THE SAME GAME?? **** this **** I've already played this kinds of game before, I'm not playing a COD game until they offer some NEW mechanics... Collapse
  6. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Two step down from Black Ops in every conceivable way. Graphics are psp-level at best, all guns sound like staplers, framerate drops everywhere, lag shooting. Shot guns are useless now. Want to shoot someone? They had better be standing still or you won't hit them. Want to shoot while turning? Too bad, you can't do that in MW3. Expand
  7. Nov 11, 2011
    0
    Why drop $60 on a game which had hacks and aimbots on the first day and which the developer does nothing to fix? Go to Youtube and lookup "First Ever MW3 Aimbot". Also lookup the number of bots/hacks/cheats for Call of Duty 2 you will see plenty of them that are still active and that the developer has done nothing about. That speaks volumes about this company and its' priorities. It is also sad that they are going to charge you an extra charge for their Elite service when the rankings are already skewed due to aimbots. If I am going to spend $60 on this game I want support that will fix these issues and punish those that it finds cheating. They really dropped the ball on this franchise with this rushed, buggy, hacked piece of junk. Expand

See all 76 User Reviews