Castlevania Judgment Wii

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Castlevania Judgment Image
Metascore
49

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 55 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Developed by legendary Castlevania series producer Koji "Iga" Igarashi, Castlevania Judgment bridges the past with the present as it pits several generations of the Belmont clan against a host of characters that span the franchise's 22-year history. With 3D environments rendered on Wii,Developed by legendary Castlevania series producer Koji "Iga" Igarashi, Castlevania Judgment bridges the past with the present as it pits several generations of the Belmont clan against a host of characters that span the franchise's 22-year history. With 3D environments rendered on Wii, players can choose sides in an epic battle of good versus evil using iconic Castlevania characters designed by famed manga artist Takeshi Obata. Using the motion-sensing controls of the Nunchuk and Wii Remote, players can slash, stab and whip their way across a variety of stages and environmental elements with various surrounding objects as weapons. Select characters can also set traps and make use of monsters on the field to achieve victory in a clash of epic proportions. As an added bonus, players are also able to compete head-to-head using the Nintendo Wi-Fi Connection and connect with Castlevania: Order of Ecclesia on the Nintendo DS to unlock bonus gameplay content. [Konami] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 33
  2. Negative: 16 out of 33
  1. 75
    In the list of games I'm dying to play in the Castlevania series, a 3D fighter was about as far from the top as possible, but Judgment was a pleasant surprise.
  2. Official Nintendo Magazine UK
    68
    It's by no means as bad as you may have heard. [Apr 2009, p.89]
  3. 65
    Looking at the graphics and sounds, Castlevania is fine. The controls are very simple, but at the same time not always that good. Overall a great Castlevania game, but not for full price.
  4. On top of all of this, the gameplay is generally too simple for its own good. Judgment is an adequate if simplistic fighter, taking a step in the wrong direction for each original and unique thing it attempts to do. It doesn't even pay good homage to its source material.
  5. A judge is what this Castlevania really needs. This franchise first time on Wii is a time-waster for anybody who wants to expend a nice afternoon playing with some friends. Not even its graphics are what they should be. Its a very poor game on every aspect except for its decent sound, but nothing more than that.
  6. 30
    While I want to give Konami credit for trying something new with the series, the obvious missteps and overlooked elements of Castlevania Judgment makes the game look and feel like a cheap cash-in.
  7. 16
    As a fighter, Castlevania Judgment employs too many design ideas that are neither well planned nor well executed. It's a strange misstep for the beloved series, one that Konami hopefully learns from.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 14
  2. Negative: 3 out of 14
  1. JoeC.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    Cool game, it has lots of features and is a fresh spin on the Castlevania series. Don't listen to 1up's incomplete review of the Cool game, it has lots of features and is a fresh spin on the Castlevania series. Don't listen to 1up's incomplete review of the game as they fail to mention many of the game's modes. For a better comprehension take a look at IGN's review. Expand
  2. RaidenD
    Jan 1, 2010
    9
    So not really a Castlevania game in play, but in spirit it is. This was an underrated title because it was so different. The fighting was So not really a Castlevania game in play, but in spirit it is. This was an underrated title because it was so different. The fighting was some of the most satisfying I have had in a while, the motion control was welcome and worked me out. Wave the remote, you hit, wave the 'chuck' you dodge.Simple, clean. I will say the camera was a bit awkward but this really only happened against Dracula.The character designs are better then a lot of the derivative stuff most American games give us.You can definitely tell they are Obatas, but they are alot more inspired then other 3-D Castlvania character's looks. I am still having fun with it and that is what matters with a game really, the fun. Expand
  3. CR
    Jan 1, 2010
    9
    Fun, Fun Fun. Simple controls, but the camera needed work. Love the castle-quest, and the collecting aspect. A viscerally fulfilling game. If Fun, Fun Fun. Simple controls, but the camera needed work. Love the castle-quest, and the collecting aspect. A viscerally fulfilling game. If you can find it buy it. Expand
  4. StephenM
    Dec 30, 2008
    8
    Minus a bad script and incredibly hard end boss i saw nothing wrong with this game and actually out of all the wii games that me and my wife Minus a bad script and incredibly hard end boss i saw nothing wrong with this game and actually out of all the wii games that me and my wife have I think this is one of my favorites. Expand
  5. Jun 26, 2011
    8
    Haters gonna hate. This game rocks. This is the Final Fantasy Dissia of the Castlevania franchise. The controls are simple and smart, as longHaters gonna hate. This game rocks. This is the Final Fantasy Dissia of the Castlevania franchise. The controls are simple and smart, as long as you're using the Classic Controller. Each move has a counter, and it becomes a game of Rock, Paper, Scissors. Who said that's a bad thing, though?

    Many gripe about the camera, but it's whatever. I haven't had any problems with the camera. Anyone who has a problem with it needs to get something called hand-eye coordination. The special attacks are cool, not too short, not too long. The voice acting is satisfactory, however mouths move often when nothing is even being said.

    In addition to the story mode, there's a Dracula's Castle mode, where you explore different rooms, accomplishing different objectives. The pull here is to earn custom equipment to decorate your characters with.

    Wifi is fine as long as your partner has a good connection.

    I love this game, for the price I paid for it, it's a steal. Thanks for all the nay-sayers rating this game down, making it cheap.
    Expand
  6. AriV
    Jan 12, 2009
    8
    Surprisingly, it's a pretty good game. I have never played it with the Wiimote, but it works perfectly with a GCN controller/Classic Surprisingly, it's a pretty good game. I have never played it with the Wiimote, but it works perfectly with a GCN controller/Classic controller. Regarding the visuals, it has some of the prettiest ones on Wii (character geometry, textures, particles), although some of the arenas aren't as detailed as others. Characters are modeled accordingly and animate fluidly. VO aren't bad either and you can choose whether they're in Japanese or English. Combat is fast and furious, and takes a little time to master it, but once you do it then everything feels just right. Audio is superb, as expected. Now, onto the most stressed complaints: a) The camera. While the camera system for the game isn't perfect, it doesn't render the game unplayable or less funnier. The fact is, once you understand how it works (it tends to "follow" to the nearest character) you can work it around. It's not the best setup, but there are far worst camera systems out there. Sure, this may be unacceptable to some, but actually I find it pretty flexible as it works. b) Character design. This is a bit difficult to grade and depends entirely on personal taste. I for one feel comfortable with the character designs and I really love some of them even more in the actual models than in their illustrated forms (Alucard comes to mind). As it stands, the Castlevania series have never attached to a specific style, specifically in most recent times - Dawn of Sorrow, Portrait of Ruin, Order of Ecclesia - and while some may argue that Ayami Kojima's style is the most "suitable"for the series (and believe me, I love her style as well), it is also refreshing to have these 'alternate takes' to her designs. Sure, some are better than others, but I find it difficult not to like them. Yeah, they may look different and aren't as delicate or effeminate or detailed as her designs, but in the end, as I previously stated, is more of personal taste than anything else and they serve the purpose and context of the game as they are. For a Wii game, it has a very decent on-line mode and global leaderboards, something that even Nintendo's own Smash Bros. couldn't deliver. There are some derivative modes to Story mode in the game as well and here are my greatest complaints, specially Castle mode. While the challenges are interesting and the unlockable accessories give some legs to the game, it is the fact the rooms/arenas are always the same doesn't help and make this particular mode repetitive. Enemy models are ported over the Playstation 2 offerings, which isn't necessarily a bad thing, but there are so few that sometimes it would feel better if they weren't there in the first place. This is a great fighting game - let a lone a Castlevania game - so if you are curious about it, i recommend you at least to rent it. For those fans to the series, you'll find lots of fan service and references to past games here. Have fun. Expand
  7. Nov 14, 2011
    1
    This isn't Castlevania, it's not a 'pleasent surprise' IGN, and it's not cool. It's a obsurd little game with a revealing cover forcingThis isn't Castlevania, it's not a 'pleasent surprise' IGN, and it's not cool. It's a obsurd little game with a revealing cover forcing teenage girls to buy it. Now that's just sick, the graphics suck, the gameplay is dissapointing, and the game itself is the equivilant to horse dung. Still want to buy it? Expand

See all 14 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#25 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2008