Metascore
61

Mixed or average reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 37
  2. Negative: 5 out of 37
  1. 75
    Ultimately Cook Off's combination of improved variety, a better interface and multiplayer gameplay were an easy decision over the DS's stylus controls, solo-only play and limited palette -- and palate.
  2. It could have been much better if there was more freedom to the art of cooking, a more challenging single player structure and - most importantly - responsive and involving controls that actually give you the feeling of slicing, dicing, mincing and everything else.
  3. Best played in short bursts. The game is nowhere near as deep as what many have grown accustomed to and is over in a few hours if you just sit down and chew through each of the cooking challenges.
  4. The cute animations and theme music are perfect for little ones. I think it is far more engaging and educational than Dora or anything else on Noggin. For the adult gamer, don't expect this to be anything more than a simple diversion for an hour or two.
  5. 50
    As opposed to the DS version of the game, Cooking Mama on the Wii is a mess and something that is often very hard to enjoy, especially for the younger crowd. The Wii sensitive controls don't work well and even when they do, there will always be one or two parts of a recipe that you'll maul because of those rogue elements.
  6. Cooking Mama: Cook-Off is a good idea that just hasn’t been done well here. The game’s controls just don’t work as they should.
  7. Too many of its dishes are mere remixes of the same simple techniques. Too many of its taut time trials founder because of some quirk of the Remote. [June 2007, p.93]
  8. Breaking up recipes into several steps, each its own minigame, is an enjoyably elegant gameplay mechanism; it works particularly well here on the Wii. [May 2007, p.80]
  9. Whereas the DS game could be defended for ignoring significant depth for the sake of accessibility, Cook Off's controls are simply too ropey for it to earn any flavour of respect, and leave its repetitive, flash-in-the-pan mini-games open to assault.
  10. 80
    Cooking Mama: Cook Off, like a good meal, is best shared with friends.
  11. As it stands now, the cartoony graphics don’t really make you hungry or even make you feel like you actually made food, nor is the game ridiculous enough to give you that silly kind of fun like WarioWare. Any future entry in this series will probably have to go one of those two ways.
  12. It’s a niche game that most won’t like but a few will devour. [JPN Import]
  13. Unfortunately, perfecting one's craft requires much trial and error, thanks to the game's shoddy motion controls. Things work ok most of the time, but like the DS version, every once and a while the game fails to register the simplest of actions.
  14. 65
    It's the gaming equivalent of a local neighborhood eatery: the food's good and service is decent, but it certainly won't be the best meal you've ever had.
  15. The cooking game concept is off the wall enough to have the potential to be a fun party game, but Cooking Mama is not challenging or deep enough to pull it off. Instead it gives you too much repetition and frustration, kind of like getting stuck eating meatloaf every night.
  16. Perversely appealing. [July 2007, p.70]
  17. It bears no relation to the real thing: fine if it’s fun, but unpleasant and frustrating when it’s not. And it’s really not. [June 2007, p.127]
  18. Though Cook Off is a lot like Cooking Mama on the DS, something significant has been lost in the translation to the Wii.
  19. 60
    Cooking Mama: Cook Off has its moments, such as in multiplayer, in which most players will end up on the same level playing field, partly due to some of the flaws of the gameplay mechanic. It seems as though Taito wanted to get a Wii version out quickly, and we wish it hadn't.
  20. If you think this is a short review, you clearly haven't played Cooking Mama (and that's the way it should stay).
  21. With repetitious gameplay, chore-like tasks that barely pass for mini-games, and lackluster new modes, Cooking Mama: Cook Off is the kind of game that sounds a lot more fun than it really is, and therefore, it gets its just deserts.
  22. The clever controls, resourceful objectives (there are dozens of unique recipes), and moderately high replay value are a winning combination.
  23. The concept is more fascinating than the execution. Maybe I’m too used to killing Metroids, but to me this game was just boring.
  24. Cooking mama's game design just doesn't carry its weight; it can't seem to decide if it wants to be a cooking sim for grown-up food geeks or a party game for kids, and the result is an excersize in frustration for both groups. [May 2007, p.63]
  25. 58
    The inviting presentation will still bring people in, it’ll still be a blast for certain gamers, and the act of doing motion-controlled cooking pantomime will be a hit with the younger crowd and a niche group of gamers. At the same time, the series has a long way to go before it really "feels right" on Wii.
  26. A great family game that gets everyone involved.
  27. Cute and fun minigames, for the most part, but lacking drive or motivation for the player, with different tasks getting repetitive quickly. [JPN Import; May 2007, p.50]
  28. More importantly, Cook Off doesn't fix the one glaring flaw of the DS game: There's still no story/career/arcade mode to sink your teeth into--just a bunch of individual recipes. [June 2007, p.104]
  29. Superbly utilizing the unique features of the Wii remote, this game is highly recommended for all ages, sexes and levels of experience. You can almost smell the food cooking, the only regret is you can't taste it.
  30. The fact of the matter is that unless you are absolutely dying to play an insanely quirky Japanese game about cooking, you should stay far, far away from Cooking Mama.
  31. 40
    The game can also be scored for a winsome budget price, which means that it isn’t too much of a kick to the nads if you fail to get to grips with the dodgy controls and limited wares on offer.
  32. This isn't a kitchen nightmare, but nor is it a triumph. [June 2007, p.76]
  33. 55
    It's a nice idea, it's cute, and it's sometimes fun, but the lack of longevity and control problems mean it's just not worth it.
  34. It's wildly entertaining for about 90 minutes. After that, even real cooking starts to make more sense.
  35. Light, amusing, and fun in short bursts, Cooking Mama seems like such a suitable title for Wii. Unfortunately, the overall result is hampered by an imprecise control system that throws skill and any sense of weight or meaning to one side, along with a lack of structure that leaves the game little more than a novel yet ultimately trivial experience - ideal for the Wii demographic it seems.
  36. Another Wii game that seems content with offering little more than a series of half-baked mini-games, with the lure of motion controls seemingly being enough to draw in users. But when those controls are clunky and only work half of the time, the game as a whole falls down.
  37. At its worst, however, Cooking Mama is enough to make you want to throw your Wiimote at the screen as the game struggles to recognize the commands that you give it.
User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 23 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 13
  2. Negative: 3 out of 13
  1. BonbonA.
    Aug 16, 2007
    7
    Actually Cooking Mama: Cook Off could be a great game. Nice graphics, a variety of different cooks and cute accent of the character "Mama" Actually Cooking Mama: Cook Off could be a great game. Nice graphics, a variety of different cooks and cute accent of the character "Mama" are not enough to cover the fact of the not-so-responsive controller. Even with practice, players will notice that something is wrong with the game, because their Wii Remote doesn't really act like playing Wii Sports or Wii Play. It entertains younger children and old people for a while, but due to its repetitive gameplay nature, they will know when to stop. Full Review »
  2. [Anonymous]
    May 22, 2007
    5
    The game is okay as a rental, but I wouldn't buy it. The controls are not precise enough to make it fun and the repetitive voice of the The game is okay as a rental, but I wouldn't buy it. The controls are not precise enough to make it fun and the repetitive voice of the being "better than momma" is annoying and frustrating. With that being said, this is a truly unique game and if a sequel were to be released fixing some of the blatant issues this could be a fun game. Full Review »
  3. Aug 5, 2013
    7
    This game is different but for the most part is innocent. I have beating this game in less than a day and trust me when I say this the WiiThis game is different but for the most part is innocent. I have beating this game in less than a day and trust me when I say this the Wii doesn't do that to me much. Cooking games are not very popular mostly because I don't know that many games that one are not flash games or are knock offs of this game. I suck at cooking and as far as I know the Wii won't make me a better cook, but I will say that if I wanted to make anything I could use this game and just use the recipes on there. The whole game is cute which can be annoying if you play it more then three hours. I really liked how the food was from other countries and what I found out within five mins of co-op mood was that I know just about every flag ever made.The game is really fun at times, graphics are pretty basic very cartoon like. The music is really silly and only contains like four notes. If you find it cheap grab it, no one should hate this game but they will hate the controls. Full Review »