Cooking Mama: Cook Off Wii

User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 23 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 23
  2. Negative: 9 out of 23
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. [Anonymous]
    May 22, 2007
    5
    The game is okay as a rental, but I wouldn't buy it. The controls are not precise enough to make it fun and the repetitive voice of the being "better than momma" is annoying and frustrating. With that being said, this is a truly unique game and if a sequel were to be released fixing some of the blatant issues this could be a fun game.
  2. BonbonA.
    Aug 16, 2007
    7
    Actually Cooking Mama: Cook Off could be a great game. Nice graphics, a variety of different cooks and cute accent of the character "Mama" are not enough to cover the fact of the not-so-responsive controller. Even with practice, players will notice that something is wrong with the game, because their Wii Remote doesn't really act like playing Wii Sports or Wii Play. It entertains Actually Cooking Mama: Cook Off could be a great game. Nice graphics, a variety of different cooks and cute accent of the character "Mama" are not enough to cover the fact of the not-so-responsive controller. Even with practice, players will notice that something is wrong with the game, because their Wii Remote doesn't really act like playing Wii Sports or Wii Play. It entertains younger children and old people for a while, but due to its repetitive gameplay nature, they will know when to stop. Expand
  3. JeffZ.
    Dec 4, 2007
    6
    Fun game, but I don't like the breaks between each step.
  4. BillR.
    Apr 25, 2007
    5
    Not a gripping game. Simplistic and repetitive, a couple hours the night I rented it was enough.
  5. WillT
    Dec 28, 2009
    5
    Fun at first but then becomes a complete drag, graphically phenomenal but wont last you long at all maybe christmas or the same night you get it, but you won't play it ever again
  6. Aug 25, 2010
    5
    Cooking Mama: Cook Off is the Wii sequel to the popular game Cooking Mama. It now features 55 different recipes with over 300 ingredients to prepare the dishes. If you don't know about the Cooking Mama franchise, the main aim of the game is dishes are prepared by completing a series of short mini-games. Each mini-game represents a step in the meal preparation process, with a complete dishCooking Mama: Cook Off is the Wii sequel to the popular game Cooking Mama. It now features 55 different recipes with over 300 ingredients to prepare the dishes. If you don't know about the Cooking Mama franchise, the main aim of the game is dishes are prepared by completing a series of short mini-games. Each mini-game represents a step in the meal preparation process, with a complete dish requiring anywhere from two to more than a dozen such steps. Unlike its predecessor however, Cooking Mama: Cook Off features a scoring system after every mini-game which actually works really well. The main problem with the game is that the controls haven't been polished well. This leads to a frustrating experience since you fail the mini-games due to the controls. Lovely polished graphics won't make up for the game's downfall and thus it gets a mediocre score. The sequel, Cooking Mama: World Kitchen is much better or just stick to the original. Expand
  7. Nov 29, 2012
    7
    This is your classic wii game it is quirky, unique and takes advantage of the wiimote motion controls. I didn't love this game but I'm not really that into the wii. It would be a great game to play with friends, or significant other (as I did) You can race to complete the recipes against one another. There are a decent variety of different cooking techniques you can simulate with theThis is your classic wii game it is quirky, unique and takes advantage of the wiimote motion controls. I didn't love this game but I'm not really that into the wii. It would be a great game to play with friends, or significant other (as I did) You can race to complete the recipes against one another. There are a decent variety of different cooking techniques you can simulate with the different recipes. It seems to appeal more to girls and children (as do many wii games) It is simple and fun for what it is. If you are a hardcore gamer, pass if you are looking for something to play with the uninitiated then it may be worth picking up. Expand
  8. Aug 5, 2013
    7
    This game is different but for the most part is innocent. I have beating this game in less than a day and trust me when I say this the Wii doesn't do that to me much. Cooking games are not very popular mostly because I don't know that many games that one are not flash games or are knock offs of this game. I suck at cooking and as far as I know the Wii won't make me a better cook, but IThis game is different but for the most part is innocent. I have beating this game in less than a day and trust me when I say this the Wii doesn't do that to me much. Cooking games are not very popular mostly because I don't know that many games that one are not flash games or are knock offs of this game. I suck at cooking and as far as I know the Wii won't make me a better cook, but I will say that if I wanted to make anything I could use this game and just use the recipes on there. The whole game is cute which can be annoying if you play it more then three hours. I really liked how the food was from other countries and what I found out within five mins of co-op mood was that I know just about every flag ever made.The game is really fun at times, graphics are pretty basic very cartoon like. The music is really silly and only contains like four notes. If you find it cheap grab it, no one should hate this game but they will hate the controls. Expand

Awards & Rankings

#46 Most Discussed Wii Game of 2007
#20 Most Shared Wii Game of 2007
Metascore
61

Mixed or average reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 37
  2. Negative: 5 out of 37
  1. It’s a niche game that most won’t like but a few will devour. [JPN Import]
  2. 65
    It's the gaming equivalent of a local neighborhood eatery: the food's good and service is decent, but it certainly won't be the best meal you've ever had.
  3. 58
    The inviting presentation will still bring people in, it’ll still be a blast for certain gamers, and the act of doing motion-controlled cooking pantomime will be a hit with the younger crowd and a niche group of gamers. At the same time, the series has a long way to go before it really "feels right" on Wii.